from
£57 / night help
Price for guests, Nights

Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage with free WiFi , a Sauna and spectacular scenery. – Home 247951 Cottage

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage with free WiFi , a Sauna and spectacular scenery. – Home 247951

  • Cottage
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 35 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Cottage / 3 bedrooms / 4 bathrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Child friendly
  • Car essential
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • 3 Double Beds, 1 Single Bed, 1 Cot available
  • 1 Family bathroom, 3 En suites

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Mountain Views
  • Private garden
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Sauna
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • Video player
  • DVD player
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Interaction with guest

We live just a short distance from our holiday houses and are available should our visitors encounter any problems of need our help or advice at any time during their stay.

Policies

Check in time:15:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
Please contact the owner
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Cathal & Elma G.
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
20 May 2018
Years listed:
5
Based in:
Ireland
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Cottage has 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 08 Jun 2014. Located in County Donegal, it has 35 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £394 to £525.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 20 May 2018.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 35 reviews Excellent
35 reviews

Excellent
30
Very Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Ms”

Reviewed 8 Apr 2018

Just awful. I arrived on the Wednesday and my stay was to the Sunday the owner text me to ask me to basically to leave the property clean amd tidy this was on the Saturday afternoon. Also the internet I was told I could connect via the Windmills over on the mountain. The turf fire can only be lit at night as there is a sign in the House stating that unreal and when we did light the fire heavy smoke came down the chimney to the point we had to open all the Windows and it was cold and raining outside and caused the smoke alarm to go of. The chimney needs cleaned the price is not worth it as I have stayed in many cottages in Donegal and this was the most unfriendly hosts not only that they asked us to even clean the fire before we leave. My daughter took ill had to leave as my daughter took sick at 7am on the Sunday due to asthma attack and I needed to get home i text the owner to say we had left they were not impressed but my daughter had inhaled smoke which basically caused this. I would not recommend the cottage is not all it's says way to expensive I had to buy my own Data to get internet and it was a terrible experience but I cleaned the house stripped the beds took all rubbish out and put in bin cleaned and set the fire onnthe Saturday and paid my €35 Euro oil and electric. I was afraid to light the fire because of the smoke the chimney needs cleaned. Never again not worth it terrible and my daughter was very sick.

Owner's reply: We were sad and disappointed to read this review, sad because our guest went home unhappy, and disappointed because we were not given any opportunity to help make their stay with us a pleasant one. Una booked our holiday cottage for 4 nights in April. When she arrived to our home on Wed April 4th, we welcomed her and 3 of her family. We told them to be sure and let us know if they had any problems during their stay. My husband brought them the short drive to their holiday cottage, showed them around and gave relevant information about internet access in this area. On Thursday morning I called to the cottage to check how our guests were settling in. There were 3 girls there that I had not met before, one girl, who said she was the ladies daughter, told me everything was fine. From that time until after our guests left on Sunday, all correspondence was via text message. These messages gave no indication that our guests had a problem with smoke or that her daughter was ill. Had we known the girl had asthma, we too would have been concerned. We are fully aware of the distress and worry this sickness causes. I hope, since sending our good wishes, the girl has made a full recovery. Instead the text messages (including the one received after the guest had left our cottage) read "we are having a great time, all is great thank you". All our advertisements states that our cottage sleeps 6. Because there were 7 people staying and the booking had been made for 4, I advised our guests on the evening prior to departure that we appreciated the cottage being left clean and tidy. I did not ask her to clean the fire but appreciate it being done. We obliged our guest when asked to allow a late checkout. When we saw her passing our home at approx 10 am, we did not realise they had left . Had we known they had to leave earlier than arranged due to her daughters illness, we would have gone to say goodbye. Our holiday homes opened in 1999. We do our best to make our visitors feel welcome and secure in the knowledge that they can call us at any time. We are delighted that we have made so many friends over these years. It is rewarding to read the other 31 reviews on Trip Advisor awarding us "excellent" status. We wish this guest had allowed us deal with the problems she encountered during her stay. Had this been done, I would like to think a different type of review would have been written.

“If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in the most stunning location then Carrickfinn Cottages are perfect”

Reviewed 1 Sep 2016

As a family of 4 we have just returned from a 3 night stay at one of these delightful cottages. The cottage itself was absolutely beautiful and had everything we needed. The owners could not have been more helpful or informative. The Carrickfinn beaches were just stunning. If you are looking to see the best of Ireland then you couldn't go wrong by staying here. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we were all sad to leave. We will definitely be back.

“An Excellent property in very peaceful area in close proximity to beaches”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2016

We received a very warm welcome from the owners who ensured that we had all that we needed. The property and surrounding areas were the ideal place to relax and enjoy the tranquility of Donegal. There are many superb beaches and walks nearby. Outstanding cottage and area and very kind and thoughtful owners. We would stay here again

“Wonderful.....one of the best places we've ever stayed!”

Reviewed 14 Jun 2014

The owners were fantastic particularly as my partner got sick and they were very helpful. The house was well equipped,clean and very comfortable! We loved it, didn't want to leave and would go there again!

Owner's reply: Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We were very glad that your partners sickness was short lived and that you both enjoyed your holiday in Donegal. We send our best wishes, and would be delighted to see you again.

Review 1-10 of 35

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

473163 properties

Ireland Holidays

5279 properties

Province of Munster

2,102 properties

Western Ireland

1,339 properties

Province of Leinster

1,127 properties

County Donegal

608 properties

County Cavan

77 properties

Bundoran

51 properties

Buncrana

33 properties

Moville

29 properties

County Monaghan

25 properties

Dungloe

25 properties

Ardara

24 properties

Donegal Town

22 properties

Ballyshannon

19 properties

Dunfanaghy

13 properties

Killybegs

12 properties

Ballybofey

12 properties

Rathmullan

10 properties

Rossnowlagh

9 properties

Bunbeg

9 properties

Letterkenny

8 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.