Old Lane Cottage – Home 1299626 Apartment
- 1 bedroom
- 4 sleeps
- 2 nights min stay
Old Lane Cottage – Home 1299626
- 1 bedroom
- sleeps 4
- 2 nights min stay
Apartment / 1 bedroom / 1 bathroom / sleeps 4
- Child friendly
- Car advised
- No pets allowed
Description from owner
A self contained annexe set in the beautiful grounds of a Grade 2 Listed Thatched Cottage. The accommodation is in the Conservation Area of a traditional English Village on the edge of the Chiltern Hills - a designated area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The location is idyllic with views of open fields where horses are often roaming and overlooking private gardens of over an acre. Set back from the road the location is extremely peaceful but within 30 seconds walk of the very popular and traditional village pub, which serves good food and traditional beers.
The location is perfect for walkers, cyclists and those looking to explore a wider area. For nature lovers we see many Red Kites and are a ten minute drive to the heart of the Chiltern Hills. We are 1 mile from the town of Thame (the scene of many episodes of Midsomer Murders) 14 miles from Oxford, one hour to the Cotswolds and Stratford Upon Avon and 5 minutes drive to a mainline railway station that gets you to London in 40 minutes. The house is 200 metres from the Phoenix Cycle Trail - a purpose built cycle route that links Thame to Princes Risborough and the Chiltern Hills
The accommodation is on the first floor of a separate brick and tiled building and comprises: a large, very light bedroom with a king size bed and fantastic views over the countryside; an open plan lounge diner with a double sofabed that pulls out; a shower room and a downstairs lobby.
The sofa bed has a new 10" mattress. This is as thick a mattress as possible on a sofa bed. Please note however that it is still a sofa bed and not a normal bed!
The property is well equipped with all new appliances, has free wi-fi, Digital TV, DVD player, CD/ hi fi system and a washing machine in the kitchen diner. There is also a SMART TV with access to Iplayer and services such as Netflix (if you have an account with Netflix) .
The property is double glazed with modern central heating ensuring a warm stay all year round. There is a proper cooker with oven, grill and electric hobs for those wanting to cook.
Outside there is very safe off street parking. There is storage available for bicycles on request.
Flexible to accomodate short and longer stays subject to availability. The property is on the first floor with access by stairs with a bannister. Given the first floor it is not suitable for those who struggle with stairs
- Great for children of all ages
- No pets allowed
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: King Bed
Beds in other rooms: Sofa Bed
- 1 Shower room
- Wi-Fi available
- Shared garden
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- High chair available
- Satellite TV
- DVD player
- Stereo system
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 10:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: £100.00
- No smoking at this property
Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
24 hours after booking
50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.
8 weeks before
25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.
4 weeks before
No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.
* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated:
- 24 Mar 2019
- Years listed:
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English, Spanish, Portuguese
This Apartment has 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 06 Jan 2014. Located in Oxfordshire, it has 29 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate is £516.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 24 Mar 2019.
Map and how to get there
– based on 29 reviews
- Very Good
“Too much wrong”
No complaints on location. would be a squash with four people. Only one settee, would have to bring chair from bedroom to eat together. Pop-up plug in basin stayed popped up and had to wash under running water. Toilet seat kept slipping, very worrying. Half the light bulbs out! Could not dry hair in front of mirror plug too far away. I could go on and on. Needs serious but minor work done. Used it as a short term rent between houses. Wanted no worries!!!!!!!!!
Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the plug in the baisn would not stay down. I ordered a new one which was fitted as soon as it arrived. Again apologies that the toilet seat moved. I did come and repair this as soon as you told me and it is now solidly in place. Unfortunately 2 light bulbs had gone. I replaced one but had difficulty removing the fitting for the other. This was one of many lights in the room so I hope it wasn't too much of a problem. I hope that your house move went well. Best wishes. Jonathan
“Plenty of space - but.....”
This property offered the biggest bedroom we have seen in rented accommodation and had a fairly decent sized kitchen/diner/lounge. A big plus was a washing machine, with lots of drying racks. The views across adjoining fields were wonderful. However it missed the mark in so many ways. First impressions were exceptionally disappointing with paths full of weeds and flowers/rose bushes overgrowing, meaning to get to the door we had to drag our suitcases across the lawn. The door to the accommodation has obviously swollen over time making it difficult to open. Cobwebs were across a number of the light fittings (three of which had globes not working), the oven was not as clean as we would like and the sofa in the lounge, apart from being extremely uncomfortable, needed food scraps/crumbs vacuumed off. The bathroom is tiny, very dark and has no window or ventilation excpet a very small fan. The owner, however, did quickly rectify the broken toilet seat we found on arrival. There was no power in the bathroom for a hairdryer (the only easily accessed power for a hairdryer was not even near a mirror). In the bedroom we found one of the central supports for the mattress was broken meaning the bed sagged. And the pillows were very very flat and uncomfortable, and in our opinion definitely need replacing. We found the property OK to find in daylight, but I would think in the dark people will struggle. If you do go to the pub across the road take a torch as there is no driveway lighting. Please note this is not a tatched rental, but is an annexe over the garage to the tatched property. This really disappointed, and we noted that other guests had also gained the impression that the rental was tatched. For those with physical impairment please note that there are steep stairs. Internet was available but a bit patchy. It would be useful if there were instructions on the property for use of various facilities, especially the heating system.
Owner's reply: thank you for the review Mike. I am sorry that you felt the garden was overgrown. We had a number of flowers alongside the annexe wall that survived very late into the Autumn given the mild weather we had. As they were bringing lots of colour we didn't want to cut them back but I do recognise they were spreading onto the path. Since the frost finally got them they are all cut right back now. We look forward to a fresh bloom in spring. The bed had unfortunately been moved and the central support needed adjusting as it got bent. This has been fixed. It is a very good quality, king size bed from John Lewis with a good quality new mattress. People tell us that they find the bed very comfortable but I know beds and pillows are a very personal thing. We have put in some additional pillows however to give people and option of the types of pillows they prefer. We do live in a village with no street lighting so I agree that it does get dark at night. We do provide a torch and 2 outside lights. I am looking at replacing the floodlight at the front of the house. Re the heating we do leave simple instructions in the document that we send to all guests about how to turn up and down the thermostat. We find this works well and avoids the problems that can occur when people try and change the programmes on the thermostat We do try to make it clear that the apartment is on the first floor and that it is not therefore suitable for people with physical impairments. We welcome comments and look to keep improving the property. We have just ordered a new sofa bed. Although the existing one is only a few years old the cushions have not worn well so we are replacing with a new and very comfortable sofa. I am sorry you found some cobwebs. We pride ourself on the apartment being very clean so we will try extra hard to spot these in the future Thanks again for your feedback Best wishes Jonathan and Tais
“Charming apartment in a beautiful countryside”
We found Old Lane Cottage to be a very peaceful and cozy place within an idyllic village. From cottage windows, there is a beautiful view to the garden and across the fields. We were travelling with two children and there was enough space for the whole family. The apartment was well-equipped and had a new washing machine. Our host Jonathan was very helpful and friendly. He proactively provided instructions and promptly answered our questions. This a good location for day trips with plenty of attractions within a reasonable distance.
“Beautiful cozy apartment”
We stayed in old Lane cottage for valentines and had a perfect weekend. The hosts are super friendly, the apartment was immaculate with every thing you could need including a hairdryer which was great. Lovely sized rooms with a great view of the fields. Couldn't ask for anything more and was great value for money. It's located perfectly too - close to a lovely traditional town and near to oxford. We recommend this place for a relaxing getaway :)
- How do I find more info about the property?
You can get in touch with Jonathan (the owner) through the contact form on this page.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.
- What if I have questions before I book?
Send Jonathan (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I contact Jonathan (the owner)?
Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Jonathan the owner's contact details or send them a message.
- What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Jonathan (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then
Or send Jonathan (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.
- What is a booking request?
When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Jonathan (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- How do I know my booking is safe?
To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.
- How do I know what it will cost for my stay?
Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.
You can also request a quote from Jonathan (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.
- How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?
You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.
- How do I pay for my holiday?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Jonathan (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.
If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- Why can't I call Jonathan (the owner) before booking?
You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.
If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.
- How do damage deposits work?
In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.
Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.
- How can I view and manage my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.
- How do I pay the balance of my holiday?
You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.
We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.
- How can I retract my booking request?
You’ll need to contact Jonathan (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.
- How do I cancel my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.
- How do I edit my booking?
You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Jonathan (the owner) a message.
If Jonathan (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours