from £120 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

The Old Post Office, West Shore, St Monans – Home 5862100 House

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

The Old Post Office, West Shore, St Monans – Home 5862100

  • House
  • 2 bedrooms
  • sleeps 6
  •  min stay varies

Very Good Very Good – based on 9 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

House / 2 bedrooms / 3 bathrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Nearest beach 0 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Situated in the East Neuk of Fife in the old fishing village of St Monans. The Old Post Office is in a stunning Harbour front location and has spectacular views over the picturesque harbour and out across the Firth of Forth towards Edinburgh and East Lothian.Perfect for summer holidays with its location close to the beach or winter getaways making the most of the log burning stove and open fire to warm up after a stroll around the lovely village.

The property also has unlimited broadband wireless internet.

The old post Office is full of quirky charm with many original features making it a truly unique holiday experience. The house is south facing and set over three floors with unrivalled views across the harbour and Firth of Forth from each floor.On entering the property through the ground floor vestibule you arrive in the first of two living rooms, this one on the ground floor has a wood burning stove, television, DVD player, radio and dining area which comfortable seats

Situated in the East Neuk of Fife in the old fishing village of St Monans. The Old Post Office is in a stunning Harbour front location and has spectacular views over the picturesque harbour and out across the Firth of Forth towards Edinburgh and East Lothian.Perfect for summer holidays with its location close to the beach or winter getaways making the most of the log burning stove and open fire to warm up after a stroll around the lovely village.

The property also has unlimited broadband wireless internet.

The old post Office is full of quirky charm with many original features making it a truly unique holiday experience. The house is south facing and set over three floors with unrivalled views across the harbour and Firth of Forth from each floor.On entering the property through the ground floor vestibule you arrive in the first of two living rooms, this one on the ground floor has a wood burning stove, television, DVD player, radio and dining area which comfortable seats eight, there is also a high chair. The kitchen is conveniently located off the dining area and is fully modernised with a gas hob, electric fan oven, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer,large fridge/freezer, microwave and is fully stocked with cutlery, crockery and utensils to provide you with all you require for your stay.The first floor is accessed up a hand built spiral staircase and has a second living room with open fire, 32” flat screen television, DVD player and stunning views over the harbour, this room also contains a very comfortable double sofa bed if you require extra sleeping space. The second bedroom is on first floor and contains bunk beds, there is also a modern shower room on this floor with toilet, wash-hand basin and a Travatine tiled floor. The top floor is also accessed up a hand built spiral staircase and contains a large double bedroom with king sized bed and views over the harbour, there is also a small child's bed and a cot is available. There is also a bathroom and a separate WC on this floor. All of the floor landings have stair gates on them to offer you piece of mind if you have small children.There is gas central heating throughout.The property is unique St. Monans harbour in that it has area to the front of the house where you can sit and soak up the sun or just watch the world go by. There is a fully enclosed secure garden area to the back of the property which is accessed through the kitchen or a lane at the side of the property. It has a BBQ and patio area with a table and chairs. The side entrance allows the easy storage of bicycles.The fife coastal path passes by the front door of the property making it the perfect location for anyone wanting to enjoy this wonderful trail.There is free on-street parking at the front of the house.

Location description from owner

The Scotland region

St. Monans is a sleepy fishing village on the Fife coast set within the East Neuk of Fife. With its wonderful beaches and colourful fishing villages the East Neuk of Fife offers a fantastic range of facilities to suit every type of tourist.
St. Monans today is now mainly a tourist destination with the Fife coastal path through the village, it is very popular with walkers and cyclists alike. The former burgh rests on a hill overlooking the Firth of Forth with views to North Berwick, the Bass Rock and the Isle of May. St Monans contains many historical buildings, including the now defunct windmill (which can be visited) that once powered a salt panning industry, and a 14th-century church with a boat suspended from its ceiling that sits on the rocks above the water on the western side. Approximately ½ mile west of St Monans are the remains of Newark Castle, a 16th-century manor that has since fallen to ruin through cliff erosion and disrepair.
The village itself still has many traditional smokehouses including the East Pier smokehouse and Café, where you can sample or buy the local delicacies. There is a village shop, several pubs and restaurants including Craig Miller's award winning restaurant.
There are many notable festivals and harbour days that take place throughout the East Neuk, including the Pittenweem Arts Festival, Crail Food Festival and many other too numerous to mention. There is certainly plenty to do in the area.
The neighbouring East Neuk villages of Elie, Pittenweim, Anstruther, Cellerdyke and Crail are within walking distance along the Fife Coastal Path or a short drive away. There are many local attractions in these villages most notable the award winning Anstruther fish and chips, the Scottish Fisheries Museum, picturesque Crail harbour, Kellie Castle, The Ship Inn in Elie, Kingsbarns Distillery, The secret Bunker and many, many more.

St Monans

The neighbouring East Neuk villages of Elie, Pittenweim, Anstruther, Cellerdyke and Crail are within walking distance along the Fife Coastal Path or a short drive away. There are many local attractions in these villages most notable the award winning Anstruther fish and chips, the Scottish Fisheries Museum, picturesque Crail harbour, Kellie Castle, The Ship Inn in Elie, Kingsbarns Distillery, The secret Bunker and many, many more.
The area around the East Neuk offers many attractions itself with St. Andrews a fifteen minute drive away. St. Andrews is recognised across the globe as the 'Home Of Golf'. Whether you are looking to play the iconic Old Course or any of the other ten courses on offer, golfing in St. Andrews is the ultimate ambition of many golfers. The town of St. Andrews offers a lot more than golf itself, with its historic buildings, university, colourful boutique shops, bars and restaurants, not to mention its magnificent award winning beaches, the town is a virtual treasure trove of attractions for tourists of all ages. Edinburgh, Perth and Stirling are an hour and a half's drive from the St. Monans.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Bedroom 2: Bunk Bed
    Beds in other rooms: Sofa Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 Shower room, 1 Toilet Only

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Waterfront
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

House rules

CARE OF THE PROPERTY
• Holidaymakers are responsible for leaving the property in the same condition as when they arrived. This is in a clean and tidy state, with the beds stripped where possible.
• The hirer is responsible for removal of all refuse at the end of their stay in accordance with the guidelines laid out in the property. Any refuge or recycling left in the property will incur a charge for removal.

More

About the owner

Steven B.
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
26 Apr 2017
Years listed:
2
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This House has 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 05 Mar 2015. Located in Fife, it has 9 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £450 to £800.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 26 Apr 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good – based on 9 reviews Very Good
9 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
7
Very Good
1
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“A fantastic location overlooking the harbour”

Reviewed 9 Nov 2016

The position of the property was just wonderful - overlooking the harbour and the owner was a lovely lady. The home is close to anything you may need, shops, café, walks from one village to the next and you can easily drive to St Andrews in 20 minutes or so, also Edinburgh is close enough to go for the day! What i liked the most was 'as the paragraph above' plus the accommodation is fantastic for a family with enough beds and enough living space to spread out a bit . I don't like to grumble and although we had a fantastic holiday it has to be said that was a part of the accommodation that did let things own a bit - it is said that the home has a 'quirky charm', which it does, and they may be aiming at 'shabby chic' also but it was more a wee bit shabby! What I mean is that everything was quite dusty, lots of clutter i.e. bits of all sorts (shells, bit of old drift wood, lots of useless bits), the cutlery, well we had to wash this as some of it still had left over food on it and there was bits of items (half bottles of jam, opened sugar, old breakfast cereal etc) all leftover from previous guest that were very out of date and had to be thrown away and we put the other stuff in a cupboard till we left...I think you have to be very careful leaving other guests left overs in holiday accommodation! We spent a number of hours in the first day just cleaning up! One of the TVs was not working and Helen was down really quickly and apologised profusely, took it away and we never saw it again! My wife and I talked about the accommodation and for the price you pay we both said that it was tired and in need of a good declutter and a really good clean. We think it is important to be honest and let other travellers know what is actually on offer but In closing we loved staying at the accommodation due to its accessibility to all we love to do and the beautiful views over the harbour....Gee I wish we could own the property - so much potential! .

Owner's reply: Hi Les, Thank you for the review. Helen, the owner of the property takes great pride in the house and myself and her are disappointed to find that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the house, as you will see from previous reviews, this is the first time that this has become an issue. We will take on board your comments about the clutter in the house and have a look at this, we do however feel, that most of this adds to the charm of the property and is in keeping with the houses unique charm. I apologise for the television not working and hope this did not spoil your enjoyment of the house. I am glad you enjoyed the layout and location of the house and the fantastic views over the harbour. Kind regards Steven at St. Andrews Holiday Apartments

Review 1-9 of 9

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

428241 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57719 properties

Scotland Holidays

7357 properties

Scottish Highlands

1,305 properties

Edinburgh

962 properties

Argyll and Bute

585 properties

Fife

544 properties

Dumfries and Galloway

441 properties

Perth and Kinross

428 properties

Aberdeenshire

366 properties

Borders

326 properties

Glasgow

292 properties

Moray

205 properties

East Lothian

144 properties

Angus

83 properties

Orkney Islands

83 properties

Isle of Arran

45 properties

Dundee

43 properties

Midlothian

36 properties

Falkirk District

28 properties

North Lanarkshire

20 properties

Clackmannanshire

18 properties

Inverclyde

7 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.