from £75 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Island View – Home 612241 Bungalow

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

Bungalow / 3 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0.01 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome

Bed & bathroom

  • 1 Double Bed, 4 Single Beds
  • 2 Family bathrooms

Amenities

  • Private garden
  • Sea view
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Linen provided

More Less

Access

  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Annie E.
Average reply time:
3 hours 50 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
10 Feb 2018
Years listed:
4
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Bungalow has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 06 Sep 2013. Located in Isle of Jura, it has 35 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £400 to £680.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 10 Feb 2018.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 35 reviews Excellent
35 reviews

Excellent
30
Very Good
4
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
0

“Family holiday”

Reviewed 30 Oct 2017

We had a fantastic time. Jura is beautiful and everyone there was really friendly. The cottage was great with everything we needed and more! It was great to relax by the fire with a wee dram after exploring. We would definatley recommend it.

Owner's reply: Thanks Emma n 'co! It's really good to hear that all was well and that you enjoyed your time at Island View. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Much appreciated! Annie

“Interesting!!”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2017

Having been advised that the ferry from Islay to Jura was off, we were then told by the owners that actually we should undertake the long journey to Islay by road and ferry and come over to Jura as foot passengers.. we were communicating with the boys on the Jura ferry and luckily it was back on late on the sat we were arriving as it turns out the foot passenger option the holiday home owners told us to take was a rusty ladder up a fishing boat .... My wife was traumatised at the thought of leaving out foid, belongings and dog behind and to be honest we would have stayed in Islay had it been the fishing boat option ! We arrived at the holiday house at 10 pm .. the whole house was absolutely stinking of food from the family ( the owners ) who had been in it right up until they took the ferry off the island.. the fire was not made up and the water was cold, the bed was disgusting and I actually don't think the sheets were clean .. the bed smelt ! my wife was appalled and she slept on a towel and had luckily brought her own pillow.. she itches all night! the next day she stripped the bed down to the mouldy mattress and did 2 washed of all the pillow protectors , mattress protector sheets and pillow carmses. She removed the old electric blanket from the bed and the filthy mats at the sides of the bed. She sources 4 pillows from the children's room that she deemed cleaner than the ones on the double bed . ( they need binned !!) The house was not clean .. hair in the bath and shower ! The microwave had been used to reheat curry?? and smelt .. Windows are filthy! Window ledges inside and out are mouldy and light shades and skirting boards filthy! Dust on everything .. This is a house that requires not just a spring clean but a new mattress and a contract clean !! After my wife had cleaned it as best she could with the limited cleaning supplies we have actually enjoyed Jura the view and the log burner .. I have never written a dissapointing review in my life.. I feel so let down ..

Owner's reply: Dear Kevin - thank you for your review, received today, 17th September for your stay on 29th August. The ferry service caused disruption on the island for a few days with a 'foot passengers only' service in operation. This was an unexpected event and I informed your wife and kept her updated on the situation, as well as offering several solutions in an attempt to overcome the issue. Other than that I am afraid that I could do not more with regard to the ferry services, or the mode of alternative transport being provided for foot passengers. The choice as to whether or not to make the "long journey to Islay by road" was entirely your own. I suggested altering your dates from Sunday to Sunday to allow for the service to resume but you decided against it. As you say, the service was in operation on the Saturday which meant that my family and I were delayed but eventually able to leave the island by car at 6pm. In the meantime I had provisionally arranged alternative accommodation for us all in case the ferries didn't run and having been informed by your wife that you had chosen to reach the island as foot passengers. * RE the smell of food: we did eat whilst being at the house and I believe that a curry was heated in the microwave. However the microwave was cleaned as was the whole house in good time before you arrived. * The fire wasn't set: There was plenty of coal, kindling and wood for the burner and the heaters were left on for your arrival. * The water was cold: The water is heated by means of an immersion switch which takes approximately 30 minutes, as per the details passed to you. For the the purpose of showering, both showers provide instant hot water by means of the pull down switches. * The sheets, pillow cases and duvet cover were freshly laundered and put on in readiness for you as they always are for new guests arriving. There were two brand new pillow protectors and the other two were clean on. The beds were stripped and there was no evidence of any mould being on the mattress before we left. * The electric blanket was a new purchase in October last year and is less than a year old as are the mats by the side of the bed which are cleaned and replaced as appropriate. * Both the shower and bathrooms were thoroughly cleaned and there were no obvious signs of hairs having been left. I would like to draw your attention to the section of Things You Need to Know with regard to clearing up dog mess. My housekeeper reported that you left dog faeces in the back and front gardens during your stay. It was also noted that you opened up a parcel in my name without permission. I simply asked that the parcel, which was delayed due to the ferry disruptions, be brought into the house. I hope this addresses the main points. With regard to the mattress, it is 4 years old and soon due for renewal but it is not necessary at present. Although it was myself and my husband who cleaned on this occasion, I am happy with the high cleaning standards provided by my housekeeper. The 31 other positive reviews bear testimony to this.

“Totally Amazing - Beautiful Family-friendly beachside cottage”

Reviewed 17 Jul 2017

Island View is an amazing cottage. It has stunning views of Jura and is literally across the road from the beach. My children loved the fact they could go to the beach on their own and I could watch them at all times. The house has everything that is needed - even down to Monopoly and badminton set. The owner was great to deal with and on hand throughout our stay if we had any questions. I would totally recommend this cottage and look forward to visiting the island again soon.

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! I'm pleased that the initial 'hiccups' didn't spoil your enjoyment for the week at Island View. Thanks also for leaving the house in such a clean and tidy state. That was very appreciated! I look forward to welcoming you back. All the very best to you! Annie

“A perfect holiday retreat”

Reviewed 5 Nov 2014

What a truly lovely place!! Island View is a very welcoming and comfortable holiday home where you relax instantly. It is beautifully appointed, decorated with a beach theme that is light, airy and fun and has everything that you could want for the perfect holiday. The kitchen is very well equipped while the lounge is spacious, nicely decorated and has a wood- burning stove which we used regularly (we were there in late October) and which made the lounge really cosy in the evenings. The view from the lounge window out over Small Isles Bay is wonderful! All the bedrooms are well-decorated and comfortable while two bathrooms was a bonus. The house has wi-fi, a real boon if, like us, you have a teenager with you or you just need to keep in touch with the outside world. There are so many nice touches in this house, it’s a real home from home!! The house is in a superb location, literally over the road from the beach and a twenty minute stroll from the centre of Craighouse where you’ll find the village shop, the pub (which serves a good lunch) and the Jura distillery. On our last afternoon we went on the tour of the distillery which was fascinating and, needless to say, ended with a few drams!!! Venturing further afield, the trip up the island is a must as the views are spectacular and there’s lots of wildlife to see. Also, it’s well worth taking the ferry over to the neighbouring island of Islay at least once for a day- trip. Everyone we met, without exception, was very friendly and helpful. And do we want to go back? Definitely, but for longer!!!!!

“island view isla jura”

Reviewed 3 Sep 2014

Island view great holiday cottage what more could you want perfect view across water very clean and comfortable.so peaceful we had a great relaxing holiday we would certainly go back.

“Lovely accommodation in a lovely setting.”

Reviewed 25 Aug 2014

Island View is a lovely holiday home with fantastic views across Small Isles Bay on Jura. The 'Beach Holiday' themed decor is fun and tasteful. All the facilities are good, the kitchen well equipped, everything thought through well. The accommodation was warm, clean, light and spacious. The location is fabulous, right next to the sea - wonderful to watch an otter playing right outside. We have thoroughly enjoyed two holidays there and will be back next year!

Owner's reply: Hi there! It is now 2016 and I've just decided out of curiosity to check back and have found that, not only were you our first guests at Island View (having looked at the house in 2011 whilst it was being refurbished) but your next visit this year will be the 5th time that you have stayed! Many thanks for your custom - we look forward to welcoming you for many more years to come! Annie

Review 1-10 of 35

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

439263 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

59518 properties

Scotland Holidays

7642 properties

Isle of Bute

97 properties

Oban

92 properties

Cowal Peninsula

87 properties

Tighnabruaich

32 properties

Kintyre Peninsula

31 properties

Dalavich

24 properties

Taynuilt

21 properties

Lochgilphead

20 properties

Strachur

18 properties

Loch Awe

16 properties

Inveraray

12 properties

Acharacle

9 properties

Kilmartin

9 properties

Colintraive

7 properties

Craobh Haven

7 properties

Kilfinan

6 properties

Slate Islands

6 properties

Appin

6 properties

Portsonachan

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.