Wymondham holiday cottage rental with internet access

Firkin Cottage

from £37 /night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Excellent 4.5/5

11 reviews

from £37 /night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the total cost.

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 3 Home 91212

Need more information about booking Home 91212 ?

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 3

Key Info
  • Suitable for children age 5+
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Firkin Cottage is a beautifully decorated semi-detached holiday home featuring stripped wood floors, exposed beams and a pretty courtyard with a garden room and water feature. This charming cottage nestles in an "Olde Worlde" lane in the heart of Wymondham. The town draws visitors because of its impressive architecture, dominated by the 12th Century Abbey and a striking Norman cathedral. The cobbled streets are lined with incredible Tudor buildings, restaurants and hospitable pubs, and during the summer the locals open their gardens to the public. The city of Norwich is nine miles away, with its medieval alleys, winding lanes and constant round of music, art and beer festivals. A shopper's heaven, Norwich is acknowledged as one of the top five shopping centres in the UK, with its choice of eclectic shops and big name stores.

Size Sleeps up to 3, 2 bedrooms
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Access Car advised
Family friendly Suitable for children over 5
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access
General Wi-Fi available
Furniture Double beds (1), Single beds (1)
Other High chair
Outdoors Private garden
Access Not suitable for wheelchair users
Further details

Gas central heating. Gas cooker, microwave, fridge (no ice box), washing machine, tumble dryer in external shed, TV with Freeview, DVD, CD/radio, WiFi, library of books/games/DVDs. All fuel & power inc. in rent. Bed linen & towels inc. in rent. Travel cot & highchair on request. Roadside parking for 1 car (1 min walk from property). Courtyard with gravelled area & garden furniture. Sorry, no pets & no smoking. Shop & pub 3 mins walk. Note: Unloading permitted for a short period outside property. Note: Due to winding staircase the property may not be suitable for the elderly or less mobile.

The East Anglia region

Picturesque rolling Fens, unspoilt beaches, and pretty waterways – East Anglia is a dream holiday destination. Norfolk offers beaches, saltmarshes and quaint villages whilst equally as charming are the coast and countryside of Suffolk.


Norwich is one of the best places to shop in Britain, and offers a year round programme of festivals and vibrant nightlife. This medieval city offers a combination of historic buildings and modern architecture with plenty for all the family to see and do. The restored 19th Century railway station features a great gift shop, a fascinating museum and a "Brief Encounter" themed restaurant. The picturesque town of Wymondham is just eight miles from Norwich and has many historic buildings including Wymondham Abbey, one of the finest and most fascinating historic churches in East Anglia. Wymondham holds busy weekly markets and in the fine summer months visitors can enjoy the beautiful gardens that are open to all.

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Excellent 5/5

11 reviews Excellent 4.5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 11

8 Jan 2013



Wooden floorboards had no filling in between boards & were very poorly finished not child friendly at all. Sofa is extremely dated ( to fit in with the old world cottage theme) was very uncomfortable to sit on. TV was a 19" although flat screen too small to view comfortably. The tv has freeview, but the signal for the area was ridiculously poor & never managed to watch a whole programme completely in a 4 week stay! no internet whatsoever & no signal on vodafone, 02 or orange so a dongle was pointless & mobile phones also. tumble drier was located outside in a shed very annoying. small step into kitchen is a TRIP HAZARD beware! Kitchen work surfaces are horrendously damaged & the owner tried to charge me £1000 for new work surfaces because i apparently made a slight white scratch on 1 of the surfaces . Although there are 3 huge burns & extensive water damage & lifting of the wood veneer in places, this didn't seem to bother her & i enquired as to why she hadn't charged previous visitors for the ample damage they had caused ( she had no reply to this ) All in all this 4 week holiday was a total nightnare & completely ruined by the owners attitude & blatant money making scam with the kitchen work surfaces. no driveway & nowhere to park your car, except for the main streets surrounding the cottage & even then your lucky if you find an empty space! So you have been warned. apart from that the cottage was A1 for cleanliness & location

Thank you for your review. The owner has contacted us as they take all feedback seriously and value all comments received. They have advised that they have had work carried out regarding the floorboards - these have been re-varnished as a busy season had caused some damage however the gaps between them form part of the history of the property from when it was designed back in the 19th century. The owner has also advised that the sofa was purchased new in 2008 and they have not previously received any negative comments regarding its' condition. The owner is sorry if you experienced problems with the TV signal and has advised that if you had notified her that there was a problem she would have sought to assist in any way possible. She has also confirmed that she does not advertise the property as having Wi-Fi available, nor does she advertise that there is private parking or a driveway. The owner is sorry for any upset caused regarding damage in the property and has advised that she only provided quotes for the repair following discussions that she had with you inside the property. The owner has previously received very good feedback and comments for the cottage and continues to do so, and is disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay as previous guests have done.

Review 1-10 of 11

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Contact the manager

This price is an estimate based on the latest rate information available to us. Contact the advertiser to ask for the exact price, including any additional fees.

from £37 /night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Reservation rules

7 Nights min stay

Changeover day Sat

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the total cost.

Email the owner

    By sending this email you agree to our terms of use and privacy policy.

    Call manager

    +44 01244500524

    You're booking with

    Sykes Cottages (Property Manager Sykes Holiday Cottages)

    • 7 Years listed

    Calendar last updated:20 Nov 2015

    Based in United Kingdom

    Languages spoken
    • English

    Also consider

    Norfolk 1,980 properties
    Suffolk 641 properties
    Old Hunstanton 65 properties
    Wroxham 65 properties
    Horning 60 properties
    North Walsham 46 properties
    Winterton-on-Sea 44 properties
    Mundesley 39 properties
    Diss 36 properties
    Melton Constable 23 properties
    Hopton on Sea 23 properties
    Brancaster 21 properties
    Potter Heigham 19 properties
    Bacton 18 properties
    Thetford 11 properties
    Walcott 10 properties
    Watton 8 properties
    Frettenham 7 properties
    Sedgeford 6 properties
    Southrepps 6 properties

    Start a new search

    Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

    Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

    Just click on the icons to get to the download page