from £237 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

4* The Old Rectory, Newport, Pembs – Home 45821 House

  • 6 bedrooms
  • 18 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

4* The Old Rectory, Newport, Pembs – Home 45821

  • House
  • 6 bedrooms
  • sleeps 18
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 25 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

House / 6 bedrooms / 7 bathrooms / sleeps 18

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0.8 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • 2 Cots available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Bedroom 2: Double Bed
    Bedroom 3: Double Bed Single Bed
    Bedroom 4: Double Bed Single Bed
    Bedroom 5: Single Bed
    Bedroom 6: 3 Single Beds
    Beds in other rooms: 2 Sofa Beds
  • 2 Family bathrooms, 2 En suites, 1 Shower room, 2 Toilets only

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Mountain Views
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Safe
  • Pool or snooker table
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • Video player
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Telephone
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Deanna K.
Average reply time:
3 hours 30 minutes
Response rate:
95%
Calendar updated::
28 Jun 2017
Years listed:
9
Based in:
Canada
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This House has 6 bedrooms, 7 bathrooms and sleeps 18. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 27 Feb 2008. Located in Pembrokeshire, it has 25 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £1100 to £4585.

The Owner has a response rate of 95% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 28 Jun 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 25 reviews Excellent
25 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
21
Very Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Fantastic House in Idyllic Location”

Reviewed 13 Aug 2013

Booked this fantastic house for a friend's stag do who wanted something a little off the beaten track rather than the normal stag do. House was huge with loads of social areas including the huge garden in which we had a great barbecue to finish the weekend with. Close to local amenities (recommend the local butchers for barbecue meat!!) and to the sandy beach. Would definitely recommend to large groups and families.

Owner's reply: Thank you for coming and sending a review. Some people are wary of stag parties but you were very respectful and the house was left just fine. You are so welcome to come back. As our only neighbours are cows, those that rent both the Rectory and Cottage can make as much noise as they like at any time, or have silence on a retreat.

“Tranquility in abundance!”

Reviewed 30 Jul 2013

We all loved the holiday setting so much that we wished that we had two weeks instead of one. The old charm and the lovely garden brought back the children in the three teenage boys (16,18 &19) who were with us, they ran around playing man hunt and throwing frisbees like they were 10 years old again, one commented that it was the best holiday he had ever had, and there was me worrying that they might be bored! A great holiday and setting, would love to return.

Owner's reply: Thank you for sharing your joy and happiness. That huge garden has had so very many happy uses and frisbee is one of them. Also, thank you for posting back the guest book. So easy to do those little things when maps etc go in the car, no problem. Glad that you enjoyed reading it with all of these great experiences and tips of places to visit. Our team looks forward to you coming back again for more fun and tranquility.

“Well worth the drive”

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Great place for getting a bunch of friends or family together. Views over the bay. Loads of room for lazing around both inside and out. Easily booked with no dramas. All things you need are supplied. Really nice break just two nights not long enough.

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for bringing your family and taking the time to write a review. Hopefully you can all come for longer holiday another time. In the lower season and in time gaps, I do try to make these weekend rates affordable. Yes, the distance from some places can be long, but at least once you are off the motorway there is a lot of stunning scenery. Some call it geography therapy; to get away a certain distance to such a different land, and feel your cares dropping away mile by mile. Lots of groups love having 2 living rooms at the house. There are the hallways, the piano area and different places to laze around inside. There are always improvements being made. Welcome back anytime. Deanna

“A very comfortable house in beautiful surrondings well set up for the convenience of large family groups.”

Reviewed 23 Jan 2012

The Old Rectory sleeps 14 people in 6 bedrooms and has a dining room (just) large enough for everyone to share meals together, so it is perfect for large family (or friend) gatherings. Two living rooms - one quiet one without tv - make it easy for the different generations to get away from one another when needed, but it is possible for everyone to squeeze in together for noisy games. The house feels like the home of a thoughtful and interesting friend rather than a holiday rental, with books, paintings and maps on the walls, interesting furniture and even a piano. The views all around are stunning and a thoughtfully positioned terrace, though at the far end of the garden from the house, allows you to make the most of them. There are great walks right from the doorstep, uphill to the mountains of Mynydd Preseli, or downhill to the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path and beaches. Newport has a number of useful shops, so it is possible to arrive and park the car and not use it again for a week. Overall a fantastic place to stay, the best we have found for our family, it is just a shame that it is so popular in the school holidays that it can be hard to book.

“Landscape, history, nature life, first class housing inteh same package”

Reviewed 22 Oct 2011

I have spent many marvelous weeks in the Old Rectory over 3 decades. The charm of the house, the views of nearby coastal and mountain wilderness and also the small town of Newport have not changed. When hiking on the nountains and in valleys the welsh stories and fairy tales start to live. There are so many interesting Celtic and ancient monuments like the stone circles and dolmens. This old Newport town is nicely located below the old castle. The atmosphere is the same as a hundred years ago. Also you can meet real characters there. I remember a lovely shopkeeper, who was wearing shorts every single the day of the year, if it was rain or cold, with only one exception: Christmas. Then the man was wearing long trousers. The scenery is breathtaking beautiful in all directions and you can enjoy it also through any windows from the house. The wild life around the Rectory as well on the mountains and seashore is an amazing experience. For a bird watcher it is paradise. There are so many different kinds of birds like owls and hawks even in the garden there. There were buffins, seagulls and guillemonts following our boat when we went to Skomer Island. If you are lucky, you also can see seals and their pups on the beaches. For an explorer hiking around the Pembrokeshire coast, a shorter or longer trip will offer unforgettable memories. Step by step you can see different views when walking down to the sea. I loved taking different friends there and exploring many beaches, pubs ans swimming in the sea. I can recommend all these experiences. I have valuable memories of The Old Rectory that have made my life richer and those will never be forgotten.

Owner's reply: What great adventures you have had over many years coming all the way from Finland. Thank you for sharing. You have such beautiful nature and old buildings in your Scandinavian homeland, but still, you notice and love these different special details of the house, nature and interesting people. The puffins and guillemots of Skomer island are so unforgettable. It becomes an annual pilgrimage for me to go there. I was lucky to film many puffins that came so close and even touched me this year. Also as a Dyfed Wildlife member I can stay overnight on the island to see the shearwaters, and go to other places like the Cardigan Wildlife Park that are closeby. Welcome back Deanna

“Wonderful accomodation for our entire family”

Reviewed 17 Oct 2011

This is a very spacious house which allows the children plenty of room to enjoy themselves and allow parents/grandparents to relax. The large dining room gave us the opportunity to have a golden wedding celebration at which we were able to accomodate additional family guests. Kitchen very well equipped, plenty of cutlery, crockery etc. The situation outside the town was particularly peaceful but near enough to pick up freshly baked bread for breakfast. Our entire family regard this as a very special place. We will be back.

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for coming and sharing your experience of the house. I am so glad that it satisfied all generations of your family for your golden wedding anniversary. The big birch table in the dining room has recently been replaced with a larger thick elm table made from a tree in the garden. Your shoes were finally found and posted to you. We always hold on to valuable things like that until claimed. That bakery is like no other, a very individual home business, I love it too. Newport now has a regular weekly street market with impressive local produce as well. Welcome back Deanna

“Readily located, beautiful situation with easy access to shopping.”

Reviewed 12 Oct 2011

The kitchen is exceptionally well equipped with several recent modifications including a new large stove, and everything in good working order. It enjoys panoramic views of the countryside and bay and provides plenty of room for gathering. The adjoining dining room is large and friendly. The upper accommodation easily caters for large parties by way of bathroom amenities and the bedrooms are equipped with excellent quality linens and towels. There is ample space for either interaction or resting quietly and the gardens have plenty of lawn with abundant trees and shrubs. We found particularly attractive and most unusual a beautiful, large slate table situated at the rear of the Rectory garden, which was part of a BBQ area and enjoyed stunning views of the bay.

Owner's reply: This is terrific to hear your appreciation for the recent modifications, views, house and increasing standards. The slate table is unusual and the huge slabs have been come out of what had been a "dairy" before. The shopping opportunities are surprisingly good in this small town of Newport. The Wholefood shop is amazing, the real butcher, fish shop and bakery offers the highest standards of fresh foods in a wonderful friendly atmosphere. You don't need to go anywhere else. The wholefood shop will deliver as well. Welcome back anytime.

“Paradise”

Reviewed 10 Oct 2011

As if the coast and countryside around it weren't enough, the Old Rectory and its grounds are an utter joy. The gardens are filled with trees and places to dine al fresco - eating breakfast while taking in the sweeping cliffs and bay is recommended - and the rooms are comfortable and spacious and the open areas, such as the lounges and kitchen, are well-equipped and positively homely. They even have a piano. The house is situated away from the not-very-busy main road, but close enough to shops in Newport and is in easy reach of Haverfordwest and Fishguard to the south and Cardigan to the north. Walks along the coastal paths nearby are delightful and the scenery is both dramatic and enchanting. Perhaps we were just lucky with the weather, but the sun shone for us nearly every day. Our only gripe was, we had only booked for a week! Thank you for a brilliant holiday (and one we hope to repeat next year).

Owner's reply: I am so happy that you felt that the house and grounds are an "utter joy". Lovely that the piano gets used so much. It resonates well in the stone flagged hallway and has a traditional piano stool and some music books in the library. Many guests return for this very reason. The garden is quite extensive so I am glad that you found places to dine al fresco. There are two main slate tables and lots of movable benches and chairs. The high stone wall and trees do protect it from stronger breezes so sun bathing, dancing, picnics and meditation are often more comfortable in the garden than down on the beach. Some groups have ALL their meals outside which is fun. This is such a wonderful response for any owner to receive. Thank you so much Deanna

“Utterly Perfect”

Reviewed 9 Oct 2011

Gelli Olau is a wonderful mix of Paradise and Home. Our family celebrated a very important day whilst we were there and the whole house and garden offered a perfect venue for us to share an unforgettable time together. The facilities are gorgeous and practical for extended groups, with a sense of spaciousness so everyone can find some quiet moments for themselves whilst enjoying the party! We all loved our time at Gelli Olau and will return as often as possible.

Owner's reply: Thank you for sharing your positive visit for your important celebration at The Old Rectory, also known as Gelli-Olau (it's Welsh name). Your experience of feeling "at home" and also "in paradise" is just what drew me to buy the property 26 years ago. Over the years the renovations and improvements have been focused to enhance both those home and paradise mix. I do feel that the house somehow has a soul of it's own and the old walls both absorb and reflect the long years of deeply happy experiences. Good that you were able to have a quiet time in cosy rooms or "join the party" in the 2 living rooms and garden. This is a fact that I should accent more. The 3 floors, the layout of rooms, large spaces, and some internal thick stone walls helps enable the sound reduction as well. Welcome back any time. Deanna

“Absolutely Wonderful”

Reviewed 4 Oct 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely home. The views from all the rooms are so beautiful, the furniture, the feeling of space and timelessness, the walls seemed to speak to you. The garden was very tranquil and we were so close to the water, the light and the colours. We left there (very reluctantly) feeling relaxed and at ease. Would happily go back any time, lovely for a large family get together because it is so spacious or, for us, just some much needed R&R

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for coming and sharing your experience. It is precious to to hear that it met your need for "R&R". The house is suitable for many things like parties and workshops, but that feeling of "space and timelessness" is a rare and restorative gift that the house and garden is abundant in offering. It warms my heart that you both felt it and have been willing to share it on this forum. That feeling was there when I bought the house over 25 years ago. The major renovations over the years have been intended to enhance what was always there. Welcome back any time. Deanna

Review 1-10 of 25

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

451272 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57913 properties

Wales Holidays

6667 properties

Pembrokeshire Holidays

1252 properties

North Wales

3,078 properties

Pembrokeshire

1,252 properties

South Wales

665 properties

Powys

562 properties

Ceredigion

469 properties

Carmarthenshire

442 properties

Tenby

160 properties

Pembroke

109 properties

Saundersfoot

109 properties

Haverfordwest

104 properties

Newport

104 properties

Fishguard

70 properties

Milford Haven

26 properties

Pembroke Dock

11 properties

Crymych

11 properties

Nolton

10 properties

Pontfaen

8 properties

Moylegrove

8 properties

Penally

7 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.