from £198 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Rothley Lodge – Home 953630 House

  • 5 bedrooms
  • 11 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

House / 5 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 11

Key Info

  • Nearest beach 36 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Ask about pets
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • 2 Super King Beds, 1 Double Bed, 5 Single Beds, 1 Cot available
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Waterfront
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Damian M.
Average reply time:
3 hours 25 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
26 Jun 2017
Years listed:
3
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This House has 5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 11. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 27 Oct 2013. Located in Northumberland, it has 20 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £900 to £2250.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 26 Jun 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 20 reviews Excellent
20 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
17
Very Good
2
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Excellent”

Reviewed 5 Jun 2017

We recently stayed for a week at Rothley Lodge with our family and have to say the property is beautiful and the surrounding countryside breathtaking. The stay was made all the better for the hospitality of the owners Damien and Lorraine who were always there when we needed anything. We will definately be returning in the future

“Fabulous holiday!”

Reviewed 7 Mar 2017

We came to celebrate a 50th birthday with 9 family members, ranging in age from 18 months to 64 years. We all had a fantastic time. The house is beautiful, but very comfortable and well-equipped. The grounds are amazing and we loved exploring them. Damian and Lorraine were incredibly helpful with any minor issues we had. I hope to come back and explore more of this beautiful part of the world from this lovely house.

“Lots to do in the area”

Reviewed 9 Nov 2016

We had a great week exploring the area with extended family to celebrate granny's 80th birthday. The house is perfect - and the owner is extremely keen that it stays that way! The rule book emailed in advance and pointed out carefully on arrival makes that very clear. You can't even close the blinds in case you crumple them. And using the piano is banned so it needs to be taken out of the particulars really. Unfortunately, one of the fridge freezers didn't work so we were a bit stuck with only one small freezer for a week for 10 people. We had to pay extra for deep cleaning as we had a dog with us, but as the dog was only allowed in the small rear porch I am not sure why we had to pay this. The gardens are extensive though, so as long as it is warm weather you can relax outside. There is lots to do in the surrounding area - National Trust houses and gardens, Alnwick Castle and gardens, the coast, Hadrian's Wall and pretty villages nearby. Overall, we made it a fantastic week but it is a shame we didn't feel we could really relax in the property.

Owner's reply: Dear Guest We are pleased you enjoyed your week holiday, however we are sorry you felt some negative points regarding the property and your stay. Just to clarify, you refer to a 'rule book' which is in fact a guide to the property which explains everything you need to know for safety, security, emergencies and details to make your stay comfortable. Most guests really appreciate the guide and commented positively in previous reviews. The unfortunate situation with the fridge freezer, could not have been replaced in time for your stay, however replaced now. The property does have sufficient refrigeration with two large capacity 60/40 fridge freezers and one medium capacity separate fridge, which has always proved sufficient for all guest parties. The piano is not banned from use, we actually encourage use of the grand piano, however we do always ask guests to respect the age of 1860 and handle with care due to its delicate nature. Unfortunately we do need to charge an additional fee for dogs and deep cleaning to ensure the property is free from dog odours and hairs for follow on guests who may have allergies. Our terms do make it clear that dogs are allowed but not allowed on the furnishings or beds and must sleep in their own dog basket in the rear porch. We are extremely sorry you felt you couldn't relax, we aim to make the property as relaxing as its location and most guests we believe do in fact find the experience very relaxing which previous reviews show. We thank you for your valued booking and your honesty in your review. Kindest regards Rothley Lodge

“Beautiful House with Stunning Grounds”

Reviewed 25 Apr 2014

Rothley Lodge is an excellent property to stay in, all the bedrooms are of a good size, the property throughout is furnished and decorated to a high standard, and the grounds complement the beauty of Northumberland perfectly.

“Relaxing weekend away with friends and family”

Reviewed 20 Mar 2014

We booked Rothley Lodge for a family celebration in March. We found the property relatively easily following the owners directions although some friends who tried using a satnav got lost so would definitely recommend taking the directions with you when you set off. The owners met us on arrival and showed us around the property making us feel very welcome. The house itself is beautifully decorated and we couldn't fault it. We had a really enjoyable and relaxing weekend here. It is in a very peaceful location although we probably didn't make the most of the grounds. There is quite a steep path from outside of the house down to the river so would need to be careful with young children but its otherwise great for exploring. We would definitely recommend the property and the owners are very welcoming and helpful.

“Charming secluded getaway in the heart of Northumberland”

Reviewed 17 Feb 2014

If you're looking for a quiet getaway with friends or family in the beautiful North East Rothley Lodge is a top pick. We were a group of seven who retreated North for four days of fresh air and fun times over the New Year. The owner Damien was on hand to help us find the property and remained extremely accommodating throughout our stay. Although the Northumberland weather wasn't quite so welcoming, we were more than happy to while away the time lazing round the open fire in the lounge and socialising in the large country kitchen. The property is remote but there's a great pub just a five minute drive away - The Ox Inn in Middleton. For groceries and shopping the nearest best bet is Waitrose in Ponteland - 20 minutes drive. All in all a great break and would certainly return. Maybe next time in season to make the most of the complimentary fishing rights.

Owner's reply: Hi Alistair, hope your well. I hope you picked up a message from Paypal informing of the payment i reimbursed for the deposit. Thanks for your kind review, we really appreciate this and very glad you all enjoyed your stay, your welcome back anytime! It would be very helpful Alistair to give us honest feedback on any little issues you feel could aid our improvement of service, which is very very important to us, we are aiming for perfection. We notice you scored 4/5 on two areas : 1. bedding & mattresses and 2. Kitchen Utensils. Could you please expand, be honest and help us make any changes necessary to improve all round. Anyway,kind regards and thanks again. Damian & Lorraine

Review 1-10 of 20

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

452666 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57916 properties

England Holidays

42277 properties

Cornwall

5,917 properties

Devon

4,371 properties

East Anglia

2,535 properties

Cumbria

2,147 properties

Dorset

1,529 properties

East Sussex

1,212 properties

Cotswolds

1,111 properties

Hampshire

694 properties

Derbyshire

550 properties

Herefordshire

331 properties

Durham

297 properties

Gloucestershire

286 properties

Essex

261 properties

Cambridgeshire

253 properties

Cheshire

247 properties

Hertfordshire

99 properties

Buckinghamshire

94 properties

Bristol

74 properties

Bedfordshire

72 properties

Rutland

52 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.