Mundesley holiday house accommodation with beach/lake nearby, internet access, fireplace and TV

5 reviews

From the owner

  • House
  • 4 bedrooms
  • Sleeps 8
  • 2 nights min stay
Complete a booking on Holiday Lettings and get 10% discount on Viator experiences. Learn more
Book with confidence.
Pay by card or PayPal, through the Holiday Lettings website, to be covered by Payment Protection. Never pay by bank or wire transfer.

Key information

  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking. See Policies & House Rules
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Child friendly
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

From the owner

Dolittle Cottage is an imposing detached Victorian character cottage situated just 350 yards from the beautiful beach & shops in North Norfolk's quaint seaside village of Mundesley.

Sleeping up to 8 this spacious cottage is fully equipped and furnished to a high standard offering modern facilities whilst maintaining the relaxed and elegant ambience of the Victorian era with some quirky bits!.

Personal touches throughout ensure a peaceful calming atmosphere for guests of all ages.

*2 minutes stroll to the beach,shops and amenities

*5 Miles from the nearest train station (North Walsham)

*Ample On street free,unlimited parking

*Comprehensive welcome pack ( including home produced eggs from our own hens-subject to availability).

*Friday changeover day only for ,full weeks during peak and school holiday weeks

*.1 night minimum stay throughout the rest of the year,please enquire for short breaks

*Low occupancy discounts available with use of less bedrooms (excluding peak season)

*Available all year round ( 3 night minimum during the festive season).

*Personally owned and managed

*4 bedrooms,(four poster bed in master bedroom),

*Victorian feature fireplaces in most bedrooms

*Sea glimpses from the top floor twin bedroom

*Quality linen provided

Please note:small guest towels & tea towels are provided however please remember to bring your own BATH & BEACH TOWELS & any cot bedding as they are NOT provided.

*Travel cot available on request (please bring cot bedding)

*Childrens safety high chair

*Retractable Stairgates fitted on all floors

*A selection of games,books and toys provided for all ages

*2 bathroom/shower rooms (roll top bath in the family bathroom,double shower with seating)plus ground floor cloakroom,3 W.C's in total.

*2 reception rooms,(feature fireplaces in both).

*40 inch TV/DVD with Freeview

*Sky Package

*Free WiFi

*Childrens table and chairs (for our younger guests) in the dining room

*Bespoke Fitted kitchen and separate utility room

*Electric double oven range cooker

*Full size Fridge freezer

*Washing Machine


*Private,fully enclosed sunny garden with seating and small BBQ ( starter pack included)

Please be aware we operate a strict NO PETS policy at the cottage at all times

Strictly NO SMOKING Inside the cottage.

Sorry,we do not accept groups of under 25 years of age,hen or stag parties.

The Village:

Mundesley is a quaint,unspoilt seaside village,steeped in history and increasingly popular with visitors of all ages,maintaining the olde worlde charm of bygone years.

The award winning blue flag sandy beach (manned with RNLI lifeguards during the summer season),is particularly stunning,with breathtaking walks along North Norfolks beautiful unspoilt coastline.

The village itself is superbly located and well served by local shops,activities and amenities in the area are plentiful catering for all ages and tastes to include:

*Gift Shop/Gallery


*Pubs & Restaurants

*Fish & Chip shops

*Chinese Take Away



*Post office

*Tesco Express & Mace Stores

*Garages(inc petrol)




*Hardware Shop

*Medical Centre


*Golf Course(9 hole) & Driving Range

*Crazy Golf

*Childrens Playground with Zip Wire

*Outdoor Mini Gym

*Skateboard Park

*Beach Cafe

*Windmill (open to visitors) etc.

If guests care to venture a little further afield,Cromer(famous for its crabs and Pier),Sheringham,Holt,Wells Next The Sea & Blakeney are just a short drive along the stunning Norfolk coastline to the West.

To the East,Horsey(seal colonies in their natural environment),Great Yarmouth,Happisburgh (lighthouse) etc are all within easy reach.Activities within North Norfolk are in abundance with festivals,galleries,bird watching,seal boat trips,to name but a few.

Once guests experience the magic of Mundesley and North Norfolk,they will return time and time again!

More Less


Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
  • Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
  • Bedroom 3: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4: 2 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 Shower room, 1 Toilet Only


  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • High chair available


  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users


  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Linen provided

Show all amenities Show fewer amenities

Interaction with guest

All bed linen is provided and beds made up fpr guests arrival. Please advise if a travel cot is required for your stay (if so please bring your own cot bedding). Hand towels and tea towles are provided but please bring your own BATH & BEACH TOWELS as they are NOT provided.;




Cancellation policy

Full refund

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

No refund

No refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.

100% refund100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
Booking confirmed
No refundNo refund If you cancel, any money you have paid cannot be refunded.
24 hours after booking
Check-in date
* This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

Things to know

Check in: 16:00 Check out: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.


This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: £150.00

See more


No smoking at this property

House rules

The owner operates a strict no smoking, no candles and no pet / animal policy at the property. No bicycles are permitted at the property. The owner reserves the right to terminate the booking with immediate effect if any of the above points are not adhered to. No monies paid will be refunded if a booking is terminated for breach of these terms. Please note however that smoking is permitted outside the property for which an ash tray is provided.

See more

About the owner

Sharon H.
Average reply time:
2 hours 11 minutes

Calendar updated:
19 May 2022

Years listed:

Based in:
United Kingdom
Languages spoken: English
This House has 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and sleeps 8. It has been listed on Holiday Lettings since 31 Aug 2017. Located in Norfolk, it has 5 reviews with an overall rating of 3.5. The average weekly rate is £2068.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 19 May 2022.
This property is hosted by a consumer and not a business. Bookings of their property may not be covered by EU or UK consumer protection laws. However, the Tripadvisor Rentals companies will provide you with the same customer service as with any other stay.

These are the details provided by the business owner.

Business Name

Business Address

Business Telephone

Business Email

Other Applicable Information


5 reviews
Very Good
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer

Spacious house
Oct 2021

A spacious house with quirky aspects and plenty of amenities. Short walk to beach, pub and shops. Large kitchen and utility room. The house sleeps 8, but the lounge doesn’t seat 8. Sun trap cour… More 

Reviewed 9 Oct 2021


Wonderful stay
Aug 2021

We had a wonderful long weekend in Doolittle cottage. Lovely big Victorian house with tons of room for us all. The house has gorgeous original features! Thank you for the lovely afternoon tea on are a… More 

Reviewed 1 Sep 2021

Pamela C

Perfect in every way
Feb 2020

Thank you for such an unexpected welcome at this wonderful spacious property. Plus we were able to park easily. On arrival we had a lovely cream tea which was greatly appreciated after our journey. Th… More 

Reviewed 27 Apr 2020

Judy K

Poor attention to detail
Aug 2019

The house is a great location, walking distance to the beach in an unspoilt and friendly village. And the house is large and comfortably accommodates 8 people. Unfortunately the owner pays more attent… More 

Reviewed 31 Aug 2019

Owner's reply:
I usually have great guests but unfortunately this group didn’t fall into that category in any shape or form.I personally manage the cottage and attention to detail for the comfort of my guests is of the utmost importance. Just to clarify some of the comments made,these guests were responsible for several breakages,most of which were hidden in the hope that we didn’t find them,however a complete infantry is carried out together by myself and my cleaner between each changeover,hence we found the breakages and there were many along with unnecessary damage caused by these guests,all of which I sent photos of proof to Trip Advisor (before they authorised the deduction for the broken toaster etc)along with the text messages admitting to broken items. I deducted the amount ONLY for a replacement toaster (.a nominal amount)which was totally broken and not able to be repaired and would have been entitled to deduct much more due to numerous items damaged,including a 6 inch gash in the plaster in the wall in the entrance hall,which again went unreported when the damage occurred during their stay. The cottage is fully equipped to a high standard and is a true reflection of the photos shown on the listing,with ample surfaces throughout left clear for guests use. Any damage must be reported during guests stays as per contract and stated in house rules in the guest book at the cottage however nothing was reported,even a message complimenting the cottage etc left in the guest book to say they had enjoyed their stay! The knob on the toaster was broken(by these guests) and hidden underneath it,(presumably in the hope we wouldn’t realise)so too were broken kitchen utensils left in the drawer(I have text messages from the guest admitting to this).The lights are switched on for the comfort of guests on their arrival,not left on permanently!!The chimneys are not swept as they are not in use and are capped,so how they can say they weren’t swept is beyond me!The bath does not leak(it is an original Victorian metal roll top bath in good order) and the cupboards are cleaned regularly and checked weekly.There are a total of three chairs in the bedrooms (as per listing photos),wardrobes in both double bedrooms with storage ,clothes rails plus storage cupboards in ALL bedrooms. I admit on this occasion I had forgotten the oven glove (for which I apologised to the guest)however there is always a hand towel left in the kitchen for guests use.The airier was broken by the previous guests who left that day and I pointed this out to these guests ( I was unaware the previous guests had broken it until we carried out the weekly infantry, and didn’t wish for these guests not to know it was already broken,however they said no replacement needed during their stay as there was a long washing line in the garden if needed). There was a drain issue(again unreported) which I realised once the guests had left which was rectified within 3 hours and before the next guests arrived that day. Had this been reported as per houses rules it would have been addressed immediately,however that was not the case. It appears that despite leaving a message in the guest book (stating they enjoyed their stay) that sadly this review was written only when the damage deposit was adjusted(only for the toaster). I would not recommend these guests to any host due to being disrespectful of the cottage and not adhering to the few house rules in place. I would be more than happy to discuss the comments made with any potential guest and share the photos of the damage along with the text proof admitting breakages if required. I have personally owned and managed holiday cottages for several years and most guests are wonderful,sadly on this occasion that was not the case.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer

Nice Homey property
Mar 2018

The property is a short walk from the beach. It is very clean and the owner went out of her way arranging an easter egg hunt for the children and a cream tea on arrival. Children friendly and homely … More 

Reviewed 4 Apr 2018

Owner's reply:
Thankyou so much for being wonderful guests,you were a pleasure to host,hope to see you again! Kindest regards, Sharon
Review 1-5 of 5


How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Sharon (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Sharon (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Sharon (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Sharon the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Sharon (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Sharon (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Sharon (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Sharon (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Sharon (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Sharon (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Sharon (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Sharon (the owner) a message.

If Sharon (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Also consider

Europe Holidays

399551 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

57822 properties

England Holidays

41086 properties

East Anglia Holidays

3241 properties


2,171 properties


1,070 properties

Great Yarmouth

201 properties


129 properties


120 properties


117 properties


110 properties

King's Lynn

89 properties

Burnham Market

82 properties


76 properties


62 properties


50 properties


42 properties


41 properties


38 properties


38 properties

Old Hunstanton

36 properties


34 properties

Brancaster Staithe

26 properties


25 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Still have questions?

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

5 reviews


/ night
5 reviews


/ night