The Studio - Dog and pet friendly. – Home 25831 Apartment
- 1 bedroom
- 4 sleeps
- 3 nights min stay
The Studio - Dog and pet friendly. – Home 25831
- 1 bedroom
- sleeps 4
- 3 nights min stay
- Beach / lakeside relaxation
- Nearest beach 8 km
- Child friendly
- Car advised
- Pet friendly
- Private garden
Description from owner
The Studio is a small annex on a family owned smallholding which is also our home. The Studio is attached to the main house but self contained. Ideal for a couple or small family who wish for peace and quiet, off the beaten track and away from it all. There is plenty of outside space so in the summer months sharing is not usually any problem.
We specialize in people who stay with their dog or dogs. And have also had those that have brought their cats. (however if they do, cats cannot be let out as the nature of cats is such they may run away if in a strange area)
For those with no dogs etc, we do clean the Studio very well so you should not find any evidence of any pet occupants. However if allergic we cannot guarantee we have removed all pet related allergens.
Inside the Studio is strictly no smoking, no one has ever smoked in there. But we do allow smoking outside and provide ashtrays. We also have a Tennant in a static caravan and neighbours in a cottage right next door, who also have paying guests, all of which may smoke. So if smoking at all in the area is not for you, this may not be for you either.
The Studio is a one room apartment with a sectioned off kitchen, separate bathroom with shower, own heating and front door.
It ideally sleeps a couple, 3 friends sharing or a family of up to 4, with children under 15. But can sleep an extra baby in a cot or an extra child on a futon and sleeping bag (supplied on request) if you do not mind being a bit cramped – this does not usually matter as most families find lots to do so are only back to sleep. Any number over 4 however will cost an extra £40 per week.
The accommodation consists of a large studio room, with a King size bed for couples of for the parents if you come with children. There is a double sofabed that folds out for two more to sleep– friends or siblings sharing can argue about who has the king size bed! The shower room has a toilet, wash-hand basin and shower cubicle. Therefore the open plan lounge/sleeping area is furnished with a double sofabed, colour smart ( internet connected) television, video cassette recorder and DVD player, stereo cd player, and a range of videos and paperbacks. The Kitchenette has a fridge/freezer, small electric cooker, microwave, jug kettle, microwave and toaster.
The flat has its own front door, own full central heating and water heating. The windows overlook the magnificent view. It is equipped with crockery and cutlery for 4, duvet covers, bed linen and towels are all supplied.
For your convenience, there is an iron & ironing board, as well as a vacuum cleaner. There is no room to fit a washing machine but we are always happy to do a service wash for visitors.
There is no telephone in the studio, but most mobile phones get a good reception.
FLORA DAY HELSTON
We are 4 miles from Helston and usually everything for miles around is booked well in advance for this week.
Flora day is a unique Cornish festival/celebration said to have its roots in pagan festivals for welcoming in the spring and new life.
Please book well in advance , special rates apply.
There is a local bus service but it does not go to all routes and stops early evening there are many wonderful local places of interest to visit, by car, including the many local beaches.
We would recommend guests have a car.
Further details indoors
Internet access ( Ethernet or wireless) However this is slow compared to urban places so do not expect fast speeds.
Dogs and other pets are welcome at £10, they have to be sociable as we have two dogs. The only rule is you clean up after them.
Many family/surfing beaches enforce a dog ban on the beach from July until September 30th, some from Easter but there are enough beaches within the area that dogs are allowed on all year see:
Further details outdoors
Porkellis while an un-spoilt farming village has much of interest within easy distance. It is situated in the world heritage area of mining.
There is a good local pub called the Star Inn which is children, dog and people friendly and is a free house so serves good real ale.
Porkellis is not on the coast but is ideally situated for exploring the lovely Peninsular of the Lizard and all the West Cornwall beaches and visiting the many tourist attractions of Cornwall. Porthleven harbour is our nearest fishing port. It is a very big harbour as it was originally a harbour where local tin was shipped to all parts of the world. Now it is a lovely fishing harbour with lovely picturesque pubs such as the Ship Inn that also does wonderful family meals, many acclaimed restaurants and lovely views ( I can supply pictures of Porthleven via email if requested) Poldark Mine, is just down the road within walking distance if you like walking. Flambards Theme Park is only a 10 minute car drive away.
Other attractions nearby include the National Maritime Museum – in Falmouth about 5 miles, National Seal Sanctuary and Goonhilly Earth Station – both on the Lizard see map. Further a field are the Eden Project, Lands End, Newquay Zoo, Tintagel Castle, Charlestown Shipwreck and Heritage Centre, Geevor Tin Mine, Blue Reef Aquarium and St. Michael's Mount to name but a few.
- Great for children of all ages
- Pets welcome
- Cot available
Bed & bathroom
- 1 Double Bed, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Cot available
- 1 En suite
- Wi-Fi available
- Private garden
- Balcony or terrace
- Bicycles available
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Staffed property
- Clothes dryer
- Satellite TV
- Video player
- DVD player
- Stereo system
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time: 15:00, Check out time: 11:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
- This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
- Yes, smoking allowed
Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
24 hours after booking
100% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least two weeks before check-in.
2 weeks before
No refund if cancelled less than 2 weeks before check-in.
* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support
About the owner
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated:
- 14 Apr 2021
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
This Apartment has 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 12 Apr 2007. Located in Cornwall, it has 29 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate is $661.
The Owner has a response rate of 77% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 14 Apr 2021.
Map and how to get there
– based on 29 reviews
- Very Good
“Brilliant rural hideaway”
Just right for the two of us and our doggie. Five miles from Helston and situated in open fields. Peace and quiet.
“Cosy, comfy place”
We spent two fantastic weeks with our two children and our dog. The studio is small but has everything one needs for a comfortable holidays. It is well situated to go to the beach, wander around Cornwall villages and enjoy the stunning views of the Cornish coast. We loved eating in the garden when the sun was out, and the children as well as the dog enjoyed the freedom of running around. The onwers are extremely kind and even helped us solve a problem with our car. Highly recommended place to stay.
“Such a wonderful cottage”
After the short bumpy ride up to the cottage past the farm we had our first view of our cottage for the week, we were met by Barry who was friendly and ever so helpful. The cottage is a well sized room with a separate shower room and toilet. Perfect for two people, but still further bed space for a small family. Further to previous comments about smells we found nothing to complain about in that respect and we live in a modern house, the house is clean, tidy and had plenty of utensils and appliances to use, just don't expect to cook a Sunday roast but why would you want to do that while on holiday. A car is needed with the closest convenience store being 5 miles away, and beach wise you are looking at a 20 - 25 min drive. We cannot praise the owners or the cottage enough and will not hesitate to book here again some time in the future.
“lovely little studio”
gorgeous little studio with stunning views, very nice owners only thing i would say is a little more attention needs to be payed to the cleaning was not dirty or anything and would happily stay here a… More
“Great little dog-friendly studio for a few days”
Our little car shaked up and down the short road from the village, but the studio at the end of it was worth it: cosy, warm and comfortable for the two of us and our dog. Great location and friendly l… More
“Not a bad place to stay”
Everything is great...just the smell we did not like at all..stayed for two days price was cheap so not bad but will not go again just purely of smell...fantastic owners though
Owner's reply: I am so sorry that there was a smell. Others have said so as well. And we have been extra careful with our cleaning since. However the problem is we cannot smell anything!! So we can only assume that it is due to the very old granite and cob structure of the building ( and also our main house) that due to it's construction you cannot damp course. If allowed to dry out walls build of this the cob crumbles and the granite falls down. And that we cannot smell it is because we have it in the house and after 32 years we no longer notice it. We will however get a builder and damp proofer in to look at it to see if anything can be done. We are very sorry about this.
“Relaxing and discovering Cornwall”
The studio is a lovingly and fully equiped apartment in front of a farm house in Porkellis near Helston. A car is needed and within one hour drive all the beautiful beaches, cliffs, Estate Garden and … More
Owner's reply: Thank you so much for your very lovely review. We do our best with the Studio to make it comfortable and it is indeed ideally situated to tour Cornwall and yet have a quiet place to return to even in the hight of the season.
“More like a Home”
The approach road is just a track however this does mean it is quiet and away from any traffic. It is easily driveable if you don't drive it like your on a racetrack. I have read about the smell in the cupboards and agree with the owner, having lived in an old house it was something I got used to. The property is old, nostalgic and therefore not perfect. Then for those who want the true atmosphere of an old Cornish house, you are onto a winner. It is packed full of hidden extras you wouldn't find in a normal studio, the Coffee Machine was well used by us. The little cooker is manageable if you don't want to cook Sunday lunch and I doubt you would go to a studio if that was the case. The large bed was very comfortable and the studio is very animal friendly. We took a Cat and a dog. The Cat was at home immediately, loved the Potpourri, sorry......... Views from the studio are fantastic and you have a lovely area to sit in the evening whilst you relax. All in all this is a lovely place to stay when visiting this beautiful area of Cornwall. What made it 5 Star for us, was not the nostalgic property, or added extras but the owners who live onsite. They are very nice people, who love animals and gave us the impression all they want is their guests to be happy and enjoy their holiday.
Owner's reply: What can I say, a glowing report and than you so much. I do realise now, from others feedback our home from home way of running it may not suite all and will try to somehow get to a happy medium that will suit a wider variety of guests. But I am so very glad it suited you and we always do our best. As yes all we want is our guests, human or animal, to be happy and have a lovely stay with nothing that significantly prevents this. What we are selling mostly I guess is the quietness, the views, the unique spot away from any crowds and a taste of what Cornwall is when off the beaten tourist track. But we also try to provide comfort for our visitors in what is, as you say, a small and very old building - build in the 17th century although adapted by many others in the past and since by us. We do also aim at being an animal friendly place to stay. For guests with any animal. Indeed as well as the usual dog, or cats or even bunnies, if you wanted to travel to stay with a pony, horse or goat as a smallholding we have stables and facilities to cater for all of those and have in the past. If people have dogs or even horses and ponies it is a lovely area to explore with them and we are happy, with prior warning, to cater for those with dogs,m cats and even goats, horses and ponies. I will even go out on my old mare and show visitors the local rides if needed. But of course not all that stay have any animals at all and we try to make it a pleasant experience for those that do not also. Thank you very much for your feedback xx
“Very Comfortable Small Cottage”
It's in the very small village of Porkellis, about 4m north of Helston. To reach it you drive down a narrow rutted bridleway, which is quite alright for the average family car, if taken slowly. … More
Owner's reply: I am so glad you liked the little Studio. We enjoyed having you to stay. The lane to our smallholding - our own home and the Studio - is basically a bridle track and unsurfaced and rutted. It is what is known as a 'non adopted ' access, which means no one at all owns it not us or the next door farm or the other household that uses it, we all just have a right of way. It is the old mining track that was used to get to Wheal Enys Mine ( our house is the old account house for that mine ) and to the three further mines on the hill above. It is an anomaly left over from the mining days and the council also have no jurisdiction over it or any onus on them to repair or maintain it. My husband does in the winter manually fill the potholes with a wheelbarrow and ash-felt or concrete, so thus keeping it usable and as you point out if you take it slowly it is OK. Ideally we would love to surface it properly but the estimates are over 25k and we just do not have that and the other users are not concerned so do not want to contribute. The positive side of this is it keeps the area and our house and The Studio very private, quiet and safe, with no chance of any building on the lovely countryside around us. The Studio is small, about the size of a family room in a hotel with an additional kitchenette area and a shower room/toilet. It is indeed too small to fit a washing machine but we are always happy to do one or more service washes for guests anytime and we leave a notice in the studio to that effect. The electric to the Studio from the main house will not take the power for anything else but a small oven/cooker with two rings that runs off of a normal ring main. We have looked into it but it is not possible to put a dedicated cooker spur to it . For most it is adequate for those on holiday as many go out to eat quite often during their stay and I have stayed in the Studio myself and cooked on it with no problem, but we do realise it may not be adequate for all, especially those with families that stay, and several families stay and many return year after year. Yes the heating, if you come at a time of year to need it, is very efficient and warms the Studio very well. It runs on bottle gas, as there is no mains gas to the smallholding, but it heats the hot water and the two radiators very well. I agree if it is not clear I should explain more fully in the listing about these points above. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
“Lovely Little Cornish Cottage”
Me & my partner stayed here for eight nights recently and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is surrounded by lovely open fields, so the cottage and BBQ area really has great views. The bed wa… More
Owner's reply: I am very so sorry about the smell but I assure you it was/is not due to lack of cleaning. I do everything i can to ensure the inside, and outside of all cupboards and indeed everything is clean. I do a deep clean of the whole Studio including the inside of all cupboards twice a year and clean inside them every time we changeover with spray bleach cleaner. I am afraid what you could smell is the walls of the house. It is a 200 year old granite built cottage with 2ft 6 thick walls. Which are cob filled. They have no damp course, our whole house has no damp course as you cannot use a damp course in a granite cob building as the cob dies out and the walls fall down. They rely on the natural exchange of moisture for the cob to remain binding. Threfore most, if not all Cornish granite/cob walls have a slight musty smell that can be strange if you are not used to it. If the wall has nothing against it, the surface dries out and you do not notice anything. But kitchen cabinets by nature are open backed and sit tight against the walls, with a door on them that would keep any slight musty smell in. No amount of cleaning would or could remove it. To be honest I no longer notice it after 32 years in Cornwall. if I put my head right in those cupboards I can smell nothing at all. But I understand that those not used to it can and will. When I first came back to live in Cornwall from London, in a different, but also granite/cob cottage, I did used to notice it myself. However I have long not been able to smell anything at all of this nature. Due to this since your stay I have used a fungicide on the walls behind the kitchen cupboards and put a deodorizer in each cupboard. I find the smell of the deodorizer unpleasant myself, far more than the natural smell of the granite/cob walls. But I am hoping this will help those who are unused to buildings made of this material.
- How do I find more info about the property?
You can get in touch with Veritee (the owner) through the contact form on this page.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.
- What if I have questions before I book?
Send Veritee (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I contact Veritee (the owner)?
Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Veritee the owner's contact details or send them a message.
- What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Veritee (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then
Or send Veritee (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.
- What is a booking request?
When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Veritee (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- How do I know my booking is safe?
To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.
- How do I know what it will cost for my stay?
Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.
You can also request a quote from Veritee (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.
- How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?
You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.
- How do I pay for my holiday?
Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Veritee (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.
If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.
Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.
- Why can't I call Veritee (the owner) before booking?
You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.
If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.
- How do damage deposits work?
In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.
Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.
- How can I view and manage my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.
- How do I pay the balance of my holiday?
You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.
We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.
- How can I retract my booking request?
You’ll need to contact Veritee (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.
- How do I cancel my booking?
Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.
- How do I edit my booking?
You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Veritee (the owner) a message.
If Veritee (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours