Payment Protection

from £84 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

5* LUXURY WATERS EDGE LODGE – Home 117227 Lodge

  • 2 bedrooms
  • 4 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

5* LUXURY WATERS EDGE LODGE – Home 117227

Excellent 5/5 Excellent – based on 57 reviews

  • Lodge
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 4 sleeps
  • 3 nights min stay

Lodge / 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 4

Key Info

  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 10 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

Description from owner

Description

Aptly named the Vision, with it's unique feature a living room that overlooks the lake from floor to ceiling glass windows. The living room also offers large glass french doors that leads onto the large outside decking area perched on the picturesque lake.

The kitchen offers everything to create a romantic meal for two or a hearty meal for the family whilst still enjoying the lake views.

While away a summers evening wining and dining or enjoy being snug as a bug whilst still enjoying the views.

The lodge offers lots to do on site, the Leisure Centre and Spa has a fully equipped gym a large heated swimming pool and steam room. There are also beauty treatment & therapy rooms available plus the Waters Edge Bar and Restaurant for fine dining or just a quiet drink at the bar. If you want to explore the surrounding Lake District area, the lodge is in an ideal position for the ultimate walking experience. Ideal for couples wanting a romantic getaway or a luxurious family

Aptly named the Vision, with it's unique feature a living room that overlooks the lake from floor to ceiling glass windows. The living room also offers large glass french doors that leads onto the large outside decking area perched on the picturesque lake.

The kitchen offers everything to create a romantic meal for two or a hearty meal for the family whilst still enjoying the lake views.

While away a summers evening wining and dining or enjoy being snug as a bug whilst still enjoying the views.

The lodge offers lots to do on site, the Leisure Centre and Spa has a fully equipped gym a large heated swimming pool and steam room. There are also beauty treatment & therapy rooms available plus the Waters Edge Bar and Restaurant for fine dining or just a quiet drink at the bar. If you want to explore the surrounding Lake District area, the lodge is in an ideal position for the ultimate walking experience. Ideal for couples wanting a romantic getaway or a luxurious family holiday for small families to experience lots of fun and outdoor adventures. It is very close ( 5 min) drive to the Village of Carnforth, with the famous railway station ( Brief Encounter) and lots of shops.

The lodge does provide is own secure wifi ( free of charge) with unlimited use.

Situated on Lakeland Leisure Village which has been the proud recipient of the David Bellamy Gold Conservation Award and is a Visit Britain 5* Park.

The private lake is suitable for fishing, kayaking, wind surfing or sailing (using your own equipment). The lodge benefits from its own private jetty, ideal to fish from. There is a small beach for children on site located near the leisure center, the lodge is located on the opposite side of the lake from the leisure center.

We also have a luxurious City Apartment located in the heart of Manchester City Centre ideal for Shopping, Nightlife & Culture .Property no. 7169426 .

Location description from owner

The England region

Ideally located close to the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and even closer to Arnside and Silverdale a designated area of outstanding natural beauty, just 5 miles away.

Ideal for walking the Wainright Walks, cycling on the Lancashire cycle path, climbing, golf at Silverdale, Morecambe or Kendal.

You will be close to the RSPB reserve at Leighton Moss where you will find an array of bird life.

At nearby Newby Bridge you will discover the Lakes Aquarium where you can also take a lake cruise along the length of lake Windermere.

For a traditional shopping experience you can visit nearby, Kirby Lonsdale, Kendal or Bowness-on-Windermere.

There is also the historic town of Lancaster with its impressive castle well worth taking a guided tour of.

Borwick

For places of historic interest there is Leighton Hall, Levens Hall and Sizergh Castle that are all within 10 minutes drive.

See the film set for the film Brief Encounter at Carnforth Station just 5 minutes drive.

Enjoy a days course fishing just 5 minutes away at Borwick Water or Tewitfield. There is also a trout fishing close by.

Greenlands Farm Village is just 5 minutes away. ( ideal for the little ones ).

There is the Diving Centre at Carpenwray that is just a ten minute drive away.

Also local is Lakeland Wildlife Oasis the North Wests Favourite Little Zoo just 5 miles away where you will be able to see the snow leopards.

Golf at Silverdale is just a 15 minutes drive.

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Cot available
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed
    Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
    Beds in other rooms:
  • 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Shared indoor pool
  • Shared garden
  • BBQ
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Private fishing lake or river
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Sauna
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Linen provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Check in time:14:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
Payment
To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Smoking
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy

House rules

No under 18's unless accompanied with parents.
Strictly no over occupancy without owner consent.
Please respect the lodge as you would with your own home.
Please turn off all heating and lighting when your holiday is over and return the keys back to the reception desk.

More

About the owner

Frida K
Response rate:
100%
Calendar updated:
25 Sep 2016
Years listed:
6
Based in:
United Kingdom

Languages spoken: English


This Lodge has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 10 Feb 2010. Located in Lake District, it has 57 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £590 to £850.

The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 25 Sep 2016.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 57 reviews Excellent
57 reviews

Write a review

Excellent
51
Very Good
4
Good
0
Poor
1
Terrible
1
Write a review

“A truly memorable stay in wonderful surroundings”

Reviewed 13 Jul 2014

This lodge is truly impeccable in terms of views, cleanliness and amenities. There is nothing one can really complain about. Thumbs up also goes to Frida (owner of the lodge) who is always at your disposal prior to your stay and also during the time spent there. We were truly blessed by wonderful weather so we got to enjoy the terrace right on top of the lake. One word of caution - during the evening if you intend to dine or relax on the terrace do get some insect repellent (ex citronella candles) as otherwise mosquitoes literally invade you. Also some things to keep in mind, if you intend to have a BBQ you need charcoal (its not gas operated) and you must bring your own towels. This is not a big deal but just something to keep in mind cause travelling from abroad and getting your own towels sometimes can be overlooked and would also add to the luggage weight ;). The lodge had excellent parking facilities and also is very easy to find plus being close to the major lake district attractions... One BIG issue i had was Wi-Fi connection - the signal is horrible but this is a shared Wi-Fi zone around the complex so it does not have to do anything with the lodge. It is also a bit pricey for such a bad signal/experience. All in all - Well done the lodge is excellent

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Waters Edge Lodge. It is pleasing to hear your stay has given you some wonderful memories of your visit to the U.K and in particular the lake District area.I am sorry to hear the Wi Fi was not very good,the pricing & reception is out of my control due to it being a service provided by the Leisure Park.I hope you & your family had a pleasant trip back home to Malta.

“Faultless and luxurious lodge”

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Thank you for an amazing family break. Fantastic lodge and facilities. We can't wait to stay there again. You offered us a professional yet friendly service which we can't fault. A very special place for a relaxing weekend. Thanks again

Thank you for writing your review regarding your stay at the lodge. It is very much appreciated.I do pride myself in providing the best facilities i can for my guests to make the most of their stay.I will look forward to your family taking a break at the lodge again in the near future. As many of my guests do return year after year, i hope you & your family do too.

“Fabulous location for the Lake District”

Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I were between homes and enjoyed a week at the base of the Lake District, we spent our days travelling to all the great sites, lunch at L'Enclume and many other lovely locations in the region. Very well appointed accommodation.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the lodge. It seems you have taken full advantage of the ideal positioning of the lodge being at the gateway to the Lake District. Thanks for your visit.

“This lodge has lost its' luxury and is not five star!”

Reviewed 20 Apr 2014

Despite the 5* Luxurious description staying at the lodge is a tired and somewhat grubby experience. Luxury can obviously be defined in many ways. We could not accept such a description for this property as it was not as clean as we would have expected and did not have the touches that luxury implies. The owner, for instance does not even supply towels, toilet roll or hand wash never mind any other luxury touches. The carpets are stained and the general cleanliness is lacking. Examples of this include the barbecue which was rusty and unusable and the kitchen surfaces which were cleaner when we left than when we arrived. The toaster is caked with old crumbs and the fridge had an unpleasant aroma throughout our stay. The double bed is genuinely awful. It has no support and we woke up stiff and aching each morning. The technology in the lodge is once again not up to the quality expected. A clear example of this is the music system which incorporates a "mini-disc" player of all things! This is similar to finding a Betamax video in your holiday home! The outside space is as close to the lake as you are lead to expect but it is important for those staying here to know that it is not a usable space unless you are prepared to put up with a swarm of insects. You will need some insect repellent. Finally the general condition of this lodge is not quite as you might expect from the photographs and previous reviews. Examples of this include the foot boards in the kitchen and the tap in the bathroom basin which are not properly fitted. Overall a disappointing experience in a lodge that is not luxurious and is not five star.

Dear guest, do you have a telephone? If so, I would like to think that if you truly found your stay at the lodge such a terrible experience you would have contacted me so that I could rectify some of your concerns straight away (some of them I must admit are out of my control). With regards to insects, you should know that you will find plenty of them outdoors in the countryside as this is their natural habitat! However, for your convenience there was an insect spray for you to use. With regards to the barbeque being rusty, this is due to a previous guest misplacing the cover and the barbeque being exposed over the winter months when the lodge was shut down. This will be replaced ready for the summer season. I do state on the website that towels are not provided so towels should have not been expected. However, if you would have asked before you arrived I would have provided them for your stay. Toilet rolls are always provided and if they were not there, again you should have contacted me. As for your issue with the technology, the system you refer to is indeed old, however it is also an excellent CD player and Tuner and the sound is excellent (there is also two other CD players in the lodge). I am surprised that you still play Mini-discs, as you will find that most people have now progressed to CD’s. If you do upgrade to a CD player… remember, to get a telephone. As for the photographs of the lodge posted on the website, I can assure you they are very accurate in terms of what the guest expects to see when they arrive. Out of 29 reviews may I say there is only two bad reviews, yours and l assume a relative of yours who stayed last year (may even be you) who has given such a poor review. Can I suggest next time you decide to take a short break that you relax more and do not spend your time on kitchen floors looking at how kick-boards are assembled.

“Comfort and tranquilty - lovely lodge with best lakeside position”

Reviewed 1 Apr 2014

We booked this lodge for a last minute week long break. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the location and the comfort of the lodge so much we extended our stay for another four nights! Wouldn't hesitate to return and have recommended it to our family and friends.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review .I am very happy you found your stay at the lodge comfortable and that you & your husband found the peace & tranquility that i am sure you both needed.I must agree with you about having the best lakeside position it probably gives the most privacy compared to the other lodges on the park.I wish for you both good health.

“"Perfect" ��”

Reviewed 29 Mar 2014

What a delightful place to stay. You are surrounded by a wonderful standered of luxury in the most tranquil and peaceful location you could wish for. We are a little fussy I admit and have checked out of many hotels etc.... We must return to this lodge as we truly feel like we have had a break. Plenty of local pubs within 5-20mins. Great beer & food. The Lake District all within 20-30 mins drive and the nest if luxury and peace when you return. Please do not think too hard or you may miss the location of a lifetime. We LOVED this place and will return hopefully many times. You will NOT be disappointed. Thankyou

Thank you for posting this review. I am so happy to hear you found the peace & tranquility you was looking for at the lodge and that you was very happy with the high standards i am passionate to maintain. I will look forward to you visiting again in the near future.

“Lovely location”

Reviewed 15 Jan 2014

The lodge was lovely. Stayed for a week in September and the weather was vile, wet and cold, but the lodge was warm and cozy. Well laid out, nice size rooms and a smashing view over the lake. We did not get to make use of the outside furniture and BBQ because of the weather whcih was a shame. We had an issue with the heating one day, the water pressure had dropped and unfortuantely the instructions were not clear enough to resolve it, however the very helpful team at reception asked one of their engineers to have a quick look and he resolved it in a few minutes. Kitchen was well laid out with enough pots & pans etc to cook anuything you could think of. We chose this lodge primarily because one of our party has mobility issues so we had to avaoid anywhere with stairs, this was perfect. Lots of local info was provided. The site was very easy to find & just a couple of minutes off the motorway, altough you would not know it was so close, There were good supermarkets etc near by. We would definately consider this property again if we were to be in the area and needed something that fits the same criteria..

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Waters Edge Lodge.I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the heating (water Pressure) for one day.This problem has now been rectified and the lodge is back to being warm and cosy as you have said.May be you will return in the summer to take advantage of the decking and barbeque area which overhangs the lake.

“BEWARE!! CAUTION REQUIRED!”

Reviewed 14 Oct 2013

I am writing this review from our personal experience and the reason why we picked this lodge was on the comments on here (which were fantastic). Im not sure how many people have been 'Stung' with this but BEWARE AND TREAD WITH CAUTION WHEN BOOKING THIS LODGE!!! You may find yourself paying an extra £100 for this SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When we arrived at the lodge late on a Friday evening, it took us around 25min to do a spring clean of the lodge. It was left with food on the tables/benches and on the kitchen floor. It made us feel sick! Anyway the lodge was now eventually clean and tidy and we did enjoy our stay UNTIL we received an email from 'Frida' stating that we left the lodge in a mess and they were not returning the £100 security bond! This was 100% factually incorrect. We left that lodge clean as a whistle and infact in a better condiation than we found it (thanks to my Wife). We actually had to seek legal guidance with our solicitor who mentioned that they cannot do that with a 'Security Bond'. After a email legal battle Frida send off our cheque back for £100. !!!!!!!!STAY AWAY AND FIND ANOTHER OWNER ITS JUST NOT WORTH THE RISK!!!!!!!!

Really happy that you enjoyed your stay. l am an elderly lady and l pride myself on the cleanliness and the cosiness of my lodge. Not sure what the word scam means and cannot remember any disagreement, maybe my age? Thank you and god bless.

“Fabulous Lodge”

Reviewed 12 Aug 2013

Beautiful comfortable luxury Lodge. Modern and furnished to a very high standard. The Decking area was ace. Lovely site. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. A week was not long enough so we hope to return again.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to write a review about the lodge and your stay there. Thank you and i do hope you decide to stay again.

“Beautiful lodge in a peaceful location”

Reviewed 1 Oct 2012

We stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. The lodge is beautiful and has everything you would need (except hair dryer). We were after a quiet relaxing break and that's exactly what we got. There's a lovely deck area overlooking the lake, where you can sit and have a glass of wine. There is a pub/restaurant on site which is reasonably priced and the staff were helpful and friendly. There's also a gym/pool/spa, which we didn't use but we plan to go back in the future and we would certainly purchase a three day pass. It's only 5-10 minutes to Tesco in Carnforth, which is handy and there's a few pubs. We only went to The County hotel for a carvery lunch but I wouldn't rate the food there!

Thank you for your review,it is much appreciated when our guests take the time to write down their comments. I am sorry there was not a hair dryer provided in the lodge but it is not listed as being provided on the list of provisions at the lodge. I am glad to know you found the lodge to be peaceful and hope you visit again so you can enjoy the spa & leisure facilities.

Review 1-10 of 57

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Book with confidence

Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Safe, simple, secure

When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Lake District

1,452 properties

Ulverston

47 properties

Kirkby Stephen

43 properties

Kirkby Lonsdale

36 properties

Appleby

36 properties

Alston

33 properties

Carlisle

32 properties

Dent

24 properties

Allonby

21 properties

Silloth

20 properties

Brampton

18 properties

Wigton

16 properties

Orton

15 properties

Cark

12 properties

Arnside

12 properties

Milnthorpe

11 properties

Allithwaite

9 properties

Nenthead

7 properties

Spark Bridge

7 properties

Mungrisdale

7 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.