Very Good

13 reviews

1 / 15 Police House Cottages - picturesque village setting, just mins from magnificent beach

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 8 Home 1125017

Need more information about booking Home 1125017 ?

Old Police House Cottages Cottage

2bedrooms
8sleeps
 min stay varies

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / 3 bathrooms / sleeps 8

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0.5 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • 2 Cots available
  • High chair available

Description from owner

Description

3 superb stone cottages within lovely gardens in the picturesque village of Embleton.

Spacious open plan living room & dining area with french oak furniture. Fully equipped modern kitchen, separate utility & downstairs cloakroom. Private patio areas to front & back of each cottage.

Upstairs are 2 well-appointed bedrooms (1 x superking or 2 x twin beds), each with ensuite bathroom.

2 x double sofa beds sleep up to 4 extra guests downstairs.

Free WiFi.

Dogs welcome in the cottage and on all local beaches.

Short breaks available - fully flexible changeover days to suit you.

Cots and childrens' beds also available.

Bed & bathroom

  • 2 Super King Beds, 2 Sofa Beds, 4 Single Beds, 2 Cots available
  • 1 family bathroom, 2 en suites

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Shared garden
  • Private garden
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Staffed property
  • Pool or snooker table
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

Will consider

  • Long term lets (over 1 month)

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Michael T
Response rate:
95%
Calendar updated:
17 May 2016

Languages spoken: English

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 13 reviews Excellent
13 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
10
Very Good
1
Good
2
Poor
0
Terrible
0

“Well equipped and conveniently located by one of the best coastlines in England”

Reviewed 23 Nov 2015

Lovely cottage, very clean and comfortable with everything you would need to relax and enjoy a stay along one of England's best coastlines. Great location within the village of Embleton which has a local post office/store and 2 very good eating establishments; the Grey's Inn pub and the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. There is a bus service which runs up and down the coast up to Seahouses into Craster and across into the town of Alnwick. The walk from theGolf Club up along the sandy shore, over the dunes and fields past the ruins of Dunstanburgh Castle and into Craster is one of our favourites.

Dear Richard S We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Police House Cottages at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Brilliant location for beautiful Northumberland coast”

Reviewed 16 Oct 2015

Booked late so had to pay premium rates as bigger cottage than would usually take. Accommodation very pleasant and clean. Hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. Fridge very noisy! Communal gardens don't work for pets, if all cottages have pets. Not sure about the description of Private Patio, it was a table in the communal gardens with a piece of trellis between! So take care if you are expecting privacy. First night Ok but then family moved in next door for second night and spent all night running up and down stairs!! Very noisy if you like to retire and rise early! If booking take into account that it is a terrace of cottages and as such no privacy. As a mature couple with a pet we wouldn't book this cottage again but would definitely return to Embleton.

Dear Val B We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Great location”

Reviewed 15 Aug 2015

The cottage is very well equipped very comfortable .great location 10 minute walk to the beach by Dunstanburgh castle. Hotel breakfast was lovely all staff very helpful

Dear Mrs Savage We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Old Police Houses at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“An excellent cottage very well equipped but spoilt for us by a smelly oil boiler.”

Reviewed 3 Jul 2015

If the faulty central heating boiler is fixed I would recommend this property. However, for the five days we were there no attempt was made to fix it.

“Excellent”

Reviewed 11 May 2015

The cottages and pub were superb for a family gathering the staff were great food excellent the location very convenient

Dear Guest We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Old Police Houses at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Highly recommended”

Reviewed 9 Apr 2015

This cottage is a gem of a find in the lovely village of Embleton. It was absolutely spotless & was a great size for our family of four including two toddlers. The pub across the road was not only convenient but served delicious and plate filling food for the whole family. The staff were very accommodating in allowing us to pre-order food from their menu for our little ones so it was ready to be served to them immediately upon our arrival at 6 pm. I was even allowed to take my unfinished glass of wine back to the cottage to enjoy after our little ones were put to bed - a bonus ! The cottage is located within a short walking distance of a swing park but also Embleton Bay which is one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen in England. We were also a short drive from key attractions such as Alnwick Castle , Bamburgh, Seahouses and the village of Craster for the coastal walk to Dunstanburgh Castle. We would definitely like to return !

Dear Guest We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Old Police house Cottages at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Lovely short break”

Reviewed 22 Mar 2015

We have stayed in the Police houses a few times now and have always been impressed by the comfort and quality of furnishings. As with everything relating to the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, the service and customer care is of the highest quality. We have been customers for 20 years and will be back!

Dear Guest We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the old police house at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Lovely Cottages, perfect for a weekend away”

Reviewed 31 Jan 2015

These cottage are exactly how they look on the photos, warm, inviting and an absolute pleasure to stay in. They are clean, spacious and very well appointed. Unfortunately we couldn't get the WIFI to work throughout the weekend, which was a little disappointing. We stayed in January so they worked out as great value. I would highly recommend.

Dear Guest We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Old Police House at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. I am delighted to tell you the power outage which temporarily when you arrived was fixed the following morning. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Peace, quiet and open air plus cosy comfort”

Reviewed 10 Nov 2014

We have stayed in these cottages since they were first opened 5 years ago and previously stayed in the owner's other cottages. The cottages have everything you need including a dishwasher and a tumble dryer. They are 2 bed-roomed and have two bathrooms. As we always go with another couple this is ideal. We always stay in wither October or November and the cottages have always been nice and warm. We have been coming to Embleton for 22 years - the surrounding area is beautiful and we are drawn back every year.

Dear Guest We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

“Smartly furnished, very comfortable and right across the road from very nice food!”

Reviewed 3 Nov 2014

We stayed in 1 Police Cottages with our two children(8 and 6). The cottage was very nicely furnished and immaculately clean. All in all it was very well equipped and laid out. We felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. The village is small but in a wonderful location. It has a small village shop but we chose to avail ourselves of the lovely food in the main hotel. The food was tasty and portions were generous. It was unpretentious and genuinely delicious. I am hoping that we will be able to return in the future. I heartily recommend the cottages to anyone travelling with children as you get some space to yourself for the little ones to make a little noise!

Dear Guest We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon. Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Review 1-10 of 13

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Alnwick

122 properties

Beadnell

80 properties

Seahouses

60 properties

Berwick-upon-Tweed

60 properties

Bamburgh

44 properties

Hexham

36 properties

Amble

30 properties

Haltwhistle

23 properties

Wooler

23 properties

Belford

22 properties

Morpeth

21 properties

Warkworth

15 properties

Corbridge

11 properties

Otterburn

11 properties

Cornhill-on-Tweed

9 properties

Bardon Mill

6 properties

Chatton

6 properties

Beal

6 properties

Felton

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.