from
£57 / night
Price for guests, Nights

Llechwedd Fwyalchen – Home 299452 Farmhouse

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  • 7 nights min stay

Key Info

  • Nearest beach 33 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car essential
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Detached self-catered farmhouse close to Llanuwchllyn south of Lake Bala. It is both spacious and cosy, well furnished and equipped, with magnificent views of the lakes and mountains. Set high above the Afon Dyfrdwy and the bustle of life, there are mountains and lakes on the doorstep, with beaches, castles, watersports, riding and golf nearby.

Inside, the farmhouse has been refurbished, has full central heating and provides superbly appointed holiday accommodation. There is a boot room leading into a large dining room with a well equipped kitchen beyond and an adjoining sitting room with a multi-fuel stove. Stairs lead up to three double bedrooms, one with a king sized bed and the others each with twin single beds. There are quilts and pillows for winter or summer use for all beds. So that you know the quality of bed linen you'll be sleeping in, and to keep our prices low, we're now requesting our guests bring their own bed linen. Please also bring your own towels and tea towels.

There is a large bathroom with walk-in electric shower and a deep roll top bath.

Outside there is a secure garden, with a patio area to the side of the property and a lawned area behind.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
    Bedroom 3: 2 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Hair dryer

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

Although a car is almost essential, there is a regular bus service between Wrexham and Barmouth that passes within 10 minutes walk of the house.

Policies

Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £100.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

Well behaved pets welcome by agreement and subject to 'house rules', including bringing their own bedding and keeping them off furniture. (Please mention pets in the enquiry, and note the additional charge.)

More

About the owner

Jonathan T.
Average reply time:
2 hours 48 minutes
Response rate:
87%
Calendar updated:
22 Jan 2020
Years listed:
7
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:
4_5

Languages spoken: English

This Farmhouse has 3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 10 Jan 2013. Located in Bala, it has 15 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £396 to £894.

The Owner has a response rate of 87% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 22 Jan 2020.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good
15 reviews

Excellent
11
Very Good
2
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

“de locatie is prima, het uitzicht fantastisch”

Reviewed 13 Sep 2017

We hadden een mooie vakantie in het huis, vooral voor het uitzicht zou ik er opnieuw logeren. Het staat heel afgelegen, te bereiken via een heel hobbelige weg waarover je echt heel traag moet rijden. Het huis zelf is middelmatig, het heeft wel alles wat nodig is, is gezellig oud maar er hangt een muffe geur. De zetel in de living is zeker niet comfortabel, erg versleten. Ook het tweepersoonsbed lag niet gemakkelijk, onder de matras was een stuk hout gelegd maar niet over de hele breedte waardoor je op de rand van het hout lag. We hebben er dan maar de kussen van beneden bijgelegd.

Owner's reply: We're glad you enjoyed the location and the views from the cottage. You visited after the farmhouse had been empty for a while and we appreciate that it had not 'warmed up'. Thanks for the comment about the seating - we will look to upgrade this before your return visit.

“Needs a good scrubbing”

Reviewed 4 Jun 2017

Arrived on Sat 27th May with my wife and two very excited children aged 6 and 4. Directions to the house were very good and we found the place quite easily. The track up to the house was extremely long, bumpy and very slow which the kids loved. The house is set in a beautiful location amongst a working farm surrounded by fields of sheep and cattle with views of lake Bala in the distance. Great, so far so good is what I thought. Well that all completely changed upon entering the house. The smell we were quite literally hit with upon opening the door was awful. Stale old wet dog!!!! Even the children gasped and held their noses. Now both our parents have dogs and we are quite used to the smell but this was overwhelming. As we explored around the house the smell somehow got even worse as we went upstairs. We opened all windows in the house but the smell stayed for the whole week. So after the initial disappointment of the smell we then started to unload the car. My wife bought all the food products etc into the kitchen to be met with a filthy sink, washing up bowl, drainer, kettle and chopping board. The fridge was disgusting, full of crumbs, staines and grime. The oven was even worse. Thankfully we bought kitchen cleaner with us and spent the next hour cleaning the grubby kitchen. After that we sat down on the smelly sofa and noticed that the arm had a 10inch square of black gaffer tape all over it. Obviously a poor attempt at hiding a tear or hole. The cushions on the sofa were completely covered with white/grey dog hair. We immediatly removed them and put them in the corner of the dining room along with the two revolting brown beanbags that stunk and were covered in stains and hair. The dog hair was also all over the floor of the lounge. We then had to use a useless dirty hoover to try and clean the floors. The hoover was full after we had vacuumed the whole house. I mean the list goes on. Dirty mirrors, dirty windows, dirty bath, overgrown lawn etc No one should have to arrive on holiday and clean the place first. We emailed the owners to let them know how disappointed we were and received a few sentences about how they too are disappointed. No apology or anything. It's such a shame as this house has so much potential. Would we come back? No Would we recommend it? No

Owner's reply: We're sorry that you did not find the cottage as clean as you would have liked. On receiving your initial message, of course we spoke with the two housekeepers who had been in to find out whether something had gone wrong. We do think that you had arrived before mopped floors had a chance to dry. The kitchen had, as usual, been cleaned but it seems that our remote 200 year old mountainside farmhouse could not meet with your expectations. You did not like our standard of fridge and oven cleaning, sink bleaching and kettle de-scaling. We are a dog friendly house with a Dyson Animal vacuum for the removal of the worst of dog hairs but admit that some are more difficult than others. We do hope you find more a more appropriate location for your next holiday.

“A comfortable cosy cottage in another world :-)”

Reviewed 27 Feb 2017

We took our 3 children and 2 dogs away for half term. We did not expect amazing weather in Wales in Feb, but we did not expect storm Doris either! Regardless, the cottage is so cosy and warm, and the … More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review and please do come back at a less stormy time. We find that sitting in the garden with the "world beneath your feet" is a truly calming experience.

“What a view!”

Reviewed 6 Jul 2015

What an amazing place. Lovely house, remember it is old so not perfect!! Very clean and easy to find. Never stayed anywhere with such fabulous views. It feels so remote yet is near to the A494. Great… More

Owner's reply: Thank you. We agree that a summer evening in the garden with mountains all around does make the place rather special. We'll be starting some 'renewal' in the early autumn, so do come back to see what we've done!

“An idyllic cottage in a delightful area”

Reviewed 13 Jun 2015

I found the cottage to be absolutely charming, perfectly equipped for a comfortable stay. We instantly felt at home and especially loved a roaring fire in the evening and waking up to the stunning vie… More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your kind review. We try to make the cottage a 'home from home', and we'll be continuing to add both herbs and flowers to the garden.

“Comfortable, spacious accommodation with all the mod cons”

Reviewed 20 Apr 2014

Our family had a really pleasant stay in this lovely cottage. Apart from being spacious, it has a very well-equipped kitchen which includes a dishwasher and washing machine and reliable wi-fi. The onl… More

Owner's reply: We're pleased you liked the farmhouse and glad that the Wi-Fi was useful and reliable. We continue to add things when we can, so that our guests will feel at home.

“Wonderful cottage, great location”

Reviewed 25 Mar 2014

Had a lovely relaxing week in Llechwedd Fwyalchen cottage. Fed the log burner with branches found on our wanders, but cottage was perfectly warm throughout. Generous bath, cottage comfortable through… More

Owner's reply: We're pleased you found it peaceful, and with the neighbours some distance away, we don't think they would notice if you wanted to wash yourselves in loud music from time to time. We'll be wanting to get up there ourselves soon to see the new season's lambs, and ensure that the place is ready for others to enjoy.

“Heaven in the mountains”

Reviewed 26 Dec 2013

My wife and daughter call it the best holiday ever. Even Grizzly loved it and has taken to us more after a fantastic week in the mountains. The cottage is ideally located and has all the amenities req… More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review. Visitor comments help us to make Llechwedd Fwyalchen a really great place to stay. To ensure that cosy glow of a real fire on top of the central heating system we will try to supply a list of local places and times that guests can buy more firewood. We hope that you will return to the area during other seasons of the year.

“A little piece of heaven perfect to relax and unwind”

Reviewed 16 Oct 2013

Stunning, cosy cottage hidden away from the rest of the world ideal location to do nothing but relax. Breathtaking views, pretty walks up to the mountains via an amazing secluded waterfall. The photos of the inside of the cottage do not do it justice as it is much bigger and there is a large dining room which was an added bonus. The log fire was so cosy on a cold October evening after a rather wet and quiet unpleasant climb up mount snowdon in the wind and fog. The garden was enclosed which was perfect for our dog Oscar and the cleanliness of the cottage was faultless. We will defiantly recommend to all and hope to return again during the summer.

Owner's reply: We're delighted that you enjoyed our spacious cottage, where the word "cosy" perhaps best describes the ability of the heating system to keep it 'toasty warm' when it's rather autumnal outside. The glow of the log fire is a bonus. You'll find the tranquillity of the house a joy during all seasons, so please try it again for a spring or summer break.

“Perfect holiday getaway!”

Reviewed 1 Sep 2013

I have to say that I agree with the previous reviewer - this cottage was truly a lovely place to stay, and if we could we would still be there! We found the cottage enchanting - clean and tidy, very … More

Owner's reply: We're pleased you liked our mountainside cottage and we're sorry that it's already booked up for the Christmas week this year. Having snow on the hilltops across the valley adds another element to the scenery. We hope you find another opportunity to return to this part of Wales.

Review 1-10 of 15

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Jonathan (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Jonathan (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Jonathan (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Jonathan the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Jonathan (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Jonathan (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Jonathan (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Jonathan (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Jonathan (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Jonathan (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Jonathan (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Jonathan (the owner) a message.

If Jonathan (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

516402 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

79081 properties

Wales Holidays

9839 properties

North Wales Holidays

4732 properties

Dolgellau

134 properties

Betws-y-Coed

97 properties

Bala

83 properties

Aberdovey

81 properties

Harlech

72 properties

Blaenau Ffestiniog

57 properties

Llanbedr

34 properties

Llwyngwril

33 properties

Penmachno

29 properties

Trawsfynydd

22 properties

Llanberis

22 properties

Dinas Mawddwy

18 properties

Abergynolwyn

15 properties

Bronaber

15 properties

Dolwyddelan

14 properties

Llanuwchllyn

13 properties

Capel Curig

10 properties

Rowen

9 properties

Pennal

9 properties

Trefriw

9 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.