from
£95 / night help
Price for guests, Nights

Maritimus Cottage – Home 312960 Cottage

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 5 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Maritimus Cottage – Home 312960

  • Cottage
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 5
  •  min stay varies

Very Good Very Good – based on 50 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Cottage / 3 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 5

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Child friendly
  • No pets allowed

Description from owner

Description

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: Double Bed
    Bedroom 3: Single Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Iron
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Adam B.
Average reply time:
2 hours 24 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
15 May 2018
Years listed:
5
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Cottage has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 5. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 01 Apr 2013. Located in Scarborough District, it has 50 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £400 to £840.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 15 May 2018.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good – based on 50 reviews Very Good
50 reviews

Excellent
35
Very Good
12
Average
3
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Maritmas”

Reviewed 29 Oct 2017

Excellent place would love stay again and will always be our 1 st choice a very relaxing time with our family and grandchildren

Owner's reply: Thank you for review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the cottage and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Whitby.

“Great stay at Maritimus cottage!”

Reviewed 7 Oct 2017

We had a great stay at Maritimus cottage. The owner was brilliant from the beginning of our booking to the very end of our stay. He was helpful and fast with answering questions. There was a small problem with an outflow pipe which needed to be fixed during our stay. Which caused us no inconvenience whatsoever, however the owner brought us a couple of bottles of wine and some chocolates as compensation which we thought was a very nice gesture. I think he really cares about his cottage and his guests and you can tell that by how beautifully restored and maintained the cottage is. The location was perfect in our favourite part of Whitby. We've always wanted to stay at a cottage in Whitby and we're glad we chose Maritimus cottage.

Owner's reply: Many thanks for your review and kind words. I see the cottage as a home away from home for all guests and just making sure everything's ok is one part of that. I look forward to welcoming you back to on your next visit to Whitby.

“Seaside and sunshine”

Reviewed 6 Aug 2017

We've just had a fantastic week in Whitby staying in Maritimus cottage . It's central location meant once we parked the car it never moved all week . So many places to see and nice restaurants to eat in all within walking distance . Great quirky little cottage we loved it !

Owner's reply: Thanks for your review. I'm glad you had a fantastic time and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Whitby.

“Lovely cottage in a great spot”

Reviewed 2 Mar 2017

We just spent 3 nights at Maritimus cottage. It is really well equipped with a very modern kitchen/ diner / lounge . The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable ant the family bathroom is lovely . The location for us was perfect with fabulous views over the harbour, close to all of the amenities and a perfect base for lots of lovely walks. Excellent.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and all it's surroundings. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.

“Cracking location”

Reviewed 7 Oct 2016

Worth paying the extra for the view - a harbour view is more fun than a sea view because there's always something of interest . Place is simply but tastefully done out and works well despite nooks and crannies so thought has gone into it. Thank you.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the harbour view - watching everything that goes on throughout the day and into the night can be a full time holiday occupation. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Whitby.

“Quirky but nice!”

Reviewed 20 Jul 2016

A really nice base to stay in Whitby. Right in the middle of the old town and within easy walking distance of absolutely everything. The cottage was spotlessly clean with snowy white bedding and towels. Probably the best view of Whitby harbour you could find. Lovely large TV to watch in the evenings. Comfortable beds - although pillows could be softer. Nice powerful showers with plenty of instant hot water - but why did nobody think to install even a small shower cubicle shelf or unit to keep your shower gel/shampoo to hand? The downstairs en suite is ridiculously small and cramped but is probably the best that could be achieved with the space available - but whoever gets the double bedroom downstairs has pulled the short straw! The stairs are hard to negotiate at the bottom but once used to them they aren't bad for a short stay. I would say that the construction of the staircase would make this cottage absolutely unsafe for toddlers or elderly infirm. Having said all that, this is an old fishermans cottage which has been tastefully restored. The owner has made it attractive and inviting and has made the most of the space available. The replacement windows are wonderful, easy to use and in keeping with the building itself. I would think that the owner chose to go the extra mile when renovating this property and it is clearly a cut above its near neighbours. For the right people - thoroughly recommended.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review and for letting me know about the shower storage. I will purchase two shower baskets for future guests. I do appreciate the nature of the stairs however, with the cottage being over 200 years old, it would be difficult to change the stairs without losing the charm and character of the cottage. I do hope to welcome you back on any future visit to Whitby.

“Fabulous location with our own beach, ideal for a young family”

Reviewed 4 Apr 2016

Having stayed in Whitby many times over the years, this is our number one favourite location. On the old side of town, it is situated not far from the 199 steps. This holiday cottage has amazing views from the living room and all three bedrooms, looking over the harbour and out to sea. It was a quiet place, and you feel you are 'off the beaten track' despite being so central. The cottage is renovated to an extremely high standard with immaculate bed linen and towels, plus a modern, easy to use kitchen and breakfast bar, an ideal place to feed hungry kids. It is a great place to reach nearby eateries and parking is not too far away. We used the Church Street car park and bought a permit from the tourist office, which was also valid for Scarborough and Robin Hood's Bay council car parks. You cannot beat the views at Maritimus. it was wonderful to wake up each morning and open the shutters to reveal such a stunning outlook. We hope to return very soon. Highly recommended.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. The cottage location couldn't be better for sea views and, with your very own the beach beneath the cottage, means it is great for children. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

“Fisherman's cottage”

Reviewed 23 Mar 2015

If you want an authentic fisherman's cottage in Whitby but with a contemporary feel, this is the place for you. The living area is compact-but that's the authenticity-every bit of the available space has been utilised. The three bedrooms have been dressed to a high standard with a compact en suite for one of the double bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs with an excellent shower and a separate bath. There is plenty of storage space in all of the bedrooms. We stayed as two parents with adult sons in their twenties, the three men are all 6' 2" or over and although you have to 'watch your head' in some areas, we loved the cottage. The kitchen is very well 'kitted out' for preparing your own food however being so central in Whitby, with such a vast range of tearooms, pubs serving food, fish and chip shops and restaurants I doubt that you will make full use of it. I would say don't use this cottage if you have elderly parents, mine wouldn't have managed any aspect of it however I know that my sons would have loved it when they were young (primary school aged) as much as did this weekend. It is ideally positioned, just down a little alley off Church Street, one of the main thoroughfares in the town. Despite this we found it to be very quiet. The position means that everything is immediately to hand. We bought a car parking ticket from the tourist information office and used the long stay car park behind their office and didn't have any trouble parking, occasionally you have to hang around for a few minutes but there was plenty of movement of cars when we visited. Had we been able to use the park and ride facility (Easter onward), we would have done.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the closeness of the old town centre with all its shops and restaurants. Eating out is never an issue but I like to make sure you have the comforts of home if you do decide to cook. The cottage is over 300 years old and, as such, steps and low ceilings have to be watched out for - I speak from experience. I hope to welcome you back in the future.

“Lovely quirky cottage, not really good for the less mobile”

Reviewed 25 Jan 2014

We enjoyed our stay, but wish there had been more advice about the incline and steps to the cottage. We had our 87 year young Mother with us, fortunately she is very young minded, lively and determined, so we coped. Also I had to wash all the pans we used, they weren't very clean, and under the beds needed a clean! Despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our week, the cottage is on the right side of Whitby for us, and we would definitely return.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your comments. I have contacted the cleaning agent who will check the kitchen pots and pans in future - however I do rely on the previous guests to leave the kitchen as it was when they arrived. I have also updated the websites cottage description to ensure that future guests understand the steps from the yard to the front door.

Review 1-10 of 50

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

473233 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

62360 properties

England Holidays

45432 properties

Yorkshire Holidays

3623 properties

North Yorkshire Holidays

2736 properties

Whitby Holidays

331 properties

York

400 properties

Harrogate

122 properties

Pickering

96 properties

Thirsk

41 properties

Malton

28 properties

Saltburn-by-the-Sea

27 properties

Leyburn

27 properties

Helmsley

27 properties

Bedale

21 properties

Ripon

16 properties

Gargrave

12 properties

Thornton-Le-Dale

12 properties

Guisborough

11 properties

Sutton on the Forest

8 properties

Kiplin

8 properties

Runswick

7 properties

Skinningrove

7 properties

Embsay

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.