Turtle View, Antigua at the Peninsula, Willikies – Home 140120 Villa
- 2 bedrooms
- 6 sleeps
- min stay varies
Turtle View, Antigua at the Peninsula, Willikies – Home 140120
- 2 bedrooms
- sleeps 6
- min stay varies
- Beach / lakeside relaxation
- Nearest beach 2 km
- Swimming pool
- Child friendly
- Car essential
- No pets allowed
- Private garden
Description from owner
The house has been refurbished in summer 2019 with new tiling to the downstairs bathroom, new shower faucets in both bathrooms, retiling the ground floor living accommodation with lovely wood effect tiles, refurbishment of the swimming pool. We have also purchased new furnishings.
This villa is for those who enjoy peace and tranquillity. The stunning waterfront location at the Peninsula along with the contemporary style is what sets this holiday home apart from others. The villa looks out from the Peninsula, towards Pelican Island and the reef beyond. A large infinity pool enables you to swim whilst enjoying the views in the distance. There are large areas of deck on either side of the villa, with ample room for sun-bathing. Cooling tropical breezes enable you to enjoy the tropical sunshine in comfort, even on the hottest days.
The villa is about 25 mins from English Harbour.
Furniture throughout is contemporary plantation style with plenty of seating/recliners to suit everyone. Inside are two bedrooms, located on different floors, each with en-suite facilities; bedroom 1 has a king sized (5ft) four poster and bedroom 2 has two double (4ft6in) beds. There is a spacious lounge with breath-taking, 180 degree waterfront views. The open plan kitchen, living room opens up to the views and poolside allowing for the ever present easterly trade winds to cool the property. The fully equipped kitchen is modern with high end stainless steel appliances and a centre island. It has a large double door style freezer, oven, hob and dishwasher. We do not have a microwave. All cooking and dining utensils are provided. Bedrooms and living areas have ceiling fans, (believe us you do not need air conditioning when you have tropical breezes). There is a downstairs laundry with top loading washing machine (no tumble drier) and store room.
There are inside and outside dining areas, designed to accommodate eight people. A sun deck with four loungers, overlooking crystal clear water and plenty of comfortable arm chairs to enjoy the shade.
Turtle View is a luxury villa located in the exclusive Peninsula Development and was designed by Andrew Goodenough, one of Antigua's premier architects. It is positioned on 0.55 acres of waterfront land, near to the village of Wilikies. The villa is perfectly located for exploring the tropical breeding grounds and visiting the many deserted beaches. This holiday home is for the discerning, who will appreciate peace, tranquility and privacy in a secure un-spoilt environment. A rental car is highly recommended.
There are some full time residents who live at the Peninsula, who have moved out to Antigua to live the Caribbean dream. Claire is one of these and is our house manager.
Guests who reviewed
April 15, 2017
My husband and I have rented a dozen properties on different Caribbean islands and this is by far one of our favorites. The villa was in a quiet location. We slept comfortably. We stayed for two weeks and will definitely go back. My husband cooked the best dinners in the kitchen, which was well equipped and the best table was outside next to the pool. No reservations required. We had a list of the cruise ship schedule and if there were more than two ships in that day we stayed home. I'd say nothing on the island was more than 30 to 45 minutes away. The home suited us perfectly. We loved exploring the island during the day and staying in at night for happy hour and dinner. There was almost always a breeze going through the house so there was absolutely no need for A/C. Long Bay was less than 5 minutes away and our favorite spot was over by OJ's Beach Bar where we could get bucket of beers for the beach.
Peace and Quiet with a Breathtaking View
Spent a week in mid July 2016, had a great time, I'd recommend getting a rental car and explore the island. Pictures don't do the house justice, the view on the deck is just amazing, great breezes, great kitchen with all needed equipment. Great pool, with a great view. Everything was clean and tidy. The outlets are all American style (2 flat prongs and one pin), You don't hear the neighbors, all you hear is the birds and breeze during the day, and the frogs and breeze at night. Bathrooms are very nice with large showers with great water pressure and temperature range.
- Great for children of all ages
- No pets allowed
- Cot available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: King Bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Double Beds
Beds in other rooms:
- 2 En suites, 1 Toilet Only
- Wi-Fi available
- Private outdoor pool (unheated)
- Private garden
- Balcony or terrace
- Sea view
- Internet access
- Washing machine
- DVD player
- Hair dryer
- Ceiling Fans
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 11:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: £200.00
- No smoking at this property
Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
24 hours after booking
50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.
8 weeks before
25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.
4 weeks before
No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.
* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support
Please ask us for a copy of our house rules.
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated:
- 02 Jul 2020
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
This Villa has 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 08 Oct 2010. Located in Willikies, it has 35 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £1443 to £3206.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 02 Jul 2020.
Map and how to get there
– based on 35 reviews
- Very Good
“Stunning peaceful location”
Turtle View is a lovely 2 bedroomed ensuite villa with a fabulous swimming pool and wonderful views across Mercers Creek Bay.. It is spacious and comfortable with cooling fans and screened windows. Th… More
“Beautiful house in a stunning waterfront location”
The house is located in one of the most beautiful, tranquil locations in Antigua. Views of the bay are breathtaking and can be enjoyed from the sun terrace, pool area, sitting room and bedrooms. The… More
Owner's reply: Thankyou for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Turtle view. Thankyou for leaving the house so clean and tidy Kind regards Jane Laffan
“Overall lovely house and setting, but somewhat undermaintained”
Overall it was positive experience. I've summarized the positive and negative points. The positive: - beautiful view and location - lovely balconies and terraces - pretty bed and interior - secl… More
Owner's reply: We believe your review is somewhat unfair and biaiséd because the damage deposit arbitration was made in our favour. We fail understand how you managed to reach the window but the fact remains that you broke the entire window not just the glass and the cost of the repair is significantly greater than the £200 damage deposit . Your title is misleading . In the last year we have replaced all the floor tiles on the ground floor, the shower faucets, the lighting in the bedrooms and the house has recently been completely redecorated inside and outside. The bedroom furniture on the ground floor has been improved . All the bed linen and towels have been replaced with new. We never provide soap and shampoo. We do provide a guest welcome pack which includes milk eggs bread, water and a few beers. Our details and the guests information sheets make it very clear that this is a quiet and secluded location and gives distances to all the amenities . We also say that for environmental reasons we use solar water and that there may be occasions where hot water is limited . Rubbish disposal is kept away from all the houses at the Peninsula for health and safety and is locked to prevent human and animal scavengers . All of this is part of the ethos of the Peninsula .
“Lives Up to Its Name”
Turtle View lived up to its name! Mornings were spent on the deck with coffee watching the turtles surface in the lagoon and the hummingbirds feed in the lush garden. We were out by mid-morning enjo… More
Owner's reply: Thankyou so much for your lovely review , we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Jane Laffan
“Wonderful Stay at Turtle View!”
This was my second stay at Turtle View and it was lovely. The home is well maintained and I just love the location. It's private, quiet and the views are breathtaking. Claire is great, friendl… More
Owner's reply: Hi Julie Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had another great stay. Thanks for mentioning Claire because she likes to make sure that guests enjoy their stay and it means a lot to her when they are thankful. Kind regards Jane
“The View is OK”
Location is fine as long as you have a car, There's no mention of the steps down to the Villa, The swimming Pool has Rust coming through, the downstairs toilet is leaking, and the tiles are comin… More
Owner's reply: Before your stay we corresponded on several occasions and we made the effort to leave the house looking lovely. We left a range of food items in the cupboard to make your initial start to the holiday easier. I feel very offended at your remarks about us having just left the house and insinuating that I did not leave some things clean. I emailed you twice whilst you were at the villa to make sure that you were happy with everything. You did not even have the courtesy to reply. Claire is only down the road and you had ample opportunity to ask for her help and ask for things to be rectified at the time, which is what it clearly asks you to do in our terms and conditions. Regarding the downstairs toilet leak, you reported this to Claire and she got a plumber out straight away to fix the leak. The plumber went to the house on the 12th May to fix the toilet as best he could while you were there as it needed more work but he needed to do that once you had left. I understand that she heard nothing from you after this until you were leaving and then you mentioned that it had a small leak. She is very upset that you have criticised her when she feels that she was responsive to your requirements. She copied me in on the email correspondence after you left which seemed very warm so I am at a loss to explain your review which makes it sound like she did not do her job. There are two bedrooms and you booked for two guests and we completely refurbished the upstairs room in advance of your visit. Putting beautiful brand new mosquito curtains around the four poster bed and a week into your stay brand new curtains and blinds were put up, You chose to go downstairs and use the downstairs bedroom. We accept that the tiles in the downstairs en suite room need replacing and this is scheduled for this summer but you chose to use the downstairs room instead of the master, which we had got ready for you and the tiles are in perfect condition in this ensuite. Both en-suites have just had brand new Kohler faucets installed. We also bought new lighting for the living room, imported beautiful baskets from Kenya and bought a new chest of drawers for the downstairs bedroom. We continually strive to add and improve the furnishings to give our guests a lovely experience. Regarding the cups, you complained at the time. You pleasantly asked if you could replace the cups and Claire said of course and she would give you the money which we believe Claire had on her person ready to give to you but you took the cups with you when you left. The outside furniture is solid teak and during the season the teak greys but it is still very solid and it is not tired. Every two years we have new covers made for the cushions in Sunbrella fabric. The round dining table, outside and the chairs are oiled at the start of every season. I am sorry about the TV remote but you could have asked Claire to sort this out at the time and you did not. In our experience in renting property abroad we have never had all cleaning products provided and we have always had to purchase them. Claire normally puts out spare sheets for the guests so that they can change their own sheets through their stay. However in this instance as we were there the day before and everything was left ready she had assumed that the sheets were left out. I am sorry about this and it was my mistake. However as soon as you called Claire about the sheets she went straight up and got them out of the locked cupboard for you. If you needed more sheets then you could have just asked Claire. She is friendly, efficient and very obliging. It does not say anywhere in our description or terms and conditions that we will change your sheets for you. Our home is stunning and we feel very sad that you think the view was “OK”. It is, in our view, simply gorgeous. We are sorry that you feel that you did not have a good experience. You were at the house for a month and we simply cannot understand that you did not get in contact with us straight away or respond to my emails. I would ask anyone reading this guest review to bear this in mind and also look at many reviews from previous guests who love it at Turtle view.
We loved our stay at Turtle View. The villa is beautiful with fabulous views. We are a family of 4 and it suited us perfectly. We recommend renting a car while you are there. We did not find any resta… More
Owner's reply: Thanks for your lovely review. Yes you are right renting a car is a must. Hope you discovered the restaurant at long Beach called Mama Pasta. Kind regards Jane Laffan
“Perfect & relaxing vacation home”
We stayed at Turtle View and had truly a wonderful vacation. The house was gorgeous and well taken care of. Jane was quick to answer any questions we had before we arrived. Claire was very nice and qu… More
Owner's reply: Hi Melissa Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really love it when our guests enjoy our island home as much as we do. You have posted some great tips for guests. A great deal of credit goes to Claire our wonderful house manager for making our guests so welcome. Kind regards Jane
“Little slice of heaven.”
Husband, son & I stayed here end of Feb, beginning of March. It was so relaxing I’ve only just got round to leaving a review. Location is perfect. Beautiful setting with turtles swimming pas… More
Owner's reply: Thank you so much for the lovely review. We love it at Turtle view and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much .
“Our favorite villa rental to date!!!!!”
My husband and I have rented a dozen properties on different Caribbean islands and this is by far one of our favorites. The villa was in a quiet location. We slept comfortably. We stayed for two w… More
Owner's reply: Hi Deb and Rob Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Jane
- How do I find more info about the property?
You can get in touch with Jane (the owner) through the contact form on this page.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.
- What if I have questions before I book?
Send Jane (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I contact Jane (the owner)?
Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Jane the owner's contact details or send them a message.
- What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Jane (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then
Or send Jane (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.
- What is a booking request?
When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Jane (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- How do I know my booking is safe?
To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.
- How do I know what it will cost for my stay?
Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.
You can also request a quote from Jane (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.
- How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?
You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.
- How do I pay for my holiday?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Jane (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.
If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- Why can't I call Jane (the owner) before booking?
You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.
If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.
- How do damage deposits work?
In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.
Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.
- How can I view and manage my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.
- How do I pay the balance of my holiday?
You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.
We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.
- How can I retract my booking request?
You’ll need to contact Jane (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.
- How do I cancel my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.
- How do I edit my booking?
You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Jane (the owner) a message.
If Jane (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours