from £70 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Sea Otter Cottage - Unforgetable – Home 254334 Cottage

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

Sea Otter Cottage - Unforgetable – Home 254334

  • Cottage
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  • 3 nights min stay

Very Good Very Good – based on 27 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Cottage / 3 bedrooms / 1 bathroom / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0.01 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Looking out north across sheltered Sinclair Bay towards Orkney and the Pentland Skerries lighthouse, this fully equipped, self-catering, semi-detached foreshore cottage has unforgettable sea views. As the tide comes in across the sheltered bay, you could be watching a living oil painting of the ocean surf. It might seem far north but is still south of all of Norway and is well worth the two hours scenic seaside journey on the road from lnverness. Orcas are regularly visible, seabirds and seals abound and guests even sometimes see our shy sea otter.

Two things which need to be noted. a) the main sitting room is small and only has easy room for 4 people (although more have been happy to squeeze in, and in summer most love to sit out on the decking anyway) and b) the two bedrooms with fantastic views of the sea can only be accessed up some very steep stairs.

Also occasionally during a severe winter storm the sea has been so noisy that guests have decided in the middle of the

Looking out north across sheltered Sinclair Bay towards Orkney and the Pentland Skerries lighthouse, this fully equipped, self-catering, semi-detached foreshore cottage has unforgettable sea views. As the tide comes in across the sheltered bay, you could be watching a living oil painting of the ocean surf. It might seem far north but is still south of all of Norway and is well worth the two hours scenic seaside journey on the road from lnverness. Orcas are regularly visible, seabirds and seals abound and guests even sometimes see our shy sea otter.

Two things which need to be noted. a) the main sitting room is small and only has easy room for 4 people (although more have been happy to squeeze in, and in summer most love to sit out on the decking anyway) and b) the two bedrooms with fantastic views of the sea can only be accessed up some very steep stairs.

Also occasionally during a severe winter storm the sea has been so noisy that guests have decided in the middle of the night to shift downstairs. Once sufficient guests have booked new wind-tight windows in Sea Otter are a priority expense and this should not be such a problem.

For those who enjoy eating out there are in Wick several excellent local hotels and even a gourmet French Restaurant & Italian restaurant. Don't miss the Guinness book of records "Shortest street in the world" at Mackays friendly hotel.

Further afield in Scrabster (20 miles) both the Upper Deck and the distinctively ethical Captain's Galley ("Which" Best Fish Restaurant in the UK: 2008) are highly recommended - The Castle of Mey and Gringoe / Sinclair castle ruins are well worth visits, while the hinterland is a major bird sanctuary. Thurso has a world class surfing beach. Wick has a regular sea boat/harbour festivals and sometimes even fly-ins for light aircraft. lf you love the sea and tranquillity this is the place for you to go for carefree and carfree shoreline walks, or relax while reading by an open fire. At high tide, with only the sea and the surf visible through the French doors; you could even be at sea without the seasickness. Being on the East coast, midges are virtually never a problem; yet, facing west, the view from the living room of the sun setting over the castle with every wave at high tide being tinged with pink has to be seen to be believed.

Stop Press: Wi-Fi situation.

We have had Wi-F in both Sea Shore and Sea Otter Cottages for many years and until recently it has been working reasonably well.

Unfortunately we are now sorry to report that this BT service for which we continue to pay, has been getting steadily worse, presumably because more and more people in Ackergill are trying to use the Internet at the same time.

We are promised that fast fibre optic cables “soon” but no definite dates so far. Hopefully you will find enough enjoyment of the location for this not to be too big a problem, and for some even an advantage.

If messages are essential good Wi-Fi access is available in Weatherspoons in the centre of town, or in the foyer of McKays or the Norseman hotels.

If needed, an ink-jet printer/photocopier/scanner can be rented at low cost.

On the beautiful shoreline of Ackergill, only 5 minutes drive from Wick town centre, and even less from a Tesco superstore (Britain's largest eco-friendly store) So close to the high tide that you easily can toss a pebble into the sea.

We appreciate how difficult it is for renal patients to find a holiday destination: if you are on dialysis, please contact us as we might be able to help put you in touch with suitable facilities.

Check out should be no later than 10AM. Check in should be after 4PM and door can be left unlocked for late arrivals.

Location description from owner

The Caithness and Sutherland region

Ackergill is a small village 2 miles north of Wick with stunning sunsets and a beautiful location for star gazers thanks to the very low light pollution.

The place to visit.. Breathtaking views.

Ideal stopover for travellers to or from Orkney

Fantastic place to unwind after Cycling Land's End to John o'Groats!

Wick

Places of interest Include The Castle of Mey, Camster Cairns, Waligoe Steps, Wick's refurbished Harbour, Hill of Many Stones, Old Pulteney Whisky Distillery, Sinclair Girnigoe Castle

Activities include Horse Riding, Archery, Target Shooting, Fishing, Paintball, Off-roading Experiences, Sea Kayaking, Surfing, Sea Angling, Bird watching, Rambling + More

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: Double Bed
    Bedroom 3: 2 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Sea view
  • Bicycles available
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Rupert F.
Average reply time:
1 hour 33 minutes
Response rate:
90%
Calendar updated::
24 May 2017
Years listed:
4
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, German, Russian


This Cottage has 3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 06 Aug 2012. Located in Caithness and Sutherland, it has 27 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £495 to £1215.

The Owner has a response rate of 90% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 24 May 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good – based on 27 reviews Very Good
27 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
14
Very Good
10
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Spectacular and spooky views from this wind swept and scenic cottage!”

Reviewed 16 Jan 2017

This cottage sells itself on the fabulous location! It is basic, but has all the essentials! Given the gale force wind and wintery weather during our stay, we were very warm and there was plenty of hot water! The fire provided additional heat which we had to use when the heating broke, but, don't worry, a sterling response from the owner and local engineer meant we were back up within 3hrs of reporting the problem - no complaints from us! My only real problem is that I think it is a bit of a squeeze for 6 if you aren't able to utilise the balcony. Also no internet service despite the wi-fi presence was disappointing, but owner was between providers at this time. Would love to revisit in the summer as beach was very inviting. Recommend 'Wicker's World' café near Wick harbour (wholesome and generous portions!) and the Wick Museum. Can also recommend high end meal option at The Mackays Hotel - even catered for vegans!

Owner's reply: After switching from BT £40 per month for a dreadfully poor service, we switched to PlusNet (£17 per month) from 4th November.. Despite four attempts a router still, as of today, hasn't arrived!!!! First because sending a router to a holiday cottage address doesn't work, then the computer shop on bridge street had moved 4 doors down but the Plusnet database only allows house numbers not the name of the shop i.e. North os Scotland Computer, Bridge Street, Wick and now yet another week waiting for the promised 4th attempt to succeed. And NHS Digital still think that everyone's electronic medical record will be reliably and securely accessible from every elderly person's own home!! Such an incredible waste of taxpayers money with no proper evidence of any improvement in care.

“lovely cottage”

Reviewed 15 Oct 2016

had a week here in september weather was great too got to see the sea otters and seals met some lovely people too a big thank you to the local fisherman for the goodies he gave us they were lovely .The cottage was great too so peaceful just what we wanted and will be going back next year for sure Just one thing about the cottage for rupert the owner please if you can get a new thicker mattress for the bed downstairs as im a fat bugger that was my only complaint apart from that would recommend the cottage to everyone just wish i owned it myself as its in a lovely place

Owner's reply: If you remind us then we will definitely get a better mattres before you come back. But we are still paying off the cost of totally rebuilding Sea Shore Cottage after a flood made the original annexe uninhabitable. The good thing about the flood was that it revealed the need to start again from the foundations and totally rebuild the annexe up to modern standards. Incidentally my wife prefers staying in Sea Shore whereas I prefer Sea Otter. Having after many years of failures I had given up trying to loose weight until I read the book called Fast Diet (2 days a week fasting and 5 days eating absolutely anything I felt like) and amazed myself by managing to get my weight down to a far healthier level. Best wishes "Retired" Dr Fawdry

“Amazing weekend retreat, beautiful place and fantastic, quaint cottage we didn't want to leave!!! Cant wait to go back!!”

Reviewed 15 May 2013

This place was totally worth the long drive!! The cottage had everything we needed after stocking up on food and drink supplies from Tesco down the road, we basically did'nt need to leave the cottage!! The fire is grand but use logs rather than coal as it blackens the glass. The owner is always on hand and is very helpful and friendly!! We were made to feel very welcome indeed. Sunsets from the balcony are amazing and the tide literally comes up the balcony wall at high tide!! We saw the northern lights from the balcony as the cottage apparently is in a prime spot away from town lights etc. We done the wild life cruise in wick which is highly recommended we saw loads of sea birds and even Puffins and seals!! There are some great castles and sights to be seen and there are also great fishing spots!! We hope to visit again very soon!!! Thanks again!!

Owner's reply: No owners response needed!

“Sea Otter Cottage is Ackergill Heaven”

Reviewed 21 Jan 2013

I flew from Birmingham to Wick, leaving 9am and arriving 12 midday. Sea Otter Cottage is just a few minutes' drive from Wick airport and there's a local car rental place. Plenty of room for parking at the Cottage. Lovely and warm inside - you really wouldn't mind if there were a howling gale or thick snow. Just nice to enjoy a quiet break. The kitchen is spacious; the view through the window across to Ackergill Tower makes washing up a pleasure rather than a chore! There's a clock on the living room wall that shows the times of the high and low tide - though the tides can clearly be seen while sitting on the sofa anyway. I made one excursion to Thurso and then visited Dunnet Head to see the most northerly point of the British mainland (I think John O'Groats is all hype and just a big car park with nothing to recommend it at all). Most of the rest of my 3-day stay I just wandered around the beach and surroundings of the Cottage taking photographs. It was all very relaxing. Sea views were even more spectacular in real life than in any of the publicity. While much of the English Midlands was gripped in a freeze with snow, etc., I had the most glorious sunny weather throughout the majority of my stay. Even when it did get cloudy, it was romantic and atmospheric, rather than dull and miserable. Like something out of a movie. Shopping etc. - Tesco is a mile or so away. There's also a remarkably good Lidl on the other side of Wick. I didn't get a chance to visit the Old Pulteney Distillery, but on another visit (and I plan to come back with friends) will definitely go there. The Alexander Bain (Wetherspoons) in Wick town centre has a good selection of real ales at cheap prices, including one from Orkney that was rather nice.

Owner's reply: No owners response needed

“Breathtaking views across Sinclair Bay, cosy, comfortable cottage in quiet location.”

Reviewed 10 Jan 2013

Sea Otter Cottage is located on the shore of Sinclair Bay with breathtaking views. It is in a quiet, peaceful, secluded location about 2 miles from Wick where there is aTesco superstore, good pubs and restaurants, coffee bars and shops. We were a family of four with two teenage children and found the cottage to be well equipped and comfortable and was an excellent base to explore Caithness and Orkney. We particularly liked that we could walk down a few steps from the garden onto the secluded beach. The children particularly liked having wi-fi so they could keep in touch with their friends. We enjoyed it so much that we stayed twice in 2012 and have booked again for 2013.

Owner's reply: No owners response needed!

Review 1-10 of 27

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

441732 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57833 properties

Scotland Holidays

7454 properties

Badenoch and Strathspey

294 properties

Lochaber

201 properties

Inverness

156 properties

Caithness and Sutherland

149 properties

Ross and Cromarty

134 properties

Loch Ness

114 properties

Nairn

41 properties

Lochalsh

30 properties

Ullapool

23 properties

Beauly

20 properties

Lochinver

19 properties

Glencoe

15 properties

Gairloch

14 properties

Brora

13 properties

Thurso

12 properties

Avoch

9 properties

Invergordon

9 properties

Muir of Ord

8 properties

Durness

7 properties

Cannich

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.