List your home
Apply filters
£ to

5*LUXURIOUS WATERS EDGE LODGE

Certificate of Excellence 2014

from £75 /night help

Excellent 5/5 Score from 37 reviews

Lodge | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 10 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

Aptly named the Vision, with it's unique feature, a glass fronted elevation that looks out across the lake. Situated on Lakeland Leisure Village which has been the proud recipient of the David Bellamy Gold Conservation Award and is a Visit Britain 5* Park.

The private lake is suitable for fishing, kayaking, wind surfing or sailing (using your own equipment). The lodge benefits from its own private jetty. There is a small beach for children on site located near the leisure center, the lodge is located on the opposite side of the lake from the leisure center.

The lodge offer lots to do on site with the Leisure Center and the Waters Edge Bar and Restaurant or if you want to explore the surrounding lake district areas the lodge is in an ideal position for the ultimate walking experience. Ideal for couples wanting a relaxing, luxurious break or small families wanting lots of outdoor adventures and fun.

The lodge benefits from a large outside decked balcony leading from the lounge with stunning lake views, furnished with a table and chairs to enable you to dine alfresco on one of the best positions on the lake.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Nearest beach Sandside 10 km
Will consider Corporate bookings, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car advised
Nearest Amenities 1 km
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Manchester 105 km, Nearest railway: Carnforth 2 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Sauna, DVD player
Pool Shared indoor pool
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 En suites
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (1), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6
Other Linen provided
Outdoors Shared indoor pool, Balcony or terrace, Shared garden, BBQ, Private fishing lake or river
Access Secure parking
Further details indoors

The lodge consists of one double bedroom with t.v, en-suite shower, washbasin and toilet. One twin bedroom with a separate bathroom which has a shower bath, washbasin and toilet. There is a open-plan living dining area and a self contained kitchen.

Enjoy the spacious lounge that features panoramic views from floor to ceiling of the picturesque lake and surrounding hills. The lounge area contains a feature fire place with flat screen LCD TV complete with free-view.Sound bar system with bluetooth a DVD and CD player. Selection of board games& books available. The open plan dining area comfortably seats six.

State of the art fully fitted kitchen with integral appliances: Fridge Freezer, Dishwasher, Washer Dryer, Micro Wave, Electric Oven, Gas Hob and built under wine cooler with the added luxury of a drop down cd player and audio sound system in the kitchen. The kitchen is fully equipped with cutlery, dishes, pans and utensils. The hallway leads to the bedrooms and bathroom and has a storage closest for outdoor shoes and coats. Elegant double bedroom with leather bed, wall mounted t.v with built in d.v.d player, fitted wardrobes and en suite bathroom. Twin bedroom with wall to wall fitted mirrored wardrobe,wall mounted t.v with built in d.v.d player

Master bedroom has a wall mounted t.v with built in d.vd player , en suite bathroom with power shower, toilet and washbasin, also plenty of wardrobe space. Bedroom 2 has a large sliding mirror wardrobe. Also a wall mounted t.v with built in d.v.d player

En-suite with multi-jet power shower, toilet and washbasin. Main bathroom with hand held shower facility, bath, toilet and washbasin.

Further details outdoors

There is a large decked balcony over-looking the lake, the ideal area to have your BBQ. Table and chairs are available for 4 people to dine comfortably. There is also a waterside lawn and private jetty.

From the master bedroom there are patio doors that lead through to the outside balcony.

Parking for two cars.

Further details

A deposit of 20% will secure your booking with the balance required 28 days before the holiday starts.

A refundable security deposit of £100 is required to cover breakages and / or non-return of keys. To be refunded within two weeks of your departure (subject to satisfactory property inspection).

The lodge will be available from 2 p.m. on the day of your arrival and should be departed by 10 a.m on the date of departure.

The Lake District

Ideally located close to the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and even closer to Arnside and Silverdale a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, just 5 miles away.

Ideal for walking the Wainright Walks, cycling on the Lancashire cycle path, climbing, golf at Silverdale, Morecambe or Kendal. You will be close to the RSPB reserve at Leighton Moss where you will find an array of bird life.

At nearby Newby Bridge you will discover the Lakes Aquarium where you can also take a lake cruise along the length of lake Windermere. For a traditional shopping experience you can visit nearby, Kirby Lonsdale, Kendal or Bowness-on-Windermere.

Borwick

For places of historic interest there is Leighton Hall, Levens Hall and Sizergh Castle that are all within 10 minutes drive.

See the film set for the film Brief Encounter at Carnforth Station just 5 minutes drive.

Enjoy a days course fishing just 5 minutes away at Borwick Water or Tewitfield. There is also a trout fishing close by.

Greenlands Farm Village just 5 minutes away.

There is the Diving Centre at Carpenwray that is just a ten minute drive away.

Also local is Lakeland Wildlife Oasis the North West's Favourite Little Zoo just 5 miles away.

Golf at Silverdale just 15 minutes drive.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
33
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1

Excellent 5/5


37 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 37

7 Nov 2014

5/5

"A Wonderfully Relaxing Place...."

I wholeheartedly recommend staying in this lodge. We arrived very late in the evening after a nightmare journey from Spain, but the moment we stepped foot in the lodge we began to relax. It has spec… More

19 Oct 2014

5/5

"Truly beautiful"

Spent the time at this luxurious log cabin on the lake side with my family and would reccomend this to anyone who is looking for a traquil location to relax in first class comfort… More

21 Jul 2014

5/5

"A most relaxing and chilled out break"

We really enjoyed our 10 days in your lodge, it was the most perfect location and everyday we took advantage of the views from the veranda. My wife has MS and found the lodge very spacious making it e… More

Thank you for your review on Waters Edge Lodge.I hope you & your family get an opportunity to stay again, even in the winter the lodge is still a lovely place to be.It can be very warm & cosy from inside whilst taking in the views of the lake & wildlife on the outside.

14 Jul 2014

5/5

"A truly memorable stay in wonderful surroundings"

This lodge is truly impeccable in terms of views, cleanliness and amenities. There is nothing one can really complain about. Thumbs up also goes to Frida (owner of the lodge) who is always at your disposal prior to your stay and also during the time spent there.
We were truly blessed by wonderful weather so we got to enjoy the terrace right on top of the lake. One word of caution - during the evening if you intend to dine or relax on the terrace do get some insect repellent (ex citronella candles) as otherwise mosquitoes literally invade you. Also some things to keep in mind, if you intend to have a BBQ you need charcoal (its not gas operated) and you must bring your own towels. This is not a big deal but just something to keep in mind cause travelling from abroad and getting your own towels sometimes can be overlooked and would also add to the luggage weight ;).
The lodge had excellent parking facilities and also is very easy to find plus being close to the major lake district attractions...

One BIG issue i had was Wi-Fi connection - the signal is horrible but this is a shared Wi-Fi zone around the complex so it does not have to do anything with the lodge. It is also a bit pricey for such a bad signal/experience.

All in all - Well done the lodge is excellent

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Waters Edge Lodge. It is pleasing to hear your stay has given you some wonderful memories of your visit to the U.K and in particular the lake District area.I am sorry to hear the Wi Fi was not very good,the pricing & reception is out of my control due to it being a service provided by the Leisure Park.I hope you & your family had a pleasant trip back home to Malta.

7 Jun 2014

5/5

"Enjoyable stay"

My friend and I really enjoyed our visit to the Lakeside Lodge and were extremely pleased with everything supplied, in fact the whole experience was great. We hadn't known what to expect as neit… More

Dear Guests thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that your first experience of staying in a lodge for your break was a great one and hope that you both will consider Waters Edge Lodge again if you ever decide to visit the Lake District area again.

30 May 2014

5/5

"A Hidden Gem"

After much homework on deciding which lodge to rent out, because there are quite a few in the area of Carnforth .I picked this one because of the reviews i had read . The vast majority were excellent … More

Dear Guest thank you for posting your review on Waters Edge Lodge.I do hope you visit the lodge again in the near future.

27 May 2014

5/5

"Faultless and luxurious lodge"

Thank you for an amazing family break. Fantastic lodge and facilities. We can't wait to stay there again. You offered us a professional yet friendly service which we can't fault. A very special place for a relaxing weekend. Thanks again

Thank you for writing your review regarding your stay at the lodge. It is very much appreciated.I do pride myself in providing the best facilities i can for my guests to make the most of their stay.I will look forward to your family taking a break at the lodge again in the near future. As many of my guests do return year after year, i hope you & your family do too.

27 May 2014

5/5

"Fabulous location for the Lake District"

My husband and I were between homes and enjoyed a week at the base of the Lake District, we spent our days travelling to all the great sites, lunch at L'Enclume and many other lovely locations in the region. Very well appointed accommodation.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the lodge. It seems you have taken full advantage of the ideal positioning of the lodge being at the gateway to the Lake District. Thanks for your visit.

20 Apr 2014

2/5

"This lodge has lost its' luxury and is not five star!"

Despite the 5* Luxurious description staying at the lodge is a tired and somewhat grubby experience.

Luxury can obviously be defined in many ways. We could not accept such a description for this property as it was not as clean as we would have expected and did not have the touches that luxury implies. The owner, for instance does not even supply towels, toilet roll or hand wash never mind any other luxury touches.

The carpets are stained and the general cleanliness is lacking. Examples of this include the barbecue which was rusty and unusable and the kitchen surfaces which were cleaner when we left than when we arrived. The toaster is caked with old crumbs and the fridge had an unpleasant aroma throughout our stay.

The double bed is genuinely awful. It has no support and we woke up stiff and aching each morning.

The technology in the lodge is once again not up to the quality expected. A clear example of this is the music system which incorporates a "mini-disc" player of all things! This is similar to finding a Betamax video in your holiday home!

The outside space is as close to the lake as you are lead to expect but it is important for those staying here to know that it is not a usable space unless you are prepared to put up with a swarm of insects. You will need some insect repellent.

Finally the general condition of this lodge is not quite as you might expect from the photographs and previous reviews. Examples of this include the foot boards in the kitchen and the tap in the bathroom basin which are not properly fitted.

Overall a disappointing experience in a lodge that is not luxurious and is not five star.

Dear guest, do you have a telephone? If so, I would like to think that if you truly found your stay at the lodge such a terrible experience you would have contacted me so that I could rectify some of your concerns straight away (some of them I must admit are out of my control).

With regards to insects, you should know that you will find plenty of them outdoors in the countryside as this is their natural habitat! However, for your convenience there was an insect spray for you to use.

With regards to the barbeque being rusty, this is due to a previous guest misplacing the cover and the barbeque being exposed over the winter months when the lodge was shut down. This will be replaced ready for the summer season.

I do state on the website that towels are not provided so towels should have not been expected. However, if you would have asked before you arrived I would have provided them for your stay. Toilet rolls are always provided and if they were not there, again you should have contacted me.

As for your issue with the technology, the system you refer to is indeed old, however it is also an excellent CD player and Tuner and the sound is excellent (there is also two other CD players in the lodge). I am surprised that you still play Mini-discs, as you will find that most people have now progressed to CD's. If you do upgrade to a CD player… remember, to get a telephone.

As for the photographs of the lodge posted on the website, I can assure you they are very accurate in terms of what the guest expects to see when they arrive. Out of 29 reviews may I say there is only two bad reviews, yours and l assume a relative of yours who stayed last year (may even be you) who has given such a poor review.

Can I suggest next time you decide to take a short break that you relax more and do not spend your time on kitchen floors looking at how kick-boards are assembled.

1 Apr 2014

5/5

"Comfort and tranquilty - lovely lodge with best lakeside position"

We booked this lodge for a last minute week long break. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the location and the comfort of the lodge so much we extended our stay for another four nights! Wouldn't hesitate to return and have recommended it to our family and friends.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review .I am very happy you found your stay at the lodge comfortable and that you & your husband found the peace & tranquility that i am sure you both needed.I must agree with you about having the best lakeside position it probably gives the most privacy compared to the other lodges on the park.I wish for you both good health.

Review 1-10 of 37

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices

*
*

Min stay varies, Changeover day Flexible

*

Sleeps 4

from £75 /night help

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

Subtotal

Enter dates to see your price

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

Contact the owner

Need more information first?

Close
*
help

Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

You're booking with

Frida K.

  • 4 Years listed

90% Response rate

Calendar last updated:23 Dec 2014

Based in

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Mobile
+44(0)7787502706
Website
Visit site

Also consider

Lancashire
356 properties
Grange-over-Sands-old
198 properties
Kendal-old
130 properties
Carnforth-old
95 properties
Ulverston-old
72 properties
Ingleton-old
69 properties
Kirkby Lonsdale-old
65 properties
Carnforth
53 properties
Sedbergh-old
48 properties
Dent-old
39 properties
Lancaster-old
35 properties
Milnthorpe-old
15 properties
Colton-old
14 properties
Arnside-old
13 properties
Silverdale-old
12 properties
Silverdale
12 properties
Chipping-old
7 properties
Morecambe-old
6 properties
Haverthwaite-old
6 properties
Penny Bridge-old
6 properties

Start a new search

Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page