Forest Lodge – Home 465646 Log cabin
- 2 bedrooms
- 4 sleeps
- min stay varies
Forest Lodge – Home 465646
- Log cabin
- 2 bedrooms
- sleeps 4
- min stay varies
Log cabin / 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 4
- Beach / lakeside relaxation
- Nearest beach 20 km
- Child friendly
- Car advised
- Pet friendly
- Private garden
Description from owner
- Great for children of all ages
- Pets welcome
- Cot available
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: King Bed
Bedroom 2: Super King Bed
- 1 Family bathroom, 1 Shower room
- Wi-Fi available
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- Private garden
- Balcony or terrace
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- High chair available
- Satellite TV
- DVD player
- CD player
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Damage deposit: £275.00
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated::
- 04 Jun 2018
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
This Log cabin has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 20 May 2013. Located in Hampshire, it has 150 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from $527 to $1525.
The Owner has a response rate of 90% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 04 Jun 2018.
Map and how to get there
– based on 150 reviews
- Very Good
“Wonderful stay in excellent, quality accommodation. Loved it!”
Secluded chalet with horses, donkeys, cattle all appearing at our gate which is by the green. Luxurious facilities, very well equipped with lovely furnishings, bedding, towels etc. Easy and quick access to the New Forest, for endless walks. Good pubs nearby and a superb farm shop just up the road. The property was quite difficult to find as their is no name at the drive entrance and it is tucked away behind another property. This did not detract from our stay.
“Lovely setting and lodge, shame about the rude owner and lack of usable functionalities”
Upon arriving in the rain we noticed that the green (and ditch) leading to the lodge was getting boggy, I called to find out how to get to the lodge under theee circumstances. Ian to be told if made him miss a really important confrance call and everything had been sent in an email (which I did not have and asked him to resend) he then said he can’t do this whilst on the phone to be and would do it in 15 minutes after the call that was more important than our paying custom (his words not mine). He was sure he’d sent this email, as that’s all he kept saying during the 10 minute phone call, after going back and forth he then finally told me the instructions over the phone. (The email was then sent from someone else, this may have been the cause of me not receiving it in my inbox). I’d sent him the additional hot tub fee, however until the day of our arrival he had not noticed, therefore unless checked we would not have have access to it. The fire place nor heating worked. The bifold door would not open. The BBQ two canisters has ran out, he then told me to go to the cottage next door and use theirs, which they were using so I couldn’t. We then spent over and hour cooking a burger at at time on the small hob provided. Our phones could also not connect to the speakers after following all the relevant instructions. Aside from that, the location is lovely, there were horses, donkeys and cows roaming around making it a very peaceful setting. Also it is only a 25 minute drive to Bournemouth Beach which is a lovely day out. It is clean and a reasonable size for 4 adults, there are dvds/Xbox/games etc so you would struggle to be bored. Unfortunately we would not stay here again purely down to the very poor customer service we received.
Owner's reply: We emailed this guest and all guests a welcome pack well in advance and we also say in the booking email Lou should receive in 1-2 days and if you don't please tell us immediately so we can send it and please don't leave it until the last minute as it contains address directions etc and how to use the facilities for cooking in forest corner etc. This guest ignored all that and phoned at 10pm on a Friday asking for directions which we did give. There's a spare gas bottle and we told them instantly it ran out where the spare was. She was always going to leave a bad review because she wasn't happy when we said you really should not have left it this late to tell us you hadn't got directions at 10pm in the evening. Forest corner has all the cooking facilities they required.
Looking for a weekend away from hustle and bustle of life. This is a lovely get away. Quiet and relaxing lodge. Very clean on arrival and easy to find. Had a couple of problems with accommdation and feedback to owners who were her responsive. Higjly recommend and will be staying there again soon.
Just came back from an amazing stay at Forest Lodge! A big, big thank you to Ian for all your help and communication and for letting me book on the same day. The place was perfect, clean bedding, towels, cutlery, amenities all as described, a document that provided all answers to any questions you could have possibly asked!! And a few welcome bits too!☺️ The hot tub was awesome! Yes, the floors are a bit uneven, but I suspect this is due to people not drying before coming in from the hot tub, personally I thought it added character and not a problem at all. Location was great, secluded and easy to get to. Again, thank you to Ian for letting us stay and being so understanding - I called to say I had broken a glass while cleaning, his exact response was 'that's ok, these things happen' - 5* host!! Hope to be back in summer, although being in the hot tub in the snow was an experience!
“Pleasant and comfy stay”
We went away for my girlfriends birthday and were pleasantly surprised with price ,quality and comfort. A lovely surrounding and peaceful escape
“Listen to your customers”
First of all I would just like to say to the owner how important it is that you take on your customers comments, it is constructive criticism. I appreciate that at some point the lodge was a 5*, however due to the lack of care and and passion for the property this is no longer the case. I booked as a last minute break and read the reviews after I had booked, so we had prepared ourselves that we would not be getting what we First thought. We arrived at about 6.30pm, the owner had given us the wrong code for the key lock, as I had seen his response to the reviews I was nervous about contacting him. About 5 minutes of trying the wrong code I contacted him and we got in. We were greeted with wet towels and bedding hanging EVERYWHERE on the doors, on the coat stand and on the chairs, I suggest that maybe you should change cleaning companies or have a meeting about your expectations because what we walked into was not acceptable and I appreciate that this is down to the cleaners and not yourself. Also the LED lights in the kitchen need securing as a line of it was on the floor. Our only main issue was the flooring, this needs to be fixed as a matter of urgency, I won't repeat what is already stated in previous reviews as we had the same issues and it is down to the owner to pay attention and act on them. The property just needs abit of TLC and someone who genuinely cares about it. I would like to say that the bed and bedding were amazing, we had 2 very good night's of sleep.
Owner's reply: Glad you had a good nights sleep on comfy beds. Towels and bedding are laundered each time, beds made with fresh linen and towels in neat piles and the cleaning company are very reliable and have been doing this throughout the 5* reviews so it doesn't quite match your feedback.
“Absoloute con artists, avoid staying here at all costs!”
After reading some previous reviews I found there to be quite a few that had the same problem, mainly being that the lodge is not up to a good standard and some even mentioning that they were told they had to leave good feedback or they wouldn’t receive they’re security deposit back. I decided to book anyway as a last minute weekend away, I wish I hadn’t. Firstly the lodge is in need of repair, it seems the wood beams under the floor have bowed which has meant the laminate flooring is like a spring board when you walk on it and not very safe. The state of the property needs resolving, the shower head leaks at night giving meaning you hear a loud drip, we had to put a towel down to stop the sound. The bottom of the shower screen is very mouldy and needs replacing and don’t get me started on the discusting toilet brush that looks like it’s been used to clean a sewer. The hot tub outside is an extra charge if you want to use it which is stated in with all the info on the booking page, however it’s at a cost of £95, I managed to get it at a discounted rate of £49 (this is a cleaning fee to get it set up for you however I’ve stayed in lodges with hot tubs and have never been charged this) - however it didn’t seem very clean at all, there was sand in the bottom and the cover is all ripped and mouldy. Now for the best bit, I received an email from the owner a few days later asking how my stay was. Then a week later we I received a email with a photo of the bread bin that was broken (pulled apart) and stating that the owner was holding back £35 from my security deposit (funny how it took them over a week to send this photo to me). After a few emails back and forth in which I explained that the bread bin already seemed to be falling apart but it was left still useable and completely intact, however the owner seemed to ignore this and we were completely put at blame for the breadbin and I have had to loose £35 from my returned deposit (I accepted the claim for the money in the end as I could see I wasn’t getting anywhere with the owner and just wanted the rest of my deposit back). I’m sure the owner will leave a reply to my feedback making up stuff like he has done to all other bad feedback. I will just note some things quickly that I’m sure he will bring up, firsty yes I know that the security deposit is held by trip advisor however he has the ability to determine what gets refunded. Secondly yes I know you have lots of 5 star reviews but they seem to be quite dated now and also the thought does pop into my mind of how many of those reviews had been written under the threat of loosing their deposit. Please save yourself the hassle and avoid staying here.
Owner's reply: Thankfully most guests dont cause damage and are honest, these were not and lie. Here is the proof. They caused damage and when trip advisor independently reviewed the photographic evidence and statements from the cleaning company and the separate independent inspection team they awarded the claim to us. Yes trip advisor hold deposits and they decide. No we cannot force anyone to leave a review to any * standard as trip advisor hold deposits and return these unless there is strong evidence provided damage was definately caused and by those guests and that there's a paid recepted invoice from a legitimate independent provider. Trip advisor decide not us. Feel free to check direct with trip advisor. This guest is dishonest just like their review motivated by having to pay a few pounds for the damage they caused. Always check with trip advisor don't believe these guests.
We had such a lovely time at forest lodge,the perfect place to relax. So comfortable and had everything we needed. Weather was superb so enjoyed sitting outside too
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here! We were welcomed on arrival by some ponies that we watched most of the weekend from the comfort of the living room! The accommodation was clean cosy and included everything we need for an escape! The lodge was lovely and cosy and had all the mod cons we needed and more. Brilliant quiet location but only a short drive to shops and pubs etc with lots to explore. There was just 2 of us but would have been ample room for 4! Would highly recommend this if you are looking for some clean, smart, cosy and relaxing!
“Comfortable and relaxing”
We had a lovely weekend away celebrating my partners 40th birthday. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and in an ideal location. The fact we could take the dog was a real added bonus. All in all it was a great trip.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours