from £475 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Swallow's Orchard – Home 387826 House

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Swallow's Orchard – Home 387826

Excellent Excellent – based on 31 reviews

  • House
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  •  min stay varies

House / 3 bedrooms / 3 bathrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Air conditioning
  • Ask about pets
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Swallow's Orchard represents modern living at its very best. Nestled in a hollow next to an old apple orchard, you can feel like you have truly escaped whilst being surrounded by luxury. With 3 en-suite bedrooms all located on the same level it is easily accessible and sleeps 6 in quality more akin to a 5 star hotel with a private hot tub - only one you don't have to share.

The stunning open plan kitchen/dining/living area at the property with 5 metre bi-folding doors connect the inside with the enclosed courtyard garden. With your own private hot tub and really give you the sense of being in the thick of nature and countryside, without sacrificing comfort or quality.

The interior was designed to be tactile and distinct wherever possible - from the wood grain kitchen units with stunning white quartz work surface through to the 'waterfall wall' granite rocks in the master bedroom. Care and attention to detail are key to our design philosophy, and every

Swallow's Orchard represents modern living at its very best. Nestled in a hollow next to an old apple orchard, you can feel like you have truly escaped whilst being surrounded by luxury. With 3 en-suite bedrooms all located on the same level it is easily accessible and sleeps 6 in quality more akin to a 5 star hotel with a private hot tub - only one you don't have to share.

The stunning open plan kitchen/dining/living area at the property with 5 metre bi-folding doors connect the inside with the enclosed courtyard garden. With your own private hot tub and really give you the sense of being in the thick of nature and countryside, without sacrificing comfort or quality.

The interior was designed to be tactile and distinct wherever possible - from the wood grain kitchen units with stunning white quartz work surface through to the 'waterfall wall' granite rocks in the master bedroom. Care and attention to detail are key to our design philosophy, and every single element of the property has been researched, discussed and scrutinised to ensure an experience like no other.

The Sedum Spa is a shared facility located next to the property provides our guests with the chance to completely get away from it all with; a 12x5m indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, 4 treatment rooms, relaxation room, poolside lounging area, gym, separate male & female changing rooms. A visit to the Spa will leave you relaxed and revitalised - booking a massage with our therapy team, relaxing in the pool or soaking in the Nordic hot tub are all excellent ways to spend your time. Towels, Robes & Flip flops are provided free for guests to relax in comfort, and there is no extra charge for using the facilities.

Location description from owner

The England region

Located in the beautiful open countryside, close to Glastonbury, the properties enjoy magnificent views of the Tor. Nearby Longleat safari park offers a unique day out, driving in and amongst the lions and rhinos. Whilst for the architecturally minded, the World Heritage Site of Bath and, Wells the smallest city in England with its beautiful Cathedral, are within a short driving distance. The area also boasts such attractions as Cheddar Gorge, Wookey Hole caves, The Fleet Air Arm Museum and Haynes Motor Museum.

West Pennard

Glastonbury is famous for it's ancient history. Joseph of Arimathea (Jesus' great uncle) visited Glastonbury following Jesus' death and legend has it that this was the resting place for the holy grail. A few centuries after this King Arthur was buried at the foot of Glastonbury Tor (Avalon) and legend has it he still roams around the Abbey ruins! Either way, Glastonbury is a hive for spirituality and an alternative way of life. One visit to the town will make this abundantly obvious. It does have a great deal of charm though and of course all the necessary amenities. The area is probably best known for Glastonbury Festival which is a couple of miles from the property.

The surrounding fields offer a host of walking routes if you are feeling active, with a good pub located 1 mile from the property should you need a break on the way. If not, just relax and go to the spa or light the wood burner and put your feet up, soak in the private massaging hot tub, or if the weather permits snuggle up around the outside fire pit - your choice... decisions, decisions.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • 2 Cots available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • 2 Double Beds, 2 Single Beds, 2 Cots available
  • 3 En suites

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Air conditioning
  • Shared indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Sauna
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Paul C
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
25 Mar 2017
Years listed:
3
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This House has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 17 Apr 2013. Located in Glastonbury, it has 31 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £1150 to £2450.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 25 Mar 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 31 reviews Excellent
31 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
31
Very Good
0
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Amaxing, relaxing time!!!”

Reviewed 20 Oct 2015

We were a group of 5 ladies on a 50th birthday weekend and we had such an amazing time!! Swallow's Orchard has a fab open planned living / dining / kitchen area which suited us down to the ground! We cooked for ourselves on Friday and the kitchen had every utensil we needed! Bedrooms are well laid out and roomy and more than enough space for us all. Décor overall is very modern and clean but homely. We used the hot tub in the garden which was fab and we also spent the afternoon at the spa where we had it all to ourselves and had some lovely treatments with Gemma and Hannah! We ate at the Red Lion pub up the road on Saturday night and came back to watch Strictly which we had recorded on Sky! A real home from home and we all said how relaxed we felt after just 2 nights away! I would thoroughly recommend for a girls weekend or with the family! We're hoping to make it an annual event!

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for such a glowing review and we are glad that everything at Swallows Orchard matched with what you wanted. It sounds like you made the most of the Spa and the hot tub to relax, and we hope to see you all back again next year. All the best, Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team

“Perfect for a relaxing break”

Reviewed 6 Oct 2015

Our second visit to Swallow's Orchard did not disappoint - it's beautiful, well eqiuipped, comfortable and so peaceful - a perfect place to relax and recharge the batteries! We had great weather, so were able to chill out on the loungers in the garden and catch some rays and then at sundown, relax in the hot tub! The on site spa is great too and a hot stone massage was a real treat (thanks Gemma)! if you can bear to leave this lovely place, try the shopping village at Street, or admire the beautiful Wells Cathedral - both close by. You can't go far wrong with supper at the local pub either! I think we'll be back..........

Owner's reply: Thank you for your great review. We are so glad you had a great second stay with us, and by the sounds of it maybe more in the future. It is a great spot to get out and about or stay and be pampered. We will hopefully see you again soon. Kind regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.

“first Class Place to Stay, Unwind and Chill Out with Hot Tub and Spa Facilities”

Reviewed 2 Oct 2015

We are 6 long term friends who do not see each other often, we wanted somewhere special to relax and have quality time together, this was a perfect place. On arrival Ed showed us around the cottage, he was obviously very proud of the property and rightly so. It has a large open plan living room, dining room and kitchen, which was fully equipped. It was spotlessly clean. The decor gorgeous with nice little touches in the bedrooms. Linen and towels were top quality. The hot tub was well used, a nice treat and extremely clean. We used the Sedum Spa, Pool and Gym. Spa staff were professional, friendly and we all loved treatments that we pre booked. We pre booked a chef to cook for us one night, all 3 courses were delicious, he even cleared up and made us coffee. We went to Glastonbury one day, would of liked to of climbed the Tor but ran out of time. It is a very peaceful location and we had a nice walk in the stunning countryside. I really can not fault the place, we are looking forward to visiting again. Booking was easy, Woodlands staff were very helpful friendly and informative. Thank you for giving us some brilliant memories.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your shining review. It sounds like you had a fantastic time and really made the most of your stay. We are so pleased to hear it was a stay to remember and we look forward to you staying with us in the future. Best regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.

“Beautiful house, in a beautiful setting... perfect, amazing weekend.”

Reviewed 14 Sep 2015

I travelled to Swallows Lodge with 7 friends for my hen do. I was over the moon when we arrived, the place was gorgeous, beautifully set out with lovely furniture, immaculate and clean to the highest of standards. Ed met with us to go through everything and showed us around the spa. He was great, really helpful, friendly and professional, he also later on booked a taxi and made all the arrangements for our friend who was arriving later by train. The hot tub is amazing, the spa is so relaxing and quiet, we had it all to ourselves whenever we went in and it is literally outside the house. I had the best hen do and weekend and I could not have wished for more in terms of the setting. Thanks Ed and all the Woodlands Retreat team. I hope to be back one day with the family or maybe a hen reunion!

Owner's reply: Thank you for the fabulous review. We are so pleased you had a weekend to remember at the house and the spa. We would be delighted to have you and your family stay with us again. Best regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats team.

“The best self catering accommodation yet!”

Reviewed 30 Jul 2015

From the friendly phone conversation (with Paul?) the week before we arrived to the chat with the cleaning ladies on our departure, everything about this place was fantastic! Spotless upon arrival, warm welcome from Ed with local cider and shortbread to enjoy. Best hot tub I've used so far, fresh water before each new party arrives and most jets still work which is unusual in my experience of holiday lets! Very quiet location, short drive to Street or Glastonbury for the essentials, a local shop within walking distance would have made it 100% perfect but this is of course out of the owners' control! We did, however, walk to the Red Lion on three occasions (torch needed as no street lighting or pathways on the country lanes) which was lovely as everyone could enjoy a drink or two (our party of 6 all tried different mains off the menu and loved them all). The other nights we fired up the BBQ and enjoyed a meal outside followed by another dip in the hot tub by which time the BBQ had been turned into a firepit using the limitless supply of wood. The Spa was a superb facility and ensured the fairly remote location did not result in us having to travel somewhere to find something to 'entertain' us every day. There were times we were the only people using this wonderful facility, the lovely pool, comfortable poolside recliners, modern gym equipment and sauna. We even stayed 'in' one day, and enjoyed some relaxing spa treatments (thanks Gemma) and just chilled. Surrounding area had something for everyone; Street with it's shopping outlet, Glastonbury with it's Tor, Haynes Motor museum, cider making farms and Cheddar Gorge. We ran out of time but hope to come back to visit Wells etc. Being the countryside there are some things you have to accept, at certain times of year there are going to be flies etc and the way the property is designed with the fully opening doors plus interior light, both natural and artificial, attracts them so there are probably more than normal. This is not a major issue and is again, nothing that can be altered by the owners. It certainly did not spoil our holiday. Can't wait to return one day.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your glowing review. We are really pleased that you had such a good time; not only at the house and spa but in the surrounding area. I can see how you ran out of time with all the things to see and do. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards, Kerry and the Woodlands Retreats Team.

“Loved it!”

Reviewed 18 Mar 2015

We were a family party of 6 adults and a baby having a special weekend away together. Accommodation is beautifully designed and generally equipped to a high spec, very spacious and had everything we needed. Loved the hot tub and very easy access to spa. Baby particularly loved the pool and those of us who had treatments with Gemma were very impressed. The only small irritation was the poor quality hob, as we cooked all our meals at the cottage and had to use it a lot.

Owner's reply: We are so pleased you had a good stay with us, it was everything you hoped for and the treatments were enjoyed - we will feed this back to the team who will be delighted. I've just fully checked each ring on the hob is working, which it is very efficiently; it is a brand new Beko induction hob which works differently from conventional hobs whereby you have to have steel bottomed pans (provided at the house)on the ring for it to work. We offered to show you how to use it at the time, but you thought that this wouldn't be necessary - we would have been more than happy to give you a demonstration before or during your stay which might have made your break even more enjoyable. Paul & the team.

“Excellent”

Reviewed 2 Feb 2015

Helpful staff. Very well equipped and comfortable accommodation. Everything you need is there. Tranquil position. The spa with gym and pool is an added luxury. We had 2 treatments each which we really enjoyed and would highly recommend. Pool temp was a little cold but didn't stop us getting in. Would definitely visit again.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your positive review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us. We believe our spa therapists to be excellent, so it's great that our guests endorse this as well. The pool is heated to 30 degrees which should be warm enough when swimming and moving around - when you first get in it can sometimes feels a little colder given the warm pool room temperature and also compared to the hot tub which is heated to 39 degrees. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Regards, Paul & the team.

“Pure bliss!”

Reviewed 26 Jan 2015

This is our 2nd stay at Swallows Orchard and has now become an annual retreat to beat the January blues. The accommodation is more than 5 star and the hot tub in the garden is the icing on the cake! I loved getting in the hot tub first thing in the morning and hear the birds fly over head. It's just out of this world, so relaxing. The spa is only a few steps away and we had this to ourselves, so felt like we were really being spoilt. We visited the nearby Red Lion pub and had a fantastic evening watching the local folk musicians, they serve good cider too :) Roll on next year!

Owner's reply: Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased that you had a great time at Swallow's Orchard. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind regards, Ed & The Woodlands Retreats Team.

“5 star accomodation”

Reviewed 15 Jan 2015

Swallows Orchard was clean, warm & very comfortable. We were extended a warm welcome from Paul upon our arrival and shown around he house which catered for your every need. The spa was gorgeous and we were lucky as very few other guests used it, so we often had it all to ourselves! The hot tub in the garden was a delight too and we saw in the New Year sitting in there with our (plastic) glasses of bubbly after cooking sausages on the fire pit! The place is surrounded by fields & orchards which was good for dog walks. Glastonbury was only about 15 minutes away and is well worth a visit and for the shoppers amongst you, I can recommend a trip to the Clarks retail outlet in Street. Also recommend the Manor House in in Ditcheat for a meal.

Owner's reply: We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to have use of the Spa facilities all to yourselves. We hope to hear from you again soon. Kind regards, Paul & The Woodlands Retreats Team.

“AMAZING! FABULOUS!”

Reviewed 10 Nov 2014

Rented the property for a hen party. Excellent quality accommodation. Peaceful location. Lovely spa. Highly recommend the treatments. Best massage I've ever had. Would love to go back.

Owner's reply: We are really glad that you had a good time at Swallows Orchard and that everything went to plan with your activities and that you could make full use of the Spa. We would love to have you back any time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future Many thanks Ed and The Woodlands Retreats Team

Review 1-10 of 31

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

425588 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57749 properties

England Holidays

42205 properties

Bath

353 properties

Bridgwater

65 properties

Wells

62 properties

Glastonbury

59 properties

Weston-super-Mare

51 properties

Taunton

39 properties

Cheddar

38 properties

Burnham-On-Sea

32 properties

Shepton Mallet

22 properties

Langport

20 properties

Yeovil

20 properties

Wellington

18 properties

Frome

18 properties

Somerton

15 properties

Clevedon

10 properties

Kilve

10 properties

North Perrott

8 properties

Williton

7 properties

Wincanton

7 properties

Crewkerne

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.