from £90 / night help Price for guests, Nights

VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

Polkirt Forge - Holiday Cottage overlooking Mevagissey Harbour – Home 1677022 House

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 4 sleeps
  •  min stay varies
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

Polkirt Forge - Holiday Cottage overlooking Mevagissey Harbour – Home 1677022

  • House
  • 2 bedrooms
  • sleeps 4
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 33 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

House / 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 4

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Child friendly
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
    Beds in other rooms: Sofa Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 Toilet Only

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided
  • Housekeeping Included

More Less

Access

  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Interaction with guest

We live in Somerset so Gail our local Housekeeper will ensure the cottage is prepared perfectly before your arrival. We will let you know before your holiday how to access the keys. On arrival you will find milk in the fridge and tea coffee and biscuits ready if you need refreshment after your journey. Within the cottage you will find comprehensive information about places to visit and things to do as well as a full set of local ordnance survey maps so you can plan your walks before setting off. The information folder in the cottage includes recommendations from previous guests and we are available any time before your holiday to give you our recommendations of places to eat and drink.

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Barry G.
Average reply time:
2 hours 12 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
07 Feb 2018
Years listed:
3
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This House has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 17 Apr 2014. Located in Cornwall, it has 33 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £395 to £760.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 07 Feb 2018.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 33 reviews Excellent
33 reviews

Excellent
32
Very Good
1
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Perfect week away!”

Reviewed 23 Apr 2017

The cottage was everything I'd hoped for, all the equipment you'd ever need, very clean, very cozy. Looking out of the window each day seeing the sun come up over the harbour and watching the boats bobbing up and down in the water was really heartwarming and very relaxing. Things I'll miss. ... the fresh smell of the sea air, the best fish and chips I'd ever had, walks around the village and beyond and the general feeling of being totally relaxed with a permanent smile on my face!

Owner's reply: Thank you Annette for such a lovely review. I think you have just summed up perfectly what Carol and I love most about the cottage and Mevagissey. We're so pleased that the holiday lived up to expectations. Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback.

“Fabulous stay at very well equipped cottage”

Reviewed 20 Aug 2015

We had a fabulous stay at Polkirt Forge with our 2 children aged 5 & 7. Perfect cottage in the centre of Mevagissey! A good base to explore Cornwall. Very well equipped with games, crabbing nets, Wifi, etc. We couldn't have asked for more. Parking takes some getting used to with the narrow streets, but we managed just fine.

Owner's reply: Carol and I were pleased to hear that your family holiday was a success - that's our simple aim. Our plan is to carry on investing in improvements to "The Forge" so that our guests have the best possible experience while relaxing in Mevagissey. Thanks so much for you kind review. Barry

“Perfectly Located Seaside Cottage in Mevagissey”

Reviewed 3 Sep 2014

We stayed here for a week just before the School Summer Holidays. We loved Mevagissey and the location of the Polkirt Forge made it even better. The cottage is only a 2 minute walk from the town centre where you will find a wealth of seaside shops and dining options (including Gluten Free Cream Teas!). Before we arrived we had ordered a Tesco delivery and the housekeeper not only took it in but she packed it away and negotiated a refund for substandard products! The cottage had a modern fresh feeling about it. The rooms are a good size and the kitchen is well equipped. There are some beautiful views out to sea from the upstairs living room and bedroom. There was also a free parking permit for the local car park (less than 5 minutes walk away).

Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to review Polkirt Forge and we are so pleased that it lived up to your expectations. (As a result of your feedback a new "smart" DVD / Blu-Ray player has recently been installed in the living room)

“Absolutely lovely cottage”

Reviewed 14 Jul 2014

We stayed at Polkirt Forge for two weeks at the end of June/beginning of July. Barry and Carol responded to our enquiry promptly. All information was good and comprehensive. On arrival we found the cottage spotless, very well-equipped and furnished. Lorraine, the housekeeper was really nice and helpful. The cottage is really lovely, spacious with a very relaxed feel. We particularly liked the upstairs sitting room and the views from there and the main bedroom. It's only a couple of minutes walk into the village where you can get newspapers, nice fruit and veg, great bread from Martins and basics in the convenience store if you don't want to drive to St Austell. Lots of good places to eat; fish is excellent. We particularly liked Salamander. We lucked in as it was Feast Week with lots of good music, bar on the quay, carnival and flora dances. A very impressive community effort. The weather was good for walking the coast path and we discovered some 'hidden' beaches. Overall, we couldn't have had a better two weeks.

Owner's reply: Thank you for such a positive review. We have worked hard this year to make Polkirt Forge a nice place to stay and it is gratifying to know that our guests enjoy staying here. Thanks for taking the time to tell us.

Review 1-10 of 33

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

440894 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

59441 properties

England Holidays

43435 properties

Cornwall Holidays

6260 properties

Cornwall

6,260 properties

Devon

4,265 properties

East Anglia

2,564 properties

Cumbria

2,067 properties

Dorset

1,423 properties

Cotswolds

1,181 properties

East Sussex

1,109 properties

Hampshire

741 properties

Derbyshire

570 properties

Herefordshire

348 properties

Durham

315 properties

Essex

275 properties

Gloucestershire

268 properties

Cambridgeshire

263 properties

Cheshire

244 properties

Buckinghamshire

124 properties

Hertfordshire

116 properties

Bristol

96 properties

Bedfordshire

63 properties

Rutland

52 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.