£65 / night help
Price for guests, Nights

The Old Workshop – Home 116042 Gite

  • 1 bedroom
  • 5 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Gite / 1 bedroom / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 5

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 20 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car essential
  • Air conditioning
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner


More Less


  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Beds in other rooms: Sofa Bed
  • 1 En suite, 1 Toilet Only


  • Wi-Fi available
  • Air conditioning
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Patio
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Deck
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less


  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Getting around

This section is for us to tell you about public transport that you could use. In short, there isn't any closer than about 20 minutes drive - sorry, but you really do need your own vehicle to get from here to the major towns where there are buses, trains and so on for going further afield - to Paris or Le Mans for example. Taxis are (theoretically) available - but expensive, due to the distances they need to travel.

Interaction with guest

Before you arrive, we ask when your arrival time is likely to be so that we can aim to be here for you - only under exceptional circumstances would this differ. We also ask if you have any specific interests or things you'd like to do so that some of the suggested activities can be drawn to your attention. When you arrive, we show you around the property outside and do a tour of inside, drawing your attention to various things of importance or interest and are also available to respond to questions. We live on site so allowing for leading our own lives we are generally available to assist with enquiries and so on whilst you are here. Besides that, we aim to be friendly...or not, as you prefer.


Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £100.00
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

House rules

Children are welcome in our gites, but it should be noted that we do not make any special provision (such as toys, sports or outdoor play equipment) for entertaining them.


About the owner

Lis E.
Response rate:
Calendar updated::
16 Apr 2018
Years listed:
Based in:
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, French

This Gite has 1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 5. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 01 Feb 2010. Located in Maine et Loire, it has 23 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £325 to £535.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 16 Apr 2018.


Map and how to get there


Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 23 reviews Excellent
23 reviews

Very Good

“Don't delay book NOW”

Reviewed 13 Aug 2013

We had very high expectations for this Gite after looking at the photos and reviews, all I can say is that without doubtour expectations were surpassed. This gite has been thought through through to the ultimate degree, there is NOTHING you could want for, all the media (TV, blu ray & Hifi) are panasonic, the sat TV is better than I recieve at home. The kitchen has more appliances/facilities than you could wish for oh the owners are ab fab. Just ask them about places to visit/places to eat there recommendations are first rate. The location is rural and peaceful but central to 5 great towns within 15 mins drive. This is the second gite we have stayed in in France and 1000% better than the other we WILL return to stay again.

Owner's reply: It is really lovely to have such fabulous reviews (personal ones too). Please do as suggested and book now!

“Peaceful retreat with everything you need, and more!...”

Reviewed 25 Jul 2013

We've just spent our second holiday at Le Vieil Atelier near Genneteil and think it was even better than last time round! What makes this gite so appealing is the fact that it has all the facilities you need, great location with wonderful views, peace and quiet, close to historical towns and cities, fabulous local wines, and really lovely owners who live on site and can't do enough to ensure you have a truly enjoyable holiday. The gite is very modern inside and has really excellent facilities and is spotlessly clean. The private garden has a great view over to the local village of Genneteil and the pretty church. The addition this year of a above-ground pool was a god-send as the weather was scorchingly hot but regular dips in the pool cooled us down. The peace and quiet was wonderful and walks into the village and surrounding countryside was just beautiful. We really can't recommend this holiday enough, you will quickly forget about your work life and switch off completely and relax - I'm sure it won't be long before we're back again!

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are very glad that the new pool was appreciated. We are considering upgrading it to a bigger one for next year! We look forward to seeing M & M again one day.

“Great relaxing break”

Reviewed 14 Jul 2013

We stayed at Le Vieil Atelier at the very end of June 2013. We had a lovely relaxing break -just what we needed. We didn't travel too far mostly just enjoying the peace and quiet at the gite. The gite must be the best equipped and well furnished that we have stayed in. If we were to return to this area of France we would have no hesitation in booking here again - and have brought several of Lis and Mike's postcards home to supply to any friends looking for somewhere similar. Lis welcomed us with home made jam and cake and a lovely bottle of sparkling wine - just the way to start the holiday - and we enjoyed some of the homegrown raspberries while we were there. Many thanks Lis and Mike for your hospitality.

Owner's reply: We are so glad these guests enjoyed their stay. I can't promise cake every time, but there is usually a little treat awaiting our guests arrival!

“Le Vieil Atelier was perfect - one of the best equipped gites we have stayed in”

Reviewed 9 Jul 2013

Le Vieil Atelier was spacious, well modernised with a very well equipped kitchen and a pleasant enclosed garden to the rear. The village of Genneteil, where there is bar and small shop, was within easy walking distance. Also a dairy on the outskirts of the village. The owners, Lis and Mike, could not have been more welcoming and helpful and did everything to make our stay truly enjoyable.

Owner's reply: Thank you for the kind comments, we do try to ensure that all our guests remember us for the right reasons!

“A wonderful, spacious, fully equipped gite in the Loire Valley”

Reviewed 30 Sep 2012

We had a very enjoyable time at Le Vieil Atelier in September, 2012. The accommodations, with the living room, dining area and kitchen on the first floor and the lovely bedroom and shower on the second floor were spacious and modern.The fully equipped, eat in kitchen, with access to the fenced in private garden, allowed us to cook wonderful meals while quaffing the Loire Valley wines from the many wineries (including biologiques) that were within easy travel distances. Because we needed quiet and privacy to finish a book for publication, we found Le Vieil Atelier to be perfect. The owners, Lis & Mike, were always friendly, helpful and never intrusive. We are delighted to recommend this gite!

Owner's reply: Thank you J & G for your wonderful comments. Just one point to future potential clients - wifi access is only available under exceptional circumstances and at our absolute discretion. The reason is that we are in the middle of the countryside, some distance from the exchange so we do not have a very good bandwidth and we require what there is for work. This is why our advert says that we do not offer wifi.

“What a find!”

Reviewed 7 Sep 2012

We all really enjoyed our stay at Le Vieil Atelier. A spacious, recently renovated gite, surrounded by fields, beautiful! Lis and Mike were welcoming hosts, on hand to offer their advice on excursions out, local knowledge and ensure that we were comfortable during our stay. They have taken time and trouble to put together their own guide to the local area, which we found really useful. There is so much to see and do nearby a second trip is certainly on the cards! Holidaying with a small child (10 months) for the first time was a daunting prospect but they really had thought of everything, from an abundance of cot linen to a selection of plastic bowls / plates, highchair and a stair gate! Elsewhere in the gite we were also impressed that they really had thought of it all, a decent corkscrew, sharp knives for cooking and a store of kitchen basics, homemade jam, we really felt looked after! 5 stars in our opinion, you won't be disappointed!

Owner's reply: Dear C , M and of course H. Thank you for the wonderful review. We welcome children to our home, especially having recently become grandparents ourselves. However,families travelling with children should note our policy on children now that both our gites are available. It is the case that not everyone wants to be in the proximity of children on holiday so we have a policy of 'first come first served' on the individual bookings. Of course combined bookings for both gites by the same party do not have any restriction on the ages of our visitors. Hopefully this means that our prospective clients know what to expect before they book and have the choice where it is relevant.

“Fantastic gite in a wonderful location”

Reviewed 26 Jul 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 days in the Loire Valley, staying in Le Vieil Atelier. From the moment we arrived, we felt completely relaxed and were made to feel so welcome by Lis and Mike, who have done everything possible to ensure the gite and the holiday experience is first class. Lis had welcomed us with some home-grown lettuce and new potatoes, as well as some home-made plum jam and a lovely cold bottle of fizz to get the holiday off to a great start. Lis and Mike were available to answer any questions throughout our holiday, but were not at all intrusive and made some great suggestions for food and places to visit. The location was just perfect, in the middle of the remote countryside, but near enough to walk the ten minutes into the Genneteil to pick up fresh bread or basic provisions. The gite is also perfectly located to visit lots of interesting towns and cities, all within less than an hour's journey. The gite itself was so well appointed with everything you could want available in terms of equipment and comfort. We have stayed in several gites throughout northern and mid-France over the years and Le Vieil Atelier surpasses all the others by far, both in terms of quality and price - we will be returning next year!

Owner's reply: M & M really meant it when they say they are returning next year - they have already booked! We are very grateful for the lovely comments, we do our best to make people feel welcome.

“Very well-equipped gite in a lovely location”

Reviewed 23 Jul 2012

We stayed at La Petite Touche for 7 nights. We rented Le Vieil Atelier which comprises the middle of three sections of this converted farmhouse. Really well-equipped: fully-fitted kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine; very spacious lounge with large plasma TV, Freesat and Blu-Ray player; bedroom with en-suite bathroom (including walk-in shower) and view over the courtyard; on-site parking. Located less than a mile from the picturesque and sleepy town of Genneteil in the Loire Valley, La Petite Touche is certainly off the beaten track but has easy road access to several larger towns, including Angers and Bauge. Lis and Mike Eastham (the owners) live on-site in one of the other sections of the building. They're friendly, approachable and helpful; they keep their distance to give you privacy during your stay but they are more than willing to answer any questions you might have. Thoroughly recommended.

Owner's reply: We are delighted that C & S enjoyed their stay and would welcome them back again in the future. As mentioned before, we do advertise that our decision not to have Wifi in the gites is deliberate. In emergencies, access to the internet can be accommodated from our part of the property.

“The gite is the best we have used for comfort &equipment.”

Reviewed 2 Jul 2012

The owners who live on site are vry friendly & helpful. Lovely views from the house both front & back. The area around is very peaceful &while we were there the wayside flowers were a delight..There are many places of interest nearby. We will certainly be back.

Owner's reply: These guests were a delight to have here and we look forward to seeing them again. Since their comment that directions to the house were not entirely clear I've tried to clarify the last two directions, so hopefully this little problem has no been eliminated. We'd hate to lose someone before they even got here!

“Heaven in France”

Reviewed 22 Oct 2011

We have travelled many times to France in our 45 years together, but can honestly say this is the best accommodation we have ever had. The owners have put so much thought and effort into making guests feel welcome and comfortable. The property is spacious and provided with everything you can possibly need to make your holiday enjoyable. It is within easy reach of large towns ( we visited Tours and Saumur), but at the same time it is in a peaceful, rural area. We will definitely be returning for another holiday next year.

Owner's reply: All we can say is Thank you! We are delighted that our guests seem to unanimously enjoy their stay with us. We look forward to meeting past clients again and welcoming many more....

Review 1-10 of 23

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

466687 properties

France Holidays

64584 properties


1,333 properties


450 properties

Maine et Loire

333 properties


153 properties


150 properties


69 properties


30 properties


16 properties


11 properties


10 properties


8 properties


8 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Le Puy-Notre-Dame

6 properties


6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.