from
£189 / night
Price for guests, Nights

Old St Johns Church – Home 259631 Converted Chapel

  • 4 bedrooms
  • 8 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Key Info

  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

A rural retreat in the peaceful village of Gamblesby set in the backdrop of the Eden Valley. A perfect place to relax, explore, escape from it all and more…..

An antidote to the hectic daily routine, but home a from home with all of the modern creature comforts you might need. Whether you want to curl up and enjoy the ambience of our sympathetically restored Grade II listed building, or step out and use the Church as a base to enjoy the craggy hills and valleys of the North Pennines or the North Lakes, Old St. John's Church is the perfect hideaway.

The Church underwent a complete restoration and conversion from Church to home, and has been featured on Channel 4's - Restoration Man.

Further details

We request that no ball games are played in the garden as the Church has many beautiful leaded and stained glass windows.

Please do not climb on the dry stone wall boundaries.

We request that dogs are only allowed downstairs and not on the furniture, and that the garden is left as found.

Further details indoors

The church sleeps 8 people comfortably. There are two kingsize rooms, both en-suite, one being located in the spire. One twin room that can alternatively be arranged as a superking, also en-suite and a further double bedroom located on the ground floor with a shower room opposite.

The kitchen is located in the curved end of the Church with a magnificent curved worktop; it is very well equipped and now even includes a Bosch Tassimo coffee machine (if you want to bring your own coffee pods).

The fireplace, located in the spacious living area, is double sided. Opposite the dining area there is a comfortable 'snug' - the former vestry.

WiFi available.

Further details outdoors

The garden is approx. 0.3 acres or predominantly lawn with some border planting. There is ample parking for 4 cars.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: King Bed
    Bedroom 2: King Bed
    Bedroom 3: Super King Bed
    Bedroom 4: Double Bed
  • 3 En suites, 1 Shower room

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time: 16:00, Check out time: 10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).

Damage deposit: £100.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

About the owner

Phillip/ Hanah N.
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated:
06 Nov 2019
Years listed:
7
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:
5

Languages spoken: English

This Converted chapel has 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and sleeps 8. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 05 Sep 2012. Located in Eden District, it has 81 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £1140 to £2061.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 06 Nov 2019.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent
81 reviews

Excellent
75
Very Good
5
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
1

“Our Second Fabulous Stay!”

Reviewed 30 Oct 2019

Another wonderful stay for us at this special place! We will certainly be returning again soon. Thanks again!

Owner's reply: Hi Sue, many thanks for the review, we'll look forwards to seeing you for your 3rd visit! Many thanks Phil and Hanah

“A lovely, unique place”

Reviewed 22 Oct 2019

We had a lovely weekend staying here. The property has been converted from a church and is stunning. The bedrooms are all good sizes. We had a toddler with us who loved it and it was all fairly safe for her. We lit the fire one evening which was nice. A good big social kitchen. A perfect place to stay with a big group.

Owner's reply: Hi, many thanks for the glowing review, we're so pleased you had a lovely stay. Many thanks Phil and Hanah

“superb comverted church”

Reviewed 11 Sep 2019

wonderful converted church and one of the best self-catering places we have stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, spacious, extremely well equipped and quite unique - a large open plan party house or as quiet as you want it - the choice is yours. It comfortably coped with 8 adults and we thought it was very well priced. I'd be amazed if we didn't book St John's church again sometime in the future as we all enjoyed the place so much.

Owner's reply: Hi, thank you for the wonderful review, we are happy you enjoyed your holiday at the church! We hope to see you all back at Old St John's some time in the future, Phil and Hanah

“Amazing family break”

Reviewed 27 Aug 2019

We celebrate my moms 70th birthday and the church was perfect in every way. Spacious, loved the open plan living and kitchen where we could all be together. Having 4 bathrooms and bedrooms was lovely as we all had our own space. Well equipped and finished to a high standard. We were fortunate to have lovely weather and took advantage of the outside space. The kids loved the tower, great views! It’s been cleverly converted and retained so much charm and character. Highly recommend. We had a Sainsbury’s food delivery which was great. Recommend the village pub also.

Owner's reply: Hi, we're so pleased that you had a wonderful time at Old St John's celebrating a special birthday - I think that may be the first 70th celebration at the church. Glad the weather was kind to you as well :-) All the best Phil and Hanah

“Unique holiday let”

Reviewed 25 Aug 2019

We stayed in the church Monday - Friday in August. There were six children aged 4 months - 9 years in the party. What a great place. We watched the “Restoration Man” programme while we were there and it was really interesting to see information about how the church was restored. Such a unique setting. Highlights for us included: - Nice comfy beds - My sister said the shower (in the furthest bedroom) was a 10/10! - the baby loved going up and down the length of the church in his walker - a flock of sheep came into the garden one day (jumped over the wall apparently) which the children all thought was very exciting - lovely modern well equipped kitchen. I loved the worktop! - WiFi was probably the fasted I’ve ever had in a rental property - the owners left us a welcome pack with wine, dishwasher tabs, bin bags etc. Thank you! - We went to Pooley Bridge for a mooch around one day which was nice - After we’d checked out we visited the Village Bakery which was lovely and the Toy Works which we all enjoyed. Things that could have been slightly better but were not a problem in the overall scheme of things were: - I tried to give the kids a bath one night and the hot water ran out when it got to a couple of inches deep. - I found the noise of the boiler? Generator ? In the cupboard in the second bedroom a bit noisy when I was trying to get to sleep - however no-one else in the party was bothered by it. Just a FYI for future guests in the kitchen there is no oil/ sugar/ foil/ clingfilm/tupperware so if you think you will need these don’t forget to take your own. I’ve found some rentals provide these sorts of things some don’t. I usually take them with me but forgot to add them to my Tesco order this time (we had an online food shop delivery on our first evening there which I’d recommend doing). Overall a lovely holiday. I’d definitely recommend this place. Thanks !

Owner's reply: Hi, many thanks for the review, we're pleased you had a lovely holiday and found Old St Johns a great place. Many thanks Phil and Hanah

“Amazing little place”

Reviewed 29 Jul 2019

We spent a weekend here with our French cousins and were not disappointed. We had seen pictures but were blown away when we arrived. We were very comfortable in this unique place which is so sympathet… More

Owner's reply: Thank you for your review Sally, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Church and visiting the beautiful Eden Valley. We will look forward to your return and to the invasion from across The Channel! Phil and Hanah :)

“Beautiful well appointed and spotlessly clean. Lovely location.”

Reviewed 11 Jul 2019

Lovely location and very well appointed. Only downside was that after two of the party had shower there was not any hot water left for the others. As the property is advertised for eight this may pres… More

Owner's reply: Hi, many thanks for the feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the hot water the church uses an air sourced heat pump for heating and hot water, this is by far the greenest way to provide heating/hot water. In addition the hot water can be boosted by turning on the immersion heater, this is mentioned in the brochure left at the church and we'll certainly make sure this is more prominent when we re-write the brochure. Many thanks

“Great weekend with friends”

Reviewed 8 May 2019

Perfect place to base yourself for a weekend - cosy rooms, well-kitted kitchen and walking distance to the pub. Lots of room and enclosed garden for the dog.

Owner's reply: Hi Katherine, Many thanks for the review, we're so pleased you had a great weekend at Old St John's all the best, Phil and Hanah

“Beautiful, full of character and cosy.”

Reviewed 21 Apr 2019

Old St Johns is the perfect combination of old character and charm mixed with modern day amenities and design. A beautiful place to stay and only a 30 minute drive to Ulswater. Gamblesby is a lovely, quaint little village and Melmerby nearby has a wonderful bakery for breakfasts and lunches! We can't wait to book our next stay here so enjoy being around the cosy fire and cooking up a feast in the absolutely amazing kitchen. Highly recommend!

Owner's reply: Hi, many thanks for your review (we agree the old bakery does some wonderful breakfasts!). Hopefully we'll see you all again sometime thanks Phil and Hanah

“Beautiful Venue in a great location”

Reviewed 12 Apr 2019

Fabulous feature property on the edge of the Pennine National Park. There is a local pub approx 1.5 mile walk but talk a torch if planning on coming back when dark. We used it as a base to explore t… More

Owner's reply: Hi Lee, thank you for your review, we're thrilled you had a nice time all the best, Phil and Hanah

Review 1-10 of 81

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to send the owner a message.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Phillip/ Hanah (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

If you’ve already booked, go to Manage your holiday booking to view Phillip/ Hanah the owner's contact details or send them a message.

What's the difference between 'Book your stay' and 'Contact the owner/manager'?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online and send Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) a booking request. You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then

Or send Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) an enquiry through the Contact the owner/manager form if you’d like a quote or more info first.

What is a booking request?

When you pay online through the Book your stay form, a booking request is sent to Phillip/ Hanah (the owner). You’ll find out within 24 hours whether they’ve accepted - no money will leave your account before then.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

How do I know my booking is safe?

To book this holiday home you need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website. Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection. This means that in the unlikely event that you’re prevented or denied access to your holiday home when you check in, we’ll offer a full refund for the stay.

Find out more about booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Simply enter your holiday dates in the Book your stay form to calculate the cost of your stay.
Click Book now to see a full breakdown of the price.

You can also request a quote from Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) through the contact form. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online.

How do I know if my booking request has been accepted?

You’ll receive an email within 24 hours to let you know. Or you can check in Manage your holiday booking. No money will leave your account unless it’s accepted.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Use the Book your stay form to pay provisionally online. You can pay by credit/debit card or PayPal. Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) will have 24 hours to accept the booking and no money will leave your account before then.

If you’ve been sent a quote, simply accept it and pay online through the email we sent you. You can also do this in Manage your holiday booking.

Only bookings paid for through our site are covered by our trusted Payment Protection.

Why can't I call Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) before booking?

You can exchange contact details with the property owner/manager once your booking is confirmed and you’ve paid in full. Paying and communicating only through our platform allows us to ensure that your booking is covered by our Payment Protection policy.

If you have any questions before booking, you can send the property owner/manager a message via the contact form on their listing. Once you’ve booked, you can discuss the rental and make arrangements for your trip by logging into Manage my booking.

How do damage deposits work?

In most cases, you don’t pay a damage deposit up front. Instead, we save your payment details securely and you’re only charged in the event of damage to the property.

Occasionally, you will pay a damage deposit up front as part of the total rental cost. In this case, the owner has 10 days after you check out to report any damage. If they don’t, we’ll return your deposit. If their claim is successful, we’ll deduct the agreed cost and return the remainder.

How can I view and manage my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to view all your booking details, pay the balance of your holiday or cancel it if you need to.

How do I pay the balance of my holiday?

You can pay the remaining balance of your holiday at any point. Simply go to Manage my holiday booking and click Pay now.

We’ll automatically charge the balance payment to the same payment method 10 days before it’s due. Go to Manage my holiday booking to see when the payment will be taken.

How can I retract my booking request?

You’ll need to contact Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) to do this. Send them a message in Manage your holiday booking or through the contact form on this page.

How do I cancel my booking?

Go to Manage your holiday booking to cancel your booking. Here you can view your cancellation policy to see if you’ll be refunded.

How do I edit my booking?

You can request to change the dates or number of people on your booking via the Manage your holiday booking page. To change your holiday dates use the Edit booking button. If you need to change the number of guests staying then send Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) a message.

If Phillip/ Hanah (the owner) agrees, they’ll send you a revised quote outlining the changes. You can review and accept/decline this from the Manage your holiday booking page. You’ll have 48 hours to take action before the revised quote expires.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

494690 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

78513 properties

England Holidays

57227 properties

Cumbria Holidays

2851 properties

Keswick

412 properties

Eden District

317 properties

Ambleside

200 properties

Windermere

154 properties

Bowness-on-Windermere

114 properties

Grange-over-Sands

112 properties

Penrith

110 properties

Kendal

108 properties

Coniston

74 properties

Ulverston

70 properties

Cockermouth

67 properties

Grasmere

52 properties

Appleby

51 properties

Duddon Valley

47 properties

Kirkby Stephen

40 properties

Troutbeck Bridge

30 properties

Millom

27 properties

Eskdale

22 properties

Newby Bridge

22 properties

Howtown

21 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.