from
£300 / night
Price for guests, Nights approx:

16 person house with own bar (sleeps 26 when booked with Hayloft and The Croft) – Home 7195851 House

  • 6 bedrooms
  • 26 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

16 person house with own bar (sleeps 26 when booked with Hayloft and The Croft) – Home 7195851

  • House
  • 6 bedrooms
  • sleeps 26
  •  min stay varies

Key Info

  • Nearest beach 20 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Please note we are able to work within government guidelines regarding social distancing for larger groups. It is important to note that hotels, restaurants and pubs are allowed to host groups of more than 26 guests providing they are able to maintain social distancing between family bubbles. We have assessed our property and believe that we meet government requirements.

We have separate bedrooms and toilets for separate families. We ask you to stay within your family groups whilst in the property and continue to social distance in shared areas . Only one family at a time should be in the kitchen area. CONTACT US DIRECTLY FOR MORE INFORMATION.

Sympathetically renovated from a former public house, this property is ideal for families and groups of people looking for a base within a large rural village less that 100 yds from local shops/village pubs and restaurants. Stylish and comfortable, it boasts both traditional elegance and modern living, ensuring you have a relaxing stay.

For birthday parties and anniversaries or simply to catch up with old friends, Durham House simply provides the ideal setting within one fantastic space.

The ground floor consists of a large dining area with window seating. Seating for everyone ensures that there is ample opportunity to spend quality time together, whilst enjoying meals or playing games. Serve a pint at your very own Nag's Head bar complete with pool table! We can provide kegs of lager, real ale and cider at an additional cost. A truly unique experience.

Adults can relax in the sitting room away from the kids, where folding-doors lead out into a enclosed seating area complete with BBQ, comfortable seating and picnic tables. The kitchen is fully equipped with all expected mod-cons and is of adequate size to cater for larger groups. The two ovens and two dishwashers ensure that cooking is simple and easy, giving you more time to chill with family and friends

Durham House sleeps 16. For bookings of 17 to 25 people, The Hay Loft (sleeps 6) and The Croft (sleeps 3) are available at a reduced rate.

The Croft is wheelchair accessible with full disabled facilities including bathroom and kitchen. The Croft can be used with Durham House, but please note Durham House is an old building and does have steps. Please contact us directly for further information.

(Door width 720mm. Access into kitchen (small lip) to dining area, bar, and dining room)

The outside area is gated ensuring children can play safety. There is a large outdoor seating area with BBQ.

Upstairs:

All rooms are either double or twin. The additional beds are pull out beds which can be made up to suit your party. Please see detailed floor plan so you can see the bedroom layout in more detail. All bedrooms have their own bath/shower with the exception of bed 5 and 6 who share a large bathroom with corner bath.

Break down of bedrooms

Durham: King with single pullout bed and shower room.

Beamish: 2 twins which can be pushed together with pullout bed and shower room

Hartlepool Marina: 2 twins and shower room

Hardwick Park: 1 king and shower room

Hamsterley and Nag's Head: 2 twins in Hamsterley and a double in the Nag's Head. There are two pullout beds which can either be put separately into the Hamsterley and the Nag's Head or both put into the Nag's Head to make a double and two singles. There is a shared bathroom with bath and shower.

Please note there is a charge of £3 per set of towels.

For bookings of 17 or more, you have use of The Hay Loft and/or The Croft within the grounds of Durham House (within the same enclosed grounds).

Hay Loft description:

Downstairs: bathroom (shower) and cloakroom

Upstairs: lounge with double sofa bed, 1 double room and 1 single room with pullout bed.

The Croft:

Ground floor open plan apartment. Wheelchair accessible throughout including bathroom.

STRICTLY NO STAG PARTIES

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed Single Bed
    Bedroom 2: 3 Single Beds
    Bedroom 3: 2 Single Beds
    Bedroom 4: King Bed
    Bedroom 5: 3 Single Beds
    Bedroom 6: Double Bed Single Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom, 4 En suites, 1 Shower room

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Table tennis
  • Pool or snooker table
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Linen provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

A car is better, but there are lots of buses going through Sedgefield. Please ask us for bus details.

Interaction with guest

Please contact whatever the question, we are here to help.

Policies

Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.

Damage deposit: £300.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

NO STAG PARTIES. We reserve the right to request a noise request for adult only groups.

More

About the owner

Lesley E.
Average reply time:
2 hours 6 minutes
Response rate:
85%
Calendar updated:
23 Sep 2020
Years listed:
4
Overall rating:
5

Languages spoken: English

This House has 6 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms and sleeps 26. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 25 May 2016. Located in County Durham, it has 31 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £2000 to £7800.

The Owner has a response rate of 85% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 23 Sep 2020.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent
31 reviews

Excellent
31
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Ideal and perfect just for us”

Reviewed 15 Aug 2020

Location is an excellent base for discover the area, Hartlepool, Binchester Roman fort, Locomotion (railway museum) and Beamish to name a few. We stayed in The Croft which is ideal for people with mo… More

“Best holiday in a pub!!”

Reviewed 7 Aug 2019

What an impressive place! An amazing house with the added bonus of a fully equipped bar and a beer garden! 14 of us stayed here - 8 adults and 6 children, there was plenty of space inside and out, beautiful bedrooms most with en-suite and fully (above the norm) equipped for that many people. Lesley and Neil are the most helpful and informative couple, they expressed to us that they wanted to make sure that people felt at home in their house - they so accomplished this and more! Sedgefield is also such a pretty village with good walks close by. We would definitely be visiting again! Thank you.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sedgefield!

“The location was perfect for our family gathering and the house was stunning!”

Reviewed 5 Aug 2019

This is a beautifully clean, well equipped, spacious and well furnished house, highly recommended !!

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us when people have a fantastic family gathering at Durham House. Hopefully we'll see you soon for the next one. Lesley and Neil

“wonderful holiday location”

Reviewed 2 Aug 2019

Where to start a well presented , beautifuly decorated place to stay. The whole family loved the place and the excellent layout provided a comfortable place to stay being cosy but not claustrophobic. … More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review and we are pleased your family enjoyed their stay. Sedgefield is ideally located for the beach, Durham, Weardale and so many other wonderful places. We hope to see you again soon. Lesley and Neil

“Fantastic!!!”

Reviewed 2 Aug 2019

This house is fabulous and everything has been thought of !! We travelled from Newcastle and had never been to sedgefield and we weren’t disappointed especially with our very own private pub !!… More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had an amazing time. Thank you for recommending us, it really it very much appreciated. Lesley and Neil

“Durham House”

Reviewed 23 Apr 2019

Group of 6 adults and 6 older teenagers stayed in Durham House over the Easter weekend. Couldn't fault it, we had a fantastic time. There was ample space for everyone and the property was very clean. Six large, nicely decorated spacious bedrooms with plenty of storage space and TVs in each. Ensuites and bathroom modern and clean. Fully equipped kitchen with more than enough cupboard space, crockery and utensils for a large group. The 2 dishwashers came in very handy! Dining room was big and the table was huge so we could all eat together. The living room was very comfy and spacious and we liked that the bifold doors opened up to the garden area where we could sit outside. Games room was a definite hit with the kids and it was great that we had our own private car park. The bar area was great we had lots of fun in there. The owner Neil was really nice and friendly, he made sure everything was ok for us in the house, and recommended things to do in the area. He even gave us some discount vouchers for Beamish Museum! The location was excellent only 30 mins to Durham and the village itself was very pretty and had all the local shops you needed. I would definitely recommend this property and stay here again.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your recommendation. We are so pleased you had a good time, as we know ourselves how difficult it can be to keep teenagers entertained! Hopefully we will see you soon for your next get together, Neil and Lesley

“Weekend away”

Reviewed 11 Apr 2019

Stayed here with a group of friends for a long weekend at the end of March. The place was ideal for what we wanted. enough room for our large group, clean, tidy, beer on tap, pool table and local pubs… More

Owner's reply: I'm so pleased that you recommend Durham House. We work really hard to make sure that all our customers have a fantastic stay in Sedgefield. Sedgefield is a great village and we are right in the centre so there is plenty for people to do. Hopefully we will see you again for your next get together. Lesley and Neil

“70th birthday”

Reviewed 7 Jan 2019

We were a family of 16 to celebrate my birthday. What a perfect place for a family celebration. Large lounge, large dining room, its own pub with pool table....... lovely garden area ....loads of priv… More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you had a lovely birthday with your family. We hope to see you again soon for the next big family event!

“Excellent for groups.”

Reviewed 29 Nov 2018

Had everything we needed..The owners were very friendly and helpful. It is a lovely place to stay in an ideal location. Would definitely come again.

Owner's reply: Thank you for review, it really makes a difference for potentials guests if they hear that other people have enjoyed their stay. Thank you again.

“Perfect for a big group”

Reviewed 28 Nov 2018

The house (/former pub) was ideal for our university reunion. We loved the bar, which we had arranged to be pre-stocked with beer, and the house itself was immaculate - beds comfy, bathrooms clean and… More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased your had a fab stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the not so distant future

Review 1-10 of 31

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Lesley (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Lesley (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Lesley (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I know my booking is safe?

You'll need to send Lesley (the owner) an enquiry to book - the owner will let you know how to pay. If they accept online booking they'll send you a quote and info on how to pay. If you pay through our website you’ll be covered by Payment Protection.

If they don’t accept online booking they'll still be able to offer a secure form of payment. Read our top tips on booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Select the Prices tab for an overview of this property's prices.

Or you can send Lesley (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form to request a quote. Lesley (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Send Lesley (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form requesting a quote for your holiday dates. Lesley (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

Please note: only bookings paid for through our site are covered by Payment Protection.
Find out more about booking safely.

How do damage deposits work?

Lesley (the owner) of this property is responsible for taking and refunding your damage deposit. The damage deposit terms should be agreed before booking and outlined in the booking contract, if Lesley (the owner) supplies one. Please refer to these details or contact Lesley (the owner) directly if you have any questions.

How do I cancel my booking?

You'll need to contact Lesley (the owner) to cancel. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

How do I edit my booking?

You'll need to contact Lesley (the owner) to edit your booking. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

470649 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

61707 properties

England Holidays

43973 properties

West Country

12,863 properties

Northern England

8,718 properties

Cornwall

6,436 properties

South East England

5,336 properties

Yorkshire

3,969 properties

East Anglia

3,793 properties

Devon

3,684 properties

London

3,458 properties

Cumbria

2,114 properties

Sussex

1,887 properties

Dorset

1,666 properties

East Sussex

1,243 properties

Greater London

1,159 properties

Cotswolds

1,128 properties

Northumberland

1,119 properties

Somerset

1,077 properties

Kent

1,057 properties

Lincolnshire

921 properties

Isle of Wight

852 properties

Hampshire

671 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.