from
£109 / night
Price for guests, Nights
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

The Bakehouse Whitstable – Home 243638 Cottage

  • 1 bedroom
  • 4 sleeps
  •  min stay varies
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

The Bakehouse Whitstable – Home 243638

  • Cottage
  • 1 bedroom
  • sleeps 4
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 111 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Cottage / 1 bedroom / 1 bathroom / sleeps 4

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0.3 km
  • Not suitable for children
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

The Bakehouse Whitstable has once again been awarded a Tripadvisor 'Certificate of Excellence' 2019. Nestled behind the High Street you will find The Bakehouse Whitstable with it's cosy decked courtyard where you can relax on a sunny morning with the paper. The quirky building which was originally The Bakehouse in Whitstable has a fully equipped kitchen and dining area leading into the lounge with comfy sofas, TV, DVD player and Docking Station. The upper level has a large luxurious sleeping area. A separate laundry room houses the washing machine.

We do not usually accept one night bookings, however should there be an odd date showing please contact us for prices.

LOCAL ENTERTAINMENT:

Whitstable Farmer's Market held on the second & fourth Saturdays of the month, St Mary's Hall, Oxford St.Artisan Market held in St Georges St, Canterbury every fourth Saturday of the month

Further details indoors

Towels are provided for showering and washing within the cottage. Please ensure you bring your own beach towels for use outside of the cottage. We do not supply shower gel or shampoo as the majority of people prefer to use their own.

We have a Nespresso Coffee Machine, a few pods are provided. If you wish to bring your own please ensure they are Nespresso compatible.

Further details outdoors

Decked courtyard area with chairs for relaxing. Please note: The Bakehouse Whitstable is not located on the beach, it is a 5 minute walk to the beach. The picture with the beach hut is showing how wonderful the sunsets can be.

More Less

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Beds in other rooms: Sofa Bed
  • 1 Shower room

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Accessible for wheelchair users — please contact the owner for details before booking

Getting around

Whitstable is a popular seaside town which can get extremely busy. The easiest way to get around Whitstable itself is to walk or cycle. There is a very good bus service which makes it easy to get to Canterbury or Herne Ba. Should you wish to visit Birchington or Margate this is easy by train.

Interaction with guest

We have a flexible key collection arrangement, however, check in and out times will be given in arrival information together with parking tips, things to do and recommended restaurants. We are easily contactable by phone, text or email, normally with an immediate response but should we not respond immediately please realise that we maybe busy and will get back to you very quickly.

Policies

Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £150.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

Parties are not allowed at any time.
The Bakehouse is suitable for babies, however, you will need to bring a travel cot with you.
Check is from 2.30pm and departure is 10.30 am

More

About the owner

Virginia H.
Average reply time:
1 hour 25 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated:
15 Jun 2019
Years listed:
6
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

This Cottage has 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 05 Jul 2012. Located in Kent, it has 111 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £796 to £1374.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 15 Jun 2019.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent
111 reviews

Excellent
89
Very Good
19
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Great location,great flat,great town,Virginia a joy to deal with, will be back.”

Reviewed 5 Jan 2017

Right on the doorstep of whitstable town, great restaurants , would recommend the parsons arms and sabab Indian, also samphire but more expensive. Parking can be a bit of a problem but if you don't mind a 5 min walk there a lots of local road where you can park for free. We stayed on a New Year's Eve and thought it may be noisey but once inside the flat we couldn't hear a thing. Lovely walks along the coast and lots of local history to investigate.

Owner's reply: So pleased you had a lovely New Year at The Bakehouse and enjoyed Whitstable to blow the cobwebs away! We hope to welcome you back

“A little gem!!!”

Reviewed 15 Sep 2015

We spent a fantastic five days in this adorable accommodation. Initial reaction was how warm & welcoming it was. Spotlessly clean, well equipped & extremely comfortable. So close to the main town & all the lovely quaint shops, we spent many hours meandering around the town & harbour. There are so many lovely places to eat, we were spoilt for choice! The sunsets were spectacular to watch on the beach with a gin & tonic in hand at The Old Neptune before wandering back in to town & choosing somewhere for supper. Thank you for a wonderful break. We will definitely be returning to this little gem, it really is a home from home!

Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and such a lovely one at that! So pleased you had such a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back.

“A lovely place to stay in the heart of Whitstable”

Reviewed 28 Aug 2015

Despite picking the worst few days of the summer, weather wise, we could not have been more pleased to have booked the Bakehouse. It was light and airy, stylish and was spotlessly clean. It was very well appointed with Wi-Fi, flat screen TV, DVD player, iPod dock with radio as well as a fully kitted kitchen. It's tucked away but right in the heart of Whitstable which was important for me as I have RA and need to take rest periods. It was great to come back to the Bakehouse and relax with some favourite DVDs we had bought, especially as the weather was so bad at times. There is also a little decked patio for when the sun does shine. We can recommend Champs bakery too and the Peter Cushing Weatherspoons pub which was right opposite but all the restaurants, shops, pubs, sea front are all within very short walking distance. We will definitely return as we had such a nice break here.

Owner's reply: Despite the weather we are so pleased you enjoyed the other aspects of your break and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Reviewed 24 Aug 2015

We were pleasantly surprised upon arriving at the Bakehouse. It had everything we needed and so close to shops/harbour and great places to eat. You need to pre-book restuarants as most are very popular. Had a great time...just wished we could of stayed longer. We loved the great varied mix of shops along High Street/Harbour Street and especially liked looking around the stalls in the Harbour! Also visited the Castle, which is quite impressive and walked along to Tanketon slopes which had amazing views. Would definately recommend and visit again!

Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are so pleased that you had such an enjoyable break and liked The Bakehouse. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

“Convenient spot in town”

Reviewed 23 Aug 2015

Lovely accommodation in a location within walking distance of beach, shops, and restaurants. We dined at Birdies and had a great meal of lobster and mussels. We could not find any off street parking so parked in a public car park which was behind St Mary's Hall and walked through to our accommodation - only a few minutes walk. There was a great Farmers Market going on in the Hall so we stocked up on some goodies to eat and take home. There were some revelers in the courtyard area of the Wine Bar who got extremely loud in the early hours - at one time there appeared to be a fight going on. Eventually after a number of nearby residents shouted out of their windows, they were ushered inside. This is the downside of staying close to the bars in town, and as we had read other reviews beforehand that mentioned this, we were forewarned.

Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you liked The Bakehouse and had an enjoyable stay. I was surprised you weren't lucky enough to find street parking out of my suggested places but luckily you did manage to park very close. Whitstable is a busy Town and unfortunately it can be a nuisance when staying in Town that occasionally there will be a rowdy few, however, as the pubs and clubs have closing times it does then quieten down for sleeping. I hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again in the future. I know of someone who has a place on the beachfront and she gets complaints about being woken early morning with the seagulls and people taking early morning and late night walks and being inconsiderate with their volume of talking!!

“Perfect escape for a few days by the sea, it perfect cosy comfort!!”

Reviewed 20 Aug 2015

The bake house is a perfect spot to stay in if you fancy escaping the rat race, and soaking up all Whitstable has to offer.. Perfect location, for restaurants, shops, and beach.. It is beautifully clean, and very comfortable with a nice seaside vibe going on. The bed is extremely comfortable and large, and although very central very quite.. Excellent accommodation!! We Would 100% visit again, and this is from a fuss pot!!

Owner's reply: So pleased you enjoyed your break and The Bakehouse, we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking the time to leaf a review!

“So clean, comfortable and stylish - Virginia was extremely helpful too!”

Reviewed 18 Aug 2015

I had a lovely short break at The Bakehouse. All the arrangements were made v efficiently beforehand and Champs Bakery were also helpful during my stay. I would really recommend this great little hideaway which is just a short walk from the beach and close to all the facilities whilst being quietly tucked away. Brilliant!

Owner's reply: So pleased you enjoyed your break and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

“Totally Fabulous”

Reviewed 29 May 2015

We had a lovely stay at the Bakehouse - this property is a gem its bright comfortable airy and modern with a seaside touch. Every - thing you need is provided for you and we found the Bakehouse to be spotlessly clean. The bakehouse is near the bus stop with a excellent service to Canterbury and to other local towns plus only a few minutes away from the beach. On arrival there was milk in the fridge with tea coffee and biscuits to enjoy

Owner's reply: So pleased you enjoyed your stay and The Bakehouse, hopefully you will return :-)

“We had a lovely relaxed break at the Bakehouse. It's a very sweet and homely place to stay.”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2014

Would have been perfect if it was right on the beach as the main photo suggests, we were expecting sea views and as it happens it's actually off the high street down an alley, nowhere near the sea. It's about a 10 minute walk. That was the only disappointment but other than that, the Bakehouse has everything you need for a lovely peaceful holiday break.

Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and are pleased you enjoyed your stay even though we are not right on the sea.....we wish we were!

“Seaside treasure!!!”

Reviewed 15 Jul 2014

Fantastic little house in a perfect location close to the High Street and Harbour. The house itself was perfect with everything that you would need. Highly recommended. Would quite happily stay there again.

Owner's reply: Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and The Bakehouse Whitstable. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.

Review 1-10 of 111

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Virginia (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Virginia (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Virginia (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Virginia the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Virginia (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Virginia (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Virginia (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Virginia (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Virginia (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Virginia (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Virginia (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Virginia (the owner) a message.

If Virginia (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

527202 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

71516 properties

England Holidays

52219 properties

Whitstable Holidays

105 properties

West Country

15,779 properties

Northern England

9,288 properties

Cornwall

7,063 properties

South East England

6,830 properties

London

5,717 properties

Devon

5,135 properties

Yorkshire

4,317 properties

East Anglia

3,346 properties

Cumbria

2,306 properties

Greater London

2,192 properties

Dorset

2,162 properties

Sussex

2,099 properties

East Sussex

1,429 properties

Somerset

1,419 properties

Cotswolds

1,276 properties

Isle of Wight

1,180 properties

Kent

1,125 properties

Lincolnshire

1,074 properties

Northumberland

1,071 properties

Hampshire

847 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.