from
£52 / night
Price for guests, Nights
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

Estuary View – Home 352291 Chalet

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 4 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

Estuary View – Home 352291

  • Chalet
  • 2 bedrooms
  • sleeps 4
  • 3 nights min stay

Very Good Very Good – based on 58 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Chalet / 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 4

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 3 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car essential
  • Pet friendly

Description from owner

Description

Estuary View is on a site of about 80 chalets and bungalows set in 40 acres of sloping woodland within the SNOWDONIA NATIONAL PARK.. It has one of the best positions, facing south and looking out over the lovely Dovey Estuary towards the mountains beyond. The short track up to all the chalets on this site is steep, winding and rough in places so it is necessary to drive with care, but when you get up to the chalet you are rewarded with wonderful views. If you are concerned you might like to send me a booking enquiry before booking to stay. This is a precautionary warning: lots of people use the track every day without a problem and I am not aware of any guest having damaged their car, you just have to be careful.

If you put out birdfood a wonderful variety of birds will visit the terrace, and badgers often come at dusk if you encourage them with peanuts. It is quiet. Few cars pass, and road calming measures ensure that they drive slowly.

This small but charming cedar chalet sleeps four people in basic comfort. The accommodation is on one floor and consists of a double bedroom and a twin room (3ft beds). There is a family shower room with wash basin and loo and off the twin room is a small ensuite comprising a WC, wash basin and small bath. There are extractor fans and wall heaters in both wash rooms.

The living area is open plan. There is a sofa and chair, colour TV, DVD/CD player, radio. At the dining end there is a folding table with four chairs; patio doors open onto a small terrace with a picnic table. The views from the dining and picnic tables are stunning, and it is very peaceful. There is a 3ft drop onto grass from the terrace, so little ones need to be watched.

The open plan kitchen looks onto woodland at the back. it is fitted with full-sized electric cooker, fridge and microwave and well supplied with crockery, cutlery, pans etc.

There are plenty of electric heaters for the chilly days - electricity is from a £1 coin meter. The beds are fitted with electric blankets. Water is from the site's private mountain source and is sterilised at the chalet by a UV treatment unit and filter to ensure purity and safety.

Towels and bedlinen can be supplied for an optional additional fee of £12.50 for the double bed and £6.50 each for the single beds.

We welcome well-behaved pets for an additional fee of £5.

The property is not specifically geared for children under five but lots of parents have found it fine.

The chalet is all on one level so is suitable for most people with limited mobility. There is a shallow step on the path and a step up to to the front door..

Sorry but Estuary View is for non- smokers only.

There's plenty to do in the area and good co-op supermarkets within 7 miles. The delightful resort of Aberdovey is only 2.5 miles away. If you enjoy train journeys the Cambrian Line is a real treat - choose from Barmouth, Aberystwyth, Shrewsbury, Harlech ........so many wonderful destinations! At Tywyn, about seven miles away, you can pick up the Talyllyn narrow gauge steam train for a trip into the mountains, and several other steam railways are within easy reach for a day out.

Although the chalet can be used at any time of year it is not insulated and in chilly weather requires heating whenever you are in it. The short access road is steep and winding and the surface is poor, so we do not normally let out the chalet over winter. If you are hardy and relaxed about possibly difficult driving conditions and would like a winter let contact us.

You will need a car to access Estuary View. It is about 2.5 miles to Aberdovey and 7 miles to Machynlleth and Tywyn. Parking is adjacent to the property.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
  • 1 En suite, 1 Shower room

Amenities

  • Balcony or terrace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £30.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

About the owner

Irene C.
Average reply time:
2 hours 29 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated:
13 Jun 2019
Years listed:
6
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, French, German

This Chalet has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 08 Mar 2013. Located in Snowdonia National Park, it has 58 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £310 to £457.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 13 Jun 2019.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good
58 reviews

Excellent
40
Very Good
14
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Lovely place !”

Reviewed 28 May 2018

Very nice and cozy accommodation with beautiful views ! fully equipped with everything you might need for self catering let . We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to go back or recommend this lovely place to others!!! :)

Owner's reply: So glad you enjoyed your stay, Natalia - we do hope you will come again.

“Chalet smelled strongly of dogs and was dirty cold and damp .”

Reviewed 6 Apr 2018

Chalet was dirty cold damp and smelled of dogs used loads of money just to keep warm .location was beautifull but still left early due to condition of chalet .

Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the trouble to review our chalet. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the experience of staying in a cedar chalet - it is the cedar wood that gives these chalets a distinctive - to many people a pleasant - scent. There have been no dogs in the chalet for at least five full months; and although we had a burst pipe in the very cold weather neither I nor anyone else I have spoken to thinks it is still damp after heating and a week of constant use of a dehumidifier. With five portable electric heaters, two fixed wall heaters in the bathrooms and electric blankets on all beds there is really no need to be cold, and although it is alarming to pay for electricity as you use it, I think this is a matter of perception as at home most of us do not see the money disappearing in quite the same way. I put less than £15 in the meter during my five night stay during below zero temperatures in early March, and this was I feel sure offset by the costs I was not incurring in heating my home. The charges for electricity on site are exceptionally high and the meter setting means I am actually subsidising guests. You were very unlucky with the weather - my cleaners tell me is was cold and wet. even on the coldest of winter days the chalet gets very warm when the sun pours in. I feel sad that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had hoped, especially as you were celebrating a wedding anniversary.

“Beautiful and Breathtaking”

Reviewed 29 Oct 2017

A wonderful holiday, fantastic views. Great things to do and a birdspotters haven by the estuary and with ynys hir and cors dyfi reserves not far away, a visit to corris and the stars were amazing too just great!

Owner's reply: It gives me great pleasure when guests have clearly appreciated the place as much as I do! I am delighted that you had such a good holiday - thank you for sharing your enjoyment with others who might be thinking of booking a stay.

“Week spent at Estuary View”

Reviewed 13 Aug 2017

It is a comfortable and cosy chalet with wonderful views of the estuary. The chalet has all we needed to make our stay comfortable. Lots of birds and wildlife to see. Great things to do nearby - walking, beaches, mines, and CAT.

Owner's reply: Thank you, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Do come again when you can!

“Excellent accommodation”

Reviewed 26 Jun 2017

Excellent accommodation, would recommend to anyone who wanted a quiet and beautiful location. The owner was very helpful & I cannot fault any part of our stay.

Owner's reply: Thank you Louise - I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves and liked our chalet. It was good to have you stay and I hope you will come again, Best wishes Irene

“Little Gem”

Reviewed 5 Jun 2017

We went to Estuary view to use as a base to explore the area. My daughter had booked the zip wire velocity for my birthday so i thought id kill a few birds with one stone as it was my youngest daughters birthday also. The area is beautiful and the cabin has lots of character and fantastic views over the estuary.? Never realised though that Bethesda is where the velocity wire is and this is right up near Bangor! Also the other wires and bounce below are in Betws y Coed and Blainau Festiniog which is an hours drive at least! This is in no way Estuary views fault, totally mine as i never realised the distance between the different quarries and adventure parks. We would definately go back at some point as we had to return early due to car trouble, but it was a fantastic base to use and Irene the owner is very helpful.

Owner's reply: Thank you, Julian, your review will be helpful to anyone who does not know the geography of Wales. It looks small on the map but travelling from one end to another, though an enjoyable journey, takes time. I am delighted that in spite of car trouble you were able to enjoy your stay and appreciate the beauties of our part of Wales . I look forward to welcoming you again.

“Excellent”

Reviewed 19 Apr 2017

Estuary View was all we hoped it would be. A very peaceful location but close enough to the town Aberdovey for shops, cafes and pubs. The chalet had everything we needed from maps of the local area, games and plenty of information about what to do in the area. The children found a great rope swing hanging from a Oak tree in the little wooded area, just below the chalet. We had some great value meals out in the evenings, at the Dovey Inn, plenty of choice and excellent children's menu! The town beach in Aberdovey is lovely, perfectly safe for the children to paddle and dig in the sand. On most morning's from 11am ,young children can have a donkey ride on the beach to the left of the little playground. If you are looking for a quieter bit of the beach, then drive towards Tywyn, park opposite the churchyard on the right-hand side and walk across the golf course, over the boardwalk and onto the beach. Thank you very much Irene, we hope to be back soon!

Owner's reply: Great to know that you had such a lovely time and will be back to Estuary View soon! your review not only cheered me, it will be really helpful to holidaymakers thinking of booking a stay. Thanks for taking the trouble - I look forward to hearing from you when you are able to come again. Our cleaner gave you a good review too, so everyone is happy.

“Excellent”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2016

Our stay at estuary view was fab we stayed 4 nights with our 2 dogs brilliant view from the chalet lots of places to walk the dogs weather was good to us we went on the beach every day. The chalet as every thing you need home from home it was just perfect

Owner's reply: HI, Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review. I am delighted that you had such a good time and that the weather was so good for the time of year. I hope to hear from you about another stay at some future date. The cleaner gave you an excellent review in her text to me, so we are all happy!

“Every thing we expected”

Reviewed 26 Jun 2016

Great views, all amenities, wonderful bird life and close to lovely beach. Perfect for our dog too with walks from the chalet.

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you will come again! Irene.

“Lovely place to say”

Reviewed 31 Jul 2013

The cabin is situated in the perfect place, we ate our breakfast outside overlooking the Estuary every morning. The pictures and descriptions accompanying the advert are very accurate; the cabin was lovely and clean, and everything that you could possibly need for your stay is provided, from a plethora of kitchen utensils/equipment to dvd's for those raining afternoons. We loved staying here and used it as a base from which to explore the local area, as well as the cabin itself, we particularly recommend Aberdovey, Bala lake, and Barmouth.

Review 1-10 of 58

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with IRENE (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send IRENE (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact IRENE (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view IRENE the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send IRENE (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send IRENE (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to IRENE (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from IRENE (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. IRENE (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call IRENE (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact IRENE (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send IRENE (the owner) a message.

If IRENE (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

524994 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

71514 properties

Wales Holidays

8390 properties

North Wales Holidays

4062 properties

Gwynedd

1,297 properties

Anglesey

1,071 properties

Snowdonia National Park

707 properties

Conwy County

569 properties

Denbighshire

278 properties

Dolgellau

99 properties

Betws-y-Coed

87 properties

Flintshire

86 properties

Aberdovey

75 properties

Harlech

72 properties

Bala

72 properties

Wrexham County

54 properties

Blaenau Ffestiniog

51 properties

Llanbedr

31 properties

Llwyngwril

30 properties

Llanberis

25 properties

Penmachno

22 properties

Trawsfynydd

18 properties

Abergynolwyn

16 properties

Bronaber

15 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.