Payment Protection

from £47 / night help Price for guests, Nights

VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

BEAUTIFUL STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS,PORTLAND – Home 432555 Studio

  • no bedrooms
  • 2 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

BEAUTIFUL STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS,PORTLAND – Home 432555

Excellent 4.5/5 Excellent – based on 24 reviews

  • Studio
  • no bedrooms
  • 2 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

Studio / No Bedrooms / 1 bathroom / sleeps 2

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 2 km
  • Not suitable for children
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

Description from owner

Description

A VERY MODERN HOLIDAY LET STUDIO APARTMENT LOCATED IN A QUIET POSITION ON THE ISLE OF PORTLAND NEAR WEYMOUTH IN THE HEART OF DORSET, ON THE COAST OF SOUTH WEST ENGLAND. SUITABLE FOR SINGLE OR DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. FACILITIES INCLUDE FLAT SCREEN TV, DVD PLAYER, MICROWAVE, MINI OVEN/GRILL, FRIDGE, ELECTRIC KETTLE, HAIRDRYER, IRON, TOASTER, CROCKERY AND CUTLERY. COMPLIMENTARY TEA AND COFFEE. FREE CAR PARKING.THE ON-SITE MARITIME HOTEL AND BAR SELLS SUPERB REASONABLY PRICED FOOD. WITHIN THE HOTEL IS PORTLAND'S PREMIER SPA WHERE YOU CAN RELAX AND PAMPER YOURSELF. THERE IS ALSO AN EXCELLENT PUBLIC HOUSE JUST 1/2 MILE AWAY WHICH ALSO SERVES GREAT FOOD AND ALES. THE APARTMENT IS SITUATED ON A CLIFF TOP WITH BREATHTAKING VIEWS ACROSS PORTLAND BILL AND THE ENGLISH CHANNEL. A PERFECT LOCATION TO ESCAPE THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE OF EVERYDAY LIFE. RELAX AND ENJOY THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE AND JURASSIC COASTLINE. DIRECT ACCESS TO THE COASTAL PATH ABOVE THE SEA. GREAT FOR BIRD WATCHING AND RARE FAUNA AND

A VERY MODERN HOLIDAY LET STUDIO APARTMENT LOCATED IN A QUIET POSITION ON THE ISLE OF PORTLAND NEAR WEYMOUTH IN THE HEART OF DORSET, ON THE COAST OF SOUTH WEST ENGLAND. SUITABLE FOR SINGLE OR DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. FACILITIES INCLUDE FLAT SCREEN TV, DVD PLAYER, MICROWAVE, MINI OVEN/GRILL, FRIDGE, ELECTRIC KETTLE, HAIRDRYER, IRON, TOASTER, CROCKERY AND CUTLERY. COMPLIMENTARY TEA AND COFFEE. FREE CAR PARKING.THE ON-SITE MARITIME HOTEL AND BAR SELLS SUPERB REASONABLY PRICED FOOD. WITHIN THE HOTEL IS PORTLAND'S PREMIER SPA WHERE YOU CAN RELAX AND PAMPER YOURSELF. THERE IS ALSO AN EXCELLENT PUBLIC HOUSE JUST 1/2 MILE AWAY WHICH ALSO SERVES GREAT FOOD AND ALES. THE APARTMENT IS SITUATED ON A CLIFF TOP WITH BREATHTAKING VIEWS ACROSS PORTLAND BILL AND THE ENGLISH CHANNEL. A PERFECT LOCATION TO ESCAPE THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE OF EVERYDAY LIFE. RELAX AND ENJOY THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE AND JURASSIC COASTLINE. DIRECT ACCESS TO THE COASTAL PATH ABOVE THE SEA. GREAT FOR BIRD WATCHING AND RARE FAUNA AND FLORA. THE SAILING ACADEMY IS LESS THAN 3 MILES AWAY. WEYMOUTH IS A 15 MINUTE DRIVE AND CHESIL BEACH A BRISK WALK ALONG THE CLIFFTOP. FERRIES TO FRANCE FROM WEYMOUTH. THE APARTMENT IS AVAILABLE ALL YEAR ROUND.

Location description from owner

The England region

The Isle of Portland is a limestone tied island, 6 kilometres (4 mi) long by 2.4 kilometres (1.5 mi) wide, in the English Channel. Portland is 8 kilometres (5 mi) south of the resort of Weymouth, forming the southernmost point of the county of Dorset, England. A barrier beach over which runs the A354 road connects it to Chesil Beach and the mainland. Portland and Weymouth together form the borough of Weymouth and Portland. The population of Portland is 12,400.

Portland is a central part of the Jurassic Coast, a World Heritage Site on the Dorset and east Devon coast, important for its geology and landforms. Its name is used for one of the British Sea Areas, and has been exported as the name of North American and Australian towns. Portland stone, famous for its use in British and world architecture, including St Paul's Cathedral and the United Nations Headquarters, continues to be quarried.

Portland Harbour, in the bay between Portland and Weymouth, is one of the largest man-made harbours in the world. The harbour was formed by the building of stone breakwaters between 1848 and 1905. From its inception it was a Royal Navy base, and played prominent roles during the First and Second World Wars; ships of the Royal Navy and NATO countries worked up and exercised in its waters until 1995. The harbour is now a civilian port and popular recreation area, and was used for the 2012 Olympic Games.

Isle of Portland

Dorset (pron.: /?d?rs?t/) (or archaically, Dorsetshire), is a county in South West England on the English Channel coast. The ceremonial county comprises the non-metropolitan county, which is governed by Dorset County Council, and the unitary authorities of Poole and Bournemouth. Covering an area of 2,653 square kilometres (1,024 sq mi), Dorset borders Devon to the west, Somerset to the north-west, Wiltshire to the north-east, and Hampshire to the east. The county town is Dorchester which is situated in the south. After the reorganisation of local government in 1974 the county's border was extended eastward to incorporate the Hampshire towns of Bournemouth and Christchurch. Around half of the population lives in the South East Dorset conurbation, while the rest of the county is largely rural with a low population density.

The county has a long history of human settlement stretching back to the Neolithic era. The Romans conquered Dorset's indigenous Celtic tribe, and during the early Middle Ages, the Saxons settled the area and made Dorset a shire in the 7th century. The first recorded Viking raid on the British Isles occurred in Dorset during the 8th century and the black death entered England at Melcombe Regis in 1348. Dorset has seen much civil unrest: during the English Civil War an uprising of vigilantes was crushed by Cromwell's forces in a pitched battle near Shaftesbury; the Duke of Monmouth's doomed rebellion began at Lyme Regis; and a group of farm labourers from Tolpuddle were instrumental in the formation of the trade union movement. During the Second World War, Dorset was heavily involved in the preparations for the invasion of Normandy and the large harbours of Portland and Poole were two of the main embarkation points on D-Day.

Dorset has a varied landscape featuring broad elevated chalk downs, steep limestone ridges and low-lying clay valleys. Over half the county is designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and three-quarters of its coastline is a World Heritage Site that features notable landforms such as Lulworth Cove, the Isle of Portland, Chesil Beach and Durdle Door. Agriculture was traditionally the major industry of Dorset but is now in decline and tourism has become increasingly important to the economy. There are no motorways in Dorset but a network of A roads cross the county and two railway main lines connect to London. Dorset has ports at Poole, Weymouth and Portland and an international airport. The county has a variety of museums, theatres and festivals, and is host to one of Europe's largest outdoor shows. It is the birthplace of Thomas Hardy, who used the county as the principal setting of his novels, and William Barnes, whose poetry celebrates the ancient Dorset dialect.

More Less

Bed & bathroom

  • Beds in other rooms: 2 Single Beds
  • 1 En suite

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Clothes dryer
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Lift access
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:15:00, Check out time:11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

CHRIS W
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated:
27 Sep 2016

Languages spoken: English


This Studio has 1 bathroom and sleeps 2. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 04 Jul 2013. Located in Dorset, it has 24 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £295 to £365.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 27 Sep 2016.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 24 reviews Excellent
24 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
9
Very Good
12
Good
3
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Comfortable accomodation.”

Reviewed 9 Sep 2015

We had all the necessary facilities with views of the sea and the lighthouse. We were expecting a quiet location but unfortunately it had turned into a building site as they are building a school there.

Thank you for your comments. I had in fact spoken with you prior to your visit to explain about the construction work. Unfortunately I had not been to the apartment recently and did not know the extent of the disruption until my visit yesterday as a result of your review. We have spoken and you stated that you still had a lovely time in the beautiful area of Dorset. I have posted your cheque today as way of compensation. When the work has finished I hope you will revisit the apartment to experience the tranquility of the place.

“Clean, well appointed, comfortable, stunning views”

Reviewed 29 Apr 2015

Lovely situation for a 'get away from it all' break. fantastic views, great cliff walking, good regular bus service to Weymouth. Nice clean flat, comfy beds, everything you need for a relaxing stay. Interesting quirky building. Friendly locals make you welcome. Hotel adjacent, staff helpful, we didn't use as out all day but menu looked good.

Many thanks for your good review. I am pleased you had everything you needed for your relaxing stay and enjoyed your "get away from it all" break. The hotel does indeed have a good menu and provides lovely, reasonably priced food.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Reviewed 9 Apr 2015

This was our second time here we had a great week, apartment was lovely and clean and so quiet, lovely view from window a lovely area for walks plenty of places to go in and eat and drink we had a fabulous time.

Thank you for booking a second visit and the excellent review.I am delighted that you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed the wonderful walks and places to visit.

“What More Could You Ask For..?”

Reviewed 3 Feb 2015

Lovely, clean, comfortable apartment with a fantastic view of the sea and Portland Bill lighthouse. Very quiet, no traffic noise to intrude, plenty of local amenities and parking. There are lots of reasonably priced places to eat with good food a stone's through away. The building itself is wonderful, full of character and history with a large painted mural in the lobby and a spiral staircase and although built in the late 40s it has many Art-Deco-esque features. We'd happily stay again...

Thank you very much for your great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the sea views and quietness of the location. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

“Panoramic views of the sea in a peaceful setting.”

Reviewed 14 Jul 2014

We enjoyed the quietness, lack of passing traffic and the stunning view from the window that stretched across the width of the apartment. We would have liked a second high stool at the counter so that both occupants would be high enough to enjoy the view and to sit together at meals. On the whole the facilities and information provided were good. We appreciated the Wi-Fi. We would have liked a slightly more generous supply of basics like dish cloths, towels and toiletries - sufficient for two occupants. The bus services in the area are very frequent. We would certainly come again!

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the tranquility that the apartment offers.I will be addressing all of your valuable points and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

“Pleasant - clean and tidy but lacking detail in facilities provided”

Reviewed 7 Jul 2014

The apartment was clean and tidy but a little more attention to detail as to the facilities offered is needed. There was no hot platealthougth saucepans were provided; a microwave was provided but no suitable dishes to use to cook food in the microwave. There were only 2 forks in the cutlery drawer - thankfully with only two people staying this was ok but there was only 1 bowl so we had to take turns to have our cereral at breakfast time. Also there was only one bar stool so it meant that it was not possible for both of us to eat at the breakfast bar. My husband had to balance his meal (takeaway) on his lap. We were awoken very early every morning by the droning of the television from the apartment from next door which also continued late into the evening when we were trying to sleep. On reading the review we chose the apartment due to the close proximity of a hotel providing evening meals. I am not sure if the hotel has now closed but it did seem something out of a ghost town.

Thank you very much for bringing these points to my attention, which will be resolved forthwith. The hotel is most certainly open and providing world class food.

“Short Break”

Reviewed 15 Apr 2014

Needed reasonably priced but good quality accommodation to visit family. Suited us perfectly for this short break as well furnished with very comfortable beds and a stunning view from the window. Would definitely stay there again. Would not suit for people wanting to eat in on a regular basis on a longer holiday as cooking facilities limited.

Thank for your very kind review.I am glad that it suited you perfectly and that you slept well in the comfortable beds. What a great view to wake up to.Cooking facilities are provided by means of a microwave and the on site world class restaurant is just a 1 minute walk away. I look forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

“Lovely apartment in an historic building with a difference”

Reviewed 27 Oct 2013

Lovely, clean apartment with every effort taken to ensure a comfortable stay. The austere building has an interesting history and there is easy access to hotel facilities. All this plus great coastal walks make this a first class destination.

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in this stunning location.

“gorgeous views, lovely clean inviting appartment”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2013

was a lovely stay and will defiantly be returning, some stunning sights and lovely rural walks fantastic

Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

“Clean and compact”

Reviewed 27 Aug 2013

Nice place to use as a base to explore local area. Good cliff top walks nearby at Portland Bill. Cooking facilities limited but if you're out during the day then no problem (The Heights Hotel nearby provides a good menu and a great view of Weymouth). When I first saw the advert on the website I thought the apartment was in the light house (first photo you see) - a bit misleading perhaps as I'm used to seeing a photo of the actually accommodation when searching for holidays but guess it grabs your attention (It would have been nice to stay in the light house but had an enjoyable stay regardless of that).

Thank you for your comments and glad you had an enjoyable stay. It is indeed a beautiful area for clifftop walking next to the sea. A microwave is supplied and there is a world-class restaurant on site within a 1 minute walk.

Review 1-10 of 24

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.