from £150 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Villa Diana – Home 18360 Farmhouse

  • 4 bedrooms
  • 10 sleeps
  • 1 night min stay

Farmhouse / 4 bedrooms / 4 bathrooms / sleeps 10

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 100 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Air conditioning
  • Ask about pets
  • Private garden

Description from owner


"Villa Diana" is a delightfull character house set in large private grounds in lovely rural contryside ,yet only 5 mins from the village , which has all you need including an excellent mini supermarket, riverside restaurant and a large outdoor pool and tennis courts.
Air conditioned house with full range activities including carp fishing (free) in your own private lake. Bikes, sling slides , tennis table and boules court. New Large in ground indoor/ outdoor heated pool 8 x 4 with new removable roof (28 to 30°C from April to October) , so you can swim rain or shine...
Also local is the market town of Doué la Fontaine offering superb restaurants, the internationally renowned Zoo, July roses festival and intriguing Troglodytes villages of Louresse and Rochemesnier. The chateau towns of Montreuil Bellay and Saumur, undoubtably one of the most beautiful "village" in France, are within half an hour drive away.
The "Cadre Noir" cavalry

"Villa Diana" is a delightfull character house set in large private grounds in lovely rural contryside ,yet only 5 mins from the village , which has all you need including an excellent mini supermarket, riverside restaurant and a large outdoor pool and tennis courts.
Air conditioned house with full range activities including carp fishing (free) in your own private lake. Bikes, sling slides , tennis table and boules court. New Large in ground indoor/ outdoor heated pool 8 x 4 with new removable roof (28 to 30°C from April to October) , so you can swim rain or shine...
Also local is the market town of Doué la Fontaine offering superb restaurants, the internationally renowned Zoo, July roses festival and intriguing Troglodytes villages of Louresse and Rochemesnier. The chateau towns of Montreuil Bellay and Saumur, undoubtably one of the most beautiful "village" in France, are within half an hour drive away.
The "Cadre Noir" cavalry school shows exhibitions in season. All set of course on the River Loire with its boating and fishing.
There are many other delights to explore. The world famous Futuroscope media technology park is 1 hr drive away. As is the great theme park " Le Puy du Fou", the most important historical and ecological site in Europe.
Le Marais Poitevin , a huge area called locally "la venise verte" is within 1 hr drive.
We are also able to book you in to an international "go karting" circuit and to a fantastic trial bike training school 2 miles away.

Location description from owner

The Pays de la Loire region

The Loire valley particularly here, in the south of the région enjoys what the locals call " la douceur angevine" (the gentleness of Anjou).
Summers tend to be dry and hot ; also it is a perfect place to combine a wine tour; so wine tasting can be arranged if you wish.
Music festivals abound here in summer. You can take in a jazz café in Saumur or Bach in one of many venuues.
Consider also combining the exploration of the region's chateaux with a gastronomic meal for an extra special day out. Wonderful beaches are a couple of hours away


"Villa Diana" is set in tranquil countryside near the wine producing communities of Douay la Fontaine, Cléré , Nueil sur Layon , St Pierre à champ and the medieval fortified town Argenton les Vallées with it's wonderful rock valleys and lake; chateau, riverside beach with pedalos and canoe kayak, mini golf and slide.We have a collection of walks and cycles routes, many are well marked and will guide you through local historical treasures.In summer most of the villages are celebrating their own theme food festivals with outdour late dancing "soiree"

More Less


  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • 2 Cots available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • 4 Double Beds, 2 Sofa Beds, 2 Single Beds, 2 Cots available
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite, 2 Shower rooms


  • Wi-Fi available
  • Air conditioning
  • Private outdoor pool (heated)
  • Private indoor pool
  • Shared indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private garden
  • Swing set
  • BBQ
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Bicycles available
  • Internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Safe
  • Table tennis
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • Video player
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less


  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users


This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Yes, smoking allowed
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Bobby D
Calendar updated::
08 Jul 2015
Years listed:
Based in:
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English, French, Spanish, Italian

This Farmhouse has 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and sleeps 10. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 15 Dec 2006. Located in Maine et Loire, it has 12 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate is £780.

The property’s calendar was last updated on 08 Jul 2015.


Map and how to get there


Guest reviews

Very Good – based on 12 reviews Very Good
12 reviews

Write a review

Very Good
Write a review

“An excellent holiday in rural France”

Reviewed 2 Nov 2012

My Wife, Daughter, Son-in-law and Granddaughter recently had a most enjoyable holiday in this Villa. The setting is real rural France surrounded by tranquil countryside yet close enough to larger Towns with their amenities. The property is modern, clean, spacious and well appointed with just about everything that you’d want for a holiday break, it fronts onto a small lake - which is secure and fenced as is the pool which is a great comfort with small children around. There are garden amusements for children such as slides swings etc and a great selection of bikes allowing you to explore the beautiful countryside- which we did several times. Gerard and Claudine, the owners are wonderful, we were greeted by them on our arrival, given all the information that we needed including all the places to see and visit, they assured us that they where close by if we needed them and then they left us to get on with our holiday which was brilliant. Highly recommended!!

“Villa Diana is a lovely place to relax with lots to do for all ages, we travelled with teenagers and they loved it!”

Reviewed 28 Oct 2012

We had brilliant owners who were extremely friendly and helpful. We were welcomed by Gerard and Claudine who arranged for us to go wine tasting at a wonderful vineyard, booked restaurants for us and helped us with things to do around the area. We had travelled with our dog Chester who needed his passport stamped by the vet, and they advised us how to book on the correct day for us so we could travel back easily. They also were great with our teenagers and put up badminton, table tennis offered bikes for them and Gerard had the pool temperature at 30 degrees for the whole week. Nothing was too much trouble. Villa Diana is a lovely french gite which was ideal for our party. We were two families with teenagers and a dog and we had a wonderful time. The kitchen area has a great big table and is a really sociable area, with a wood burner in the corner which was lovely so we spent a lot of time playing cards and chilling in there. There is also a conservatory that is right next to the lounge area so you could use this area separately or open up the doors and have a large area for everyone. We used it both ways depending on what the kids were doing. There is also sky TV if you wanted to watch telly. The outside of the Villa was excellent for us, and even though it was October, we spent lots of time in the grounds and in the pool, as it is completely covered and was lovely and warm. The kids had a wonderful time racing on lilos and playing in the pool. Gennerton is a very beautiful small village in rural France, it suited us well as it was very private and we didn't have to worry about disturbing anyone else. It was great for the dog as well and felt extremely safe. We soon found the supermarkets and small shopping towns in the surrounding areas. We were also very close to the vineyards and had a great time wine tasting. We had a very relaxing time in a beautiful part of france and we enjoyed every minute of it. Our time was definitely enhanced by having such friendly hosts who did everything possible to accommodate any needs we had ranging from free range eggs to vets! They were very welcoming to the kids and also the dog, which as a parent and a dog owner was very important to me. Thanks for a lovely holiday Gerard and Claudine! The Davies Family


Reviewed 14 Oct 2012

What a fortunate find, a wonderful place, the setting is beautiful and secluded. The weeping willows which surround the impressive lake to the front of the property made for pleasant evenings sitting on the terrace enjoying a barbecue or just a quiet moment with a drink and a chat about the events of the day. The accommodation was clean and very comfortable, with all the amenities we needed to make our stay a very enjoyable experience. The securely fenced heated pool, lawns and grounds were well maintained and made for an idyllic setting for a relaxing break. There was a good selection of outdoor equipment available to provide amusement when we felt that we did not want to go anywhere Boules, badminton, basketball, fishing equipment, sun loungers etc. as well as English TV channels, a good selection of English books The large selection of bicycles was also very handy for exploring the quiet country lanes and villages surrounding the property. Gerard the owner was always available (but discreet and respectful of our privacy and needs) and keen to give assistance when approached and to give advice on where to visit and what to see. His attention to detail made sure that all our needs were fully met. This all made for an unforgettable vacation We will definitely be booking this property again next year, but this time for the fortnight and not just the week. Thank you Gerard and Claudine for making our stay so enjoyable You have created a fantastic set up, and as I said before we left we will be recommending it to our friends (but not until we have booked the dates we want first in case they get in before us).

“Very disappointing and misleading!”

Reviewed 17 Aug 2012

Very disappointed and misleading ! Villa Diana is in very attractive surroundings. Facing a large ‘pond’ (not a lake! As described in the advertisement – the size and depth which would obviously determine this) The house itself is ‘tired’ and in need of internal renovation/decoration. It is described as having three en suite bedrooms, of which there was only one. The toilet and shower of the en-suite bedroom were grimy and the shower was in desperate need of a new shower head as it delivered a single torrent and threatened to flood the shower basin before one had finished ones ablutions as the drain was not able to carry the water away fast enough. The shower basin then suffered from a back flow of grimy water which left it full of black grit after each shower. There was no air-conditioning in this bedroom which the owner commented on the day before we left the property as he said ‘there is no gas in the unit, but you can leave the door open and the room will be cooled by the air-con unit running in the lounge. Not particularly desirable from a privacy point of view living as two families with children and teenagers. The other main bedroom (described as en suite) was not. There was a separate toilet and separate bathroom which stunk each morning of sewers! Extremely unpleasant! When mentioning this to the owner he replied oh good ? maybe he misunderstood ?? We also found fleas in this bed! no doubt left from a previous occupant? He mentioned at the beginning of the week that his septic tank needed attention. A pity he did not think that this was something which clearly needed attention before renting out his property!! The third bathroom had a shower, in which the doors were severely cracked and hanging off, leaving sharp edges which were quite dangerous for the children. The television although adequate for our needs kept losing the signal , remedied by banging it several times on the side (we were instructed in this by the owner) The pool/snooker table did not exist – when I enquired where it was the owner looked at me blankly and then suggested we go into the village to play. The towels were tiny and like sand paper – we had to go into the village and buy some! The basket ball net was inaccessible as it was hidden behind an abundance of Willow tree branches. The table tennis table was old and weathered as were the swings and some of the garden chairs were so frail from being subject to the elements that they bowed when sitting on them. Indeed my son-in-law narrowly escaped injury to his back as one of the chairs broke as he sat in it. The owner also appeared to erect a fence the day before we left removing our access to the games area altogether??? We could not find the hammock? The swimming pool had been a major consideration for us when choosing this property and at the beginning of the week when the weather was slightly inclement the cover was advantageous. However as the week wore on the temperature reached 30 degrees and although it is advertised as having a removable roof it became very clear that this was not an option. In fact the owner consistently kept reminding us to make sure the pool cover was replaced after every period of use and the front cover zipped up. Having been shown how the pool lights worked it too became evident that swimming late at night was also not an option. On several occasions we were asked if we had finished swimming ( at around 7pm!) and the owner proceeded to carry out pool maintenance. I was even asked if the lady next door could use the pool while we were having our dinner! For the whole week that we were there the owner would appear around the property or would cycle or walk backwards and forwards from his house (behind the hedge), making it very intimidating for my daughter who wished to sun bathe in her bikini in private. He would on occasion suddenly appear in the house! He appeared on several occasions behind the pool carrying out garden maintenance, noisily chopping down trees/hedges and would suddenly appear with either a question or a complaint of some description. He even approached the children one day and asked them if they would not splash too much!!!!!! because he was losing water from the pool and had to re-fill it with a hose pipe! This we considered was a totally ridiculous request for someone to make to a guest whilst they are using a swimming pool on holiday! It had been mentioned previously in a book of Guest comments in the accommodation. My son-in-law had to fix the remote WiFi modem as it had been broken.The owner did mention that also at the beginning of the week. We are very disappointed with our weeks holiday at Villa Diana and the description of its facilities are NOT a true indication of what is actually on offer. The problems with the house were at most extremely irritating, but had we realized that we were going to be watched so closely, criticized so often and our privacy invaded in such a big way we would not have rented this property. Whilst we appreciate that owners are taking people on trust into their properties they too need to realize that people require not only up to date facilities and nice surroundings, but privacy and seclusion to enjoy their holidays in peace! Sadly I'm afraid we will not be returning.

Owner's reply: Sorry to hear that a family did not enjoy their stay at "villa Diana" however excepted one or two tecnical problems they noticed concerning a shower and a few minor little troubles, nothing else was mentioned about any of the aboves issues during the week. We always try and deal with all guest problems efficiently and effectively however whithout notice any other problems, we can do little to help them. After 12 years of renting our villa, firstable during 6 years through "Chez nous" website then 6 years through "Holiday Lettings" after over 480 bookings and over 300 enquiries per year, We have never had a bad review but further so many successive good appreciations on guest book or on "livre d'or" at the gite. Guests have always been more than happy to have on site owners to give informations on local places to visit, to make reservations, give directions and enquiries on there behalf for those who don't speak french. Acoording the relative good relation-ship between all the menbers of this family and us in spite of these little troubles with a shower (there are two other in the gite), I innocently agreed to them posting their review, this shows we had no idea they were so unhappy with their stay. We do have certain daily chores that have to be done on the swimming pool and grounds around to provide the best services, but out off the garden of the villa so we cannot avoid to being in these arounding areas sometimes in the property approx. two acres wide, yet it's easy with a private pass to the gite all around the lake for guest and another private pass for the owner behind the accomodation out off the garden which is really well fenced by green troenes and laurels trees or bamboo rods edges all along the yard of the villa and offering so a very good and rare privacy (even the swimming pools are double fenced by wooden panels). The gite "villa Diana" is officialy registered in Prefectue since 12 years as "Meublé de Tourisme" under SIREN n° 309900116 at the "Comité Departemental du Tourisme" and has been agreed under the new Label "Atout France" by the new european norms concerning Holiday houses, Hotels, Luxury Chateaux, Chalet mountains, Campsites, and Gite accomodations ... in March 2011 ( proof showing in the conservatory of the gite according the french law) done by the wellknown association "Gites de France". So before to get such classification, it was compulsory to be checked by a local healthy organisation (SCANC) in charge of verification of all septic tanks of evry house in the coutryside (agreements delivered for 5 more years before to upgrade each draining system according again the new european norms in year 2016 - proof for both accommodations of my own - with a yearly emptying and cleaning of them with periadiclly adding tablets for bacteries - done end of July 2012 in the middle of renting season -bill as proof). Concerning upgrading, during year 2003 a complete external restoration has been done; then last year, on winter before to be labeled "Atout France" a complete internal restoration of wall, ceiling , doors and windors paint, coat "crepi", ground laminate, pitures, etc... has been redone in each room. During this last winter too, Kitchen has been completly renewed with most of brand new appliances; so this accommodation don't need any restoration inside at all but only a yearly maintenance as usual after each renting out period. In fact this lovely holiday house is sometimes summary victim of its great success week after week, year after year. Renting a bedroom in Hotel, a Luxury Chateau, a Chalet Mountain, or caravan and mobilehome in Campsite, or a gite accommodation don't means owning it: there are alwas respective policies to follow even if certain sometimes could appear strange or stupid for certain people (like for example saving water of swimming pool because of restriction of using water according an "Arreté Prefectoral" in our countryside because of low level of water table in the deep undergrounds...and so on). If we are told of such high dissatisfaction on site from guests during holiday, we are able to repay back their stay or set them freely in an other gite accommodation straight on; but after a negative review, it's not possible to offer a week free for the year after as requested by this family because there is no way to delete it from the advert; this is also a proof that they have after all got, whatever they wrote, a good bargain in our holiday house "villa Diana". Anyway "c'est la vie!" but gentleness and direct dialogue between guest and owner will always be better than a negative review afterward. "" Happy new year and all the best for your holiday 2013!""

Review 1-10 of 12

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

424304 properties

France Holidays

52957 properties


559 properties

Maine et Loire

332 properties


319 properties


150 properties


126 properties


87 properties


33 properties


21 properties


10 properties


9 properties


8 properties


7 properties


6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.