Simon's Cottage, Totley, Sheffield, Nr Peak District – Home 3304284 Cottage
- 3 bedrooms
- 6 sleeps
- min stay varies
Simon's Cottage, Totley, Sheffield, Nr Peak District – Home 3304284
- 3 bedrooms
- sleeps 6
- min stay varies
Cottage / 3 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 6
- Child friendly
- Car not necessary
- Pet friendly
- Private garden
Description from owner
WELCOME to Simon's Cottage. Situated on the edge of the Peak District this is a refurbished cottage, dating back to the early 1900s. Maintained to a very high standard in a light contemporary style. Comprising 3 floors of accommodation and including 3 double bedrooms (one with twin beds) and 2 bathrooms (one en-suite). Lovely extensive views looking out over the private garden to open countryside beyond. This is a peaceful and extremely comfortable cottage which has been sensitively and tastefully refurbished. Sleeps 1-6 guests very comfortably (special rates for 2 couples) and perfect for visiting friends, family and students, visiting University delegates, travelling theatre companies and stage crew or simply having a great relaxing time seeing the sites in the Peak District!
One well behaved small dog is very welcome. Please let me know if you will be bringing your furry friend. We prefer for dogs to sleep in Bedroom 3 on the lower ground floor where there is direct access to the garden. We provide one dog bed with bowls, treats and bags and a large fleecy throw for the sofa in Bedroom 3. Please keep dogs off the cream sofa in the lounge and off the white bed linen in all bedrooms.
Simon's Cottage situated on the very edge of the Peak District (2 minute drive) with stunning views overlooking the countryside, near the village of Totley, within walking distance of good, friendly local pubs, cafes and close to all amenities and only a 10 minute drive to Chatsworth House, 10 minute drive from Sheffield Botanical Gardens and Sheffield City Centre. Simon's Cottage is available throughout the year.
There are children & dog friendly pubs within walking distance. Excellent local walks, parks, cafes & gift shops, shopping parade and post office only 2 - 5 mins drive away and only a few minutes walk away from local pub/restaurants and cafes.
A deposit is required on booking and prices vary according to length of stay so please contact Joanna for a quote. We will endeavour to meet all budgets.
Arrive: 3pm / Depart: 10 am (unless earlier/later times are available - please ask)
Facilities & Amenities at Simon's Cottage:
• Bedroom 1. The Red Room: Double bedroom with en-suite shower room/wc/wash basin. colour TV. Bed linen. Painted floor with rugs. Two wardrobes with shelves. Ample hanging space within the room, seating, bedside cabinets with table lamps. Hair dryer. (please note this is an old cottage and has steep stairs)
• Bedroom 2: The Blue Room. Double bedroom with two single beds (can be pushed together to make a double bed if required). Bed linen. Painted floor with rugs. Large double wardrobe with drawer beneath. Ample hanging space within the room, seating, small table, table lamps.
• Bedroom 3: The Grey Room. Double bedroom linking to bathroom with shower over the bath & wc. Sofa, colour TV. Bed linen. Dog bed & bowls for visiting four legged friend. Original stone flagged floor with rugs. Ample hanging space within the room, seating, table lamps. Access to private garden and outdoor seating. Secure shed.
• Lounge. With colour TV/DVD player, sofa (folding out into double bed if required), seating for 6 people, wood/log burning open fire, Art Deco bookcase comprising novels, information and games, next of tables, painted floor with rugs, table and floor lamps. Internet access.
• Kitchen. Fully equipped kitchen with double fridge/freezer, dish washer, microwave, electric oven with gas hob, toaster, crockery and glassware for 6 people, table and seating. Small radio, tea, coffee, sugar, kitchen linen, cleaning equipment. Hand made wine rack by local craftsman.
• Utility Room: Basement utility room with washing machine (+ washing powder), dryer, clothes airing rack and basket, work top, ironing board and iron, gas combi boiler for central heating and water. Vacuum cleaner.
• Central heating / log & wood burning open fire (initial supply of logs, kindling & firelighters are provided).
• Private Garden with seating and eating area. BBQ for guests to use.
• Secure shed.
• The use of two mountain bikes (the owner accepts no liability for any injury caused).
• On-road parking. Loading to the back of the property if required.
• One small, well behaved dog is welcome, bowls and bed are provided - £25 fee per stay.
• Sorry no disabled access due to the siting of the cottage.
• No smoking inside the cottage please
• Countryside views
• Contemporary cottage style accommodation
• One en-suite shower room and on family bathroom
• Log burning open fire
• Excellent local walks
• Excellent access to public transport
- Great for children of all ages
- Pets welcome
- Cot available
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: Double Bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
Bedroom 3: Double Bed
Beds in other rooms:
- 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite
- Wi-Fi available
- Private garden
- Bicycles available
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- High chair available
- Satellite TV
- DVD player
- Stereo system
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 10:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: £100.00
- No smoking at this property
Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
24 hours after booking
50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.
8 weeks before
25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.
4 weeks before
No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.
* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support
One small, well behaved dog is welcome by prior arrangement with the owner. There is a £15 fee per stay.
About the owner
- Average reply time:
- 1 hour 44 minutes
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated:
- 22 Jun 2019
- Years listed:
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
This Cottage has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 07 May 2013. Located in South Yorkshire, it has 15 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £974 to £1203.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 22 Jun 2019.
Map and how to get there
– based on 15 reviews
- Very Good
This is a fantastic cottage and is well equipped. It has everything you need and more. The owner is very helpful and it's been a pleasure to stop. I would recommend simons cottage to everyone.
Owner's reply: Thank you so much, that's very kind. You are welcome back anytime. :)
“Total disappointment for our whole family!”
From the photo's on the website we thought we'd booked an ideal place for our long-planned and very expensive 4 week holiday to the UK. When we arrived we found a number of issues; for one thing the roadside had a long barrier which meant that we couldn't just park and unload our luggage at the door - no, we had to drag our heavy suitcases all along the road until the end of the barrier and then all the way back to the cottage on the other side. Secondly, the internal stairs (up and down), were so steep that we had trouble climbing them. In fact, our grandson fell twice and I fell myself once, banging my head on the way down! We took the upstairs bedroom whilst our daughter and family had the basement. Our en-suite shower had no water pressure and the temperature was between warm and hot at best - the shower base almost overflowed each and every time and had to be unclogged. Toilets are either in the upstairs or downstairs bedroom suites and not at all suitable for elderly or disabled visitors - our friend had a broken leg and could not reach either one. In the wintery weather it was also impossible to reach the back (downstairs area) from the side of the house as it was too slippery and sludgy. Be aware also that they will charge you for any excess rubbish, despite renting this cottage to large groups of people for long periods of time, (which means more rubbish). We had our bond retained unfairly (despite the owner accepting that we had cared for the property and left it clean and tidy), and are still disputing the claim via the booking agency to this day! We had a welcoming basket which was nice and the heat was turned on to warm the radiators, but apart from that we did not find the cottage to be of the standard that we expected for the very high cost to rent it during that period. In the basement bedroom, there were no storage facilities except for a hanging rack, with everything else having to be stored wherever you could find a space; the wind blew through the coal-shoot and also through the back door which led from the bedroom to the outdoor area, which in itself was a complete disgrace - not at all like the beautiful photos shown on the booking site. Overall, a very disappointing experience that cost a lot of money for little gain.
Owner's reply: This review was received by the ‘guests’ in the middle of an ongoing dispute over the £100 damage deposit. The deposit has not yet been returned to the guests because they refuse to accept responsibility for ruining and bleaching three bath sheets and also leaving an enormous amount of unwanted items and rubbish inside the cottage including clothing, shoes, bags, belts, medication and toiletries. The review does not mention the ruined towels or the excess rubbish by the guest, instead it goes into great length to criticise completely irrelevant subject matter. My response to the guest’s unfair review is as follows: Re the accommodation cost. As I have mentioned before, you were only charged £400 per week for the cottage given the fact that you had booked for 4 weeks, we thought it would be a kind gesture as your booking fell over the Christmas and New Year period. Regarding the safety barrier outside the cottages. This barrier is there for a purpose - to safeguard pedestrians, and the cottages, from any damage should there be a road traffic accident, it is for the safety of the residents living there. Regarding the stairs. It is mentioned clearly on the website and all other forms of media that this is a 1900s cottage and the stairs are very steep. I also mentioned this to a few of your family members as I showed them around the cottage (your daughter and teenage grandson) when they arrived and asked them to be careful, which I do with most guests who I meet at the cottage. It also states on TripAdvisor/FlipKey/Holiday Lettings/Booking.com and our own website that it is unsuitable for disabled people given the age and situation of the cottage. We were never made away that you and your teenage grandson (16yrs+) had ‘fallen down the stairs. As stated in the‘Rental Agreement & Contract’ we cannot be held responsible for any accidents in or around the cottage suffered by yourselves. These terms and conditions are made available to you at the time of your booking and it is your responsibility to read this information. Re the en-suite shower. We specifically ask all guests, via the websites and the ‘Guest Information Book’ within the cottage to contact us immediately (or within 24 hours) if there are any issues in the cottage or with any or the services. Re the toilet. Again, this is a very old cottage and up until the renovations had one single toilet downstairs on the lower ground level. An en-suite was installed in the double bedroom which works perfectly well for families using the first floor bedrooms. The original single toilet was removed and a family bathroom installed for all the guests and can also be used as an en-suite bathroom by the guests using the lower ground floor bedroom if they choose to do so. Re access to the back of the cottage. This is a communal area owned by the council and shared by all residents. It is also a grassed area and in the winter months this terrain is wet, slippery and sludgy as are most grassed areas in and around the countryside. Again, we have no power over the weather or terrain owned by the council. Re the excess rubbish. All we ask is that guests bag up their rubbish and put it in the bin outside or if the bin is full leave it outside and we will collect it ourselves and not leave it to the Housekeepers who charge extra for additional cleaning and removal of rubbish. You left four pedal bin liners of rubbish leaned against the wall in the kitchen along with unwanted medication left on the kitchen table, unwanted clothes (these were found downstairs in a bag along with a few handbags, belts and toiletries). We only ask that you leave it outside next to the bin. Re Yorkshire Water. As I mentioned to your daughter and other members of your family, we had been waiting a for Yorkshire Water to replace/make good the pipe which was causing low pressure. Again, we have no control over the water board’s appointment dates or indeed the condition of the water pipes supplying water to the cottages. I specifically asked that if you preferred we would cancel the appointment so as not to disrupt your visit. The water pressure was a problem for Yorkshire Water and not within the cottage itself - we did our very best to have this resolved as quickly as possible.I also mentioned this to you in case you saw any workmen outside and wondered what they were doing there. You mentioned that you had no water for 5 hours - not once were we contacted about this. Long periods of time for tenancy. This is a holiday let and guests stay between 3-14 nights and not 34 nights. We don’t normally take bookings for more than two weeks at any time but we do consider this for guests traveling overseas visiting family and friends and do so at a reduced rate. Council’s bin collection service. I explained this to members of your family. This is also noted in the ‘Guest Information Book’ and also a timetable was attached to the side of the fridge for you. In Sheffield black and blue bins are collected twice a month each - we have no control over this. Your daughter mentioned something similar in Australia which caused issue due the hot weather. I have never been to Australia so I wouldn’t know but your daughter informed me that this is the case. Your bond is not retained unfairly. We were given an additional cleaning bill for £135 for replacement of three towels and removal and recycling of all the extra rubbish taken to the skip 6 miles away. As I said before, had you told us about the rubbish we would have dealt with it ourselves incurring no additional costs. We have to pay for the time Housekeeping put in and this is the case here. Accommodation Costs. You mention again ‘the high cost to rent it during that period’, and so I will reiterate again, This is the breakdown of our accommodation costs and discounts we gave to you. I know you didn’t ask for a discount but because you were so friendly and polite over our email communications, traveling from overseas and staying for 4 weeks over the Christmas period we thought it would be a kind gesture to include a discount. We also left additional items in your welcome basket including Christmas crackers, balloons and a Christmas Karaoke CD for your party which we were more than happy for your to have. This was also a good will gesture. Usual cost for the dates you booked - £2164.00 (GBP) Our discounted cost for your dates - £1695.00 (GBP) Saving you - £469.00 (GBP) I have broken down the cost further for you. You were charged £49.85 per night (family of 5) for 34 nights. If you can find a three bedroomed cottage that sleeps 6 guests and only charges £49.85 per night for the whole cottage over Christmas & New Year I would like the address and details please! We have no control over booking fees or taxes that other websites charge ie TripAdvisor/Booking.com etc. Bookings taken through our website are not charged for anything other than accommodation. All guests are given a welcome basket (coffee, tea, sugar and milk is always provided for guests on arrival - this is to give their holiday a relaxed start, especially if they arrive late and haven’t eaten. You state that ‘you did not find the cottage to be of the standard that you expected for the very high cost to rent it during that period’. I shall refrain from repeating myself re the costs. We maintain a high standard at the cottage (as assessed by Quality in Tourism/Visit England) and the rooms within the cottage are an exact replica of the photos online. Each year we close the cottage where possible for maintenance whereby we redecorate or refurbish rooms which we feel could benefit. After your stay we had a gap in the calendar and decided to redecorate and change Bedroom 3 on the lower ground floor. We also redecorated Bedroom 1 and Bedroom 2 on the first floor and changed. If you would like photos of the cottage before the changes I would be delighted to send them to you. Photographs of the cottage as it looks now are available on TripAdvisor websites and others, please feel free to browse. Storage space. The ‘basement bedroom’. Again, given that this is a holiday cottage there are plenty of hooks, rails and hanging rails and chests of drawers for guests staying on a break between 3-14 nights and therefore the cottage does not have vast wardrobe space for long term tenancies. The coal chute is located in the Utility room and is walled and double glazed from the outside. This room is then separated by the stairwell and a further door to Bedroom 3. We have never, ourselves, noticed any howling winds forcing its way through the entire lower ground level, but I will of course now be checking this for my own satisfaction. The Outdoor Area. You say, “outdoor area, which in itself was a complete disgrace - not at all like the beautiful photos shown on the booking site”. The outside area is always tidy and is kept in good condition. The garden looks its best during the spring and summer months when there are blooms - this cannot be achieved during the winter months for obvious reasons. There is one photo of the outside area, which is available to view on the website, to the back of the property which comprises garden furniture, secure garden shed with mountain bikes for guests to use, a swing hammock, BBQ area, bistro table and chairs, a paved area and a gravel area. Perhaps you meant next door who has logs piled up in every corner and a chicken pen in their garden?? I’m happy to say that the chicken pen and all its surrounding debris has now been removed. Finally you state “overall, a very disappointing experience that cost a lot of money for little gain”. I am baffled by this comment given the facts I have stated above regarding the cost of your accommodation, decorating the cottage for you ready for Christmas, additional items in the welcome basket (£30 worth) plus £50 of logs to burn on the fire along with kindling and firelighters. Guests usually receive an initial supply of logs for the fire and if they want to buy more that is their choice to do so. As I mentioned previously to you, your husband sent me a text asking for more logs, I told your daughter we would supply them and I left more logs in the front rockery area of the cottage for you. We are not obliged to do this but if you cast your mind back I said to your daughter if there was anything that you needed just let me know. I heard nothing further from you after that. Just to note - the cottage has central heating throughout. I have subsequently reported this review to TripAdvisor for investigation.
- How do I find more info about the property?
You can get in touch with Joanna (the owner) through the contact form on this page.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.
- What if I have questions before I book?
Send Joanna (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I contact Joanna (the owner)?
Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Joanna the owner's contact details or send them a message.
- What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Joanna (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then
Or send Joanna (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.
- What is a booking request?
When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Joanna (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- How do I know my booking is safe?
To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.
- How do I know what it will cost for my stay?
Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.
You can also request a quote from Joanna (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.
- How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?
You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.
- How do I pay for my holiday?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Joanna (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.
If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- Why can't I call Joanna (the owner) before booking?
You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.
If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.
- How do damage deposits work?
In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.
Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.
- How can I view and manage my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.
- How do I pay the balance of my holiday?
You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.
We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.
- How can I retract my booking request?
You’ll need to contact Joanna (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.
- How do I cancel my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.
- How do I edit my booking?
You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Joanna (the owner) a message.
If Joanna (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours