from £125 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Stable Cottages – Home 95077 Cottage

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 5 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Stable Cottages – Home 95077

  • Cottage
  • 2 bedrooms
  • sleeps 5
  •  min stay varies

Very Good Very Good – based on 27 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / 1 bathroom / sleeps 5

Key Info

  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Ask about pets

Description from owner

Description

The property is set in a beautiful country location, conveniently located with easy access to all motorways and ports. Situated 15 minutes from historic Rochester. London, Canterbury and the coast are all 45 minutes away.

The cottages provide a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life but at the same time are situated close to all motorways, ports and Le Shuttle. A perfect base to travel into London.

The nearby village of High Halstow is 2 miles away ,which has a pub serving food, post office and grocery store.

The local golf course and leisure centre is 10 minutes drive away and where there are further shops. For the shopaholics, Bluewater Shopping centre is 20 minutes away with Ashford Retail Outlet approx 40 minutes away.

There are fabulous facilities including several benches, gas barbecue, picnic tables etc. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and steam room, games room and a mini-gymnasium with a running machine, rowing machine and weights.

The property is set in a beautiful country location, conveniently located with easy access to all motorways and ports. Situated 15 minutes from historic Rochester. London, Canterbury and the coast are all 45 minutes away.

The cottages provide a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life but at the same time are situated close to all motorways, ports and Le Shuttle. A perfect base to travel into London.

The nearby village of High Halstow is 2 miles away ,which has a pub serving food, post office and grocery store.

The local golf course and leisure centre is 10 minutes drive away and where there are further shops. For the shopaholics, Bluewater Shopping centre is 20 minutes away with Ashford Retail Outlet approx 40 minutes away.

There are fabulous facilities including several benches, gas barbecue, picnic tables etc. There is a heated indoor swimming pool and steam room, games room and a mini-gymnasium with a running machine, rowing machine and weights. The family live on site and look forward to welcoming your stay. There is an outdoor area for children with swings, football goal and toddlers playhouse and slide.

Further details

This cottage is one of six on this site. The cottages vary in size and rental rates. Please contact the owner for further details.

Further details indoors

Full oil fired central heating included in the price, all electricity, bedding and towels included. Doorways are wide enough for a wheelchair and all cottages have ground floor bedrooms. There is a disabled shower in the pool room. There are no steps at the property. The fully tiled bathroom with shower over bath has ample cupboard space. The property has many attractive features such as oak staircases and beams.

Further details outdoors

We have electric gates for extra security and there is ample parking for cars. There is a gas barbecue and a games room with table tennis, pool table, football table and children's play corner. We also have a climbing frame and other outdoor toys for children. If you like walking we have many footpaths through the countryside and are also very close to the Saxon Shore Way. The RSPB reserve is just around the corner in High Halstow including the largest Heronry in Europe. We do provide a selection of Wellington boots for people to borrow! We do allow dogs by prior arrangement but we do ask that they are kept on a lead at all times, only walked in the dog walking area and cleaned up after. They are not allowed in the bedrooms. There are many walks outside of our boundaries on public footpaths.

Location description from owner

The England region

We are close to Historic Rochester which has a Castle, Cathedral, Museum and High Street, and an hour’s drive will take you to many more gardens and National Trust properties or the coast. Canterbury being 45 minutes away and London an hour.

Kent boasts a beautiful coastline, unspoilt countryside and various historical attractions making this a holiday destination that can satisfy all tastes. There are miles and miles of walks through woodland, vineyards and fields, as well as galleries, shopping opportunities and a variety of restaurants and cafes.

Rochester

There is so much do do in Rochester. Historic Rochester has Victorian Charm, great Architecture and Historic Interests. You can visit the Castle, Cathedral and the Guidhall Museum.
You can explore Rochester in the footsteps of Charles Dickens. Seeing the buildings he wrote about including the Six Poor Travellers house, Restoration House and also his treasured Swiss Chalet.
Rochester boasts a wide choice of independent speciality shops, ample places to eat and drink and a farmers market every 3rd Sunday in the month at Corporation Street car park.
Chatham is famous for the Historic Dockyard dating back more than 400 years. There is also Dockside outlet centre nearby.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • 1 Double Bed, 3 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Shared indoor pool
  • Shared garden
  • Climbing frame
  • Swing set
  • BBQ
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Sauna
  • Table tennis
  • Pool or snooker table
  • Games room
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Accessible for wheelchair users — please contact the owner for details before booking

Policies

Payment
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property

About the owner

Kirsty S.
Response rate:
90%
Calendar updated::
31 Mar 2017
Years listed:
8
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Cottage has 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and sleeps 5. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 06 Jul 2009. Located in Kent, it has 26 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £400 to £650.

The Owner has a response rate of 90% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 31 Mar 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good – based on 27 reviews Very Good
27 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
21
Very Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
2
Write a review

“Mrs”

Reviewed 28 Oct 2016

The owners are terrible, very rude, unhelpful and not friendly! I would not advise anyone to stay here. The cottage was dirty and had urine stains on the mattress! The site was unkept and dirty with lots of rubbish and machinery laying around. Myself and my husband were very disappointed and upset! There were lots of rules and it was like a prison in the country! I would not recommend anyone to stay here. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, you will be very disappointed!

Owner's reply: Hi Tracey, we have been running our family business for over 17 years and endeavor to be as helpful, friendly and welcoming to our guests as we possibly can. We feel the number of positive reviews and high percentage of returning guests we have year on year is testament to this. We were most surprised to read your review given that you had not mentioned any of the points above in our extensive correspondence following your stay. To address some of your comments directly however: We checked your cottage over following your review and can find no urine stains on your mattresses (we examine all mattresses after every departure and change them regularly). Neither were there any evidence of stains on the photos you sent us after your departure in which you can clearly see the mattresses without protectors or bed sheets on… Your husband told us on more than one occasion that the cottage you were staying in was ‘ten out of ten’ and he ‘couldn’t fault it’. The only thing he seemed ‘upset’ about was the mistake you had made about your check out date and that you had been very aggressive to one of our team, sending them off in tears when they came around to show you printed copies of the emails in which you had changed your check out date. In spite of this, we endeavored to make the situation as stress free as possible and offered to let you stay another night (which we didn’t charge you any extra for!) as luckily we did not have anybody arriving in the cottage until the next day. Your husband came around to the house and told us it was very ‘big of us’ not to charge you given your behavior and could not have been more apologetic about the whole situation. Regarding your comment about the ‘rules’, for the comfort of all of our guests and neighboring farmers we have to have guidelines in place for people who wish to bring a dog. We did explain these to you several times before your arrival (both over the phone and via email) to make sure they definitely suited you as you were staying for several weeks and you assured us that they did. We don’t usually take dogs of this particular breed but because we had made the rules so clear to you and you seemed so sure they suited you we decided we would be able to accommodate him (at no extra cost). It became clear as soon as you arrived however that you did not wish to respect them. The last thing we want to do is have to remind a guest that their English Mastiff should not be urinating up the children’s swing set and running loose all over the fields. Unfortunately for both hygiene reasons and the safety of all the other children and families staying here this is something that we had no alternative but to politely address – an uncomfortable conversation for us and certainly not something we want to have to do on a guest’s first day here. At the moment we accept dogs by prior arrangement. The many complaints from other guests/our neighbours during your stay have seriously made us reconsider this policy and whether it would be better to have a ‘no dogs’ policy altogether. We have however come to the conclusion that this would be a great shame for the majority of people (like us) who don’t want to leave their dog at home when they rent a cottage. Out of the hundreds of people who have stayed here with dogs over the past 17 years, the vast majority have been respectful and considerate with their pet. Those who don’t think the doggy rules will suit them either don’t book or make alternative arrangements for their dog whilst they are away. We take great pride in keeping the areas surrounding the cottages clean and tidy and have two large waste bins next to the parking area at our customer’s disposal. These are supplied by a local waste contractor and emptied every week and there is no rubbish just ‘lying around’. We regularly review our pricing and believe that our cottages are moderately priced and represent good value. We are sorry that you didn’t think your stay here was worth the money and that you were so ‘disappointed’ however we are confident the service we provided to you was the best possible under the circumstances.

“Ideal place for peace, relaxtion and breathable air”

Reviewed 6 Jan 2016

Superb chalet about 40 sq m ( I think). Comprising one double bedroom and a second bedroom with bunk beds and a single bed, a good-sized lounge/dining room (designed for six people) and an ultra-modern bathroom with a great shower. Very clean and comfortable. I don't know why the Stables website doesn't (didn't?) have pictures of the chalet. The games room was a big plus and we adored playing table tennis (one of colleagues thought I had lost weight over Christmas, that shows hw much we played). The swimming pool we ddn't use. It's 1.1 metres deep and not very big. It's probably great in summer. We did find the municipal pool in the village not too far away. The surrounding area is very green and being on the Thmes estuary, the air is wonderful quality. It's not too far from the very charming city of Rochester.

Owner's reply: Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and thank you for being such considerate guests. It was a pleasure to accommodate you and we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Kirsty

“Very comfortable cottages superbly situated with wonderful views”

Reviewed 7 Nov 2011

While the cottages were furnished and equipped to a high standard, and were very clean and well maintained, the best thing about them for us was the quiet rural location. The group of purpose-built holiday cottages surrounded by farmland has uninterrupted sweeping views of the marshes and Thames estuary. In one direction there are almost no other buildings to be seen until the Essex coast across the river; in others there are a few farmhouses and small villages across the fields. We enjoyed excellent walking on the marshes and sea wall, and in the nearby woodland of the RSPB reserve - it's a wonderful area for birdwatching. Debbie and Jason were very welcoming and friendly, and the only problem we had was a non-working lightbulb (which was replaced as soon as reported).

“Absolutely perfect - so clean, friendly, helpful - will definitely return!”

Reviewed 6 Nov 2011

Thank you so much for a lovely stay – everything was perfect – the cottage, the pool, the games room, the laundry facilities and the location. Immaculate in every way. We used this as a base to visit London, Brighton, Legoland and the surrounding areas and will definitely stay there again. We had a fabulous week and would definitely recommend to anyone.

“Fabulous set up in a beautiful location”

Reviewed 6 Nov 2011

The cottages are relatively new build and so are well-designed and all services work extremely efficiently but the properties have character to boot. They are set comfortably off the beaten track with stunning views over the Thames estuary - particularly lovely at night when the lights bring it to life. The owners live adjacent to the cottages and were extremely helpful if you had any queries but generally left you happily to your own devices. The cottages could not have been better equipped making them a real home from home. The beds were so comfy and all linen lovely and fresh and crisp. We had all ages in our group and there was something for everyone. The owners very kindly lent us a wheelchair for Nanna at 83, the 18 and 15 year olds made full use of the WiFi and the 12 year old loved the pool (as did everyone) and the games room. All facilities were of a very high standard and well-maintained. Our first trip to the Meday/Kent area and we found it to be crammed with things to do - our favourites being Rochester for its history, The Royal Dockyard at Chatham with its working ropery, Canterbury for its history and shops, Whitstable for its charm and seafood and Boulogne-sur-Mer for a fabulous day trip to France from Dover. All in all a lovely and memorable holiday.

Review 1-10 of 27

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

441732 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57833 properties

England Holidays

42027 properties

Cornwall

5,481 properties

Devon

4,272 properties

East Anglia

2,492 properties

Cumbria

2,129 properties

Dorset

1,466 properties

East Sussex

1,202 properties

Cotswolds

1,144 properties

Hampshire

683 properties

Derbyshire

544 properties

Herefordshire

321 properties

Durham

297 properties

Essex

261 properties

Gloucestershire

261 properties

Cambridgeshire

255 properties

Cheshire

244 properties

Hertfordshire

98 properties

Buckinghamshire

85 properties

Bedfordshire

73 properties

Bristol

69 properties

Rutland

54 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.