List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Windmill and pool

Apartment | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • Air conditioning
  • No pets allowed

The apartment is set within an exclusive development in landscaped grounds with swimming pool, snack bar, two tennis courts and windmill. The complex has spectacular views across Albufeira, the sea and surrounding hills, and is only 10 minutes walk from Albufeira Old Town and beaches and a similar distance from Albufeira Marina; ideally located for those who like to be within easy walking distance of excellent facilities, while still enjoying a relaxing holiday away from it all.

The apartment is comfortably furnished, with aircon / heating provided, and offers everything you need for a relaxing, self-catering holiday in the Algarve; a real home from home. The kitchen is fully equipped with fridge-freezer, microwave, dishwasher etc., and has a dining area with table and four chairs. The spacious lounge has two double sofabeds, an armchair and coffee table, together with TV, Digi-box and DVD player. In the recently refurbished bathroom, there is a separate shower cubicle, as well as a shower over the bath, and WC, and there is also a downstairs cloakroom. There are built-in wardrobes in the bedroom (which also have a safe installed), together with a dressing table area, as well as the double bed and bedside tables.

There are three terraces, so you get sun all day long, two with views over the swimming pool area and gardens and the other with sea views, ideal for sunbathing, as well as a little 'al fresco' dining and for enjoying a glass of wine while taking in the magnificent views. The private ground floor terrace, leading from the lounge, has a built-in BBQ. The apartment is on two floors, with no apartments above or below, and therefore has the feel of a townhouse.

The well-established, landscaped gardens are beautifully maintained, with plenty of mature palm trees, fruit trees and shrubs; the complex is awash with colour for most of the year. The Windmill has been lovingly restored and sits alongside the swimming pool and snack bar where a little music in the background is the perfect accompaniment to a light meal or drink.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 1 bedrooms
Nearest beach Town Beach 500 m
Will consider Corporate bookings, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Faro International Airport 40 km, Nearest railway: Albufeira Railway Station, situated in Ferreiras 7 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player, Sea view
Pool Children's pool
General Air conditioning, TV, Safe, Satellite TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture 2 Sofa beds, Double beds (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 5
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Shared garden, BBQ
Access Parking
Further details indoors

The apartment is on two floors, with a split level between them, with no apartments above or below, so has the feel of a townhouse.

There are a few stairs between each level (please see photographs), so the apartment might not be suitable for all disabled people.

Bathroom: toilet, bidet and wash basin (with large mirror over the vanity unit). Bath with overhead shower. Separate shower.

Bedroom: Fully air conditioned, double bed, built-in wardrobes (with safe inside), 2 bedside tables with bedside lamps, dressing table area with mirror over and chair.

Lounge area: Fully air conditioned, 2 leather sofa beds, two single chairs, TV, DVD.

Kitchen/dining area: Fully equipped with electric oven and hob, fridge-freezer, microwave, iron, ironing board, a variety of cooking utensils, dining table seating four.

Balconies: A variety of tables and chairs.


• The apartment has a safe.

• The air conditioning units can also be used for heating if required (rarely!).

• Linen and towels are included, although guests must provide their own pool and beach towels.

• Baby equipment (cot, high chair, buggy) can be hired and made available at the apartment

• Additional cleaning can be arranged for a separate fee

Further details outdoors

The Windmill Hill complex comprises of 91 privately owned apartments, inspired by the classical Moorish style, set in superbly maintained and mature gardens in an elevated position. It has two tennis courts and adjacent to the delightful swimming pool (with children's area), beautifully positioned alongside the windmill and with stunning panoramic views of Albufeira Old Town, the magnificent coastline and surrounding hills, is a bar serving drinks and snacks. There are showers and changing rooms adjacent to the pool. Internet access is available at reception, and there is free unallocated parking outside the apartment.

Further details

The apartment is available all year round, although the snack bar and pool are typically closed from the end of October (depending on the weather).

The rental covers utility bills (including air-conditioning/heating), cleaning at the end of your stay, bed linen and towels (but not beach towels) and beds will be made ready for your arrival – there are no other charges.

Long-term winter lets available from £110.00 per week.

The people who are our keyholders, and also organise the cleaning for us, do a Transfer service from Faro Airport for (currently) 70 euros return ( this is the total payment for up to 4 people). Please request details if this is of interest.

A Welcome Pack (bread, butter, milk, eggs, sugar, water, tea, coffee, red wine, orange juice and a six pack of beer - or tailored to suit) can be arranged for approx. 20 euros from the same people – again, please request details if this is of interest (there are supermarkets and shops nearby though -10 min walk).

Baby equipment e.g. cot/high chair/buggy can also be hired through our keyholders @ €10 per item per week and made available at the apartment. This would need to be requested in advance, but is payable locally.

All our guests are met at the foyer to the apartment by our local, English keyholders, given the keys and shown around the apartment.

The apartment will be available from 3pm on day of arrival to 11am on the date of departure.

No smoking is allowed inside the apartment at any time.

Guests are asked to leave the propert clean and tidy and to ensure that the take all their belongings with them. On changeover days there is only time for a superficial check and a general clean , so we rely upon the goodwill of our guests. We have not been disappointed yet, which is why we do not currently request a damage deposit.

The Algarve region

The Algarve is the southernmost region of Portugal, and as one of Europe's top holiday destinations provides something for everyone - from the busy water-parks and main beaches to more secluded coves, as well as inland gems such as the Sierra De Monchique hills and the historic town of Silves (the ancient capital).

Famous for its dramatic, rugged coastline and soft, sandy, unspoilt beaches, warmed by the Gulf Stream, and with over 300 days of sunshine every year, the Algarve makes the ideal destination for a relaxing and fun holiday throughout the year.


Albufeira is one of the most popular resorts in the Algarve. It is a bustling town, yet still manages to retain much of the original charm and character of its fishing village history. Windmill Hill is located just 5-10 minutes walk from Albufeira Old Town, the most well- known holiday resort on the Algarve.

Albufeira is in the centre of the Algarve and is only about an hour and half’s drive from both the nature reserves on the furthest Eastern point on the boundary with Spain and the furthest Western point of the Algarve with its rugged Atlantic coastline. Beautiful lakes and hills are within a one hour drive to the North, while to the East and West are numerous stretches of stunning white-sandy award winning beaches surrounded by beautiful cliffs and rugged coves. Albufeira itself has two beaches: the golden sands of the Town Beach with bars, restaurants and water sports, reached via a tunnel through the cliff side, and Fishermen's Beach with its wide sandy shore often lined with brightly painted fishing boats.

Albufeira still retains much of a small-town charm. The narrow, cobbled streets of the Old Town are lined with white washed houses, restaurants, bars and shops. Each night fishing boats set off from the beach, returning with fresh fish to be sold in the local markets. A daily market sells handicrafts and jewellery and the pretty town square is a great place to watch the world go by. Bars and restaurants still sell authentic food and Portuguese wine at reasonable prices. The colours, flavours and aromas create unique moments of gastronomic tradition. Most of the beautiful, blue flag beaches surrounding Albufeira are also served by a bar or restaurant, and the larger beaches feature extensive water-sports facilities. To the east of the Old Town is the area known as "The Strip". This is a lively, one kilometre long avenue, running from Montechoro to the beach at Praia da Oura, lined with a multitude of shops, cafes, restaurants, bars and clubs that keep open to the small hours and provide the very best in nightlife entertainment. Just to the west of Albufeira is a modern, well-equipped Marina, only 5 -10 minutes walk from Windmill Hill, supporting a wide range of water sport; organised activities such as fishing trips, scuba diving, dolphin watching and sailing can all be arranged .

The Marina also provides an alternative venue for eating, drinking and watching the world go by.

Golf on the Algarve is world famous and being centrally located in the Algarve, Windmill Hill is a convenient base for golfers. The five Vilamoura courses are only 15-20 minutes drive away. Balaia, Salgados and Pine Cliffs a mere 5-10 minutes drive. Other great golf courses like Quinta do Lago, S. Lorenzo and Vale do Lobo or Vila Sol are just an easy half-hour drive away.

Other local tourist attractions include Zoomarine (, Aqualand (, Aquashow (, Krazy World ( and Slide & Splash ( all within 30 minutes drive. The Algarve Shopping Centre is approximately 7km away from the apartment, with 9 cinema theatres, ten-pin bowling, shops, supermarkets, restaurants (including many international names) and free parking.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Very Good 4/5

11 reviews Very Good 4/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 11

26 Jul 2014


"Don't go here if you like a clean apartment"

very disappointed with the apartment.There was coffee or cola spilt down the wall in the bedroom,light switches dirty,no toilet paper provided (guest after us would have had toilet paper as we bought … More

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Review on our apartment. We were obviously upset to hear from you, on your return to England, that you had not had a happy stay at our Windmill Hill Apartment, and we sent you a goodwill refund of £100.00 (posted on 10.07.14). We thanked you for bringing the issues to our attention, and explained that, according to our keyholder, it would appear that at a large part of the problem was caused due to your insistence in accessing the apartment significantly earlier than the stated time of 3pm - this arrival time is so that the cleaners have sufficient time to clean to our expected standards between guests. Although the arrival and departure times are to be found in our booking contract, we have since incorporated these into our email correspondence as well. We passed on your comments to our keyholder, and their response to us was:

'Due to the timings of arrival and departure the cleaners were there waiting at 11am to get in when your guests arrived at the same time. As mentioned before they were unhappy about not being able to get in straight away and told the cleaners that they would leave their luggage and be back in 30 minutes and they wanted them gone by then. The cleaners told them that would not be possible, the guests then told them they had 45 minutes max.

Due to this there would have been certain things overlooked/missed from the clean as they were not going to argue with the guests. However they are insistent that many of the items detailed below are completely untrue. They specifically remember using the shower to hose down the cobwebs first over that ornament in the window over the bath, and they also stated that since they have been cleaning the apartment they have never seen a cockroach, one of them is petrified of them and would not even go in the apartment to clean it if they saw any.

If cockroaches and ants were in the apartment midway through their stay it would be more likely they were attracted to food etc. that the guests had, and they certainly were not there when the cleaners went in to clean after them.

I am sorry to say I believe that this complaint is completely over the top and unjustified - there are no grounds for complaint about the clean given their demands on the day. At no time did they ever contact David during their stay to raise any of their issues, and I find it extremely hard to believe that anybody would pay out of their own pocket to go to alternative accommodation without first contacting the Management/Key holder or Owner.'

We had not received any negative comments from guests who stayed before you, and we sent you the comments we received from the guests who stayed immediately after you, who have subsequently also provided a Review:

'Dear Rob Got back yesterday from windmill hill after a fantastic two weeks. Just wanted to let you know the apartment was just perfect, it had everything we needed. We just loved the location of your apartment having stayed in two other ones in windmill hill. It was looking out on pool and grass area with two balconies and patio just lovely. We would be interested in staying in your apartment again next summer so we will be in touch early in the new year. Thank you for everything, Orla'

5 Jul 2014


"Excellent apt with all facilities in a lovely location"

Lovely apartment in an excellent location in the complex. Having stayed in two other apartments in windmill hill this would be our favourite. Spacious with two balconies and a patio with fantastic views we were spoilt for choice. The apartment had everything we needed. We will be back!

14 Oct 2013


"Perfect base for Albufeira"

We've just returned from this accommodation and found it to be the perfect base for a holiday in Albufeira. It is a 5 minute walk down to the Old Town/beach where there are no shortage of bars and restaraunts. If you don't feel like walking back up hill taxis are readily available. It is also 5 minutes walk to the nearest supermarket.
The house itself is a great size, is nicely decorated and was spotlessly clean. In the kitchen there is a full cooker/oven, large fridge and plenty of utensils.
The balconies and patio are all of good size and could easily accomodate 4 chairs. The built in BBQ on the ground floor patio is a nice touch. This patio also looks out over the well kept gardens and pool area.
We loved our stay here and wouldn't hesitate going back again or recommending to family or friends.
Rob, the owner, was great to communicate with and very helpful.

27 Sep 2013


"Room for improvement"

Firstly watch out for the apartment description it says the bedroom has a double AND single bed, it doesn't! We booked for a girlie short break and were very pleased with the complex and area, ex… More

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. Before addressing your points, I would just like to clarify that the apartment description does not say that the bedroom has a double and a single bed, and never has - I think that you might have confused it with our other apartment at Parque da Corcovada.
Regarding the bedding for the sofa beds, I am afraid that our key holder was not expecting anyone to be using the sofa beds; on your booking form it said that there were two people, and I assumed that the apartment was being booked for a couple, and that therefore only the double bed in the bedroom would be needed. I shall amend the booking form to ask which beds guests will require in future - this would also have highlighted the fact that there is no single bed.
I am disappointed that the apartment was not as clean as you would have liked, and will raise this with our cleaner. A previous guest had mentioned that the patio and balcony floors had been dirty when they arrived, and I organised for the cleaners to go back and clean these, but we have not had any guest mention that the inside of the apartment was dirty before.
Finally, regarding the broken handles, toilet etc, it sounds as if the apartment has unfortunately had some rough treatment during the season, as this was not the case at the start of the season. The previous guests mentioned the loose handles, but you are the first to mention that the downstairs toilet was broken. I do not know why such issues had not been addressed by our cleaners and key holder, as I had asked them to organise a workman to sort out the handles etc, but again will pass your comments on and get the work done (and to ensure that there is a handle on the inside of the downstairs toilet – not an issue that anyone else has mentioned (perhaps they all used the toilet in the bathroom(?).

29 Aug 2013


"Disappointing for the price"

We were rather disappointed with the apartment after seeing all the photos before we booked it. There were more things wrong than were acceptable - mostly small things but the apartment could have bee… More

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. I was disappointed that the patio and balcony floors had been dirty when you arrived, but immediately that I heard about this I organised for the cleaners to go back and clean these for you. I also raised the issue of the air conditioning in the lounge not working for you, but our key holder assured me that when they clean the apartment and change the bedding etc., they have the air conditioning units running to ensure that they are working for the next guests. I can only assume that perhaps you had not set the mode correctly (?). At the beginning of the season I did check all the chairs, and enjoyed a glass of wine while sitting on them and have the pictures to proof it!, so I am not sure what has happened to them in the meantime, but I will certainly investigate whether they need replacing now. Finally, I am sorry that an inaccessible bulb had blown, but I believe that with the number of lights in the apartment, there should not have been a major issue – these things do happen, and without a ladder I guess that the cleaner could not have replaced the bulb either.

13 Aug 2013


"Lovely villa"

We had a lovely stay in Windmill Hill Villa. The villa was clean, tidy and well equipped. There was a collection of travel guides and info pack in the living roomto make it easy to plan what to do. Th… More

13 Jul 2013


"Perfect apartment for a quiet, spacious holiday"

We spent a week here at the beginning of June, and loved it. The apartment was clean and spacious, loads of room for 2 people, 2 balconies and a patio with BBQ. The pool is great for a lazy afternoon, and local supermarket only 5mins walk - even has English tea! For us the location was perfect, close to the old town and beach and away from the touristy strip - though it is uphill, so you need to be happy to walk! We had a great time and would definitely recommend.

18 Oct 2012


"Perfrect relaxing base to visit the Algarve."

Good layout of the apartment. Well furnished. Good kitchen facilities for own meals and close to town for meals out. The latter is an easy walk out but tiring return because of the slope of the streets.

7 Aug 2012


"What a fantastic holiday!!"

Myself, my husband and my two boys had a wonderful holiday at Windmill Hill and our apartment was in a perfect location within the complex. The apartment itself was very spacious with great storage for all of us considering it was a one bedroomed apartment.
It was well equiped for all your needs, it even had a tv with BBC 1 so my husband could watch the olympics, so really home from home!! We also had the choice of eating on two balconies with great views or the terrace with a view of the pool. My two boys aged 3 and 9 had a wonderful holiday, met lots of friends who they intend to keep in contact with. I think this means that we are already thinking about returning next year so thank you Rob & Gill for a lovely holiday!

22 May 2012


"Absolutely Loved It!"

Returned from Windmill Hill last Thursday & we ABSOLUTELY loved it! Thank you! The weather was amazing - we had a May heatwave for the exact week that we were there so the air conditioning was a bonus!
Our 3 1/2 year old little boy loved the place, the lawn area & of course the pool! The airport transfers were perfect as was the welcome pack - thanks again.
The spacious lounge & the bedroom upstairs makes this apartment feel like a house as do the 3 outdoor balconies/terraces.
The hill is nothing at a leisurely pace & we did it regularly in 38 degree sunshine!

We will be back - of that I have no doubt....


Review 1-10 of 11

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.


Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from £19 /night help

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay



 Your dates are available

Contact the owner


Payment options

You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more

You're booking with

Rob B.

  • 4 Years listed

55% Response rate

Calendar last updated:15 Oct 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted


Also consider

1849 properties
893 properties
457 properties
Quinta do Lago
396 properties
304 properties
Vale do Lobo
294 properties
Olhos d'Agua
219 properties
Armacao de Pera
198 properties
184 properties
156 properties
141 properties
99 properties
84 properties
60 properties
50 properties
45 properties
Gale Beach
42 properties
36 properties
Santa Barbara de Nexe
27 properties
Pinheiros Altos
13 properties

Start a new search