from
£407 / night help
Price for guests, Nights approx:

The Gate House in Makeney – Home 325538 Lodge

  • 6 bedrooms
  • 18 sleeps
  •  min stay varies

The Gate House in Makeney – Home 325538

  • Lodge
  • 6 bedrooms
  • sleeps 18
  •  min stay varies

Excellent Excellent – based on 46 reviews

Top Review

See all reviews

Lodge / 6 bedrooms / 5 bathrooms / sleeps 18

Key Info

  • Swimming pool
  • Child friendly
  • Car advised
  • Pet friendly
  • Private garden

Description from owner

Description

The Gate House is a unique property which stands on the grounds of the old Makeney Hall in the small Hamlet of Makeney. It sits in the middle of the Peak District with all local attractions on your door step.

The Gate House has a superb reputation for families with children, having the pool really does help on those rainy days.

The house has 6 bedrooms and can sleep 18 people .

It hosts a superb spa area consisting of a superb indoor heated swimming pool, Sauna,Hot tub ,wet room .It has tv ,s in all bedrooms with free wifi .A handmade kitchen with 2 cookers ,hob ,dish washer etc in an open plan lounge area that hosts a flat screen tv.

Or if you want e a littlepeace and quiet simply sit downstairs away from the tv and relax in the Piano room.

The large garden has a large decking area and a raised garden with more seated area with fresh water fish pond which looks over fields and can lead to many walks.

Why not take a walk to one of Englands oldest pubs The holy Bush which is just 200 yds up the road serving traditional ales and fresh food daily or if you fancy a little bit more of a lively stay take a 5 mile bus or taxi into Derby city centre or a little further to Nottingham and you will find lots of trendy bars and clubs at your disposal.

Really you will have the best of both worlds by being in the countryside and not to far from city life.

Unfortunately we do not take stag weekends or 18-30 year old mixed groups of young people.We do take Hen parties and love to have families with children

More Less

Families

  • Great for children of all ages
  • Pets welcome
  • High chair available

Bed & bathroom

  • Bedroom 1: Double Bed Single Bed
    Bedroom 2: Double Bed
    Bedroom 3: Double Bed
    Bedroom 4: 6 Single Beds
    Bedroom 5: Double Bed
    Bedroom 6: 3 Single Beds
  • 1 Family bathroom, 4 En suites

Amenities

  • Wi-Fi available
  • Private indoor pool
  • Jacuzzi or hot tub
  • Private garden
  • BBQ
  • Balcony or terrace
  • Internet access
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Sauna
  • Cooker
  • Fridge
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Kettle
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Iron
  • High chair available
  • TV
  • Satellite TV
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Hair dryer
  • Linen provided
  • Towels provided

More Less

Access

  • Parking
  • Secure parking
  • Not suitable for wheelchair users

Policies

Payment
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.

Damage deposit: £250.00
Smoking
No smoking at this property

Cancellations

Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.

Booking confirmed

100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).

24 hours after booking

50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.

8 weeks before

25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.

4 weeks before

No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.

Check-in date

* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support

House rules

Unfortunately we do not except stag parties or mixed age between 18-30
We can only have a maximum 18 people stay and only staying guests are allowed to use the facilities
We love Hen parties and family's to come for anniversary,birthdays,reunions or simply a get together.

More

About the owner

Tim T.
Average reply time:
2 hours 20 minutes
Response rate:
25%
Calendar updated:
08 Feb 2019
Years listed:
6
Based in:
United Kingdom
Overall rating:

Languages spoken: English

This Lodge has 6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and sleeps 18. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 12 Feb 2013. Located in Derbyshire, it has 46 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £2450 to £4000.

The Owner has a response rate of 25% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 08 Feb 2019.

Map

Map and how to get there

Map

Guest reviews

Excellent – based on 46 reviews Excellent
46 reviews

Excellent
42
Very Good
2
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
0

“Absolutely brilliant weekend”

Reviewed 23 Aug 2016

Went here on a hen weekend, 15 of us and it was the best weekend I have had in a long time. Swimming pool area was great, with sauna, steam room and hot tub (undercover). The gardens were spacious and beautiful. The bedrooms were well equipped and plenty of bathrooms. I would definitely return here and recommend it to anyone.

Owner's reply: Thank you for the review ,We are so pleased your Hen party went well and that you enjoyed your stay at The Gate House . Thank you for coming you were all a pleasure to have . Hope to see you again Kind regards Tim and Marie

“Don't think twice.... just book it!!”

Reviewed 29 Jun 2014

I booked The Gatehouse for a family birthday garden party/BBQ bash on 14 June 2014 and had invited 40 - 50 people. The venue was perfect as guests could sit and mingle on the huge garden and decking area and still there was plenty of room for tables to be laid out for all the BBQ food. The well stocked kitchen had everything we needed including a huge american style fridge freezer which was well utilised with all the M&S party food and drinks and also has a very welcome dishwasher for washing all the pots!! The friends who stayed said the beds were extremely comfortable and it was great having so many en-suite bedrooms as it's nice to have your own space and privacy. We live less than half an mile away from The Gatehouse but I knew I wanted somewhere special for the party and it didn't fail to deliver. I've had so many positive comments about the day and the location which is lovely and made it all the more special for the birthday trio. Tim is a fantastic host and so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him. Big thanks. All in all it was a great weekend and if you are thinking of staying just book it.... you won't regret it. However, you'd better get in quick as I notice that it is extremely popular and booked months in advance. Always a good sign... and in this case well justified.

Owner's reply: How kind ! we would like to thank our guests for writing such a complimentary comment.You were such a pleasure to have and we are so pleased the party went well and that your friends and family enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you all again thank you Tim and Marie

“Something for everyone”

Reviewed 26 Jun 2014

We had ages 1 year to 88 years +a dog .All the facilities were excellent..especially the pool and the garden which had many interesting features.All the rooms were spacious and the kitchen excellent .We all had a fantastic time .The Holly Bush down the road also made us very welcome !

Owner's reply: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your anniversary was a great success. hope to see you all again kind regards Tim and Marie

“Fabulous House”

Reviewed 20 Nov 2013

Can't recommend the Gatehouse enough! We stayed with a large group of friends with children of all ages. The kitchen is really well equipped for catering for large groups, more than enough pots and pans, cutlery, plates, glasses, etc, loads of tea towels, two big ovens, a gas hob with central wok burner, a deep fat fryer, and griddle: cooking heaven! The open plan style of the kitchen and living room means that cooking is a lovely social event. The large number of chairs and table space means that you can all sit down together to eat. Living room is really comfy with a cosy wood burning stove with logs provided. Lots of nice extra touches like DVDs, CDs, games and books for all ages. Separate utility room with washing machine and drier very useful for pool towels! Table football and piano in the huge space downstairs went down very well with all of the kids. The beds are very comfortable, with lots of pillows, nice bed linen and loads of towels. Gorgeous bathrooms, some ensuite, with lovely big shower cubicles and power showers. And leaving the best til last, that pool! The photos just don't do it justice, lovely big pool with loads of comfy chairs around, shower, inflatables for the kids and a huge gym full of equipment. The security lock on both doors into the pool room is a great safety feature. More than enough space to accommodate a big group. We were there in November so didn't get chance to make much use of the lovely huge garden area at the back of the house. It was great that dogs were welcome. The owner is on hand to help with anything, and the area is just gorgeous, lots of nice walks straight from the house. We are never going camping again! We are all saving our pennies for a return visit.

Owner's reply: Thankyou so much for your kind words i hope to see you all again in the future kind regards Tim and Marie

“Fabulous accommodation”

Reviewed 5 Jul 2013

The property is in a village community with shops and pubs easily available. The owners live adjacent to the rental property and are very helpful and obliging. The property itself is excellent with a lovely indoor pool which children would love. The property is very well equipped and the grounds very well kept and there is a Bar-b-Q area. Would highly recommend.

Owner's reply: thankyou for your kind comments and hope to see you and your family again kind regards Tim and Marie

“Absolutely fantastic”

Reviewed 20 May 2013

The above says it all really! Wonderful house, amazing pool, lovely garden. Our family stayed with 2 other families with children ages ranging from 6 to 18. The children were either in the pool or playing outside. - the extremely large tv was hardly used. In fact, it was so good we have already booked a second day next year.

Owner's reply: thankyou for your review on trip advisor .See you next year kind regards Tim

“7 Couples, 5 children aged 2-4 and one dog...lots of room and fantastic place to meet up and relax!!”

Reviewed 20 May 2013

If your thinking should I book? The answer is YES , you wont be disappointed. We booked to meet up with friends, being 7 couples, ( 1 couple with 2 children, 3 couples with 1 child and 3 couples who still prefer a sleep in..oh and Winnie my boxer dog) The owners are friendly, approachable and will if you ask tell you the nice places to go, whether it be a nice local walk or as we discovered a fantastic roast dinner on a Sunday at the Holly Bush pub. The garden to the rear is very private and is landscaped beautifully with child safe duck pond, decking area, where the owner provided a BBQ for us to enjoy alfresco dining.We were lucky to have the weather but don't worry if you have a spot of rain as inside even with a full house you can find a quite space to read or chill and relax by the pool or, if like us, you want to entertain the kids then spend 2 hours a day in the pool. In the evening we were able to enjoy the indoor heated pool and relax before bed time. Another bonus, if you like to keep fit, there is a nice small gym with 2 good treadmills and other machines, one ttreadmill will operate at at 6 min mile pace and the gym also has one of those vibro plates that burns 30 calories every 2 mins without doing anything. No need to take all your food as there is a Morrisons store 2 miles from the gatehouse. For the guys there is sky sports, so no need to wait until the end of the football season to visit:) We all had a fantastic time and we are hoping to go again, thank you Tim.

Owner's reply: thankyou Tony for your nice comments about The Gate House .I hope you and your freinds come back and see us kind regards Tim

Review 1-10 of 46

FAQs

How do I find more info about the property?

You can get in touch with Tim (the owner) through the contact form on this page.

What if I have questions before I book?

Send Tim (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I contact Tim (the owner)?

Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.

How do I know my booking is safe?

You'll need to send Tim (the owner) an enquiry to book - the owner will let you know how to pay. If they accept online booking they'll send you a quote and info on how to pay. If you pay through our website you’ll be covered by Payment Protection.

If they don’t accept online booking they'll still be able to offer a secure form of payment. Read our top tips on booking safely.

How do I know what it will cost for my stay?

Select the Prices tab for an overview of this property's prices.

Or you can send Tim (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form to request a quote. Tim (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

How do I pay for my holiday?

Send Tim (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form requesting a quote for your holiday dates. Tim (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.

Please note: only bookings paid for through our site are covered by Payment Protection.
Find out more about booking safely.

How do damage deposits work?

Tim (the owner) of this property is responsible for taking and refunding your damage deposit. The damage deposit terms should be agreed before booking and outlined in the booking contract, if Tim (the owner) supplies one. Please refer to these details or contact Tim (the owner) directly if you have any questions.

How do I cancel my booking?

You'll need to contact Tim (the owner) to cancel. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

How do I edit my booking?

You'll need to contact Tim (the owner) to edit your booking. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.

View all FAQs

Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor

Real opinions, real reviews

Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews

Quick response times

Know where you're staying within 24 hours

Also consider

Europe Holidays

475169 properties

United Kingdom Holidays

66255 properties

England Holidays

48535 properties

Derbyshire Holidays

654 properties

West Country

14,028 properties

Northern England

8,645 properties

South East England

6,530 properties

Cornwall

6,303 properties

London

5,608 properties

Devon

4,594 properties

Yorkshire

3,886 properties

East Anglia

3,205 properties

Cumbria

2,280 properties

Greater London

2,116 properties

Sussex

1,956 properties

Dorset

1,808 properties

Somerset

1,323 properties

East Sussex

1,293 properties

Cotswolds

1,245 properties

Kent

1,117 properties

Isle of Wight

1,104 properties

Northumberland

1,028 properties

Lincolnshire

1,013 properties

Hampshire

810 properties

Start a new search

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.