5* LUXURY WATERS EDGE LODGE – Home 117227 Lodge
- 2 bedrooms
- 4 sleeps
- 3 nights min stay
5* LUXURY WATERS EDGE LODGE – Home 117227
- 2 bedrooms
- sleeps 4
- 3 nights min stay
Lodge / 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms / sleeps 4
- Beach / lakeside relaxation
- Nearest beach 10 km
- Swimming pool
- Child friendly
- Car advised
- No pets allowed
Description from owner
- Great for children of all ages
- No pets allowed
- Cot available
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: Double Bed
Bedroom 2: 2 Single Beds
Beds in other rooms:
- 1 Family bathroom, 1 En suite
- Wi-Fi available
- Shared indoor pool
- Shared garden
- Balcony or terrace
- Private fishing lake or river
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- High chair available
- DVD player
- CD player
- Linen provided
- Secure parking
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
Interaction with guest
- Check in time:14:00, Check out time:10:00
- If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
- To be covered by Payment Protection this rental needs to be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
- No smoking at this property
- Cancellation policy
Strictly no over occupancy without owner consent.
Please respect the lodge as you would with your own home.
Please turn off all heating and lighting when your holiday is over and return the keys back to the reception desk.
There is a £50 charge payable for non return/ loss of keys/pass.
About the owner
- Average reply time:
- 1 hour 25 minutes
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated::
- 27 Jun 2017
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
This Lodge has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and sleeps 4. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 10 Feb 2010. Located in Lake District, it has 63 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £590 to £900.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 27 Jun 2017.
Map and how to get there
– based on 63 reviews
- Very Good
We had a wonderful holiday at the lodge. The photos don't do it justice. Absolutely beautiful place, gorgeous view, quiet, relaxing and so close to the Lake District. We will definitely be back.
Owner's reply: Thank for taking the time to post a review of our beautiful lake side lodge. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate the condition you left our lodge in on your departure. All feed back is greatly appreciated. Best wishes Frida
“Such another beautiful stay...”
Yet another beautiful stay in this gorgeous lodge. Very clean, has everything you need and great communication with the owner. Already looking at dates to rebook... feel very relaxed here.
Owner's reply: So pleased you enjoyed your relaxing break, and leaving our lodge immaculate. We appreciate your return visit & look forward to you booking again in the near future.
“A truly memorable stay in wonderful surroundings”
This lodge is truly impeccable in terms of views, cleanliness and amenities. There is nothing one can really complain about. Thumbs up also goes to Frida (owner of the lodge) who is always at your disposal prior to your stay and also during the time spent there. We were truly blessed by wonderful weather so we got to enjoy the terrace right on top of the lake. One word of caution - during the evening if you intend to dine or relax on the terrace do get some insect repellent (ex citronella candles) as otherwise mosquitoes literally invade you. Also some things to keep in mind, if you intend to have a BBQ you need charcoal (its not gas operated) and you must bring your own towels. This is not a big deal but just something to keep in mind cause travelling from abroad and getting your own towels sometimes can be overlooked and would also add to the luggage weight ;). The lodge had excellent parking facilities and also is very easy to find plus being close to the major lake district attractions... One BIG issue i had was Wi-Fi connection - the signal is horrible but this is a shared Wi-Fi zone around the complex so it does not have to do anything with the lodge. It is also a bit pricey for such a bad signal/experience. All in all - Well done the lodge is excellent
Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Waters Edge Lodge. It is pleasing to hear your stay has given you some wonderful memories of your visit to the U.K and in particular the lake District area.I am sorry to hear the Wi Fi was not very good,the pricing & reception is out of my control due to it being a service provided by the Leisure Park.I hope you & your family had a pleasant trip back home to Malta.
“Faultless and luxurious lodge”
Thank you for an amazing family break. Fantastic lodge and facilities. We can't wait to stay there again. You offered us a professional yet friendly service which we can't fault. A very special place for a relaxing weekend. Thanks again
Owner's reply: Thank you for writing your review regarding your stay at the lodge. It is very much appreciated.I do pride myself in providing the best facilities i can for my guests to make the most of their stay.I will look forward to your family taking a break at the lodge again in the near future. As many of my guests do return year after year, i hope you & your family do too.
“Fabulous location for the Lake District”
My husband and I were between homes and enjoyed a week at the base of the Lake District, we spent our days travelling to all the great sites, lunch at L'Enclume and many other lovely locations in the region. Very well appointed accommodation.
Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the lodge. It seems you have taken full advantage of the ideal positioning of the lodge being at the gateway to the Lake District. Thanks for your visit.
“This lodge has lost its' luxury and is not five star!”
Despite the 5* Luxurious description staying at the lodge is a tired and somewhat grubby experience. Luxury can obviously be defined in many ways. We could not accept such a description for this property as it was not as clean as we would have expected and did not have the touches that luxury implies. The owner, for instance does not even supply towels, toilet roll or hand wash never mind any other luxury touches. The carpets are stained and the general cleanliness is lacking. Examples of this include the barbecue which was rusty and unusable and the kitchen surfaces which were cleaner when we left than when we arrived. The toaster is caked with old crumbs and the fridge had an unpleasant aroma throughout our stay. The double bed is genuinely awful. It has no support and we woke up stiff and aching each morning. The technology in the lodge is once again not up to the quality expected. A clear example of this is the music system which incorporates a "mini-disc" player of all things! This is similar to finding a Betamax video in your holiday home! The outside space is as close to the lake as you are lead to expect but it is important for those staying here to know that it is not a usable space unless you are prepared to put up with a swarm of insects. You will need some insect repellent. Finally the general condition of this lodge is not quite as you might expect from the photographs and previous reviews. Examples of this include the foot boards in the kitchen and the tap in the bathroom basin which are not properly fitted. Overall a disappointing experience in a lodge that is not luxurious and is not five star.
Owner's reply: Dear guest, do you have a telephone? If so, I would like to think that if you truly found your stay at the lodge such a terrible experience you would have contacted me so that I could rectify some of your concerns straight away (some of them I must admit are out of my control). With regards to insects, you should know that you will find plenty of them outdoors in the countryside as this is their natural habitat! However, for your convenience there was an insect spray for you to use. With regards to the barbeque being rusty, this is due to a previous guest misplacing the cover and the barbeque being exposed over the winter months when the lodge was shut down. This will be replaced ready for the summer season. I do state on the website that towels are not provided so towels should have not been expected. However, if you would have asked before you arrived I would have provided them for your stay. Toilet rolls are always provided and if they were not there, again you should have contacted me. As for your issue with the technology, the system you refer to is indeed old, however it is also an excellent CD player and Tuner and the sound is excellent (there is also two other CD players in the lodge). I am surprised that you still play Mini-discs, as you will find that most people have now progressed to CD’s. If you do upgrade to a CD player… remember, to get a telephone. As for the photographs of the lodge posted on the website, I can assure you they are very accurate in terms of what the guest expects to see when they arrive. Out of 29 reviews may I say there is only two bad reviews, yours and l assume a relative of yours who stayed last year (may even be you) who has given such a poor review. Can I suggest next time you decide to take a short break that you relax more and do not spend your time on kitchen floors looking at how kick-boards are assembled.
“Comfort and tranquilty - lovely lodge with best lakeside position”
We booked this lodge for a last minute week long break. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the location and the comfort of the lodge so much we extended our stay for another four nights! Wouldn't hesitate to return and have recommended it to our family and friends.
Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to post your review .I am very happy you found your stay at the lodge comfortable and that you & your husband found the peace & tranquility that i am sure you both needed.I must agree with you about having the best lakeside position it probably gives the most privacy compared to the other lodges on the park.I wish for you both good health.
What a delightful place to stay. You are surrounded by a wonderful standered of luxury in the most tranquil and peaceful location you could wish for. We are a little fussy I admit and have checked out of many hotels etc.... We must return to this lodge as we truly feel like we have had a break. Plenty of local pubs within 5-20mins. Great beer & food. The Lake District all within 20-30 mins drive and the nest if luxury and peace when you return. Please do not think too hard or you may miss the location of a lifetime. We LOVED this place and will return hopefully many times. You will NOT be disappointed. Thankyou
Owner's reply: Thank you for posting this review. I am so happy to hear you found the peace & tranquility you was looking for at the lodge and that you was very happy with the high standards i am passionate to maintain. I will look forward to you visiting again in the near future.
The lodge was lovely. Stayed for a week in September and the weather was vile, wet and cold, but the lodge was warm and cozy. Well laid out, nice size rooms and a smashing view over the lake. We did not get to make use of the outside furniture and BBQ because of the weather whcih was a shame. We had an issue with the heating one day, the water pressure had dropped and unfortuantely the instructions were not clear enough to resolve it, however the very helpful team at reception asked one of their engineers to have a quick look and he resolved it in a few minutes. Kitchen was well laid out with enough pots & pans etc to cook anuything you could think of. We chose this lodge primarily because one of our party has mobility issues so we had to avaoid anywhere with stairs, this was perfect. Lots of local info was provided. The site was very easy to find & just a couple of minutes off the motorway, altough you would not know it was so close, There were good supermarkets etc near by. We would definately consider this property again if we were to be in the area and needed something that fits the same criteria..
Owner's reply: Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Waters Edge Lodge.I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the heating (water Pressure) for one day.This problem has now been rectified and the lodge is back to being warm and cosy as you have said.May be you will return in the summer to take advantage of the decking and barbeque area which overhangs the lake.
“BEWARE!! CAUTION REQUIRED!”
I am writing this review from our personal experience and the reason why we picked this lodge was on the comments on here (which were fantastic). Im not sure how many people have been 'Stung' with this but BEWARE AND TREAD WITH CAUTION WHEN BOOKING THIS LODGE!!! You may find yourself paying an extra £100 for this SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When we arrived at the lodge late on a Friday evening, it took us around 25min to do a spring clean of the lodge. It was left with food on the tables/benches and on the kitchen floor. It made us feel sick! Anyway the lodge was now eventually clean and tidy and we did enjoy our stay UNTIL we received an email from 'Frida' stating that we left the lodge in a mess and they were not returning the £100 security bond! This was 100% factually incorrect. We left that lodge clean as a whistle and infact in a better condiation than we found it (thanks to my Wife). We actually had to seek legal guidance with our solicitor who mentioned that they cannot do that with a 'Security Bond'. After a email legal battle Frida send off our cheque back for £100. !!!!!!!!STAY AWAY AND FIND ANOTHER OWNER ITS JUST NOT WORTH THE RISK!!!!!!!!
Owner's reply: Really happy that you enjoyed your stay. l am an elderly lady and l pride myself on the cleanliness and the cosiness of my lodge. Not sure what the word scam means and cannot remember any disagreement, maybe my age? Thank you and god bless.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Book with confidence
Pay online to be covered by Payment Protection
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Safe, simple, secure
When you pay online with PayPal or by credit/debit card
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours