Very Good

21 reviews

1 / 24 Apartment is on the port, an area of Dinan which is reckoned to have been inhabited since 9AD

Need more information about booking Home 81938 ?

Payment Protection

from £80 / night help Price for guests, Nights

A tranquil riverside hideaway Apartment

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 4 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Apartment / 2 bedrooms / 1 bathroom / sleeps 4

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 18 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Description from owner

Description

Duplex riverside apartment situated in a beautiful and tranquil spot on the upper two floors of an authentic Bretagne town house, featuring amazing views from every window. A two minute stroll from the heart of the old town, arguably one of France's most architecturally fascinating and well preserved walled medieval towns. Inspirational, fun and beautiful - everyone loves Dinan, with good reason, and this a great base to explore the town and the surrounding region.Dinan is packed with lively squares, restaurants, shops, bars, nooks & crannies, and it oozes easygoing authentic Bretagne charm. An absolutely perfect year-round holiday apartment ideal for couples, small families or even alone - stay for three days or three weeks....The apartment faces out to the enchanting and hypnotic River Rance. You can wave at the boats floating up and down if you like or just relax, take it all in and get lost in your own world for moment....aaaahIn the attic there are two double bedrooms,

Duplex riverside apartment situated in a beautiful and tranquil spot on the upper two floors of an authentic Bretagne town house, featuring amazing views from every window. A two minute stroll from the heart of the old town, arguably one of France's most architecturally fascinating and well preserved walled medieval towns. Inspirational, fun and beautiful - everyone loves Dinan, with good reason, and this a great base to explore the town and the surrounding region.Dinan is packed with lively squares, restaurants, shops, bars, nooks & crannies, and it oozes easygoing authentic Bretagne charm. An absolutely perfect year-round holiday apartment ideal for couples, small families or even alone - stay for three days or three weeks....The apartment faces out to the enchanting and hypnotic River Rance. You can wave at the boats floating up and down if you like or just relax, take it all in and get lost in your own world for moment....aaaahIn the attic there are two double bedrooms, dressing area and and bath / shower room. Downstairs is the entrance hall, kitchen / dining room, lounge and WC. There is also a shared courtyard at the rear of the property suitable for BBQs.

Further details

English speaking representative will meet & greet you at the property

No fixed change-over day therefore you can arrive and depart any day Monday - Sunday to suit your needs

Please specify if you want linen / towels

Further details indoors

In the attic there are two double bedrooms, dressing area and and bath / shower room. Downstairs is the entrance hall, kitchen / dining room, lounge and WC. The apartment faces out to the enchanting and hypnotic River Rance. You can wave at the boats floating up and down if you like or just relax, take it all in and get lost in your own world for moment....aaaah

Further details outdoors

Parking usually available on the road side directly outside Shared courtyard at the rear of the property suitable for BBQs etc

Location description from owner

The Brittany region

Dinan is one Europe's oldest and most enchanting settlements, with traceable history dating back 900 yearsPeaceful riverside location 2 minutes stroll from the wealth of restaurants, bars and shopsA short drive from some beautiful beachesHome of the legenday Fete des RampartsA fantastic part of the world to spend some time

Dinan

Dinan is a spectacularly well preserved medieval walled town which is truly wonderful and oozing with charm, beauty and fascinating architecture. The town is a short drive from some beautiful beachesHome of the legenday Fete des RampartsA fantastic part of the world to spend some time

More Less

Bed & bathroom

  • 1 Double Bed, 2 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom

Amenities

  • Shared garden
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Iron
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Oliver B
Response rate:
95%
Calendar updated:
10 Jul 2016
Years listed:
5
Based in:
United Kingdom

Languages spoken: English


This Apartment has 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 02 Mar 2011. Located in Cotes-d'Armor, it has 21 reviews with an overall rating of 4.5. The average weekly rate varies from £350 to £440.

The Owner has a response rate of 95% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 10 Jul 2016.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 21 reviews Excellent
21 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
11
Very Good
7
Good
2
Poor
1
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Great Flat, Lovely Location, Will return”

Reviewed 22 Apr 2013

We stayed her last year and have just booked to go again. I have read the recent reviews and was really surprised to hear what a negative experience someone has had. It's a beautiful little flat with a quirky feel to it, enhancing the experience of being in France. The views over the river are superb and its easy to loose a few hours just watching the world go by out of the huge windows (made even better with a good bottle of wine!!) The apartment is child friendly and the fact that it is not 'overdone' means as parents you can relax without worrying about damage etc. It could do with a lick of paint here and there but that is reflected in the prices charged and it did not impact on our holiday at all in this lovely flat and city.

“Lovely spot, terrible flat; misleading advertising”

Reviewed 14 Aug 2012

The flat is wonderfully situated with great views over The Rance and up towards the old town of Dinan. We rented a car while in Dinan and had no issues being able to park it in the street outside, however, and this is of course no fault of the flat, our hire car was damaged by passing traffic overnight. The flat itself is of very poor quality. Firstly, despite being advertised as being rentable by the day, we were forced to pay for a full week's rental for this flat, despite only needing it for 3 nights (we ended up requesting 4 nights as we were arriving very early so started the booking from the night before we arrived). As a result we ended up paying much more than the advertised rate. That said, the owner kindly chose to include linen for use (which is non standard apparently) which was handy as we had, by then, been travelling for four weeks. The flat itself, while very well located, is in very poor condition. Faults included missing or broken curtain railings, broken door handles (one came off, and one was so loose it was only by being very careful with it that it stayed on), stained carpets, no screens (mosquitoes were a minor issue thankfully), and on the whole it was very dusty. Overall the flat was badly in need of maintenance. It was also the first flat I stayed on on the entire holiday that lacked any sort of wifi or internet access. The flat is also advertised as being suitable for people with mobility issues. While this was not a concern for us I am concerned that, as it's at the top of a steep set of spiral stairs with very narrow doors, there is simply no way anyone in a wheelchair or even on crutches could access the place. Hence the claims made in the advertisement are patently untrue. Likewise it is advertised as child-friendly but really it is not, especially not toddler safe as there are many sharp objects, loose nails and screws, and unsafe windows. The hot water is very hot, to the point of scalding, and we could not find the plug for the sink, so washing dishes was tricky. The flow from the cold and hot taps doesn't blend so you had to deal with occasional minor burns. Again as an adult this is fine but a child could seriously hurt themselves. On the upside the flat included a working fridge, toaster, and coffee plunger. Dinan is littered with delicious places to buy fresh produce and so forth so we were able to eat breakfast in the flat every morning. We had the opportunity to visit friends who'd rented a flat slightly closer to the old-town and their flat was beautiful; wonderfully appointed, and with excellent internet. The price per-person they were paying was roughly the same. So in terms of value for money our flat was quite a disappointment. If there had been any other places to stay in Dinan we'd not have stayed in this flat.

Thanks for your feedback. I'm genuinely disappointed that you feel you didn't recieve value for money because whilst I'm aware of the apartment's numerous shortcomings (several you mention, inc the door handles and blind, have already been remedied) I do try and price it accordingly in the hope all guests feel they have got a good deal ! I realise the place has taken a hammering this year and will receive a freshen up before christmas. I take your comment about not being suitable for children very seriously because we have had several young families to stay this year (inc my own) and I hadn't judged that to be the case ; our property manager will investigate this IMMEDIATELY. The place should not be advertised as suitable for people with mobility issues (my mistake - apologies) and the listing has now been changed. I sincerely hope that you decide to visit this amazing town again and next time you have a more pleasurable stay

“Can't beat staying on the river”

Reviewed 18 Jun 2012

Compared with most other local accommodation, this apartment has a good list of reviewers – the reason is simple, it is superb. It occupies the entire top floor plus the attic which houses two spacious bedrooms and a bathroom. The external spiral staircase is no problem providing you are not lugging extra large suitcases. Once settled, you will appreciate the location, size, comfort and amenities of the apartment – especially the views of the majestic viaduct. We spent a week here in early June and it is one of the nicest places we have stayed in our journey through France. Dinan is a fantastic town with its two distinct areas – the old medieval village and the Rance River with so much to see. This apartment offers the best of both worlds. It is situated right on the river only 250m to a good hotel (with WIFI and English breakfasts for 7E) and a further short walk to a bakery, a myriad of restaurants and the cobblestone road leading up to the town centre. Apart from exploring the charming walled town with its old buildings, ramparts, magnificent views and shops, there is plenty do around the river – walking, riding and boating. We hired bikes for a day and also hired a small boat and motored up river to Lehon and beyond– fascinating to go through 2 locks. Having a car is not important – we arrived by train (taxi to the apartment is 8E) and the #7 coach to Dinard (3E) is fairly frequent. If you have a car, parking is freely available just opposite the building. If you wish to hire a car and explore the local area, Europcar is 650m from the station or 500m from the town centre. We cannot speak highly enough of the owner and his local English-speaking manager – the few and small queries were immediately attended to with the minimum of fuss. We have no hesitation to recommend this apartment and are already planning a return visit from Australia. Also there is no refundable security deposit required which is often difficult to return to overseas customers - just a simple check-out/inspection process.

“Thoroughly Enjoyable.”

Reviewed 3 Oct 2011

Firstly, we found the location perfect - overlooking the river, within walking distance of all amenities and close to a channel ferry terminal. The accomodation itself was more than adequate for our needs with two large bedrooms and enough room in the living area for two adults and one grumpy teenager. Finally, the flexibility in being able to book mid-week to mid-week suited us perfectly and makes us think it would be a good place to return to.

Review 1-10 of 21

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Finistere

884 properties

Cotes-d'Armor

817 properties

Morbihan

788 properties

Ille-et-Vilaine

525 properties

Dinan

107 properties

Paimpol

24 properties

Perros-Guirec

23 properties

Trebeurden

15 properties

Pontrieux

14 properties

Lannion

14 properties

Lamballe

12 properties

Saint-Cast le Guildo

11 properties

Pluduno

10 properties

Erquy

10 properties

Belle-Isle-en-Terre

10 properties

Corseul

10 properties

Loudeac

9 properties

Rostrenen

7 properties

Plougrescant

7 properties

Saint-Brieuc

7 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.