from £90 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Menai Cottage Anglesey - near Church Bay – Home 353343 Cottage

  • 4 bedrooms
  • 7 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Menai Cottage Anglesey - near Church Bay – Home 353343

Very Good Very Good – based on 7 reviews

  • Cottage
  • 4 bedrooms
  • sleeps 7
  •  min stay varies

Cottage / 4 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 7

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 1 km
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Ask about pets
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

In the heart of the pretty little hamlet of Rhydwyn lies Menai Cottage. This is a picture postcard stone built cottage which has been lovingly restored. Original features have been carefully retained, but Menai Cottage has also been modernised where it matters. Rhydwyn is just minutes in the car from the stunning North Coast of Anglesey. Close by you will find Church Bay, a blue flag beach and much celebrated beauty spot on our island. Please be sure to try 'The Lobster Pot' where you can sample the local seafood.

Through the front door and you are immediately welcomed by a cosy and homely feel. The sitting room is comfortable and has a log burner, so come rain or shine this will be a perfect place for you to sit and relax and has a 42" plasma TV with SKY HD package. The country kitchen has a big range cooker and a Belfast sink overlooking the yard at the back of the house and also has a very useful drinks fridge (there is also a second fridge and second freezer

In the heart of the pretty little hamlet of Rhydwyn lies Menai Cottage. This is a picture postcard stone built cottage which has been lovingly restored. Original features have been carefully retained, but Menai Cottage has also been modernised where it matters. Rhydwyn is just minutes in the car from the stunning North Coast of Anglesey. Close by you will find Church Bay, a blue flag beach and much celebrated beauty spot on our island. Please be sure to try 'The Lobster Pot' where you can sample the local seafood.

Through the front door and you are immediately welcomed by a cosy and homely feel. The sitting room is comfortable and has a log burner, so come rain or shine this will be a perfect place for you to sit and relax and has a 42" plasma TV with SKY HD package. The country kitchen has a big range cooker and a Belfast sink overlooking the yard at the back of the house and also has a very useful drinks fridge (there is also a second fridge and second freezer located in the outside store). The decadent dining room is a striking deep red colour with contrasting black chandelier and mirror, I especially like the original oven and working stove all complimenting this room which is ideal for relaxing over dinner late into the evening!

Upstairs there are three individually styled bedrooms. At the back of the cottage is the double 'Seaside' bedroom which is bright and airy with seaside wallpaper and painted white floorboards with pine furniture. The 'Cath Kidston' twin room has a lovely, summery feel and is sure to provide you with a wonderful night's sleep. The master bedroom again is individually styled with a big bed, accent red wall and dark beams. There is also a very useful single room on the ground floor.

The bathroom upstairs has been newly refurbished (2014) with a stand alone bath, extra large double separate shower cubicle, loo and basin in here. Downstairs you will find a small cloakroom loo and basin just next to the dining room.

Outside of the property there is a small yard which at a push can be used for off road parking although you should always find enough space for two at the front of the house. Outdoor seating, a Chimnea and BBQ are all made available. There is also a small shed in the yard which houses tumble drier, two freezers and a further fridge. If you're feeling energetic then it is a great walk to Church bay with a good 25 minute stroll across field and dale!

Location description from owner

The North Wales region

Beautiful unspoilt region. Lovely Beaches - lots to see and do!

Anglesey named as second best place in UK to go on holiday

The island was beaten to first place by Cardiff in list of 'holiday hotspot' destinations chosen by the Office for National Statistics

Anglesey has been named as the second best place in the UK to go on holiday.

The Island was runner up to Cardiff as one of the top “holiday hotspots”.

On Anglesey the average day trip spend is £48.92 compared to £50.09 in the capital.

Out of the 31 destinations chosen as holiday hotspots, nine were in Wales with Powys in 7th, Conwy in 11th and Gwynedd in 15th.

The information comes from the Office for National Statistics.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: King Bed
    Bedroom 3: Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 4: Single Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 Toilet Only

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles available
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Telephone
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:16:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Andrew C
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
10 Mar 2017
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Cottage has 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 7. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 11 Mar 2013. Located in Rhydwyn, it has 7 reviews with an overall rating of 4. The average weekly rate varies from £650 to £850.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 10 Mar 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Very Good – based on 7 reviews Very Good
7 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
2
Very Good
4
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Our NYE 2016 at Menai Cottage”

Reviewed 3 Jan 2017

We booked Menai Cottage after looking for a quiet, coastal getaway to see in the New Year with our friends & their children. We arrived at 3pm but the cottage was being cleaned and we were asked to return at 4pm. We took a drive down to Church Bay so the kids could have a run about after 3 hours in the car! When we got back, we went straight in and found the cottage to be warm & quaint. It is a 100 year old stone cottage & has all the features & charm you'd expect. The photos are a little deceptive as we found the rooms smaller than we'd imagined by looking at the photos, but still plenty big enough for two families. We spent our time walking around the village, along coastal paths and on the local beaches. The nearest big supermarket is a 20 minute drive in to Holyhead (Tesco Extra) but there are smaller local shops if you need to pop out. A trip to Holyhead Moutain and the national park is a must for walkers - we spotted a wild grey seal in the sea which the kids loved! The cottage has basic ammenities - towels, bedding, loo roll etc. We would have liked to have had a little welcome basket, perhaps fresh milk in the fridge. Although there was a bottle of Cava! Everything is in full working order and the shower is fantastic. Plenty of hot water too. The oven is huge and fantastic if cooking for several people like we were. Some of the fridges out in the shed smelt a little fishy - probably from lack of use (and we only needed them for a few things). But the shed is handy as it homes the tumble dryer. The cottage was clean, but not immaculate - so don't expect there to be no dust / cobwebs if you stay here. All part of the charm! The contact we had when booking / arranging made everything very straight forward, and has been very forthcoming recommending local eateries / pubs. We only visited Church Bay Inn - the local pub - on New Years Day. It's in a great location overlooking the sea, and very authentic & welcoming. We'd heard The Lobster Pot is also worth a trip but it wasn't open when we were looking to go due to the time of year. All in all, a lovely holiday spent with friends in a quaint country cottage - think "The Holiday" but without Jude Law!!

Owner's reply: Thank you so much - lovely review- spiders are part of the charm!

“Needs some attention, needs a thorough clean and refresh”

Reviewed 28 Jul 2016

1. Expecting guests to take care of getting rid of the rubbish. When we arrived there was an awful smell in the back garden. The bin was full of some seafood or fish that had sat in the sun- disgusting. Put the bin round the front but smelt it every time we went in or out. The food caddy was just as disgusting I won't even try to describe it. Someone needs to check that previous guests have cleaned up behind themselves. This was a very disappointing first impression. 2. The oven. Was once a good oven just needs replacing as markings all gone so had to guess settings and a dial had been stuck on with sellotape and fell off. The grill door is loose. 3. Cleanliness. Mainly the dining room. There were cobwebs and a spider, dust and the tablecloth was dirty- had melted wax and food stains on it. The chandeliers in all rooms were very dusty, which I understand as they are fiddly to clean but cobwebs? Upstairs was a lot better. 4. The space for a car in back garden- it would have to be a mini - our golf did not fit. 5. Useful 2nd fridge in shed which was handy 6. Good gas bbq 7. Rug in sitting room smells of dog and we like dogs but didn't bring one. 8. Good stock of kitchenware 9. Nice bedrooms with fun decor 10. Good big bathroom, lots of hot water and great shower plus downstairs loo very important with 6 adults in house

Owner's reply: Hi Julie I have taken on board your comments - and have spoken with our cleaning staff and pointed the issues out. The cooker knobs have been replaced. The bins have to be put out by guests as we are not in the local area to do so - I am sorry if there was a smell - we could have had this cleaned this at the time had we been made aware. This is the first time we had any points such as this pointed out - we have had nothing but positive feedback - we will of course look to ensure no further guests experience the problems that you have noted. Thanks

Review 1-7 of 7

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

419832 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

54617 properties

Wales Holidays

6716 properties

Gwynedd

1,050 properties

Snowdonia National Park

654 properties

Anglesey

621 properties

Conwy County

388 properties

Denbighshire

225 properties

Trearddur Bay

92 properties

Flintshire

62 properties

Beaumaris

51 properties

Wrexham County

42 properties

Amlwch

19 properties

Pentraeth

16 properties

Llangefni

16 properties

Deganwy

15 properties

Rhydwyn

15 properties

Malltraeth

13 properties

Holyhead

12 properties

Llanfairpwllgwyngyll

10 properties

Valley

8 properties

Llanddeusant

6 properties

Gaerwen

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.