Oakerthorpe Manor – Home 87822 Manor House
- 8 bedrooms
- 17 sleeps
- min stay varies
Oakerthorpe Manor – Home 87822
- See Details
- View map
- Check Availability
- Read Reviews
- Manor House
- 8 bedrooms
- 5 bathrooms
- sleeps 17
- Child friendly
- Car advised
- No pets allowed
- Private garden
- Great for children of all ages
- No pets allowed
- 2 Cots available
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: Double Bed
Bedroom 2: Double Bed
Bedroom 3: Double Bed
Bedroom 4: Double Bed
Bedroom 5: Double Bed
Bedroom 6: 2 Single Beds
Bedroom 7: 3 Single Beds
Bedroom 8: 2 Single Beds
Beds in other rooms:
- 1 Family bathroom, 4 En suites
- Wi-Fi available
- Private garden
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Pool or snooker table
- Games room
- Washing machine
- High chair available
- DVD player
- CD player
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Secure parking
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time:15:00, Check out time:10:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Damage deposit: £300.00
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated::
- 17 Sep 2018
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English, French
This Manor house has 8 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and sleeps 17. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 28 Apr 2009. Located in South Wingfield, it has 52 reviews with an overall rating of 4. The average weekly rate varies from £1950 to £3500.
The Owner has a response rate of 95% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 17 Sep 2018.
Map and directions
– based on 52 reviews
- Very Good
“Lovely place for a family weekend away”
We are a family of 17, from 15 months to over 60. Having read the 'Diabolical' review, we were very apprehensive about staying at the Manor. We rang the office to voice our concerns. We spoke to Marie who was very happy to arrange for us to visit the Manor before we stayed. This allayed our fears and we felt happy with our choice of venue for our first family weekend away. The Manor is a great place for a get together. We went on the hottest weekend of the year, so far. The drawing room had French doors with steps, which the 'crawler' managed fine. This lead down to the lawn, which was great for badminton, paddling pool etc. There were 4 bench seats in the garden which we moved into the shade. There was a little safe shady wood that the children liked to play in to. We didn't head down to the pond with the children as we deemed it unsafe. Those that did venture out to find it, found it had small frogs and a family of ducks living on it. The trainline is very close to the Manor, but as it says in the details, its all safety fenced off. It can be quite noisy at times. We were all pro trains so it wasn't really a problem, although they do run night and day. The dining room had tabling that facilitated us all sitting together in lovely surroundings. The snooker room off the dining room was well used over the weekend. The kitchen was well equipped with very large saucepans and sharp knives, and with room for the children to sit and have their breakfast together. The bedrooms were all different. Some beds were less comfortable than others, but we all slept well, which is a real barometer as to how comfortable they were. The attic rooms got very hot, but they had ceiling fans, which certainly helped. The bath in the bedroom was a great hit. The lounges were restful with comfortable seating for all of us. We paid extra and stayed until Sunday evening so we could spend another day together. There were a few niggly things which we flagged up with Marie, who thanked us for pointing them out. However, none of these could spoil our enjoyment of this lovely house. I would really recommend it.
Owner's reply: Thank you for leaving us such a nice review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we'll certainly look into the issues you raised. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
“A House of Charm and Character”
A real opportunity to live as Lord and Lady of the Manor. All of the family loved the experience, and the Grandchildren played hide and seek for the three days that we were there, including several treasure hunts. A Murder Mystery night was the order of the day for the adults and the Manor is the perfect setting for this too. We would recommend a holiday break at the Manor to our friends and family
Owner's reply: So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the review. We look forward to welcoming you - and your family and friends - again in the future.
“A great stay”
Had a brilliant time, owner is really accommodating and the house is set in its own grounds, really private and you don't have to worry about noise when there's loads of you.
Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
“What I found was not what was written on the tin”
There were 3 serious rainwater leaks. The one in the Games room was evidenced by the presence of a large plastic kitchen waste bin by the pool table to collect the constant drips. I had to empty this twice during my weekend stay. There were 2 shower outlet blockages. Even after, I had cleaned the previous occupants hair from the self clean traps and plunged the outlets and a further attempt to plunge the outlets had been made by a summoned handyman, a plumber had to attend to clear them. He advised that the reason for the blockages was that the outlet pipework was too small The main plastic shelf in the fridge was broken and could not be used. A wall shelf in the kitchen was hanging off the wall and could not be used. I 'phoned Diane Doran 3 times and left messages on the morning prior to my departure asking her to contact me or visit the house in order to discuss the above issues and also the fact that one of the children in my party was responsible for a hole about 5" in diameter in one of the sloping attic bedroom ceilings. She did not return my calls nor did she visit the house. She was later to claim that I was responsible for two holes in the bedroom ceiling, which I categorically deny. The second hole being an area of blistered/bubbled paintwork when I left. I have requested sight of an itemised receipted account for the repair to the ceiling, but this has yet to materialise. I have now been notified tha my Breakages Deposit of £350 is forfeited. I have obtained my own estimate for the repair to the ceiling, (based on the very clear photographs provided by Diane Doran when advising of the £350 forfeiture), in the sum of £120. Being rather disgusted about the whole tawdy experience of trying to communicate with Diane Doran and the disrupted weekend of my stay (it was a surprise 70th birthday family party for my Wife), I have counter-claimed an amount of £200 for the inconveniences suffered, pointing out that all the issues on her side should have been advised to me prior to my arrival in order that I could consider whether I needed to make alternative arrangements. I have advised Diane Doran that if I have not received satisfaction by 2nd Nov. I willseek to recover this amount through the Small Claims Court. I feel that anyone who has already booked, or may be considering booking accommodation at Oakerthorpe Manor would like to be made aware of my experience.
Owner's reply: We seek to provide a first class stay for our thousands of guests staying at the Manor. We very rarely suffer any damage at the property. Unfortunately, Mr Peter Ellis caused significant damage to our beautiful 1840 property by making 2 large holes in the ceiling. Mr Ellis initially demanded compensation from me for his stay, as a smokescreen for the damage caused to the house. I visited the house following a phone call from him on the Saturday morning and resolved his reported issues within 2 hours. I refute all the allegations in his review, other than the leaking ceiling in the games room, which is awaiting repair. I have placed this matter in the hands of our solicitors, who have been in contact with Mr Ellis. Although never a preferred route, we are more than happy to meet Mr Ellis' legal action.
“30th birthday bash”
A great weekend in some beautiful english countryside, in an old english house! Perfect for a big group celebrating. Make sure you take a stroll out to Wingfield Manor across the fields, straddling the rivers and over the railway. Be sure to stop at The Old Yew Tree Inn for a drink. The main 3 bedrooms are nicely finished, and the kitchen is well done. The reception rooms are pleasant, and the mis-matching furniture doesn't make you feel too guilty for partying! The working fireplaces are great. All in all, the house represents good value in a truly beautiful corner of England.
Owner's reply: Dear Russell, Thank you for your feedback it is important to us. We are glad you had a lovely time at the Manor. We would love to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Grace
We brought a large family group of 17 to this wonderful house and the cottage in the grounds for Christmas. The house is very well equiped for a large group, especially the kitchen and the bathrooms. The house has been beautifully restored and enhanced with modern fittings. No complaints about the comfy beds from anyone. Sitting everyone down for dinner was no trouble at all. The house is in a very private location with plenty of space for everyone both inside and outside. The welcome pack was generous, the fires were roaring, 3 decorated trees and everyone was impressed when they rolled up the long drive. The owners arranged some first class clay pidgeon shooting and horseriding for us. Overall this was a very successful stay and we thought it excellent value for money.
Owner's reply: Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and are here to help in any way, Its was our pleasure to help book your activities and we are glad you had a fun Christmas period. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Grace
“Fantastic, warm and relaxing”
I can recomend Oakerthorpe Manor to anyone who is thinking of doing a suprise party for the whole family, kids, teanagers and adults as i did, I live in the Middle East and booked it all on line, the owners were very understanding and assisted me before durring and after the party, very relaxing and well equiped house with lovely grounds to walk in.
Owner's reply: Dear Guest We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we try so hard to give you the best possible experience here, and your kind words are very comforting, knowing that we have given you complete satisfaction during your stay, please do come back and visit us again soon. Regards Daniel Fox Oakerthorpe Manor T: 01623 45 25 25
“A Lovely House in Need of Renovation”
We are a group of primary school teachers who enjoy exploring the country and indulging in adventurous activities. The location of Oakerthorpe was great for walking, climbing and watersports. We were certainly drawn by the magnificent photos on the website and the house itself holds historical charm, especially the fireplaces. We had a very informative tour of the building by the owner which was very agreeable. There are some extensive (long term) building projects underway at present. The grounds are being majorly renovated and an orangery is being planned for the side of the house. Unfortunately this meant that the appearance of the grounds was somewhat disappointing, but we were offered a discount if we booked at another time. We found that the interior of the house needed rather a lot of attention too. To be fair, there are so many large rooms that it must be very difficult to keep up with the maintenance and the costs must be very expensive. There are some key issues to consider however. Becareful when sitting on the dining chairs as some of them have undergone several repairs and are particularly wobbly. (One actually broke during an evening meal which could have resulted in a nasty accident.) Additionally, we were glad that we had not taken children with us as the showers ran either freezing cold or boiling hot. It was almost impossible to get an even temperature and several of us were scalded. (We did point this out to the owner after our weekend stay.) The pressure of the water was also an issue as the gravity fed system couldn't keep up with the demands of a large party of people, especially in the mornings and evenings. (We had been told of the low pressure when we first arrived.) If you are a large party, make sure that you ask for several key fobs in order to enter and exit the grand gates on the boundary of the grounds otherwise you will have to keep together when exploring the surrounding area or leave someone behind as caretaker. Two of the rooms had comfortable beds, but the others proved particularly uncomfortable and affected sleep. In addition, it would be lovely to have mirrors and bins in all shower closets/ensuites. The owner suggested a lovely restaurant which served up excellent meals with enormous portions. This is definitely worth a visit! We enjoyed a roaring fire in the main sitting room and there were plenty of comfortable sofas for us all. A note of warning: make sure that you check the condition of the BBQ during the introductory tour as we didn't do this and a £25 cleaning charge was withheld from our damage deposit despite not having used it. Even after explaining this to the owner, our money was not refunded. It was a shame to look back on our short stay with bad feeling. Overall, if you want to enjoy the atmosphere and splendor of what was once an amazing house, and understand that the building does need some renovation, then this could be the place for you.
Owner's reply: This was a nice group of people, who wrote several emails following their stay, all stating what a wonderful house and a wonderful time had been had by all. The only mention of any problem was that some of the showers had been “temperamental”. This is from the lead guest’s email following this group’s stay: (shower) … it did seem a wee temperamental, but I fully understand the problems with caring for a house with such character, it did not spoil our stay. I explained on arrival at the house that there had been a problem with Severn Trent Water with water pressure and that there may be problems if all the showers were used at once. The group were clearly delighted to be meeting up without having their children with them and did not raise any issue during their stay. No one mentioned anything being dangerous, and as we spoke to the group several times during their stay, they had the opportunity to do so. To state that people were scalded is defamatory as well as untrue. I am currently seeking legal advice on this matter. If the group disagree, I would be pleased to receive copies of their hospital reports. They did break several antique dining chairs, but as it was unclear to me that this damage was solely their fault, I did not make any charge from their deposit. There are 5 keys and gate keys available, which is enough for most groups. 2 are usually enough. No one has ever had to act as caretaker! No representative from this group or any other visiting group has ever made any complaint about the beds being uncomfortable. All of the beds were new 2 years ago. Bins and mirrors are in all of the bedrooms. There were no building works being undertaken at the time of the visit. We had just completed the landscaping of the lower acre, and I completely accept that due to the hot weather, the grass had not grown as planned. This has now fully grown and provides a lovely grassy promenade with apple and pear trees either side. I did offer the group £200 off their next stay here, because of this. However, there is still another 4 acres that they enjoyed during their stay. The place that I suggested to eat was actually a pub rather than a restaurant that caters for people on a budget and offers great food at a great price. The interior of the house has had an immense amount of money spent and works undertaken to preserve this wonderful 1840 house. This lady infers that this is a place of faded splendour and that renovation needs to be done. This is untrue. The house is a wonderful meeting place for families and single groups and we have around 20% re-booking rate over 2 years. There is an insinuation from this comment that the website pictures are misleading in some way, which they are not. Far from it – we have recently commissioned a video to show the house off, in response to these comments, primarily. So why would a nice group of people leave such unwarranted comments? Simply this. The group used the BBQ and didn’t clean it afterwards. There is a charge of £25 in the contract if this occurs. Unlike the damaged chairs, I could be certain that the BBQ was used by this group and left in a very dirty condition. I explained this to the lead guest and received a total of 7 emails and 2 phone calls demanding that the £25 be returned as no-one had used it. This is the sole reason that this lady has written this review, which is very different from the feedback that they gave at the time of their stay and afterwards in their emails. It is really a little sad that this couple have decided to behave in this way. However, we continue to improve and restore this wonderful house to its former glory and people continue to book (and re-book!) and enjoy their stay for roughly the per person cost of a Travelodge! We have also installed a state of the art gas central heating system ready for this Winter. The grounds have been fully fenced along the railway side, so making the grounds safe for children. The Gatehouse Lodge in the grounds has been completely renovated, new central heating, new carpets, flooring, kitchen, bathroom – providing additional accommodation for 4 adults in the grounds, now also available for rental to accommodate a larger group. I hope that you will take this into account when reading the review left by this lady. We work very, very hard to make our guests welcome and to make our house a wonderful venue for a group retreat.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours