L'Aldea holiday house rental with shared pool, beach/lake nearby, internet access and balcony/terrace

14 Reviews
Save

L'Aldea holiday house rental with shared pool, beach/lake nearby, internet access and balcony/terrace

From the owner

  • House
  • 5 bedrooms
  • Sleeps 10
  • 2 nights

Key information

  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking.  See Policies & House Rules
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 10 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car essential
  • No pets allowed

From the owner

COVID-19 notice

Tourism is the most important contributor to the economy of Spain.

The governments of Spain and Catalunya have been in constant communication with tourist operators with regard to making accommodation safe and available again.

Because 2020 was a difficult year for most people we are keeping our prices the same for 2021.

We have received clear instructions about how to prepare and clean our public areas and the swimming pool and we would like to reassure anyone contemplating coming to stay at Manna House that we have done everything possible to safeguard your health. Because of the outbreak we ask that guests in the Casita and in our other property, the Barn, take it in turns to use the pool. We will arrange a fair rota system for both properties. If you have any specific questions about this please get in touch.

Manna House Barn is a superb conversion of an old building and consists of 5 bedrooms with their own self-catering lounge and dining room, kitchen and barbecue area. It is set on a working olive, almond and carob finca (farm) in the beautiful Spanish countryside 15 minutes from some wonderful beaches.

Each bedroom has it's own en-suite bathroom and has underfloor heating, ensuring that bare feet will still feel warm in winter on our beautiful tiled floors.

All the gas that we use is bottled propane and is very clean. All electricity is full domestic supply and is powered entirely by the sun through our own bank of solar panels and batteries. The batteries do not provide enough power for hair dryers, coffee machines or mobile air conditioning units so please leave these at home.

We also have our own borehole for water which is 230m deep, ensuring clean fresh water all year. We encourage our guests to use water wisely. It is such a precious resource and we try to be as efficient as possible with its use; for example we use the water from the washing up to water the trees outside the property and we encourage people not to leave taps running while brushing their teeth or washing their hands.

The finca is a wonderful place to explore and has a multitude of places where you can feel completely alone and find that quiet moment to catch up on your favourite book or just enjoy some sunbathing. We also have our lovely dog who will want to make good friends with you and loves children.

The swimming pool is at the side of the Casita and has its own sun terrace. The pool is not supervised so young children should not be allowed to play there without being accompanied.

Near to the property is our own Petanque court which provides hours of fun for all the family.

Please remember that normal checkout time is 11 am. However, if we have no other guests needing to check in that day and you wish to stay a bit longer then we would be happy for you to stay later for an additional €30.

Our finca has been licensed by the Catalunya Tourist Board to offer holiday accommodation. This organisation promotes the provision of a high standard of accommodation and service to holidaymakers in Catalunya.

More Less

Amenities

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2: King Bed
  • Bedroom 3: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4: Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5: Double Bed
  • Beds in other rooms: Single Bed
  • 5 En suites

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Access

  • Parking
  • Accessible for wheelchair users — please contact the owner for details before booking

Essentials

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Mountain Views
  • BBQ
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Bicycles available
  • Internet access
  • Safe
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Kettle
  • Stereo system
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

Show all amenities Show fewer amenities

Interaction with guest

On your arrival we will be here to give you the keys to the property and show you where everything is. We live here all year round so are always here to show you our sustainable lifestyle and how we reduce our impact on the environment, chat about the weather, the best beaches, sights to see, what's going on in the area or to hear about what a wonderful day you have had. We have met some wonderful people from all over the world and it is always great to meet new ones. Tourism is an extraordinary tool that enables us to reach out to people, makes us more open to change, more receptive to differences and, therefore, more tolerant. We will send you detailed directions on how to find the farm near to your arrival time.
Map

Area

Map

Cancellation policy

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Full refund

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

Partial refund

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

No refund

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

See more

Things to know

Check in: 14:00 Check out: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.

Payment

This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Damage deposit: (£215.26) €250.00

See more

Smoking

No smoking at this property

House rules

All our electricity comes from the sun via solar panels. This means that our electricity system can power most lights, phones, laptops etc. but NOT hair dryers, hair straighteners, coffee machines etc. so please leave these at home. Curls are beautiful!

We do not like smoking in any of our homes but it is OK to smoke outside.

Water is a very precious resource so please use it sparingly.

See more

About the owner

Simon S.
Tourist Licence
HUTTE-002393
Average reply time:
3 hours 13 minutes

Calendar updated:
13 May 2021

Years listed:
10

Based in:
Spain
Languages spoken: English
This House has 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and sleeps 10. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 06 May 2011. Located in L'Ampolla, it has 14 reviews with an overall rating of 4. The average weekly rate varies from £985 to £1260.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 13 May 2021.

Reviews

4
Very Good
14 reviews
Excellent
8
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
3
Calzado67
Barcelona, España

Paz y tranquilidad
Jun 2019

Llegamos de rebote de otro alojamiento que nos canceló a última hora. La respuesta de Simon fue muy rápida y estuvo siempre a nuestra disposición tanto antes de llegar como… More 

Reviewed 10 Jun 2019

Owner's reply:
Querido Pablo, muchas gracias por tus amables palabras. Fue maravilloso conocerlos a todos, y Amanda y yo estábamos tan felices de haber podido ayudarlos en este momento. Te enviamos nuestros mejores deseos para el futuro. ***************** Dear Pablo, many thanks for your kind words. It was wonderful to meet you all and Amanda and I were so happy that we could help you at this time. We send you our best wishes for the future.
Mathieu B

Excellent séjour chez Amanda & Simon !
Jul 2018

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour à Tortosa, dans la propriété d'Amanda et Simon. Ils cultivent des oliviers et produisent de l'huile bio (mais aussi de… More 

Reviewed 13 Aug 2018

Owner's reply:
Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires. Il est toujours encourageant d’apprendre que nos invités ont apprécié leur visite et leur hébergement. Vous êtes 2 belles familles et nous sommes désolés de vous voir partir.
Quest731146

Wonderful stay on an olive farm
Aug 2017

Simon and Amanda gave us the perfect welcome. We loved the farm and quiet setting. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The nearby beaches were beautiful and uncrowded. It was incredibly relaxing.… More 

Reviewed 12 Sep 2017

Owner's reply:
Great to hear your views, it was so nice to see you and share our wonderful country with you. We are very happy that you found the rooms to a good standard and of course we would be delighted to welcome you back any time! Best wishes, Simon and Amanda
Nuria R

HELL ON EARTH!
Aug 2017

The barn sits in a nice environment with olives trees. We arrived on a Sunday. We knew we could not use powerful electric appliances and we did not carry any with us. It was hot and he never asked us … More 

Reviewed 25 Aug 2017

Owner's reply:
Dear Nuria Many thanks for your review. I confess that I expected a poor review from you due to the poor experience we had with you all. I have already responded to your father, Francisco in his review entitled “Pobres instalaciones” and your husband Kevin Day’s review entitled “Insufferably hot!” and I will respond to yours as well. Please allow me to correct details as follows: a) I discovered the problem with the hot water on Monday morning, the day after your arrival and contacted the heating engineer who arranged to come at 0830 on Wednesday morning. That is 2 days later, NOT 4. Kevin did tell me that this was not really a problem as it was impossible to have a hot shower in such hot weather. I don’t understand why your 3-year-old screams when he sees a shower but then again, 3 year-olds scream at anything! b) Regarding mosquitoes, we normally have no problem with them as we are well above sea level and they don’t normally come up this high (150m above sea level) so it is unfortunate that you suffered from bites. It is quite likely, though, that these bites could have been picked up on beaches and other such areas as we know that sand flies can inflict bites, not just mosquitoes. I am not in control of the wildlife, I just provide a beautiful environment where nature can thrive. c) I did mention in my response to your original holiday enquiry that we had a washing machine and would be happy to take care of those needs. As you were here for 10 days with children we knew there would be washing to do and you shouldn’t have to do this on your holiday. Regarding appearing around the accommodation any time we wanted, I do have to pass by the property to work on other areas of my farm and so of course I noticed your hand washing. As we mentioned, the reason that we discourage hand washing is because it uses a lot of water, our most precious resource, and by opening the tap many times it is causing the big water pump (electric powered) to start many times. When devices like this are started they create a huge power surge from the batteries and then the batteries need recharging. d) On the first day of your holiday, I advised you to close all doors and window shutters to keep the sun out of your rooms. You chose to ignore this advice and your rooms became hot. The roof insulation is of NASA design and is very successful at keeping out heat and cold. Indeed, we have comments in reviews from previous guests who specifically mention this fact. You chose to buy fans without consulting me, even though you understood that it is not possible for a solar powered electricity system to feed high powered devices like fans. Regarding your comment about “snooping around when we were not there”, it is my property and if I feel that my house rules are being breached then I have every right to enter my own property to discover what that breach is. When I asked Kevin if he had been using an electric kettle or similar, after I noticed the power in my batteries dropping more than 20% overnight, he told me that he had bought “a fan”. The next day I did look to see what sort of device this was and found that you had bought 4 fans of 45 watts each. My electricity system has a maximum capacity of 3 kilowatts (3000 watts). If just one of these fans is run throughout the night, for 8 hours for example, then this one device is consuming more than 10% of my batteries capacity so now I hope you finally understand why I was concerned about the power consumption. The reasons why we chose to offer “off-grid and environmentally friendly” holidays are because we believe that we should have as little impact on our environment as possible and to keep pollution to a minimum. Because of the drain on my batteries from your fans it was necessary for me to run the petrol generator every day for most of the day, using 10 litres of petrol per day. This cost around €12 per day just to recharge my batteries after your fans were draining them. That was why I felt it reasonable for you to compensate me in some way for the cost of your mistake and I thought a nominal amount of €20 would go some way to do so. e) I also felt it reasonable to claim €10 for the quantity of broken glasses. It is reasonable for a guest to break a glass or a plate and I expect this. However, I do expect my guests to mention this so that I can replace them. You said nothing, not even a goodbye when you left! f) You were not told from the outset that, when the generator is running, some electrical devices such as the cooker switch or the microwave do not work because it was not necessary to run the generator all day for the first couple of days until you brought those fans onto my premises. After that you WERE told, especially when you wanted to cook fish in salt. I really cannot imagine how you broke the switch, you must have smashed it so hard that it broke. Unbelievable! g) We live in the countryside. How do expect rubbish to be removed? Do you think this is my responsibility? Some people have to drive a lot more than 4km and you have to pass the rubbish bins on your way out anyway! Because of the broken cooker switch, the excessive use of my generator and the amount of broken glass I felt it necessary to claim on your damage deposit. That is what the damage deposit is for – to cover damage caused by my guests. As a gesture of goodwill, I dropped the claim of €20 for petrol and €10 for the glasses but I would not back down about the broken cooker switch because that cost me €80 to repair. Francisco at least had the decency to pay this. So, Nuria, I hope that the above has set your mind at rest but please move on so that we can all put this thoroughly unpleasant experience behind us all.
kevindF1145XG
Gillingham, United Kingdom

Insufferably hot!
Jul 2017

When temperatures are high, the whole building is insufferably hot! There is no relief from the heat which gets soaked up all day long into the building and inside the building, especially the living… More 

Reviewed 24 Aug 2017

Owner's reply:
Dear Kevin Many thanks for your review. I confess that I expected a poor review from you due to the experience we had with you all. I have already responded to your father-in-law Francisco in his review entitled “Pobres instalaciones” and your wife Nuria’s review entitled “HELL ON EARTH!” and I will respond to yours as well. a) On the first day of your holiday, I advised you to close all doors and window shutters to keep the sun out of your rooms. You chose to ignore this advice and your rooms became hot. The roof insulation is of NASA design and is very successful at keeping out heat and cold. Indeed, we have comments in reviews from previous guests who specifically mention this fact. You chose to buy fans without consulting me, even though you understood that it is not possible for a solar powered electricity system to feed high powered devices like fans. When I asked you if you had been using an electric kettle or similar, after I noticed the power in my batteries dropping more than 20% overnight, you told me that you had bought “a fan”. The next day I looked to see what sort of device this was and found that you had bought 4 fans of 45 watts each. My electricity system has a maximum capacity of 3 kilowatts (3000 watts). If just one of these fans is run throughout the night, for 8 hours for example, then this one device is consuming more than 10% of my battery capacity, so now I hope you finally understand why I was concerned about the power consumption. The reasons why we chose to offer “off-grid and environmentally friendly” holidays are because we believe that we should have as little impact on our environment as possible and to keep pollution to a minimum. Because of the drain on my batteries from your fans it was necessary for me to run the petrol generator every day for most of the day, using 10 litres of petrol per day. This cost around €12 per day just to recharge my batteries after your fans were draining them. That was why I felt it reasonable for you to compensate me in some way for the cost of your mistake and I thought a nominal amount of €20 would go some way to do so. I did not feel an apology was due simply because of the weather, something that was completely out of my control. You are married into a Spanish family and should understand that Spain gets hot. In fact, the temperatures have been much higher than during the time you were here and we have had no complaints at all. b) I discovered the problem with the hot water on Monday morning, the day after your arrival and contacted the heating engineer who arranged to come at 0830 on Wednesday morning. That is 2 days later. You did tell me that this was not really a problem as you felt that it was impossible to have a hot shower in such hot weather. c) You were not told from the outset that, when the generator is running, some electrical devices such as the cooker switch or the microwave do not work because it was not necessary to run the generator all day for the first couple of days until you brought those fans onto my premises. After that you were told, especially when you wanted to cook fish in salt. I really cannot imagine how you broke the cooker switch, you must have smashed it so hard that it broke. Unbelievable! d) My solar power system has provided sufficient power for the last 6 years without a problem. To add more solar panels just because one family was uncomfortable would cost me several thousand euros, something that in my opinion is completely unnecessary. Because of the broken cooker switch, the excessive use of my generator and the amount of broken glass I felt it necessary to claim on your damage deposit. That is what the damage deposit is for – to cover damage caused by my guests. As a gesture of goodwill, I dropped the claim of €20 for petrol and €10 for the glasses but I would not back down about the broken cooker switch because that cost me €80 to repair. Your father-in-law, Francisco, at least had the decency to pay this. So, Kevin, I hope that the above has set your mind at rest but please move on so that we can all put this thoroughly unpleasant experience behind us all.
Review 1-5 of 14

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Simon (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Simon (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Simon (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Simon the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Simon (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Simon (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Simon (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Simon (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Simon (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Simon (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Simon (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Simon (the owner) a message.

If Simon (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Also consider

Europe Holidays

454365 properties

Spain Holidays

65653 properties

Catalonia Holidays

9290 properties

Costa Dorada

1,330 properties

Terres de l'Ebre

395 properties

L'Ametlla de Mar

185 properties

L'Ampolla

78 properties

Segur de Calafell

50 properties

Riumar

46 properties

Calafat

44 properties

Torredembarra

44 properties

Vilafortuny

35 properties

Tamarit

22 properties

Montroig

22 properties

El Perello

21 properties

Cunit

21 properties

Roda de Bara

19 properties

Les Cases d'Alcanar

17 properties

Deltebre

13 properties

Amposta

10 properties

Terra Alta

9 properties

Bellvei

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Still have questions?

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & Tripadvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

14 Reviews
from

 £178 

/night
14 Reviews
from

 £178 

/night