Appartamento Bella Vista – Home 40737 Apartment
- 2 bedrooms
- 6 sleeps
- 1 night min stay
Appartamento Bella Vista – Home 40737
- 2 bedrooms
- sleeps 6
- 1 night min stay
Apartment / 2 bedrooms / 1 bathroom / sleeps 6
- Beach / lakeside relaxation
- Nearest beach 0.75 km
- Child friendly
- Car not necessary
- Air conditioning
- Pet friendly
- Private garden
Description from owner
- Great for children of all ages
- Pets welcome
- Cot available
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- 1 Double Bed, 1 Sofa Bed, 2 Single Beds, 1 Cot available
- 1 Family bathroom
- Air conditioning
- Private garden
- Balcony or terrace
- Sea view
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- High chair available
- Video player
- DVD player
- CD player
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
- This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated::
- 22 Jun 2017
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English, French, Italian
This Apartment has 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 05 Nov 2007. Located in Loiri Porto San Paolo, it has 13 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate is £1050.
The Owner has a response rate of 85% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 22 Jun 2017.
Map and how to get there
– based on 13 reviews
- Very Good
“A well-named apartment”
The view from the balcony of this apartment towards Isola Tavolara is stunning (even during a September thunderstorm when it disappeared and re-appeared several times) The apartment is built to a very high standard with lovely wooden-framed windows and shutters and it had everything we could have needed to help make our holiday a great success. The photographs don't show the spacious kitchen/living area which like the rest of the apartment is very tastefully decorated and furnished. Although not essential, we hired a car via the website provided by the owner. We're very glad we did because the apartment was a little further from the attractive port area than we'd anticipated. The owner provided loads of very useful information about restaurants and places to visit together with very precise directions about getting to the apartment. There are a couple of very good restaurants within easy walking distance but the best meal we had was a delicious lunch down at the port in Il Portolano - what a view!
Owner's reply: Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review.. i was so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and the apartment. We also love the view and chose the exact location of the apartment based on the view. As you say Tavolara seems to change and present itself in many different forms through the course of the day, but my favourite is the sunsetting just behind it above the sea. We would agree with you that whilst by no means essential, a car is an advantage for discovering the surrounding area. We do tend to walk to the beach ourselves, but if the weather is wet or windy, out of season we much prefer jumping in the car at night to go out. il Portolano is also our favourite restaurant and for me the view from the terrace is si ply one of the most magnificent that I have seen....it almost upstages the food....if that is at all possible ! Thank you also for your kind letter of thanks and appreciation. It truly has been a pleasure renting to you and your husband. All the very best
“Beautiful apartment on a beautiful island”
We spent 2 weeks in the Appartamento Bella Vista and we loved it! The apartment has a fantastic balcony where we spent many an hour eating breakfast in the mornings and drinking wine in the evenings looking out towards the sea and amazing Tavolara Island. Everything we could possibly need was available in the apartment and Kate provided an excellent information pack before we left the UK giving us details of numerous places to visit and beaches & restaurants to try - as well as offering advice about hiring a boat for my fiances birthday - which was a fantastic day!! Whilst I agree a car is not necessary, we did have a car for the full two weeks and are glad that we did as it meant we got to explore a gorgeous, different beach everyday which I would definitely recommend. Our two favourite places were Tavolara Island and the "Caffe del Rose" at Capo Coda Cavallo the latter of which has the most amazing view I have ever seen. We didn't use our car during the evenings at all as there are more than enough restaurants within walking distance to last you a fortnight. Seafood is very prominent on all of the menus which my fiance absolutely loved.....I'm not keen on seafood so lived on the wonderful pizzas! The island is beautiful with the contrast of the bright blue sea, pale sand and greenery on the mountaints - very picture postcard like! I would recommend both this apartment and Sardinia to everyone, it is a lovely lovely place and we'll hopefully be back again at some point in the future. And just to say, many thanks for everything once again Kate.
Owner's reply: We are really pleased that you had a lovely time at our apartment, and would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a super review. We are very partial ourselves, to sitting with a glass of wine on the balcony gazing at the sea. Tavolara is also one of my favourite places -it's really quite enchanting. I'm so glad that you had a fantastic day on the boat - it truly is a memory that lives with you for a very long time. We also love exploring the area around Porto San Paolo and like yourselves, fell in love with the views at Capo Coda Cavallo. It's been an absolute pleasure conversing with you and we would love to hear from you again. Thank you once again for all your kind words.
“Fantastic apartment - beautiful location”
Hi Kate I don't often get round to leaving reviews but I wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time in Sardinia. You were so friendly and helpful from the point of booking up to when we set off for the airport! The information you provided was fantastic (I drove everyone mad all holiday reading it constantly!) and the apartment was lovely. For people reading the review, I travelled with my husband and another couple and there was plenty of room in the apartment for all of us. The kitchen and living area is communal and is a decent size but to be honest, we spent the whole time on the balcony. We had dinner in two nights (cooked one night and got take-away pizzas the other) and tried the restaurants you suggested on the other nights. We went to the restaurant by the sea in Porto one night and it was amazing! We also tried Le Cana (I think that's right) one night and the owner was very friendly and the food delicious. As it was the end of the season, we spent most nights in Tortuga and the locals was very friendly - even gave us the remote so we could put MTV on and listen to the music with a few drinks. We spent most of the time with a cool box on La Cinta beach relaxing. I have been to the Maldives and can honestly say the sand on this beach is beautiful - not quite as good but as close as I have seen it anywhere for a while! We hired a car and would definitely recommend it as La Cinta was a 5/10 minutes drive away and it's nice to see some of the other areas. I would recommend your apartment to anyone and we would love to come back at some point. Thanks again for all the information - we had a great stay!
Owner's reply: We are exceedingly pleased that you had such a lovely break at our apartment and that you were kind enough to take the time to leave such a great review. I'm really glad also, that you found the information useful; I always welcome tips and suggestions when I'm travelling, so have tried to provide as much information as possible, in order to provide the best holiday experience that we can. We also love La Cinta beach and find,like yourself, that many of the beaches resemble those of the caribbean. It's been a pleasure both renting to you and conversing via email over the months. We wish you all the best for the future.
“Everything we had hoped for”
We had a wonderful week staying at this apartment and wish we could have stayed longer. The apartment itself was everything we had hoped for being well equipped and convenient for restaurants, beach, supermarket etc. We spent many hours on the balcony enjoying a glass or two of wine while taking in the amazing view. We didn't hire a car as the details had said a car was not necessary and strictly speaking this is true. However the local beach is a good 10 to 15 minute walk from the apartment and is not one of Sardinia's best. To visit many of the locations depicted in the photos you will need a car as we saw no evidence of any sort of bus service locally. Kate provided an excellent information pack on restaurants, beaches, places to visit etc. The local representative was extremely helpful and speaks perfect English which is a bonus. We would like to stay here again someday and would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.
Owner's reply: Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We also love the view from the balcony, and tend to spend many an hour gazing out onto Tavolara island, with a glass or two of wine. I would also agree with your comments regarding hiring a car; whilst all amenities such as supermarkets,restaurants,bars and the beach are within walking distance of the apartment, hence not making a car a necessity,in order to explore the beautiful coast line to the north and south of Porto San Paolo, and the surrounding area, a car is most definately advantageous. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our agency in Sardinia. They work very hard throughout the season to ensure that our guests are happy, and they have greatly appreciated your comments. We are glad to hear that you would like to return at some point and look forward to hearing from you in the future.
“Really lovely apartment with great views”
We had a great holiday and felt very relaxed during our stay The apartment is located in a great spot, close to restaurants and supermarkets, but still with a feeling of being away from it all. The view from the balcony is outstanding and we enjoyed many a glass of local wine, watching the boats circle around the bay. The kitchen has everything you need to cook properly, along with decent crockery. It has great natural light throughout, and the beds are very comfortable. We tried some of the restaurants on the list and they were all excellent (we especially liked the the take out pizza's from the restaurant at the end of the road!) A few more kids CD's / DVD's would be great, but apart from that I am struggling to find anything else that could be improved upon
Owner's reply: We are glad that you liked the apartment so much,and that you had a lovely holiday. I also love spending time on the balcony gazing out to sea. Thank you for taking the time to write and also for your kind words concerning the apartment . We shall certainly replenish the kiddies CD collection shortly .
“Tired & shabby, cluttered & cramped”
Due to multiple issues with this apartment I checked out within 30 minutes of arriving. 1) I believe the images are misleading. The garden to this upstairs apartment is actually at the rear and not in the photo. The garden at the rear was extremely untidy, with debris strewn around and there were buckets containing smelly stagnant water. This should have been swept and cleaned up well before any guests arrived. 2) You access the apartment from the rear via steep steps. Upon entering the apartment I was shocked how small and cramped the main living areas was. 3) When I opened the kitchen cupboard the door was wonky and the plinth fell down. The kitchen area was not entirely clean, there were what looked like crumbs here and there. Again, this should have been cleaned properly before accepting any guests. 4) There was a cushion on the sofa that should have been discarded a long time ago. The wicker sofa was tatty and worn. The living area was extremely claustrophobic and not somewhere that I relished spending 7 nights in. 5) The bedroom was a decent size but the sheets were not ironed and looked grubby & washed out. 6) The owners comments about the views are in my opinion questionable. I am also dubious about the comments in the guestbook. This was my first holiday in 2 years and I feel very let down by the owner. She made many comments such as, I should have phoned up about the problems, but I come away to relax and chill, not to be on the phone complaining about things that should be remedied well before paying customers arrive. In the end I drove to Porto Cervo and stayed in a beautiful 4 star hotel for 7 nights and had a fantastic time!
Owner's reply: We were extremely distressed to hear that our apartment was simply not for you, as we take very seriously the satisfaction of our renters. We were also very disappointed to read in your review, that you chose not to stay in Porto San Paolo,despite it's numerous hotels, as we believe it to be a truly lovely resort.However, In my opinion, Porto Cervo and Porto San Paolo are a world apart in terms of resorts; Porto San Paolo a quaint,authentic Sardinian fishing village with traditional restaurants and bars; Porto Cervo a glamorous, glitzy, somewhat more developed, purpose built resort. Our apartment would have also differed greatly in terms of architecture and appearance to the buildings in Porto Cervo; ours is constructed with Sardinian granite, Tuscan stone and timber, in a fashion sympathetic to the surrounding countryside. The architecture of Porto Cervo in my opinion, is by contrast modern and untraditional, as this is a relatively new resort. I guess it is all a case of personal preference. I would like to address your issues in the order that you have raised them. 1) The garden is indeed at the rear as you state, with a BBQ .In my opinion, it would be rather strange and somewhat imposing, if the garden of a first floor apartment was right infront of the living room and patio of the ground floor apartment.We state in our advert that sea views can be seen from the balcony and mountain views can be seen from the garden. When you arrived in Sardinia there had been a storm that very morning and it was wet and windy. That aside our garden is completely made of patio with nothing but a BBQ and space for sunloungers and chairs, which were under lock and key due to the storm.The agency provided me with pictures of the garden shortly after you vacated, and I am genuinely at a loss to agree that there was any mess ( even though in this one instance only, I would have understood if there had been as a result of the storm taking place as you arrived). That aside, we believe that the customer is king, and if you had conveyed to us, or the agency prior to vacating, that the patio should be re swept, we would have been happy to arrange this just as soon as the storm had finished. 2a) You do access the apartment from steps at the rear; every first floor apartment has their own private stair case leading from their garden.I personally prefer this to a communal stair case for all, as it means that no one else has direct access to your front door and this adds extra security. The steps are very wide ( wide enough for 3 people at a time ) , have railings either side and are solid with no spaces between them. We bought the apartmet when our children were very small, and they have not encountered any problems with these steps. 2b)You state that you found the living area to be small and cramped. The apartment is 78 Square meters, and this is verified in all of the legal documentation relating to the sale of the property. I am happy to provide copies of these. In addition, as we bought the apartment off plan 5 years ago, we requested to have the balcony extended by a third, so we have the largest balcony on the complex. We also have vaulted ceilings throughout the property, and opted for an open plan living area away from the bedrooms. We are genuinely sorry that you yourself found the apartment to be too small for two people, as we believe it to be spacious and many other renters have stated that they also believe it to be spacious. Infact, we have received two consecutive bookings from two separate families of 5. 3)The kitchen was thoroughly cleaned prior to your arrival, and the agency also issued me with pictures of this taken some ten minutes after your departure. Again, I am struggling to find any evidence to agree that it had not been cleaned properly, but your opinion as the customer is paramount and had you conveyed this information to my self or the agency, we would have ensured that the apartment was re cleaned. The Kitchen was installed 2 and a half years ago and is made of white wood sympathetic to the design style of the apartment. We have asked the agency if a door was wonky, and they have said that maybe the grain of the wood is not straight, as it is made from local materials. We have also asked them to double check whether the plinth is loose as they could not find a record of this. 4) The singular cushion which was placed on our leather sofa inside, was in fact brought in from one of the chairs on the balcony. It was purchased last summer, and I find it to be very comfortable on the iron chairs on the balcony. When it rains the agency frequently bring items inside that can be damaged. The wicker sofa usually lives on the balcony and as such is exposed to sunlight. My husband last teaked the frame of this at the start of the season, and the teak is still in the utility cupboard at the apartment. We are also sorry that you perceived the living area to be claustrophobic, as we love the open plan nature of the space leading on to the balcony and the vaulted ceilings. 5) The bedding is collected from the launderette in a sealed plastic, protective casing for each renter. It is always ironed, however, it is then folded in order to pack it. This will obviously mean that there are folds in the bedding, but we like to ensure that the packages are air tight prior to giving them to renters. Again, the agency would have been more than happy to provide you with a new set of bedding, if you felt that the set provided was not to your liking. 6)We obviously adore the view; we chose the exact spot where we wanted our apartment to be built, with that exact view in mind. To date it is the most complemented aspect of the apartment when people write to thank us. We are genuinely sorry that you do not agree. Regarding your perception about the comments in the guest book, I would be more than happy to provide you with a full audit history of these emails and can actually inform you that I have not posted all the compliments that I have received. These reviews were received souly from people who booked directly through the one internet site that we advertise on, so their email addresses can also be verified, along with their initial enquiry regarding the property.We have many repeat bookings for this Summer. Regarding the apartment being tired and shabby we are sorry that this is your perception. Most of the letters we receive detail that it is clean and well maintained. The apartment is five years old and during our conversation prior to you booking with us, I did forewarn you that the apartment may possibly smell of paint, as we have the inside repainted every two years and this had just been completed prior to your rental.I am surprised therefore that you found it to be tired and shabby. To conclude, I would like to re iterate that we are genuinely sorry that you didn't like our apartment and that you also decided to not stay in Porto San Paolo. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday in the end.
"The apartment was everything we had hoped for and more. It has really lovely views and is in easy walking distance of all amenities. We very much enjoyed strolling down to the town at night and ate in some excellent restaurants during our week in Porto San Paolo. It was a refreshing change to stay in an apartment with good beds and the peaceful location, coupled with large wooden shutters mean't that we could actually enjoy a lie in. The apartment was clean and tastefully decorated. We came back feeling revived and indulged. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to any one who fancies a restful break in idyllic surroundings. We are already planning when we can go next !"
Owner's reply: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We also enjoy a slow amble down to the seafront at night, to soak up some of the Italian atmosphere. Thank you for choosing to book with us; we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
“This is VACATION!”
Clean and fresh apartment, with everything we needed for our stay with our two children (5 and 7 years). Beautiful view from the balcony, and a nice spot for warm afterbeach sunshine on the stairs at the back of the building. We BBQ in the backyard while the children played, and we had wonderful nights at the balcony. Nice beds, and nice bathroom. Perfect for 4 - we would love to come back! For families with small children, the windows are not secured and the stairs are quite steep so you might watch them a little extra.
Owner's reply: We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much that you wish to return. We also love to BBQ in the back garden whilst the children play nearby and we then retire to watch the sunset on the balcony. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the windows; there is in fact a safety feature whereby you may open the windows a jar from the top ( so they tilt open ) and you have alerted me to the fact that we should highlight this in our literature. Thank you also for the lovely letter of thanks that you wrote. We look forward to hearing from you in the future
“Lovely apartment with great views;wonderful location.”
We loved the stay and definitely intend to go back for a longer period.The apartment was ideal with a superb balcony,whilst the location gave easy access to the beaches,the islands and a variety of excellent restaurants,both on foot and at nearby sites along the coast.The immediate area has a marvellous atmosphere,very Italian but without crowds and has been tastefully developed.Altogether a genuine delight.
Owner's reply: Thank you for your valued feedback. We take the satisfaction of our renters very seriously, so it is good to know that you had a wonderful time at the apartment and that you wish to book again.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours