from £125 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Old St Johns Church – Home 259631 Converted Chapel

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 8 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Old St Johns Church – Home 259631

  • Converted Chapel
  • 3 bedrooms
  • sleeps 8
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 53 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Converted Chapel / 3 bedrooms / 4 bathrooms / sleeps 8

Key Info

  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Bedroom 2: Super King Bed
    Bedroom 3: King Bed
    Beds in other rooms: Double Bed
  • 3 En suites, 1 Shower room

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £100.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Philip E.
Average reply time:
2 hours 49 minutes
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
17 Feb 2018
Years listed:
5
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Converted chapel has 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and sleeps 8. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 05 Sep 2012. Located in Eden District, it has 53 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £660 to £1305.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 17 Feb 2018.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 53 reviews Excellent
53 reviews

Excellent
48
Very Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Wonderful retreat”

Reviewed 11 Oct 2017

The Vicarage is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures and is comfortable and well equipped the perfect place to relax after long walks in the countryside The outstanding scenery combined with an amazing place to stay and kind weather a perfect holiday. The only disappointment was that we had booked for 4 nights not a week. Hopefully we will be back

“Character property”

Reviewed 16 Aug 2017

We had a lovely family week at Old St Johns Church, quiet location friendy locals, the village shop staff were really nice with good information and advice. Phil was very nice in all dealings with him and the property was nice and clean with fresh bedsheets. Staff at the Fox pub were excellent and the food was lovely. Really worth a vist.

“Brillant”

Reviewed 10 Jul 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at St Johns. Philip was wonderful to deal with and responded to any queries immediately. The church has been renovated beautifully. The beds were super cosy and even though it was summer we used the fire each night.

“Beautiful unique holiday home”

Reviewed 5 Jul 2017

We rented the chapel for a weekend as we were attending a friends wedding in Kirkoswald and we have a lovely weekend, the chapel itself is stunning and had everything we needed for our stay, thank You so much, would highly recommend booking if visiting the lakes

“Short break”

Reviewed 8 Mar 2017

Amazing building very useable and family friendly, lovely quite location in the heart of the countryside within a farming community just the spot for a total retreat, although very handy for day trip into the beautiful Lake District countryside and nearby town.

Owner's reply: Thank you for the review! It is wonderful to know that guests enjoyed their stay. We are especially grateful that you have taken the time to write this. Phil & Co.!

“Perfect family weekend, location and unique accommodation”

Reviewed 30 Nov 2016

A surprise weeks for my husband which tuned out to be perfect. Plenty of room, all home from home comforts. We had two dogs with us and they loved the garden and walks close by. 6 adults, 1 baby and two dogs and still plenty of room,. We wanted somewhere to have walks and family meals where everyone wanted to join in. Despite the cold weather the chapel was warm when we arrived, we soon had the wood burning stove going which warmed up the whole property and kept it warm for the whole weekend. The owner was extremely helpful prior to our visit and during when we ran out of logs. Our only, single disappointment was the nearest pub was closed ... Which would have been a nice pre dinner walk and drink but it didn't spoil our time there at all. Then Coombs Wood where we planned our Saturday morning all was also closed for tree felling. My tip here is to check before leaving if there is something specific you want to do in case circumstances have changed. My fault for not checking - lesson learnt but as I said earlier, it did not spoil anything, just became a bit more of an adventure on a snowy morning.

“very disappointing”

Reviewed 13 Nov 2016

on our arrival to say we were impressed with the building is an understatement but our views were soon to change. the kitchen work surfaces were sticky and generally dirty and also a couple of the kitchen units when we opened them the unit doors were hanging off. we had to wash all the crockery and cutlery as they were also dirty. as it was a cold day we decided to light the fire which was a mistake as all the building just filled with smoke ( a problem that persisted all weekend ) the main bedroom was also dirty with at least 20 dead flies on the floor ( I did send photos to the agent about this ) by the side of the bed. so our over all impression was one of extreme disappointment not just with the cleanliness but also the total lack of interest from the agent who as I have stated was sent photographic evidence of our complaints but the fact that they didn't even have the common curtsey to reply. we have been asked by friends if we would recommend old st johns church and our answer has always been a resounding NO NEVER

Owner's reply: I am really sorry to hear of these problems. As a family we put our heart and soul into the renovation and running of the Church as a place for others to enjoy. It is therefore disappointing to learn of these difficulties but I welcome the opportunity to respond to them. I will of course respond to the points you mention and investigate these myself too. However, since it is almost 6 months since your stay with us there may be limitations on the level of pertinent information I can now obtain. I am sorry that the Agent (Trip Advisor/Holiday Lettings) did not respond to your email, as an Owner, I would have responded quickly and courteously (as I believe I did in our other correspondence). I feel that their ignorance (not mine) may have tempered this rating/review. In fact our last correspondence was on the day after departure (3rd May) where you messaged me to say (copied directly from my Booking Manager) - "Hi Philip, I am terrible sorry but we all left in a hurry yesterday and so we haven't left any money for the wood we used. If you could let me know what the cost is and how I can pay you. Many thanks A.” And I replied (3rd May): "The wood is complementary! I also refunded your damage deposit today so that should be with you now. Hope you had a good time and an easy journey home. Regards, Phil”. Perhaps this would have been an ideal time to discuss this? With this as our last exchange I hope you can understand how surprised I was to receive this review today. I will address the points you raised below - The cleaning issues I will discuss with our cleaners to try to understand what happened as our standards are consistently very high. The crockery may have been ‘cleaned’ and put away by previous guests, no excuse, it is on our checklists - so I will try to find out what happened. The fire - There are instructions in the Church and my number is visible in many places around the Church, you could have called me and I could have talked through this. To conclude, I would have welcomed the opportunity to respond to these points around the time of occurrence. I am disappointed that you did not receive a response from the Agent, I would have hoped you’d have chosen to send the comments direct to me as I believe I could have dealt with this for you much more effectively. With best wishes and apologies, Phil & Family

“Fantastic restoration very comfy a joy to stay in, let dogs stay as well perfect.”

Reviewed 12 Nov 2016

Had a fab time at this church really homely. All rooms having en suite, kitchen amazing. Would definitely recommend. 5 stars.

“Fantastic Converted Church”

Reviewed 7 Nov 2016

Just visited for a long weekend with the family to use as a base to hop into the Lakes. Nicely converted church out in the sticks. Arrived on a cold and wet night, opened the door and turned the lights on to reveal a warm and cosy weekend retreat away from the world - which was exactly what we needed. Our 3 kids were happy once they discovered WIFI was installed (not my number 1 priority) Read the instructions then jump up on the stool in the master bedroom and pull down the ladder to reveal a secret room with a viewing platform within the steeple. Would highly recommend to everyone!

“A unique property surrounded by wonderful countryside”

Reviewed 30 Sep 2015

Wonderful weather meant we could enjoy our local walks each day. Plenty of helpful information & advice given on the premises, plus a welcoming bottle of wine Not stayed in this area before, but would like to return

Review 1-10 of 53

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

441327 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

59386 properties

England Holidays

43357 properties

Cumbria Holidays

2064 properties

Keswick

237 properties

Grange-over-Sands

89 properties

Bowness-on-Windermere

77 properties

Ulverston

58 properties

Cockermouth

49 properties

Eskdale

32 properties

Grasmere

29 properties

Troutbeck Bridge

23 properties

Graythwaite

21 properties

Newby Bridge

19 properties

Near Sawrey

18 properties

Elterwater

16 properties

Skelwith Bridge

13 properties

Millom

8 properties

Silecroft

8 properties

Howtown

7 properties

Uldale

7 properties

Skelsmergh

7 properties

Santon Bridge

6 properties

Caldbeck

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.