Rufford holiday cottage letting with jacuzzi/hot tub, internet access, balcony/terrace and golf

19 reviews
Save

From the owner

  • Cottage
  • 5 bedrooms
  • Sleeps 10
  • Min stay varies
Book with confidence.
Pay by card or PayPal, through the Holiday Lettings website, to be covered by Payment Protection. Never pay by bank or wire transfer.

Key information

  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking. See Policies & House Rules
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

From the owner

Welcome to The East Wing, Rufford Park Lodge (left wing of main image), a large five double bedroom family cottage with a hot tub situated in Sherwood Forest and within what used to be the grounds of the historic Rufford Abbey Estate, still called Deer Park today.

Located in the centre of an historical area with something for everyone and enough to keep even the most active of people busy, no matter how long your stay, or simply relax and enjoy the tranquil surroundings.

There are many sites of historical interest, great parks that can be appreciated on foot or bike, attractions for all ages, inns with reputations for great food, and some excellent restaurants. Accommodation comprises a double en-suite bedroom on the ground floor, two double bedrooms, two twin bedrooms, a family bathroom with twin whirlpool bath and twin steam shower enclosure, and a separate bathroom with walk-in shower on the first floor. In total we can comfortably accommodate ten people (plus infant).

There is a private courtyard with rattan all-weather furniture to seat up to ten people, and a decked area leading to a six-seater superior hot tub.

There are two reception rooms on the ground floor - a dining room with an extendable oak table that seats up to ten people, and a lounge with custom made corner sofa and separate three seater, a wood burning stove, a Sony 42" Flat Screen TV with surround sound, and Sky+ HD with "On Demand" feature. Wifi is also provided throughout for your convenience.

Due to the size of the accommodation and its cleaning requirements, one and two-night stays are charged as three nights. The hot tub is drained, cleaned and refilled between every booking by a professional service company.

More Less

Amenities

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
  • Bedroom 3: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5: 2 Single Beds
  • Beds in other rooms:
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite, 1 Shower room, 1 Toilet Only

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Essentials

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private garden
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

Show all amenities Show fewer amenities

Interaction with guest

We live off site and so leave the property in the capable hands of our property manager. Full instructions are available at the property and both ourselves and the property manager can be contacted at most times during your stay.
Map

Area

Map

Cancellation policy

Full refund

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

Partial refund

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

No refund

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

100% refund100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
Booking confirmed
50% refund50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.
24 hours after booking
No refundNo refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.
4 weeks before
Check-in date
* This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

Things to know

Check in: 16:00 Check out: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.

Payment

This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: £250.00

See more

Smoking

Please contact the owner

House rules

Smoking is not permitted inside the property but is allowed outside in the courtyard.

We accept up to two dogs. We respectfully ask that they are restricted to the ground floor where the kitchen and dining room are tiled and more easily cleaned. The courtyard is enclosed and is a safe environment for pets and children providing they are supervised around the hot tub.

The Hot Tub hours of use are 11.00 a.m. to 10.00 p.m. Please keep noise in the courtyard after this time to a minimum.

See more

About the owner

Derek A.
Calendar updated:
17 Sep 2021

Years listed:
6

Languages spoken: English
This Cottage has 5 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and sleeps 10. It has been listed on Holiday Lettings since 03 Apr 2015. Located in Nottinghamshire, it has 19 reviews with an overall rating of 3.5. The average weekly rate varies from £1551 to £3205.
The Owner has a response rate of 91% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 17 Sep 2021.

Reviews

3.5
Average
19 reviews
Excellent
6
Very Good
4
Average
5
Poor
2
Terrible
2
Kaybee0001
Norfolk, United Kingdom

Definitely not luxury and very overpriced
Jun 2021

Has the potential to be lovely, but sadly was very average….Certainly not a luxury cottage as advertised. The accommodation is a good size, is great as a base for exploring Sherwood and the sur… More 

Reviewed 21 Jun 2021

Owner's reply:
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated but somewhat confusing and contradictory, especially given that we were emerging from the pandemic lockdown at the time of your stay with us. You say that the accommodation is “a good size, is great as a base for exploring Sherwood and the surrounding area, and the hot tub was lovely” but go on to say that the living room is “relatively small”. We replaced the leather sofas with a purpose made corner arrangement and separate three-seater in order to accommodate ten people at once in the living room alone. Given that the dining room seats ten comfortably and the outdoor furniture also seats ten, we believe there is ample seating in total. Any hot tub will seat fewer people more comfortably and due to the fact that more water is displaced and can overflow, it is best to limit the number of adults to four at any one time, otherwise you will need to keep topping up the water. We provide unlimited access to the hot tub during your stay (up to 10 pm) so that everyone can make use of it multiple times. It is generally recommended that you limit sessions to twenty minutes in any case. Regarding the soft furnishings, we chose dark brown curtains as they reduce the light entering the property which is especially important in the bedrooms, and is complementary to the colour scheme. The towels were brand new which might explain why you found loose fluff initially. The pillow and duvet covers are replaced regularly and we choose them based on design, material and reviews. The cutlery is brand new and there are many utensils in the drawer. We provide plastic utensils as metal ones scratch the pans. During the pandemic we were unable to visit the property or employ a gardener, so work in this area started at the earliest opportunity and is ongoing. We have added many real plants in pots but chose to add imitation plants in the hanging baskets as real plants are seasonal and have a limited life span. Most self-catering properties use imitation plants internally along with many top hotels. We have not had any derogatory comments about them previously and disagree that they are “tacky”. The decking was painted shortly before your stay and all damaged sections have been replaced and repainted. As you correctly point out, the external doors and windows have all been replaced with new solid timber units. This required removing the render around them during the installation and new render was then added. This was completed shortly before your stay but the new render had not been painted at the time but has now. It is not possible to carry out major works of this nature without causing a certain amount of damage which has to be assessed and then dealt with. Our ongoing program includes repairs to all the render and eventually the whole property will be repainted on the outside. The stair rail had one loose bracket and all the brackets have now been replaced with new fixings. The CCTV camera on the roof is redundant and will be removed in due course when the remaining rendering repairs and painting is carried out as it requires scaffolding. In the mean time it has been redirected away from the courtyard even though it is not actually connected. The new cameras are on the front and side of the property only, for security purposes. We do not understand the comment “There were not enough details and no handheld present in the kitchen”. The welcome pack referred to by many of the online travel agents contains all the information and instructions relating to the property and is in the large folder left on the kitchen table (as advised in our emails and directions attachment), along with a large number of flyers from local restaurants, activity centres and places of interest. We leave two toilet rolls in each bathroom and more are available on request. The price in June for a week works out at £31.60 per person per night based on ten people, and we haven’t doubled our prices coming out of the pandemic like a lot of other accommodation, so we strongly disagree with your assessment that this makes us “extremely expensive”. We also strongly disagree that the property is “characterless” given that it is a 19th century grade 2 listed stone cottage known locally as “the castle” that combines original features such as parapets and a log burning stove with modern facilities such as electric gates, a hot tub, steam shower, Jacuzzi bath and modern furniture. We apologise if the flaky paint outside and unpainted render made the property look a little "shabby", but as already explained this is part of our planned improvements which were delayed by the pandemic and reliant on the door and window replacements being carried out first. We appreciate your comments, and now that most of the restrictions caused by the pandemic have been lifted we are continuing with our program of improvements and upgrades.
Stuart B

Fabulous, spacious accommodation in a lovely, quiet location.
May 2021

A very well located lodge, near to all the amenities and places to go around Sherwood Forest. It's a 25-minutes walk through to Rufford Abbey Park - a great place to visit for any family. The lod… More 

Reviewed 2 Jun 2021

Owner's reply:
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at long last after all the delays caused by the pandemic! Although the new solid timber windows and external doors were also delayed, we were able to get the majority of the work completed in time. We were also able to complete the switch to a faster broadband and replace all the mattresses with new memory coil versions, and will continue to make improvements to give our guests the best possible experience.
Rhona C

Great stay
Dec 2019

We had a great stay,Rufford Lodge was clean, comfortable,warm and well appointed and had everything we needed. We were a party of ten( three families) there to celebrate a seventyth birthday. It was s… More 

Reviewed 24 Dec 2019

Vacation05492881090

Not Luxury and needs some work!
Sep 2019

Well, just read the review below and you will get the general gist as to what this place is all about! We were greeted to the house with a welcoming reception of flies in one of the bedrooms, and I m… More 

Reviewed 1 Oct 2019

Owner's reply:
Our accommodation is popular with groups and families and due to the size of the property there is an ongoing program of maintenance and repairs. We make every effort to ensure the facilities are in good working order for each booking but it is unrealistic to expect everything to be new at the same time. We are continually replacing broken glasses, plates, pots and pans, and accept that breakages will occur. In the last two years we have replaced the external boiler and added a Nest thermostat, installed a new EPDM flat roof, replaced all the carpets throughout and installed a purpose made corner suite and sofa in the lounge. I would be surprised if most privately owned holiday homes have had a similar amount of work carried out over the same period of time. We acknowledge all feedback and do our best to address all issues raised in a timely manner, whilst prioritising the areas of most importance to our guests. The facility manager prepared the property two days before your arrival and there were no signs of flies in any of the bedrooms when she left. We can only assume that weather conditions were a contributing factor. You neglect to mention that we had the window boarded the following morning which was the earliest we could get someone to respond. We spent the entire day Saturday contacting local emergency window repair companies but the majority of the numbers go through to one call centre and they had no-one available. Our window company of choice attended on the Tuesday and fitted a new glass pane. They were unable to come before then due to being overseas on vacation until the Monday. We have not had a recurrence of flies in the property since. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and whilst it is little consolation we did try very hard to get someone out sooner. We are sure you would agree that we communicated regularly with you throughout. The dishwasher is the largest capacity slimline model we could find, which is in fact three-quarter size and takes ten place settings. We are unable to install a larger model without significant alterations to the kitchen, which are planned for the future. Meanwhile it is better to have a large capacity slimline dishwasher than none at all, and which the majority of our guests find more than adequate. The hot tub cover lifter was damaged by previous guests and removed for safety reasons as the aluminium tubing had buckled. It has a very simple function and only requires one person to operate so we can only imagine that someone had used it as a swing, which is not its purpose. The cover had also been damaged. In the absence of a lifter the cover must be removed and replaced manually which causes it to deteriorate more quickly. These are not inexpensive items and guests must accept the responsibility to use the equipment provided in the correct manner. Our damage deposit doesn’t come close to the cost of replacing a cover, let alone a lifter, but we will have to replace them in any case. For the record this will be our seventh new cover. The decking has one single step and has hazard tape attached to it to make guests aware. The courtyard is as per the photographs – a combination of gravel and decking, with a lit pathway to the hot tub area. Weeding is carried out periodically along with the grass cutting and hedge trimming. Plants are seasonal and are seasonally replaced with appropriate plants. Many of the species we have experimented with have not stood up to harsh winters and have therefore been replaced with hardier ones. They might look like weeds at certain times of the year, but they are mostly plants. Note for future guests – PLEASE contact US during your stay if you have any questions or concerns. The booking channels generally are slow to communicate with and are not likely to be very helpful or respond immediately as we do. We provide our direct contact details to our guests and always respond to calls or texts, seven days a week.
Martureo
Swansea, United Kingdom

Not sure they actually care about the place, just money.
May 2019

Dirty - food mess on pots and pans, so we had to wash items before use. Nasty food smears in fridge; dust everywhere, balls of fluff around the place. Grass up to the kids' knees (youngest was f… More 

Reviewed 30 Sep 2019

Owner's reply:
We have had a lot of challenges this year and we apologise but have had to prioritise some major expenditure on areas that are fundamental rather than cosmetic, including replacing the boiler and excavating part of the courtyard to fix an underground leak. The extremes of rain followed by hot weather followed by more rain had taken their toll on the courtyard area. We have had the hedge drastically cut back and trimmed again twice in the space of a few months. We are also experimenting with different plants in the courtyard and have replaced seasonal plants with more hardy varieties whilst removing weeds and invasive species. The group prior to your stay left windows open when they checked out which resulted in one window being blown off its hinges. There simply wasn’t time to arrange a full repair so a temporary solution was carried out before your stay and it has since been fixed. We routinely check all the crockery, pots and pans and replace any that are damaged or worn. Some of our guests unload the dishwasher themselves and put the contents back in the cupboards so it is possible that occasionally one or two items may have marks despite having been washed, as can happen with any dishwasher. The kitchen door handle works just fine unless it is forced which could cause it to stick. The property is Grade II listed and the door furniture is an antique style in keeping with the age of the property. The damage reported by the hot tub engineer who visits between each booking was to the cover lifter which had been bent to such an extent that the aluminium frame had been damaged beyond repair, and the cover had been torn. We sent photos along with a request for help identifying the cause so that we can prevent similar damage in the future, but it was not forthcoming. The hot tub is barely a year old and is maintained on a weekly basis under contract with a local specialist company. It is a shame that the work in the courtyard had to be rescheduled until after your stay due to the weather conditions at the time. We would be happy to discuss this further with you.
Review 1-5 of 19

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Derek (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Derek (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Derek (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Derek the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Derek (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Derek (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Derek (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Derek (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Derek (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Derek (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Derek (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Derek (the owner) a message.

If Derek (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Also consider

Europe Holidays

429745 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

60466 properties

England Holidays

43488 properties

West Country

12,764 properties

Northern England

10,088 properties

Cornwall

6,576 properties

Yorkshire

5,013 properties

South East England

4,680 properties

East Anglia

4,239 properties

Devon

3,378 properties

Cumbria

2,506 properties

London

2,375 properties

Dorset

1,777 properties

Sussex

1,559 properties

Kent

1,107 properties

Cotswolds

1,059 properties

East Sussex

1,052 properties

Northumberland

1,043 properties

Somerset

1,033 properties

Lincolnshire

889 properties

Greater London

808 properties

Isle of Wight

782 properties

Shropshire

648 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Still have questions?

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

19 reviews
from

 £304 

/night
19 reviews
from

 £304 

/night