from £250 / night help Price for guests, Nights

Lendal Tower – Home 1358771 Tower

  • 3 bedrooms
  • 6 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

Tower / 3 bedrooms / 3 bathrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info

  • Suitable for children age 5+
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

Lendal Tower is a 3 bedroom, luxury holiday rental found in the very heart of the historic city of York which has been graded as a 5 Star Gold Award winning property by Visit England. Built on the banks of the River Ouse in 1299, Lendal Tower has been used to tax incoming ships sailing into York, as a fortification to defend the city in times of trouble and as a pumping station to supply the growing city with much needed fresh water. More recently, it became the headquarters of the York Waterworks Company before being lovingly converted into the stunning holiday rental property it is today. Enter into the imposing atrium where the downstairs bathroom is located before making your way into the spacious flag stoned living room. Also on the ground floor is the dining area and kitchen, containing all the modern amenities required to make your stay a comfortable one without losing the character of the building. Start your ascent up the spiral staircase and you soon find yourself in the mezzanine

Lendal Tower is a 3 bedroom, luxury holiday rental found in the very heart of the historic city of York which has been graded as a 5 Star Gold Award winning property by Visit England. Built on the banks of the River Ouse in 1299, Lendal Tower has been used to tax incoming ships sailing into York, as a fortification to defend the city in times of trouble and as a pumping station to supply the growing city with much needed fresh water. More recently, it became the headquarters of the York Waterworks Company before being lovingly converted into the stunning holiday rental property it is today. Enter into the imposing atrium where the downstairs bathroom is located before making your way into the spacious flag stoned living room. Also on the ground floor is the dining area and kitchen, containing all the modern amenities required to make your stay a comfortable one without losing the character of the building. Start your ascent up the spiral staircase and you soon find yourself in the mezzanine level that overhangs the living room. Here you find a comfortable double bed, a pull out sofa bed and television with DVD player. Continuing your climb, you will then reach the second floor bedroom, again comprising of a double bed and television with DVD player, along with an adjoining dressing room and ensuite bathroom. Still climbing, you reach the master bedroom which was once the boardroom of the aforementioned York Waterworks Company. Now, the room comprises of a large four poster bed, television with Blu Ray DVD player and a luxurious ensuite bathroom containing a stunning roll top copper bath. Both of these main bedrooms offer fantastic views over the river and the city of York. One final climb up the spiral staircase will take you to the roof terrace, which is accessed via short, ship-style ladders. Once up, you find yourself on the largest privately owned roof terrace in York, offering unrivalled and breathtaking views across the city.; a perfect place to relax on a summers eve with a glass of wine and good company. Back to the ground floor and out of the rear door leads you to the large, private garden where a tree that is reputed to have been grown from the cutting of a tree planted on Napoleon's grave resides.

Guests who stay for 3 nights or longer will also receive a complimentary luxury Welcome Hamper put together in conjunction with our close partners Weetons Food Hall of Harrogate. This can be upgraded to a larger, more exquisite hamper at an additional cost to suit your needs.

More Less

Families

  • Suitable for children over 5
  • No pets allowed

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed Sofa Bed
    Bedroom 2: King Bed
    Bedroom 3: King Bed
  • 1 Family bathroom, 2 En suites

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private garden
  • Solarium or roof terrace
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This rental can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

About the owner

Mike S
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated::
28 Mar 2017
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English


This Tower has 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and sleeps 6. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 03 Feb 2014. Located in York, it has 32 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £1300 to £2100.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 28 Mar 2017.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 32 reviews Excellent
32 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
30
Very Good
1
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
0
Write a review

“Total wow factor!, Fantastic accommodation and central to everything!”

Reviewed 14 Apr 2015

I never bother writing reviews unless somewhere genuinely feels like 5 star and this place did. The tower is totally different to what we have stayed in before. The character is fantastic and the bedrooms are amazing, especially the master bedroom on the top floor which is enormous and has the best jacuzzi bath we have ever used. There is a huge roof terrace with wonderful views and we enjoyed many a glass of wine on the roof terrace. The location could not be more central. You cross the road and you are basically in the centre, It is 2/3 minutes walk to York Minster, York Museum, York Dungeons, York Chocolate story, The shambles ( which is little lanes of fantastic shops & restaurants ) The Viking Centre and if you don't want to travel by car it is about a 4-5 minute walk to York train station. Unless you are planning to travel outside of York you really don't need a car. Nathan that looked after our booking was first class from when we first booked, to communicating with us the week before we travelled and was kind enough to meet us at the tower on our arrival to show us around the whole accommodation, we were also met with a lovely hamper the day we arrived. The kitchen has absolutely everything you would ever need if you cook in at any times, and these are so many great restaurants I would not know where to start... this is one place we will definitely be retuning to in future. You wont be disappointed.

Owner's reply: Thank you so much for your kind words. We're delighted to hear you had such a great time in York and were able to make full use of all the facilities at the Tower. It has been our pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Tower soon. Kind Regards Mike & Nathan

“Fantastic location and brilliant accommodation”

Reviewed 11 Nov 2014

I stayed with 5 friends and the tower was perfect for us, there are a lot of stairs but they were worth climbing, amazing views from the roof, ladder up wasn't really suitable for young children though, the bedrooms were fab, top one is the biggest and coldest, I wasn't cold while I was there at all but the bedroom was draughty because the windows are so old, they could do with more towels and tea towels for large groups, I can't think of any more negatives! the kitchen is modern and has everything, the welcome hamper was nice as well, the tower is on the bank of the river yet only 2mins walk from Bettys tea rooms / Jamie Olivers and all the shops, there were three restaurants within 500m, I would love to go back, there was a really nice solid / historic feel to the place. There's a big park behind where the museum is with tame squirrels running about, because of that you don't feel like you're in the middle of the action but you are, it was a bit noisy when you were in bed with traffic going over the bridge and drunk people going home on the Saturday night so take ear plugs if you're not used to the sounds of a city. We all said we felt safe walking about at night and there's cctv in the ally down the side of the bridge. The entrance wasn't easy to find, ring Mike for directions before you set off, we all missed the turning first time round, it looks like park gates because they are park gates and there's a narrow cobbled lane down to the water, you drive down there. Hope that helps you decide, I don't see how anyone could not have a brilliant time.

Owner's reply: Many thanks for your kind review, I am really glad to hear that you all had such a great time and that the stairs kept you fit! I will take on board the suggestions you have made regarding the towels. Concerning your comments about the draughty top room and noise on a Saturday, as you mentioned the windows are single glazed due to the age of the building however we are having secondary glazing installed at the end of this month (November) which will hopefully solve these issues. Once again I am delighted you all had such a great stay and I hope I can welcome you back in the future. All the best, Mike

“Central, contemporary and yet characterful”

Reviewed 31 Oct 2014

Lendal Tower is a unique place to stay. Surrounded by the history of this stunning building, you never forget how lucky you are to have the place to yourselves. The rooftop terrace provides a breathtaking view over York, particularly The Minster. The stairs up to this level will keep you fit and help you to burn off all of those cream teas from Betty's! The tower has been carefully restored to be comfortable, whilst retaining the essense of the original building. The bedrooms on the second and third floor are huge, and the soft furnishings add a touch of luxury to their grandeur. The showers are powerful and provide lots of hot water. The kitchen is well equipped with a dishwasher and washing machine. We ate in on some nights, but also took advantage of the many local restaurants and pubs on the tower's doorstep. Indeed the location of this property is a huge part of its attraction. Within moments you can be doing a Ghost Walk, visiting The Minster, walking around The National Train Museum or taking a river cruise. Being so central, we did occasionally hear noise at night from late night revellers in the town, however the advantages of being in the centre of the city far outweigh these minor irritations. Mike the owner was extremely helpful and always available to answer any questions or offer advice. It was very handy to have use of the garage (large enough to store two large cars). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would love to return at some point in the future. It is perfect for celebrating a special occasion. Indeed little touches like the welcome hamper, high quality soap and luxury bedding, serve to make a visit to Lendal Tower memorable in so many ways.

Owner's reply: It is fantastic to hear you had such a great stay at the Tower and that you found it so unique and perfect for your needs. In particular I am delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed the views over from the roof terrace and that the effort in getting up there was worth it! I am sorry to hear you did occasionally get disturbed on a night. As I mentioned in a previous response we are in talks with English Heritage to have secondary glazing installed and this has now been approved so installation is expected this month (November 2014). If you do decide to stay with us again in the future the sound noise issues should be fully resolved by then. I do hope you can stay at the Tower again in the future and many thanks for your very kind words regarding your stay. Warmest Regards, Mike

“Our little slice of magic in the city”

Reviewed 13 Oct 2014

Well all we can say is go! The tower is amazing it's your own tower with views to die for on the doorstep of the minster. We arrived late, due to traffic leaving Norfolk, and whilst we did inform everyone this was no issue this was do nice as we know we probably put people out. Ernestine, the housekeeper (really sorry if I have spelt that wrong) was so friendly when we got there. We had brought our dog, something not normally allowed but as she is 12 now and well behaved, we were given the ok, this once again was a great opportunity to see York with our dog. Then we were given a tour of the tower. Its really amazing the view from the top is stunning, day or night. We had the top floor and everything was just right,bed very comfy and we slept like a log every night. The tower gives you all you need for a fantastic stay,the kitchen is well equipped and the lounge is comfy. Surprisingly the tower is very cozy and warm but not hot making it very nice to just curl up on the sofa at night. There is parking available and the garage is huge and you feel very grand driving down to it as it is a private style road. All in this should be a must for everyone, we will be back as I miss it already! Cost wise it is very fair considering the room and quality of the building and the view from the top may sound cliché but genuinely it is priceless. So if you do go I hope you have a great time just as we did.

Owner's reply: Many thanks for your kind review of the Tower, I am very pleased to hear you had such a great stay. I will pass on your lovely words to Ernestina who I am sure will be delighted to hear that you found her so warm and welcoming. I would be thrilled if you choose to stay with us again and would be more than happy to welcome you back to the Tower. Best Regards, Mike

“Unique riverside holiday experience”

Reviewed 1 Oct 2014

An amazing building which was presented extremely well on arrival blending fascinating character with modern facilities in a convenient position only a few yards from the city centre. We especially like the superb roof terrace with glazed surround which provides panoramic views across the River Ouse and round to the Minsterl. It is a long climb up to the roof but we took every opportunity to take breakfast lunch and dinner up to the deck dining table and enjoyed stunning sunset views. For anyone not wishing to take the stairs to the roof, this property also uas a lovely garden in the middle of York! Lendal Tower is in the heart of York and therefore you cannot expect a quiet experience but being part of the city for a short time was our aim and hearing the bustle and nightlife around us was our expectation. The Tower itself is full of character and provides luxurious accommodation with a feeling of tremendous space and history. Above all it was great to walk around York whenever we wished yet within a few minutes be able to open the door back into a secure and sumptuous world of our own. One of the greatest assets is the use of a garage on the opposite side of the footpath to the entrance to the tower. Parking is quite expensive in York but the car went straight in the garage on arrival and didn't come out until we left - a huge bonus. For anyone wanting a special holiday in the bustling centre of this well known city we would highly recommend a stay.

Owner's reply: It is great to read that you all had such a brilliant time at the Tower and took particular pleasure in having as many meals as you could on the roof terrace! I am also delighted to hear you enjoyed the history and character of Lendal Tower as we believe this is its unique selling point (along with the roof terrace!) As you mentioned we are in the city centre and as such there is noise, particularly on a weekend. However we are currently in the process of arranging for secondary glazing to be installed which will reduce noise levels. We are awaiting confirmation from English Heritage and the Secretary of State that these works are acceptable and so hopefully noise from the city will be greatly reduced in the very near future. Allow me to thank you for your extremely kind words and if you ever wish to stay again we would love to have you back. Best Regards, Mike

Review 1-10 of 32

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

420634 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

53742 properties

England Holidays

38805 properties

York

333 properties

Harrogate

123 properties

Pickering

90 properties

Thirsk

33 properties

Pateley Bridge

27 properties

Saltburn-by-the-Sea

27 properties

Malton

26 properties

Leyburn

25 properties

Helmsley

20 properties

Bedale

19 properties

Ripon

16 properties

Easingwold

16 properties

Thornton-Le-Dale

9 properties

Hovingham

9 properties

Guisborough

7 properties

Skinningrove

6 properties

Thormanby

6 properties

Ampleforth

6 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.