from £24 / night help Price for guests, Nights

VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

KERARAPONY HOME - STAY HOUSE – Home 461992 House

  • 5 bedrooms
  • 12 sleeps
  •  min stay varies
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

KERARAPONY HOME - STAY HOUSE – Home 461992

Excellent Excellent – based on 16 reviews

  • House
  • 5 bedrooms
  • sleeps 12
  •  min stay varies

House / 5 bedrooms / 6 bathrooms / sleeps 12

Key Info

  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

A friendly budget bed & breakfast with a maximum occupancy of ten adults

A FRIENDLY BUDGET BED & BREAKFAST WITH A MAX OCCUPANCY OF TEN ADULTS...

At Kerarapony House we are ideal for that group that is travelling together. We pride ourselves in meeting the needs of that guest who is looking for substance in their travels especially when it involves interaction with the locals. Many travelers tired of hotel rooms are finding us a warm alternative as they relate with Kenya at a friendly, comfortable, personal and individual level.

Kerarapony house is also ideal for unwinding and relaxing as we are close to Karen and yet far from the noises of the city. Our grounds are well manicured and ideal for small parties outdoors. We have catered to chama groups, corporate groups and families looking for a neutral place to meet and enjoy their companions.

Our guests have the option of booking a room(s) or reserving the entire house. Booking the house assures one of

A friendly budget bed & breakfast with a maximum occupancy of ten adults

A FRIENDLY BUDGET BED & BREAKFAST WITH A MAX OCCUPANCY OF TEN ADULTS...

At Kerarapony House we are ideal for that group that is travelling together. We pride ourselves in meeting the needs of that guest who is looking for substance in their travels especially when it involves interaction with the locals. Many travelers tired of hotel rooms are finding us a warm alternative as they relate with Kenya at a friendly, comfortable, personal and individual level.

Kerarapony house is also ideal for unwinding and relaxing as we are close to Karen and yet far from the noises of the city. Our grounds are well manicured and ideal for small parties outdoors. We have catered to chama groups, corporate groups and families looking for a neutral place to meet and enjoy their companions.

Our guests have the option of booking a room(s) or reserving the entire house. Booking the house assures one of total privacy and liberty to go and come as they wish. This option also comes with self-catering although we also provide chefs and caretakers for our guests whenever needed. The rates for the entire house self catering is $200 per night, however the advertised rates are per person per night excluding breakfast.

We provide personalized service and offer free consultation on where to visit so that you can get the most out of your visit. The neighborhood is safe and ideal for country walks and bike riding. The scenery is beautiful, cool and has lots of trees as we are near the Ngong forest. In addition we enjoy the breeze from the nearby Ngong hills.

We are about fifteen minutes drive from Karen, which abounds with a number of interesting places and sites. Apart from the five star restaurants around such as Carnivore, we are ideally located for short trips to places such as the Sheldrick Elephant sanctuary, the Giraffe Centre and Kazuri beads. It is recommended that our guests should have the opportunity to drive through the only national park in the world located within a city, The Nairobi National Park.

The five bedroom house can hold up to 11 people comfortably but we have room for a floor mattress when needed. Four of the five bedrooms are en-suite with spacious bathrooms (hot showers). Fresh towels and toiletries are provided including mosquito nets for each bed. The lounge which is large and comfortable has a fireplace for the cold evenings and a separate dining room. The house has its own gate and garden where you can unwind and bask under the African skies, day or night for that matter.

Galleria, the Hub and Karen malls are located within a 30 minute drive all with modern shops, cinemas and restaurants. Furthermore Karen hospital, open 24 hours, is only a 15 minute drive away should their services be required. A children’s theme park, a racetrack, a water park and a crocodile farm are other popular spots to enjoy with the family. There is something for everyone!

When you book with us you will be in the very capable hands of Jane and her team. Meals and laundry services are also available at a small fee but we require knowing in advance. Our success is to see our guests enjoy their trip.

Fun Fact: Kerarapon literary means cool in the masai language

Karibuni sana! Welcome home!

Location description from owner

The Nairobi region

Situated in the southern outskirts of Nairobi Kerarapon is one of the most beautiful and and desired places in Nairobi. The area is loved for its cool climate, unspoiled Ngong forest, breath taking scenery of Ngong hills , security and quietness as its far from the bustle and hustle of the city noises making it an ideal holiday destination for families and experienced travelers and those looking for peace and quite in a country setting.

Nairobi

The area which is surrounded by forests and hills is also known for its popularity with many tourist attractions. Karen/ Kerarapon area is the home of Giraffe center , The animal Orphanage, The Sheldrick Trust an elephant and Rhino sanctuary, the butterfly place, Kazuri beads, Karen Blixen museum and restaurant,. Take an early morning game drive in the Nairobi National Park which is only under an hour away or picnic at the beautiful and green Ngong hills only half and hour away. The famous Carnivore restaurant is in the neighborhood among many other exciting places to visit for adults and children, and of course the area is only 10 minutes away from modern malls and restaurants including Japanese restaurant, Chinese and other international cuisine restaurants. Ten minutes away is also the ultra modern Karen Hospital. come and enjoy the Kenyan hospitality in a local setting and make lasting friendships with local people. the airport is also only 40 minutes away.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed Single Bed
    Bedroom 2: Double Bed
    Bedroom 3: Double Bed
    Bedroom 4: Double Bed
    Bedroom 5: Double Bed
    Beds in other rooms: Double Bed
  • 5 En suites, 1 Toilet Only

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Staffed property
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Fax machine
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
Yes, smoking allowed
Cancellation policy
View Policy

House rules

We do allow for small parties as long as the noise does not disturb our neighbors.

More

About the owner

Jane Gathoni N
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
10 Mar 2017
Based in:
Kenya
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This House has 5 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms and sleeps 12. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 23 Oct 2013. Located in Nairobi, it has 16 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £164 to £1965.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 10 Mar 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 16 reviews Excellent
16 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
13
Very Good
2
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Best place ever”

Reviewed 1 Mar 2016

After being out of kenya for more than 10 yrs I needed a place to rest and entertain 2 kids am planning to adopt, this house served the purpose. The owner Jane is very friendly and ready to assist where possible. The Location is between Karen centre and Ngong hill and this made it easy to do all my all without going to city centre....Service is great...

Owner's reply: Thank you very much for your kind words.i am glad that you were able to rest and accomplish all the things you aspired to do in your trip and that we were of help. Karibu sana ! Hope to see you again in your next trip. Jane

“Great value, great service, home away from home atmosphere!”

Reviewed 1 Sep 2014

If you are looking for a clean and good value for your money, try this Homestay (Bed and Breakfast home) in Karen, Nairobi. Once you get away from the main street, you enter in a peaceful Homestay, nested in amongst a beautiful kept garden. We arranged for Jane, the owner of the home, to pick us up from the airport. She met us with a great big smile. Jane is the most soft spoken, gentle host who we liked instantly. It was as if we had known her forever! The bedrooms were very clean. The beds were very comfortable and there is mosquito netting encasing each bed. You will have no trouble with insects - we didn't see any in our 5 day stay. Each bedroom upstairs (3) came with their own bathrooms which were very clean and included a shower. The host sleeps on the main level to give her guests their privacy. Meals were delicious. You can just have breakfast (included in the homestay price) or should you want additional meals, mention to Jane and it will be made at a very reasonable price. Jane offered to chauffeur us around which we took advantage of. She charges minimally for her time, car and gas. She drove us around to the Elephant Sanctuary, the Giraffe Centre where you can have lip action with giraffe (a must see and do when you are in Nairobi), markets, restaurants etc. Should you need suggestions as to travel, she can get the information. For example, we wanted to head to the Diani coast for a few days. Jane worked her magic and away we went (LEOPARD RESORT). Should you want to go on a safari, Jane is the one to ask. Our safari camp was called "DUMA CAMP" in Masai Mara and it was perfect. We would definitely stay at this Home-Away-From-Home again. Thanks Jane!

Owner's reply: Asante sana for your kind words in your review. i am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our house thats why we are here. thank you again. and karibu sana! jane

“In one word ? Just Excellent !!”

Reviewed 24 Mar 2014

In my research for a good place to stay for a couple of days in Nairobi (area) I found the Kerarapony home of Jane Swinchatt. Nice pictures on the website. It did all look very well and the price level was fine. So I booked this location for 5 days. Arriving at Nairobi International Airport I was picked up by someone of the home (what a great service !!!). The trip took quite a while (the traffic in Nairobi is crazy at rush hour) but soon we entered a nice, green and quite area named Karen. Short after we did go "of road" up to the actual area were the home is located. Wow, what a nice location. A wonderfull forrested area, lots of flowers and quite. I mean really quite. Fresh air and a beautiful home in a secure and protected area. The rooms are specious and nice. Charlene the daughter of the owner took care of us during our stay. Very nice and friendly. Allways available with good advice. Even more she was the cook at the home and surprised me with a great breakfast every day. Instead of going out for lunch of diner - to be honest not easy, since it is far away from the city or nearby restaurants - we had our diner at the home. The meals were great. Good quality. Well done and prepared at the time we wanted them. What else to say. It was just excellent. Definately I will come back here !! I don't even will check for another location. Why should I ? This was perfect in every detail. Thanks for the great hospitallity. We have become friends in just a few days. Highly recommended !!

Owner's reply: i want to personally express my gratitude to you for choosing to stay in our house during your recent vist to Kenya and even more for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our place. We appreciate every kind word but especially your honesty. thank you. It is always our hope that our visitors will be pleased with our services as we enjoy sharing our home and showing our hospitality as well as forging new friendships. We are a growing venture ready to learn and improve ourselves and our services, so next time you visit, our services will be even better. Thank you and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future. jane

“It was really a nice place for our short-stay.Quiet,with good privacy neighbourhood.”

Reviewed 18 Dec 2013

The place was really nice.The host,picked us at the airport herself.The house we stayed at was nice,spacious,quite environment.We were always treated courteously.The meals were provided,and were delicous at that matter.We always choose our menu for the meals. I definately look forward to staying there again on my next vacation.

Owner's reply: Thank you for choosing to stay in our home during your recent visit to kenya. We are glad that your stay was great enjoyable and met your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again in your next visit. Jane

“splendid”

Reviewed 7 Dec 2013

our stay at KERARAPONY was awesome . the host picked us at the airport on time, the meals were delicious and timely. rooms were clean , self contained, and a change of beddings daily.variety modes of transport was availed at an affordable price. the host JANE were kind , and treated us with utmost courtesy. it was a great place other than the proximity to town. would recommend it to other visitors. located in a serene environment, quite and calm.

Owner's reply: Thank you very much for taking the time to review our holiday home . we do appreciate that very much. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us for it is our pleasure to show you the Kenyan hospitality. Our desire is to be the holiday home where our guests will always want to come back to.

Review 1-10 of 16

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Africa Holidays

10917 properties

South Africa

3,645 properties

Morocco

2,524 properties

Mauritius

1,041 properties

Kenya

665 properties

Egypt

565 properties

Cape Verde

354 properties

Tanzania

178 properties

Ghana

177 properties

Madagascar

147 properties

Gambia

115 properties

Mozambique

69 properties

Cameroon

60 properties

Algeria

39 properties

Ivory Coast

29 properties

Ethiopia

22 properties

Benin

22 properties

Botswana

20 properties

Malawi

11 properties

Tunisia

11 properties

Burundi

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.