from
£54 / night
Price for guests, Nights
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

BEAUTIFUL STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS,PORTLAND – Home 432555 Studio

  • no bedrooms
  • 2 sleeps
  •  min stay varies
VISITED BY TRIPADVISOR

BEAUTIFUL STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS,PORTLAND – Home 432555

  • Studio
  • no bedrooms
  • sleeps 2
  •  min stay varies

Very Good Very Good – based on 34 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Studio / no bedrooms / 1 bathroom / sleeps 2

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 2 km
  • Not suitable for children
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

Description from owner

Description

A VERY MODERN HOLIDAY LET STUDIO APARTMENT LOCATED IN A QUIET POSITION ON THE ISLE OF PORTLAND NEAR WEYMOUTH IN THE HEART OF DORSET, ON THE COAST OF SOUTH WEST ENGLAND. SUITABLE FOR SINGLE OR DOUBLE OCCUPANCY. FACILITIES INCLUDE FLAT SCREEN TV, DVD PLAYER, FREE WIFI, MICROWAVE, MINI OVEN, FRIDGE, ELECTRIC KETTLE, HAIRDRYER, IRON, TOASTER, CROCKERY AND CUTLERY, COMPLIMENTARY TEA AND COFFEE. FREE CAR PARKING. THE ON-SITE MARITIME HOTEL AND BAR SELLS SUPERB REASONABLY PRICED FOOD. THERE IS ALSO AN EXCELLENT PUBLIC HOUSE JUST 1/2 MILE AWAY WHICH ALSO SERVES GREAT FOOD AND ALES. THE APARTMENT IS SITUATED ON A CLIFF TOP WITH BREATHTAKING VIEWS ACROSS PORTLAND BILL AND THE ENGLISH CHANNEL. A PERFECT LOCATION TO ESCAPE THE HUSTLE AND BUSTLE OF EVERYDAY LIFE. RELAX AND ENJOY THE BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE AND JURASSIC COASTLINE. DIRECT ACCESS TO THE COASTAL PATH ABOVE THE SEA. GREAT FOR BIRD WATCHING AND RARE FAUNA AND FLORA. THE SAILING ACADEMY IS LESS THAN 3 MILES AWAY. WEYMOUTH IS A 15 MINUTE DRIVE AND CHESIL BEACH A BRISK WALK ALONG THE CLIFFTOP. FERRIES TO FRANCE FROM WEYMOUTH. THE APARTMENT IS SITUATED IN MARITIME HOUSE, A CHARMING OLD BUILDING WITH ART-DECO ARCHITECTURE, WHICH HAS RECENTLY BEEN PARTIALLY CONVERTED TO HOUSE THE ATLANTIC ACADEMY OF PORTLAND.

THE STUDIO APARTMENT IS AVAILABLE ALL YEAR ROUND.

More Less

Bed & bathroom

  • Beds in other rooms: 2 Single Beds
  • 1 En suite

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Sea view
  • Internet access
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Clothes dryer
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Lift access
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

Easy bus ride into Weymouth on number1 bus. The bus stop is located within a 5 minute walk at the bottom of Sweethill Road.

Interaction with guest

The keys to the apartment are located in a Keysafe by the entrance door to the apartment. The code will be given to guests once they have booked. The entrance to Maritime House is via a keypad. This code will also be given to guests once they have booked. I will not be available in person during your stay but may be contacted by telephone for any queries you may have. For great food I recommend The Eight Kings pub which is closeby.

Policies

Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

About the owner

Chris W.
Average reply time:
1 hour 26 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated:
24 Jun 2019
Years listed:
6
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

This Studio has 1 bathroom and sleeps 2. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 04 Jul 2013. Located in Dorset, it has 34 reviews with an overall rating of 4. The average weekly rate varies from £338 to £401.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 24 Jun 2019.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good
34 reviews

Excellent
15
Very Good
14
Average
4
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Comfortable accomodation.”

Reviewed 9 Sep 2015

We had all the necessary facilities with views of the sea and the lighthouse. We were expecting a quiet location but unfortunately it had turned into a building site as they are building a school there.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your comments. I had in fact spoken with you prior to your visit to explain about the construction work. Unfortunately I had not been to the apartment recently and did not know the extent of the disruption until my visit yesterday as a result of your review. We have spoken and you stated that you still had a lovely time in the beautiful area of Dorset. I have posted your cheque today as way of compensation. When the work has finished I hope you will revisit the apartment to experience the tranquility of the place.

“Clean, well appointed, comfortable, stunning views”

Reviewed 29 Apr 2015

Lovely situation for a 'get away from it all' break. fantastic views, great cliff walking, good regular bus service to Weymouth. Nice clean flat, comfy beds, everything you need for a relaxing stay. Interesting quirky building. Friendly locals make you welcome. Hotel adjacent, staff helpful, we didn't use as out all day but menu looked good.

Owner's reply: Many thanks for your good review. I am pleased you had everything you needed for your relaxing stay and enjoyed your "get away from it all" break. The hotel does indeed have a good menu and provides lovely, reasonably priced food.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Reviewed 9 Apr 2015

This was our second time here we had a great week, apartment was lovely and clean and so quiet, lovely view from window a lovely area for walks plenty of places to go in and eat and drink we had a fabulous time.

Owner's reply: Thank you for booking a second visit and the excellent review.I am delighted that you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed the wonderful walks and places to visit.

“What More Could You Ask For..?”

Reviewed 3 Feb 2015

Lovely, clean, comfortable apartment with a fantastic view of the sea and Portland Bill lighthouse. Very quiet, no traffic noise to intrude, plenty of local amenities and parking. There are lots of reasonably priced places to eat with good food a stone's through away. The building itself is wonderful, full of character and history with a large painted mural in the lobby and a spiral staircase and although built in the late 40s it has many Art-Deco-esque features. We'd happily stay again...

Owner's reply: Thank you very much for your great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed the sea views and quietness of the location. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

“Panoramic views of the sea in a peaceful setting.”

Reviewed 14 Jul 2014

We enjoyed the quietness, lack of passing traffic and the stunning view from the window that stretched across the width of the apartment. We would have liked a second high stool at the counter so that both occupants would be high enough to enjoy the view and to sit together at meals. On the whole the facilities and information provided were good. We appreciated the Wi-Fi. We would have liked a slightly more generous supply of basics like dish cloths, towels and toiletries - sufficient for two occupants. The bus services in the area are very frequent. We would certainly come again!

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the tranquility that the apartment offers.I will be addressing all of your valuable points and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

“Pleasant - clean and tidy but lacking detail in facilities provided”

Reviewed 7 Jul 2014

The apartment was clean and tidy but a little more attention to detail as to the facilities offered is needed. There was no hot platealthougth saucepans were provided; a microwave was provided but no suitable dishes to use to cook food in the microwave. There were only 2 forks in the cutlery drawer - thankfully with only two people staying this was ok but there was only 1 bowl so we had to take turns to have our cereral at breakfast time. Also there was only one bar stool so it meant that it was not possible for both of us to eat at the breakfast bar. My husband had to balance his meal (takeaway) on his lap. We were awoken very early every morning by the droning of the television from the apartment from next door which also continued late into the evening when we were trying to sleep. On reading the review we chose the apartment due to the close proximity of a hotel providing evening meals. I am not sure if the hotel has now closed but it did seem something out of a ghost town.

Owner's reply: Thank you very much for bringing these points to my attention, which will be resolved forthwith. The hotel is most certainly open and providing world class food.

“Short Break”

Reviewed 15 Apr 2014

Needed reasonably priced but good quality accommodation to visit family. Suited us perfectly for this short break as well furnished with very comfortable beds and a stunning view from the window. Would definitely stay there again. Would not suit for people wanting to eat in on a regular basis on a longer holiday as cooking facilities limited.

Owner's reply: Thank for your very kind review.I am glad that it suited you perfectly and that you slept well in the comfortable beds. What a great view to wake up to.Cooking facilities are provided by means of a microwave and the on site world class restaurant is just a 1 minute walk away. I look forward to welcoming you for your return visit.

“Lovely apartment in an historic building with a difference”

Reviewed 27 Oct 2013

Lovely, clean apartment with every effort taken to ensure a comfortable stay. The austere building has an interesting history and there is easy access to hotel facilities. All this plus great coastal walks make this a first class destination.

Owner's reply: Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in this stunning location.

“gorgeous views, lovely clean inviting appartment”

Reviewed 29 Aug 2013

was a lovely stay and will defiantly be returning, some stunning sights and lovely rural walks fantastic

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

“Clean and compact”

Reviewed 27 Aug 2013

Nice place to use as a base to explore local area. Good cliff top walks nearby at Portland Bill. Cooking facilities limited but if you're out during the day then no problem (The Heights Hotel nearby provides a good menu and a great view of Weymouth). When I first saw the advert on the website I thought the apartment was in the light house (first photo you see) - a bit misleading perhaps as I'm used to seeing a photo of the actually accommodation when searching for holidays but guess it grabs your attention (It would have been nice to stay in the light house but had an enjoyable stay regardless of that).

Owner's reply: Thank you for your comments and glad you had an enjoyable stay. It is indeed a beautiful area for clifftop walking next to the sea. A microwave is supplied and there is a world-class restaurant on site within a 1 minute walk.

Review 1-10 of 34

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with CHRIS (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send CHRIS (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact CHRIS (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view CHRIS the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send CHRIS (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send CHRIS (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to CHRIS (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from CHRIS (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. CHRIS (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call CHRIS (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact CHRIS (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send CHRIS (the owner) a message.

If CHRIS (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.