£161 / night
Price for guests, Nights

Plas Dorothea, Talysarn, Caernarfon, Gwynedd – Home 4608786 House

  • 6 bedrooms
  • 14 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Plas Dorothea, Talysarn, Caernarfon, Gwynedd – Home 4608786

  • House
  • 6 bedrooms
  • sleeps 14
  •  min stay varies

Very Good Very Good – based on 80 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

House / 6 bedrooms / 4 bathrooms / sleeps 14

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 6 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner


We are pleased to announce that Plas Dorothea has just been awarded a "Certificate of Excellence " for 2018 by Trip Advisor for the second consecutive year.

The property is located in the Nantlle Valley in Snowdonia between the villages of Talysarn and Nantlle, across the river and adjacent to the famous Dorothea Quarry with its 350 acres of land to explore in the foothills of Mount Snowdon and is only 3 miles from the beautiful coastline of West Wales and its unspoilt beaches some 7 miles south of the castellated town of Caernarfon.

The property is a remote, detached, early Victorian mansion built in around 1860, with ample private parking at the front of the property for up to 6 vehicles, and is set in its own grounds which extend to some 5 acres and is pet friendly, with approximately 100 metres river frontage. There is a large walled Victorian garden which is laid to lawn and a smaller garden at the side of the house which is suitable for children of all ages and has a large trampoline.

On the ground floor access from the the front door opens into a hallway with a large lounge and dining room leading off it, which has a traditional period cast iron open fireplace with surround and over mantle and also an attractive bay window. On the opposite side of the hallway is the original dining room which also has a period cast iron open fire and bay window, which has been converted into a bedroom with three single beds, of which two zip up to create a double bed.

There is a wood paneled breakfast room seating up to 14 people which also has period cast iron fireplace, also books and games for all the family, including table football, air hockey and pool.

There is wood paneled, pub styled bar, with an inglenook fireplace with a wood burning stove, a casino gaming table & darts board. Access from the bar leads to doors to staircase leading to the wine cellar (no access to guests), door to the boot room which has outdoor games stored in it, including footballs, badminton, boules, basket ball and cricket. There is a door to the kitchen and access to large lawn and gardens. There are two staircases (one originally for the servants from the kitchen) and the main staircase leading to the first floor.

The first floor consists of a further 5 bedrooms, 3 of which are en-suite and also the main bathroom with walk in shower and double wash hand basin a. There is a further door on the landing which leads to the servants quarters on the second floor which is currently closed to visitors. It is also a fantastic house for parties with optional disco lights in the bar.

More Less


  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: Double Bed Single Bed
    Bedroom 3: Double Bed
    Bedroom 4: Double Bed
    Bedroom 5: Double Bed
    Bedroom 6: 3 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom, 3 En suites


  • Wi-Fi available
  • Mountain Views
  • Private garden
  • Trampoline
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Waterfront
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Games room
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Video player
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Telephone
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less


  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

To fully explore the coastal area of the Llynn Peninsular and Snowdonia I would recommend that you have access to your own transport although the local bus service is quite extensive.

Interaction with guest

Our house manager will be at the property to greet you on your day of arrival to hand over the house keys and show you around the property, explain how things work and answer any questions that you may have. Any issues that you may have regarding the property should be communicated asap. We expect that the property is to be left as you found it in a clean and tidy condition. Our staff are responsible for cleaning the property but not for the removal of our guests left over food, washing up dirty crockery and for the sorting and removal of recycling and waste from inside of the house. Waste & recycling facilities are provided. A charge of £15 per hour will be charged for any excessive cleaning which will be deducted from your damage deposit.


Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £100.00
No smoking at this property


Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

A maximum of 2 Dogs are allowed ONLY with prior arrangement with the owner and are subject to house rules in that they are not allowed on soft furnishings or in the bedrooms. Owners will be held responsible for the clearing up and removal of all mess at the property. Any mess left by you and your pet will be charged a clean up fee. A fee of £10 per night per dog is payable to the house manager at the time of arrival at the property


About the owner

Linda And Glynn L.
Average reply time:
10 minutes
Response rate:
Calendar updated:
04 Aug 2019
Years listed:
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

This House has 6 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and sleeps 14. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 30 Jun 2014. Located in Gwynedd, it has 80 reviews with an overall rating of 4. The average weekly rate is £1546.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 04 Aug 2019.


Map and how to get there


Guest reviews

Very Good
80 reviews

Very Good


Reviewed 9 Aug 2019

Sir/madam, Not one to complain ever, however after a weeks stay at the property mentioned above I feel I have had to contact you. Firstly because this property is currently advertised at £161 per night. Having spent a week here, the last week in July with my family, in such a glorious setting, we were all totally disappointed that the property didnt live up to the standards that were advertised and that quite frankly anyone would expect! A beautiful house, totally run down, filthy in places. Dirty Oven, crockery and sticky surfaces all in need of a wipe down. Didnt take us long, after we went and brought antibacterial spray, however when it's someone else's filth and you come across roasting pans with 4 cm thick layers of fat, you begin to feel a little unsettled and question the cleaning standards. The house was thick with dust and cobwebs, the bar area had to be cleaned as did all the glasses. The house plants were all dead! The Fridge Freezer broke on day three, we discovered the 6 pints of milk had curdled and the £30 of meat we had stocked up on for a BBQ had to be thrown, it's ok though because we received a courteous text from the house manager that day asking us how the fridge was as it had been tempremental! This being the house manager that greeted us with the keys and before even saying hello made it very clear that her only responsibility of the property was the keys and she had nothing to do with anything else! Of the 4 showers in the property only two worked, which was interesting when you are sharing with 10 people. Bulbs needed changing but the ceilings were to high and we were on holiday!!!! We cleaned what we could in order to try and relax, after all this was our summer holiday! The 5 acres of land the property boasts about was out of bounds as currently privately leased, little disappointing, yet we enjoyed the garden apart from the dodgy trampoline with a hole in it! Finally.....because I could go on....the night before we left a large antique mirror fell off the wall that was hanging above the bed my nephew lay sleeping in. Thankfully he was un harmed, yet we were totally shocked to notice it had been literally stuck on the wall with what looked like double sided tape! WHAT!!!! This property has been rated with a certificate of excellence and I urge that Trip advisor review this immediately. A reputable company such as yourselves should not be advertising a property with such poor standards.... I look forward to hearing from you, Kind regards, Gemma Clayton.

“Great for large groups”

Reviewed 18 Apr 2019

Excellent location and great for a large group. We visited in an extended family group of 11 people aged 20 to 87. Comfy house with plenty of space for everyone. Great for dogs with lovely walk right outside the door.

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review It really is appreciated We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay That is very important to us all

“Well equiped, quirky & spacious”

Reviewed 4 Jan 2019

We stayed here as 3 families and two dogs. Lots of room with the bar being the main area for the adults whilst the children played endless hide and seek or sat in the lounge watching the many DVDs. Well equipped kitchen with separate dinning area which was ideal for all of us. Ideal place to go as a group with plenty to do within the house itself.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, it’s very important to us The bar does seem to be a magnet lol

“What a fabulous place! Quirky and homely. We will definitely come again.”

Reviewed 4 Oct 2018

I booked Plas Dorothea because it was near to Zipworld where the family had booked a surprise 75th birthday Zip Wire experience for my partner. I also booked Plas Dorothea because, as part of the surprise birthday, his whole family were joining us there. I am so glad we ignored the awful reviews on Trip Advisor just before our booking, because we had a whole different, happy experience. Yes the house is worn, yes its rickety in places, and yes its very quirky, but it was built in 1860, so what do you expect. It was clean, well equipped, spacious, warm, with extra fires to light if you wanted to, a big garden with a massive trampoline for the kids, ponies in the adjoining field, the list goes on. Absolutely perfect for a large family gathering. Rachel, the House keeper was lovely, couldn't do enough for us. Very friendly and helpful. The shops, with a Co-op convenience store, is a short drive away, so there was no need to stock up that much and take with us. Next time, and there will be a next time, we will just take the basics and go food shopping. Lots of walking country on the doorstep with beautiful surroundings.

Owner's reply: Oh Norma What a lovely review Rachel loved having you there and enjoyed your friendly demeanour We would be so happy to welcome you back and look forward to seeing you again

“Great place to use for groups, business or retreats”

Reviewed 16 Sep 2018

Our groups visit here several times a year and the house is always immaculate. The students love the site. They also respond well to Rachel's humour and friendly greeting. We have always had a great time here no matter the weather or time of year. Sometimes the weather demands that we stay in, always warm and the house has a remarkably peaceful demeaner all of its own. I have read some of the more recent reviews and have to say I don't recognise the complaints to be of the same property. My thanks to owners Linda and Glynn and also to Rachel who has a great sense of humour and for whom nothing is too much effort. Last but by no means least close access to the whole peninsular and to Snowdonia. Fantastic. Recommended

Owner's reply: Thank you for your lovely review This is more like the ones we normally receive We were beginning to wonder where we going wrong You and your group are always a pleasure to welcome to Dorothea

“The house is in a great location, but in a very poor state of repair.”

Reviewed 4 Aug 2018

A great house but in poor state of repair, the en_suites leak through the ceilings below, dripping water onto the electrics, most of the doors have the door latches removed so won’t close correctly, the main bathroom door would not close fully but jammed on the floor about 3 inches from being closed, my 7 year old grandson got stuck in the bathroom early hours of the morning and had to call for help, the lounge ceiling wallpaper was hanging down because of water ingress, on our last day the electric tripped out and would not reset, with the amount of extension leads all plugged into one socket I was not surprised. I would not recommend this holiday let on safety issues, Derek Crisp July 2018

Owner's reply: We were really upset to read your review and feel that had you communicated with us more your stay might not have been marred There was an issue with a pipe after you arrived due to a recent power shower pump replacement The plumber was called and came to sort it as soon as he could at the same time resolving the problem with the bathroom door Sadly you fail to mention that it was resolved quickly in your review It must have been very upsetting for your grandson to be stuck in the bathroom and we can only apologise for this However I have checked every other door and find no issue with any of them We weren’t aware of the ceiling paper as we don’t come into the house during your stay unless invited and you didn’t tell Rachel about it until you were leaving It took less than 10 minutes to repair! With regards to dangerous electrics, your comment was completely unfounded The issue you had causing the lights to go out turned out to be the fuse in the plug in the beer fridge which resulted in the trip switch in the consumer unit tripping out It was nothing to do with water from the shower affecting the electrics To conclude, the electrics are subject to safety certification every year Your smiles and ‘these things happen’ comments didn’t match your scathing review and certainly caused Rachel to feel very upset We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked We work hard to give our guests a positive experience and the majority of our guests love the house and return year after year

“Fantastic place beautiful landscape and very hospitable”

Reviewed 25 Apr 2018

We went last year in snowdonia district and enjoyed it very much but this year it was just fabulous. The place was beautiful and we were a group of 13 people and we enjoyed every bit of it. It was spacious, bathroom was nice and tidy and don’t forget kitchen was lovely. We enjoyed our stay there the manager(Rachel) was friendly and very cooperative. She lived not very far and available for any help we need. We definitely will come back to stay there again.

Owner's reply: Thank you very much for your kind review We really appreciate your comments and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay Rachel loved meeting you and very much looking forward to seeing you again Thanks for choosing Plas Dorothea

“Brilliant birthday weekend”

Reviewed 11 Feb 2018

I booked this for my friends and family to celebrate my 60th birthday as it looked like it had all the ingredients for a good time. We were not disappointed. The bar in the middle of the house was perfect for the us all to gather. Great fun dancing to the 80's music selection, dressing up box, party lights, the karaoke machine wasn't working which was a bit disappointing. The large lounge with real fire was lovely for relaxing with plenty of seating. Bedrooms were attractive and comfortable although a couple of en suites were a bit small and shabby. Amazingly well equipped kitchen. Great walks around the quarries in the grounds. Would query why the heating had to go off between 3.30pm and 6pm as did get a bit chilly and wouldn't save much in cost. However all in all great value for money and couldn't work better for a large group.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review heather and so pleased you had a great birthday bash Sorry about the karaoke not working for you When we checked it out after your stay we couldn’t find a problem with it Sometimes technology is a little demanding lol

“beautiful house and location we all enjoyed our stay”

Reviewed 24 Jul 2017

countryside was absolutely beautiful, slate & copper mines very interesting, long mountain walks, zip wires a must for the more adventurous, roller coaster fun, beaches lovely, all in all a great place to stay, didn't get up mount Snowden but next time it's a must do.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review You certainly made the most of the would-be lovely to welcome you back.

“Great house for family and friends”

Reviewed 6 Jun 2017

Great big old house with a large garden and it's own bar! We are a large family ranging from 79 down to 2 years and there was something fir everyone, we m had a relaxing time x the kitchen was well stocked and we had a dressing up box, table football, karaoke, big sitting room with tv. Everything you could want The house is also set in the grounds of unused quarries with lakes which made for nice evening strolls. We also had horses next door which were very friendly

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for your lovely review We are so pleased you had a good time The house does seem to be a happy place for families

Review 1-10 of 80


How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Linda and glynn (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Linda and glynn (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Linda and glynn (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Linda and glynn the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Linda and glynn (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Linda and glynn (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Linda and glynn (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Linda and glynn (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Linda and glynn (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Linda and glynn (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Linda and glynn (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Linda and glynn (the owner) a message.

If Linda and glynn (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

521255 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

75630 properties

Wales Holidays

8786 properties

North Wales Holidays

4375 properties


1,426 properties


1,131 properties

Snowdonia National Park

755 properties

Conwy County

603 properties


303 properties


145 properties


143 properties


118 properties


108 properties


98 properties


78 properties


67 properties


57 properties


56 properties

Wrexham County

55 properties


53 properties


37 properties

Morfa Nefyn

33 properties

Dyffryn Ardudwy

33 properties

Y Felinheli

27 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.