Shanklin holiday apartment accommodation with internet access, balcony/terrace, walking and TV

17 reviews

From the owner

  • Apartment
  • 4 bedrooms
  • Sleeps 8
  • Min stay varies
Book with confidence.
Pay by card or PayPal, through the Holiday Lettings website, to be covered by Payment Protection. Never pay by bank or wire transfer.

Key information

  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking. See Policies & House Rules
  • Nearest beach 1 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

From the owner

The Garden Apartment at Lyon Court has just been refurbished to a very high standard and takes up the entire storey at garden level. With the ceiling height in excess of 8 feet in most rooms, stylish dimmable LED downlights throughout and large windows and doors, it makes for a very bright, airy apartment. There is underfloor heating with porcelain, vintage wood effect floor tiling throughout, giving it a Mediterranean feel.

The kitchen is equipped with a family sized fridge/freezer, a range cooker with 2 ovens, a grill and an induction hob with 5 burners, a full sized dishwasher and a dedicated wine cooler which is perfect when catering for 8 people!

We were unable to buy a kettle that would make 8 cups of tea at once, so we have installed a Grohe instant boiling water system in the kitchen so that everyone can have their morning tea/coffee at the same time.

The dining area has a large table and seating for everyone with a large chandelier above. There are French doors that open out on to the South facing terrace overlooking the gardens and pool. An electric BBQ is available from May to September.

The lounge area is equipped with a 49" smart flatscreen TV and comfy seating for when you fancy chilling out.

A wireless access point has also been installed, giving a fast wifi connection throughout the whole apartment and on the terrace

The master bathroom is equipped with a huge p shaped bath with shower over, twin basins within a large vanity unit with a huge separately lit mirror above. The WC has an integral toddler training seat, so no need to bring your own.

The second family bathroom is equipped with a standard sized bath with shower over and a large single basin. The WC has an integral toddler training seat, so no need to bring your own.

The en-suite to bedroom 2 is equipped with a large shower enclosure, and a vanity unit with basin and large separately lit mirror.

Grohe taps and showers have been installed throughout to give the apartment a quality finish, that you might expect from a high quality hotel.

We have just installed 3 x 300 litre unvented hot water cylinders that provide hot water at mains pressure. No more weak showers!

Bedroom 1 has a king sized bed, a large wardrobe and a comfy sofa/daybed, with direct access to the eastern side of the building.

A cot can also be accommodated if required.

Bedroom 2 has a king sized bed, a large wardrobe and its own en-suite shower room.

Bedroom 3 has a king sized bed, a large wardrobe and French doors to the South facing terrace overlooking the gardens and pool.

Bedroom 4 has twin single beds, a large wardrobe and French doors to the South facing terrace overlooking the gardens and pool.

If booking for 7 or more nights a towel set per person is included in the cost of your holiday. A set consists of a bath towel, a pool towel and a hand towel.

If your stay is less than 7 nights, towels sets are available, £5 per person and will need to be booked in advance.

The pool is available to use from the late May bank holiday weekend to the end of September.

More Less


Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
  • Bedroom 2: King Bed
  • Bedroom 3: King Bed
  • Bedroom 4: 2 Single Beds
  • 2 Family bathrooms, 1 En suite


  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • High chair available


  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users


  • Wi-Fi available
  • Shared outdoor pool (heated)
  • Private garden
  • Swing set
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Bicycles available
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Staffed property
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

Show all amenities Show fewer amenities

Interaction with guest

I live at Lyon Court with my family, so will be there to welcome you and bid you farewell. If you have any issues during your stay, I am available and happy to assist. Other than that, we try to keep out of your way so that you can enjoy your stay, without feeling overlooked.



Cancellation policy

Full refund

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

No refund

No refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.

100% refund100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
Booking confirmed
No refundNo refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.
24 hours after booking
Check-in date
* This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

Things to know

Check in: 16:00 Check out: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.


This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: £300.00

See more


No smoking at this property

House rules

Sorry, no hen or stag parties
No guests of guests
On site parking available for 2 cars. More cars may be accommodated at an additional cost.
Please note our terms & conditions - by booking you are accepting these.

See more

About the owner

Daniel B.
Average reply time:
2 hours 59 minutes

Calendar updated:
30 Jun 2021

Years listed:

Languages spoken: English
This Apartment has 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and sleeps 8. It has been listed on Holiday Lettings since 30 Jan 2017. Located in Isle of Wight, it has 17 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £1936 to £3390.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 30 Jun 2021.


Very Good
17 reviews
Very Good

Faulty Towers meets Where’s Wally in nice location
Jun 2021

Before I start, if you are planning on staying here my one piece of advice would be to take pictures or a video of the property when you arrive to avoid difficult conversations about your “damag… More 

Reviewed 25 Jun 2021

Owner's reply:
This group were pleasant guests throughout their stay with us. As they were leaving they were telling us that they had a great time and were very keen to book for next year and we were even discussing dates and talking about our kids writing to each other. Regrettably, they caused damage which they tried to conceal and then got upset when we discovered the damage and told them that they would have to pay for it. This has led to them leaving this spiteful and inaccurate review. We could leave it there, but some of what they have stated needs to be addressed so that readers can draw their own conclusions: Starting with the Ryanair comparison, the only additional fees that we charge for are all made clear in our Terms and Conditions which can be found on our TripAdvisor page and on our own website. These are: • Towel Hire = £5 per set, payable when booking (free when staying for 7 nights or more) • Loss of keys = £100 • Rubbish and Recycling not taken to main bins on check out = £30 • Babysitting services = £variable hourly rate These guests checked in at 4pm. On arrival, I specifically asked them (as I do with all guests, post Covid) if they would like me to wear a mask whilst I briefly showed them around the apartment. They said not to bother. They also say that they didn’t see me wearing a mask again. Why would I? I was outside in the open air! Works to our new pool house had been delayed due to the Covid pandemic but our contractors worked until 6pm on the Friday evening of a Bank Holiday weekend at our request to ensure that the exterior was all complete and that there were no health and safety issues for our guests. The work that they were carrying out was to the rear of the new building, out of sight and in no way affecting anyone. The contractors then returned at around 9:30am on the Tuesday morning to set up inside the new building, just as this group were checking out at 10am. Therefore, our contractors were only on site for 2.5 hours during these guests’ entire stay. The weather preceding their arrival and during their stay was glorious and we had turned the central heating off for the building, some weeks before. However, they told us after the first night that they were a little cold, so we happily turned it back on for them. It is true that the fire alarm went off at around 8am one morning and after a quick scout around the building, it transpired that guests in another of our apartments had burned their toast causing the alarm to sound. On ensuring that there was no danger, I silenced and reset the alarm, then popped down to this group to apologise and explained what had happened. They were sitting on the terrace having breakfast and cheerfully remarked “at least we know the system works” The pool rota is sent to guests in advance of their stay to enable them to plan their holiday around the pool use, if they so wish. The rota allows for the guests in each apartment to have a private, two hour session in the swimming pool/pool area every day. When these guests booked in September last year, did anyone think that social distancing would still be in force in May 2021? If we had, we might have issued the rota when booking. The pool rota was developed last summer so that we were compliant with Covid 19 rules, demonstrating to the Local Authority that we have considered social distancing to enable us to open the pool. All other establishments with shared facilities would have needed to follow a similar policy and most would have given an allocation of less than two hours per day. I really don’t know what to say about a tendency to watching guests from my window upstairs. I actually spend most of my time in the office which is at the front of the building overlooking the car park. However, during the course of living and working here, I will invariably walk past guests, see them or catch their eye. I tend to say “hi” or something similarly friendly, rather than ignore people. I am very pleased that my skill to be able “to appear out of nowhere” is really coming along. I might put this skill to good use and become a magician if this review causes people not to stay with us and we are forced to close our doors. I recall chatting with this group on several occasions over the course of their stay and they even invited our children to share a session in the swimming pool with their kids as they had become friendly over the short time they were with us. For them to now say that I somehow made them feel uncomfortable would actually be a bit upsetting, if it was true. If ever we see guests not following the house rules, we politely remind them. I have only ever yelled at a guest once and this was an unsupervised child who was about to hurt herself. My yelling alerted the parent of the child who then gratefully retrieved her child. At check-out we had a good chat discussing them potentially returning next year. At this point they told us that a door handle had “fallen off the door”. We told them not to worry about it and although it took us over an hour to make the repair, we did not charge them. Our door handles have never spontaneously fallen off before in any of our apartments, or in any other house I have ever lived in. They could have made us aware of the other items of damage at this juncture, but they chose not to. After they left, it transpired that some of the sheets that they had helpfully stripped from the beds were covered in florescent paint/make up. They also failed to tell us that they had wrecked our microwave and broken the hinges on one of our rattan footstools, making it unsafe for use. Both the microwave and the footstool were less than a year old and were in perfect condition. In line with our Terms and Conditions, we wrote to them straight away advising that we would regrettably have to charge them for damage they had made and the towel hire that they hadn’t paid for. At this stage it wasn’t clear if we were going to be able to remove the stains from our sheets. When they arrived, they said that they would like to hire towel sets. They had not asked for them at any time prior to arrival and it was fortunate that we had sufficient quantities ready to go. Our fees for towel hire are made clear early in the booking process, so I am at a loss as to why they thought that they would get them for free. Their initial response regarding the damage to our sheets, microwave and footstool was “it wasn’t us”. When it was pointed out to them that they were our first guests of the season and prior to their arrival the apartment was thoroughly spring cleaned and all items had been checked for damage, their response changed to “well you should see it as fair wear and tear and refund the deposit in full regardless.” After additional treatments over the next couple of days, we managed to remove the stains from the sheets and they were not charged for this. We withheld £125 of their deposit to pay for a replacement microwave and the repair to our footstool. We also withheld a further £40 for the towel hire and refunded the rest of their deposit. We do not like having to write to guests informing them that we need to withhold any of their deposit. Fortunately, this is only the third time that we have made a claim on a deposit in the seven years that we have been here. Therefore, we know that we are fair about things and only ever make a claim when it is definitive that the damage has been caused by a particular group of guests. Having got to know these guests quite well over their stay with us, we were surprised and disappointed that they thought that we should pick up the cost for damage that they caused. We could have swallowed the £125 for the damage that they caused and I’m sure that we would have got a great review with these guests wanting to return. But where do you draw the line and how much is too much to pay to avoid a negative TripAdvisor review? If anyone is still reading, I’ll leave that for you to decide.
Jade R
Romsey, United Kingdom

Wonderful place and Hosts
Jun 2021

We stayed for a long weekend as a group and loved this place so much. As we have young children, the facilities appealed and they did not dissapoint. We were very lucky with the weather and with the p… More 

Reviewed 21 Jun 2021

Owner's reply:
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. It is very much appreciated and we would love to see you all again sometime!
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer

Great apartment & garden/pool
Aug 2020

Stayed for one week to celebrate with family. Toddler friendly apartment and gardens. Very much enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed 4 Oct 2020


Great accommodation, great location
Sep 2020

We had a wonderful and relaxing week staying at Lyon Court. The old stable has a fully equipped kitchen as well as seating areas inside and out, so everything you need to self-cater. The Old Stable is… More 

Reviewed 23 Sep 2020

Matt T
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom

Lovely family accommodation well located for Shanklin & IOW
Aug 2020

Stayed a week a Lyon Court & found it a great base to walk into Shanklin old town & down to the beach (although recommend driving with young kids to the latter - lot of complaining on the way … More 

Reviewed 26 Aug 2020

Owner's reply:
Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We are glad that you all had a great time and agree that the pool rota system is something that we might continue with, even after this Covid situation has subsided!
Review 1-5 of 17


How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Daniel (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Daniel (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Daniel (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Daniel the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Daniel (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Daniel (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Daniel (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Daniel (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Daniel (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Daniel (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Daniel (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Daniel (the owner) a message.

If Daniel (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Also consider

Europe Holidays

475583 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

59259 properties

England Holidays

42736 properties

West Country

12,385 properties

Northern England

9,334 properties


6,414 properties

South East England

4,915 properties


4,708 properties

East Anglia

4,020 properties


3,221 properties


2,721 properties


2,230 properties


1,758 properties


1,613 properties


1,210 properties

East Sussex

1,108 properties


1,030 properties


992 properties


913 properties

Greater London

894 properties


884 properties

Isle of Wight

776 properties


625 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Still have questions?

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

17 reviews


17 reviews