from £63 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

107 Royal Mile – Home 6307 Apartment

  • 1 bedroom
  • 4 sleeps
  •  min stay varies
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

107 Royal Mile – Home 6307

Excellent Excellent – based on 94 reviews

  • Apartment
  • 1 bedroom
  • 4 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Apartment / 1 bedroom / 1 bathroom / sleeps 4

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 5 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed

Description from owner

Description

****SPECIAL 'LATE BOOKING DEAL'****:

New deals coming soon.

WELCOME TO EDINBURGH'S FABULOUS ROYAL MILE! The apartment overlooks and is set approximately half way down this 1000 year old historic route of the old town within a majestic Victorian stone fronted building. A short walk to the top of the road, you will find Edinburgh Castle, walk to the bottom and you will find the Queens Edinburgh residence; The Palace of Holyroodhouse along with the dazzling modern architecture of New Scottish Parliament. You will also discover so many other attractions like St Giles Cathedral, the Whiskey center, Camera Obscura, the Real Mary Kings Close to name but a Royal Mile few. But it isn't all sight seeing; fantastic restaurants and pubs are in abundance and 500mts around the corner is the shopping mecca that is Princes Street. Visit some of the most famous of shops such as Harvey Nichols, Jenners, and House of Fraser along with many well known High Street names and specialist quality

****SPECIAL 'LATE BOOKING DEAL'****:

New deals coming soon.

WELCOME TO EDINBURGH'S FABULOUS ROYAL MILE! The apartment overlooks and is set approximately half way down this 1000 year old historic route of the old town within a majestic Victorian stone fronted building. A short walk to the top of the road, you will find Edinburgh Castle, walk to the bottom and you will find the Queens Edinburgh residence; The Palace of Holyroodhouse along with the dazzling modern architecture of New Scottish Parliament. You will also discover so many other attractions like St Giles Cathedral, the Whiskey center, Camera Obscura, the Real Mary Kings Close to name but a Royal Mile few. But it isn't all sight seeing; fantastic restaurants and pubs are in abundance and 500mts around the corner is the shopping mecca that is Princes Street. Visit some of the most famous of shops such as Harvey Nichols, Jenners, and House of Fraser along with many well known High Street names and specialist quality outlets. This apartment is so central you're already there!World famous Edinburgh attractions along with pubs, clubs and eateries are in abundance right on the door step. Where better to be on holiday than right in the very beating heart of fabulous Edinburgh.

Further details

To help you settle in on arrival we provide a welcome pack of a caddy of tea, a jar of coffee and a jar of sugar along with a fresh pint of milk. There is a well stocked small grocers just around the corner on North Bridge and a couple of larger supermarkets approximately half a mile down South Bridge. If you don't fancy the walk or you are returning with a lot of shopping, you can catch one of the many buses that run this route.

As with most central Edinburgh accommodation the apartment has no lift (Elevator). It is on the (Officially 2nd floor) actually 3rd floor. Therefore is unsuitable for some elderly or infirm visitors.

The stairs to the apartment are shared with residents so common consideration must be shown when entering, staying in and leaving the apartment.

Please note 4:00pm arrival and 10:00am departure times. If an early arrival and/or late departure cannot be helped and you need somewhere to leave your luggage for a while; there is a left luggage department at 'Waverley Train Station' not far from the apartment who will look after your luggage. Please note: They make a charge for this is a service. You will be able to find details of charges on their web site.

Further details indoors

NOW WITH FREE Wi-Fi. The lounge has a comfortable double sofa bed for additional guests and is open plan to the kitchen and dining areas. The dining chairs were chosen for comfort and to double up as additional lounge seating when necessary. the kitchen is well stocked with quality cutlery, crockery and cooking utensils for those amongst us who love to cook and for those that like to travel light, there is a washer drier just off of the hall along with a clothes airer and ironing facilities. The apartment has full central heating and for that extra cosy feeling during the winter season, a designer, white stone effect, open, landscape gas fire. The dining area over looks the roof tops of the New Town and to the left the monuments of Calton Hill. On a clear day you can see right over to Fife.
The bedroom over looks the Royal Mile and its prime window has a full height secondary double door with special acoustic glass to ensure a peacefull nights sleep. It has a luxurious King size bed and a fine range of 'Stag' bedroom furniture.
The modern bathroom is fully tiled and has a 3 piece suite inc bath with over shower, toilet & hand basin. It also has a heated towel rail & shaver socket.
The telephone is a 'pay as you go' mobile (cell) phone that can be easily topped up at the local shop.

Please note 4:00pm arrival and 10:00am departure times. If an early arrival and/or late departure cannot be helped and you need somewhere to leave your luggage for a while; there is a left luggage department at 'Waverley Train Station' not far from the apartment who will look after your luggage. Please note: They make a charge for this is a service. You will be able to find details of charges on their web site.

Further details outdoors

PARKING:
Please note:
This is a City Center holiday let and therefore, like all cities, street parking is limited to available spaces & the number of hours you are allowed to park in these spaces, it can also be expensive. Because the apartment is so central you really do not need a car to get to the world famous Edinburgh City attractions. However; if for you a car is a necessity; there is free parking in the metered bays right out side the apartment from 18.30 hours to 08.00 hours each night and from 18.30 on Saturday night through to 08.00 Monday morning. During the day for limited time, Monday to Saturday, you can pay to park in these bays or alternatively park in the Radisson hotel's car park across the road. Both have a reasonable tariff. Tip: If you don't fancy getting up in the morning to feed the meter for the bays you can pay the night before and it won't start until 08.00 the next morning. The above are council/Hotel run and could be subject to change without notification. Best to check on arrival.
*Bicycles can be chained to the railings on the first floor roof terrace before entering the door to the main stairs.

*Please note: There is no security that would stop anyone wishing to access the roof terrace. Anything, including bicycles, left on the roof terrace will be done so at your own risk. No bicycles in the apartment please.

Please note 4:00pm arrival and 10:00am departure times. If an early arrival and/or late departure cannot be helped and you need somewhere to leave your luggage for a while; there is a left luggage department at 'Waverley Train Station' not far from the apartment who will look after your luggage. Please note: They make a charge for this is a service. You will be able to find details of charges on their web site.

The Scotland region

Edinburgh, like Rome, is built on 7 hills, the most famous of them being; the dorment volcano 'Arthur's Seat', Calton Hill and The Castle Rock. The Castle Rock has a 'tail' or ridge that was carved out by nature during the Ice age, it runs from Edinburgh Castle down to the Palace of Holyroodhouse and measures slightly more than 1 mile (Hence the name The Royal Mile). 1000 years ago this ridge became Edinburghs first road. Today, it is known as 'The Royal Mile'. The apartment is set halfway down this beautiful and ancient route.

Central Scotland/Strathclyde

One of Europe's most beautiful Capital Cities, Edinburgh is the centre of Devolved Scottish Government, the second largest centre for European financial management after London and is home to the annual International Festival of the Arts and it's famous 'Fringe'.
Art Galleries, Museums, Theatres, Cinemas and Concert Halls contribute to a rich cultural life.
The City also plays regular host to many National & international sporting events and is a Mecca for shopping with many designer and specialist outlets.
There is a huge choice of venues for eating & drinking at every level and price imaginable.
Golf, swimming, Mounting biking, Hiking, Dry slope skiing, Histoical & ghost tours and the Dynamic Earth attraction are just some of the things to enjoy during your visit.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Beds in other rooms: Sofa Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Telephone
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Colin G
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
30 Nov 2016
Years listed:
11
Fax:
+44 20888 58588
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Apartment has 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 18 May 2005. Located in Royal Mile, it has 94 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £315 to £1029.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 30 Nov 2016.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 94 reviews Excellent
94 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
85
Very Good
8
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Great base for Edinburgh”

Reviewed 16 Nov 2016

Location was convenient, close to train station and major tourist attraction are all walkable. Several good restaurants and pubs within a stone's throw of the apartment. We appreciated the washer / dryer and found the apartment to be roomy and comfortable.

Thank you for your review. It's always much appreciated when my visitors take the time to write. Thanks again. Haste ye back. Colin.

“An absolutely lovely and comfortable home away from home.”

Reviewed 7 Nov 2016

I cannot say enough good things about this flat. It was perfect in all ways. A great location; the hosts were communicative as needed.

Thank you for a great review. It makes all our hard work worth it. You were a fabulous visitor who made our job so much easier. Thank you. Haste ye back. Colin.

“Fabulous Location for the Fringe - Lovely Flat”

Reviewed 20 Aug 2016

When we booked 107 Royal Mile I was a little anxious about the steps (I have bad knees!) - there are three flights of steps externally (but no more than 15 steps each) and then three flights internally (again no more than 10 steps each) - but please don't be put off by this - you could not ask for a more perfect location if you are heading to Edinburgh and particularly for the Fringe Festival. The communication with Colin prior to our visit was excellent. We travelled by train and the directions provided were easy to follow. The flat is close to Waverley Station, no more than a ten / fifteen minute walk. When you arrive you go down a little arched alley at the back of a restaurant - at first we were not sure we had followed the directions correctly but we had! Once you climb stairs and walk into the flat, you will not be disappointed - in fact you will love it! The flat is well laid out and has ample space for four adults (two couples). The bed in the main bedroom is very comfortable and the bedroom itself is spacious. Even with the sofa bed left out (we took pity on my son and his girlfriend and let them leave it out each day) the living / kitchen area is still spacious. The window in the living area has a view towards the station and the view from the bedroom is the Royal Mile (a little lower down than the start of the Fringe Flyer run on the Royal Mile). It is in a great location to use as a base to explore Edinburgh and a really good location for Fringe Venues. If you are heading to the Tattoo the castle is probably no more than 20 to 30 minutes away (up hill - but knowing you will be walking down hill to get home is always good!) After busy days fitting in as many shows as we could it was lovely to come home to our pad on the Royal Mile. We did not cook in the flat nor use any of the appliances (other than the kettle) however the flat is very well equipped and certainly if you are staying for longer than a week knowing you have facilities to wash and dry clothes with help with the packing. The flat is on the main High Street and certainly during the Fringe it is quite busy and sometimes a little noisy however that is to be expected - the secondary glazing certainly provide a good barrier from most noise - and the comfy bed ensures a good night's sleep. There is a Sainsburys Local no more than a 10 minute walk from the flat which is well stocked. There are ample shops along the high street including a rather delicious fudge shop and a Christmas Decoration shop (much to the dismay of my husband!) We did have a little issue when we arrived however we contacted Colin and the issue was resolved in a timely way with excellent customer service - we very much appreciated this and it did not spoil our time in the flat at all nor will it prevent us from booking again when we 'do the Fringe'! Thank you for providing a lovely home from home Colin.

Wow! Wow! Wow! Now that’s what I call a professional review! Thank you! You were the best of guests and an absolute pleasure to serve. Receiving a review of this quality makes everything worthwhile. Edinburgh is truly a magical place and even more so during the Fringe Festival and as you have testified. Residing so central during your visit allows you to make use of every minute as there are no buses or taxis to catch to and from the action. Thank you again for such a fabulous review. Haste ye back. Colin.

“Fantastic Apartment”

Reviewed 14 Jun 2016

Stayed here the end of April and had a fabulous time, the apartment is lovely and its perfectly situated right in the middle of the Royal mile. Only a few minutes walk from Princes street and Waverley Station.

Thank you for your great review, and thank you for mentioning how close it is to some of the the main attractions, Princes St and the train station. Haste ye back. Colin.

“Best place to stay in Edinburgh!!!”

Reviewed 4 Jun 2013

Excellent place to stay: close to main attractions, perfect size for 2-4 people, clean, stylish, comfortable and cosy, good mattress. The kitchen has everything you need, such as a fridge, cooker, oven, pots and pans, cutlery and crockery, the bathroom is modern and clean, there is also a TV with DVD-player to relax in the evening. Suitable for young children with baby bed and high chair. Have already recommended it to several friends and will book it again for the next stay in Edinburgh! In total: just perfect! Thanks!

Thank you for such a superb review. You were really the most wonderful of visitors and thank you for your recommendations. I’m delighted that you found the apartment perfect for your visit. And of course the bed is so important for that good nights sleep after a hard days sight seeing. The mattress was designed by NASA, although I don’t know why an astronaut would need a comfy bed in space :) Thanks again. Haste ye back Colin

“Just perfect!”

Reviewed 12 Nov 2012

The directions were spot-on, we found the apartment with no problems. Myself & my husband travelled with our two young children (5 & 3 yrs old), and although there were admittedly a lot of steps to climb to reach the apartment, they were never once a problem. We loved the little touches such as tea, coffee & milk supplied on arrival, and the kitchen is supplied with everything you might need. Fabulous find in the cupboard for the kids - games!! Loved the selection of books to read. And even a first aid cabinet (although thankfully we didn't need it)! We really were wow-ed by this apartment, it was cosy and comfortable and the kids very much enjoyed the (hi-jacked) luxurious double bed while Mum & Dad had to take the sofabed!!! The Wi-Fi was honestly rubbish, but we didn't realise the apartment had wi-Fi so we hadn't bet on using it. We tried to with our mobile phones but the signal wasn't great (the only fault though!). It is a perfect base if you're exploring Edinburgh, pretty much anywhere is reachable on foot from here. If you're visiting Edinburgh with kids we highly recommend Camera Obscura and the National Museum - both within walking distance (and perhaps a visit to Jenners' lower ground floor!). We just can't fault it, an amazing place to stay. When we return to Edinburgh we will certainly make this apartment our first choice of where to stay.

Thank you for a fabulous review, you’ve just about covered everything. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am going to have to do something in regards to the WiFi. The gadget’s called a T-Mobile pointer. It’s called a pointer because you find the best signal available and simply point it at it (or just fix it on the wall in that position). It might just be in the wrong place. I’ll move it about and see if I can get a better signal. Glad it didn’t spoil your holiday. Haste ye back. Colin.

“Perfect location”

Reviewed 29 Sep 2012

The apartment is a real hidden gem within the city of Edinburgh. Located on the royal mile, it makes the whole city easily accessible with just a few minutes of walking. The location is great, and all the extra thought put into furnishing and preparing the apartment for visitors makes for a painless and pleasurable stay. From providing umbrellas for Edinburgh's always raining weather, to leaving universal outlet adapters around the house, to the pint of milk left in the fridge, the owner goes to lengths to make you feel comfortable and at home. The only real drawback is that the internet is so slow that it boarders on useless, so be prepared to go hunting for places with public wifi. If we ever need a place to stay in Edinburgh, this apartment will be the first place we look.

Thank you for a great review. Being in the heart of the city makes all the difference in getting around and about with ease and of course popping back to the apartment for lunch or to drop off a few holiday purchases during the day. Sorry about the WiFi, it’s a T mobile Pointer; we bought two, one for each apartment after reading some great reviews. I’ll get on to them and find out what the problem may have been. Whenever I stay at the apartment it has always behaved itself so I think it must be something to do with the T Mobile signal at the time. There’s not much point in me paying out each month for a hit and miss WiFi so I’ll get on to them about it first thing. Thanks for letting me know. Haste ye back. Colin.

“The best location in Edinburgh”

Reviewed 13 Sep 2012

This apartment was totally fab and perfect for our needs and we took our daughter to her first year at university. Great location - restaurants all around, lovely inside & beautifully clean. A superb master bedroom (the bed was so comfy that I took a pic of the make on my iPhone before we left) and (my daughter reports) a comfy sofa bed. Will return again I'm certain.

Thank you for your fab review! I’m glad you liked the apartment; our preparation team will be delighted with your comments. The mattress was designed by NASA, I have one myself and is by far the most comfy I’ve ever slept on. I hope your daughter settles well into university; she’s going to love Edinburgh. Haste ye back. Colin.

“Excellent Location--Lovely Apartment”

Reviewed 9 Aug 2012

The apartment was in a perfect location on the Royal Mile, to walk to all the sights or to the train station. It's equipped with every amenity and comfort that our family of one adult and two teens needed (even a fresh carton of milk in the fridge). It has character and charm but is also very clean and modern. Only minor caveats: the combined washer-dryer didn't dry our clothes (maybe there's a trick we didn't master), the door lock was tricky at first, and the wi-fi was a bit weak. Overall, we loved it and would stay here again.

Thank you for a great review. I’m glad you mentioned how easy it is to get to all the sights and of course the train station. Both of our apartments were chosen for their fantastic location. You made the case perfectly for renting a well equipped holiday apartment central to the action. I can’t understand why the wi-fi was weak, it’s a T-Mobile Pointer which we bought after reading some great reviews but I will certainly look in to it. Thanks for letting me know. Haste ye back. Colin.

“Comfort in the center of Edinburgh”

Reviewed 28 Jul 2012

Couldn't have wished for a nicer place to stay. The apartment was clean, comfortable,spacious and well equipped and the bed was sooo comfy. It was nice to be able to make a cup of tea after our journey! The location was brilliant, right in the centre of Edinburgh so we could pop back when ever we wanted. Many thanks for making our stay so pleasant, would recommend the apartment to anyone.

Oh wow! Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday and found our Royal Mile apartment so much to your liking. We know how hard you have worked for your well deserved holiday and with that in mind we make five promises: 1. We won’t let our quality slip. 2. We won’t rest on our laurels 3. We will improve. 4. Our visitor will always come first. And 5. We will always offer good value for money. Thanks again for your fantastic review. Haste ye back. Colin.

Review 1-10 of 94

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.