The Gate House in Makeney – Home 325538 Lodge
- 6 bedrooms
- 18 sleeps
- min stay varies
The Gate House in Makeney – Home 325538
- 6 bedrooms
- sleeps 18
- min stay varies
- Swimming pool
- Child friendly
- Car advised
- Pet friendly
- Private garden
Description from owner
The Gate House is a unique property which stands on the grounds of the old Makeney Hall in the small Hamlet of Makeney. It sits in the middle of the Peak District with all local attractions on your door step.
The Gate House has a superb reputation for families with children, having the pool really does help on those rainy days.
The house has 6 bedrooms and can sleep 18 people .
It hosts a superb spa area consisting of a superb indoor heated swimming pool, Sauna,Hot tub ,wet room .It has tv ,s in all bedrooms with free wifi .A handmade kitchen with 2 cookers ,hob ,dish washer etc in an open plan lounge area that hosts a flat screen tv.
Or if you want e a littlepeace and quiet simply sit downstairs away from the tv and relax in the Piano room.
The large garden has a large decking area and a raised garden with more seated area with fresh water fish pond which looks over fields and can lead to many walks.
Why not take a walk to one of Englands oldest pubs The holy Bush which is just 200 yds up the road serving traditional ales and fresh food daily or if you fancy a little bit more of a lively stay take a 5 mile bus or taxi into Derby city centre or a little further to Nottingham and you will find lots of trendy bars and clubs at your disposal.
Really you will have the best of both worlds by being in the countryside and not to far from city life.
Unfortunately we do not take stag weekends or 18-30 year old mixed groups of young people.We do take Hen parties and love to have families with children
- Great for children of all ages
- Pets welcome
- High chair available
Bed & bathroom
- Bedroom 1: Double Bed Single Bed
Bedroom 2: Double Bed
Bedroom 3: Double Bed
Bedroom 4: 6 Single Beds
Bedroom 5: Double Bed
Bedroom 6: 3 Single Beds
- 1 Family bathroom, 4 En suites
- Wi-Fi available
- Private indoor pool
- Jacuzzi or hot tub
- Private garden
- Balcony or terrace
- Internet access
- Central heating
- Washing machine
- Clothes dryer
- High chair available
- Satellite TV
- DVD player
- Stereo system
- Hair dryer
- Linen provided
- Towels provided
- Secure parking
- Not suitable for wheelchair users
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.
Damage deposit: £250.00
- No smoking at this property
Change of plans? No problem. You could receive a partial or full refund, depending on when you cancel.
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
24 hours after booking
50% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 8 weeks before check-in.
8 weeks before
25% refund of the amount paid (minus the booking fee*) if cancelled at least 4 weeks before check-in.
4 weeks before
No refund if cancelled less than 4 weeks before check-in.
* The booking fee is stated in the cancellation policy information on the payment page. This fee helps us run our secure platform and enables us to provide 24/7 customer support
We can only have a maximum 18 people stay and only staying guests are allowed to use the facilities
We love Hen parties and family's to come for anniversary,birthdays,reunions or simply a get together.
About the owner
- Average reply time:
- 1 hour 7 minutes
- Response rate:
- Calendar updated:
- 06 Jul 2020
- Years listed:
- Based in:
- United Kingdom
- Overall rating:
Languages spoken: English
This Lodge has 6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and sleeps 18. It’s been listed on Holiday Lettings since 12 Feb 2013. Located in Derbyshire, it has 48 reviews with an overall rating of 5. The average weekly rate varies from £2450 to £4000.
The Owner has a response rate of 100% and the property’s calendar was last updated on 06 Jul 2020.
Map and how to get there
– based on 48 reviews
- Very Good
“Great Holiday retreat”
Just returned home from having a FAB three day break at the Gatehouse... The house ticked all the boxes ... Plenty of space .. equipment and cleanliness .. Highlight though was definitely the indoor s… More
We have just come back from a fantastic week at The Gate House. There were 18 of us in total ranging from age 1 to 67 and we all had an amazing time. The house is beautiful with plenty of room for everyone to spend time together as a group or have some peaceful alone time. The gardens are beautiful, pictures don’t do them justice and again they are big enough to spend time together or find a quiet spot for some peace and quiet. There is plenty of room in the kitchen area for storage and more than enough cups, glasses, plates etc for everyone. The owners were there if you needed to ask about anything in the house or just the area in general, but otherwise kept to themselves. Tim was very helpful finding postcodes and even printing out directions to the local carboot sales for us. We had 7 young children in total and they absolutely loved staying here. The pool was a massive hit, even with kids being excited and eager to get in we didn’t have a single accident or injury all week. This was a small concern before we came after reading some reviews but was not a problem at all. The pool was definitely the highlight of the week along with the hot tub and sauna, especially at night with all the lights. We cannot wait to come back here again.
Owner's reply: Thank you so much for your kind review and taking the time write it We can’t wait to see you all again ,it was a pleasure having you all
“Fantastic Family Venue”
We have just returned from a fantastic 5 nights at The Gate House to celebrate my mother’s 60th birthday. We were a party of 18 ranging in age from 63 to 8 months old, and can honestly say there… More
Owner's reply: Thank you so much for your kind and great comments. We really appreciate your review as it really helps other families who have booked the Gate House. It was great to have all of you and a pleasure . I am glad Mums 60th birthday went to plan and that the kids and all loved the pool.thanks again and hopefully see you all soon Tim and Marie
“Great weekend away”
I have just come back from a lovely weekend at the Gatehouse. We were a mixed age group of 17 people. Due to the size and layout of the house at no point did the place feel crowded. The communal areas… More
Owner's reply: Hi Thank you for your review and taking the time to do so.It was great to see you again , we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us once again Thank you. Hope to see you in the future kind regards Tim and Marie
“My daughters Hen party”
Just come back from a fantastic weekend away at the Gatehouse celebrating my daughters hen party. I can't recommend this place enough. Tim greeted us and showed us around the house, giving us so… More
Owner's reply: Hi Thankyou for your kind comments we would love to see you again I hope the wedding goes well, you were all a pleasure to have thanks Tim and Marie
“Best friends hen party!”
We had the most amazing weekend at The Gatehouse for my friends hen party! Tim the owner was a great help before & during our stay. I pestered him before hand with various different questions &… More
Owner's reply: Thank you for your kind review i really enjoyed your company and thank you for the respect you and your Friends gave us Hope to see you all again in the future I really do appreciate your comments thank you Tim and Marie
“Excellent stay, didn't want to leave!”
Prior to our stay we had excellent dialogue with Tim the owner who sent us an information pack informing us of things to do in the area and the layout of the Gatehouse so we were able to plan our stay… More
Owner's reply: Thankyou so much for reviewing The Gate House ,it really puts things into perspective when kind and respectful guests stay with us and enjoy their Stay.Hope to see you all again in the future Thankyou Tim and Marie
“Disappointed Hen Party”
We stayed at The Gate House 1st June 2018 - we had booked our stay through a hen party website. We did not disguise the fact we were a Hen party or a mixed group of 26-36 year olds. Upon arrival we we… More
Owner's reply: I am sorry and surprised with the review ,we do take great care in looking after our guests and all we ask is to respect the house and leave it in a state they found it .We do ask guests to abide by the contracts which most hen party's do and enjoy it at The Gate House and all seem to have a great time here.We do not have mixed 18-30 groups due to the fact it resembles a stag party which through experience does not work here. The agency they booked with are very much aware of our policy and obviously did not explain properly to the group who came ,we do ask music to be at a reasonable sound level and turned off at 12.30pm unfortunately this carried on til 3am and very loud . On occasions we ask guests to tone it down if it gets out of hand but this is very rare and normally get on very well with groups who come. We do not get involved in the parties who come as we respect their privacy but if they need us we are at hand.. The hot tub is a great facility as of the pool these are cleaned and tested every week without fail this is very important to us ,unfortunately this group tripped the motor on the tub by neglecting the water supply which made it trip out .Once dried out it was back to normal.The group spent a lot of time in the hot tub. I will not mention costs but we do not get the figure mentioned for a 3 night stay ,as for the gardens they are very beautiful with veg patches which we use ourselves but do not interfere with the guests stay we simply walk through the rear of the gardens to the green houses. The pool area is slip proof tiles just to reassure future guests but when you have a lot of water splashing it could become slippy and warning signs are in place to avoid this . Summary We are very sorry to reply like this but i have to make my point that we do ask guests to take care when they stay, alcohol is a major part of the weekend and i think this was the main culprit with the group, we do ask all rubbish to be taken out to the bins unfortunately unwanted food was left all over the kitchen table ,garbage bags left all over the house ,food all over the pool floor ,broken glass in pool room and hot tub area ,music and loud screaming til 5am all weekend which is not acceptable to us and our neighbors, , the photos have taken are a true image of the group who came and what state the house was left in. I could go on and delve deeper but that would not be professional,we welcome all future guests and 99% love The Gate House as per the reviews given Tom and Marie
“No Fun Allowed!”
18 of us arrived for a long weekend on Friday 1st June for my friends hen do. On first impressions the house looked nice but defiantly needs updating, some sockets did not work, dishwasher, paper comi… More
Owner's reply: To all my genuine customers please ignore the last 2 reviews they are totally false and misleading please judge us by our 5 star ratings and not by a group of hens making stories to cover their guilt
“Lovely Hen Do Venue”
We stayed in the house for my sister's hen party as a group of 18. The house is well situated and has plenty of space. The leisure facilities are a big bonus although be very careful round the po… More
Owner's reply: Thank you for your review Yes the pool ,sauna and hot tub are a real bonus the pool is at 30 degrees all year round Maybe a lot of water was being splashed On the tiles which makes them extra slippy but just to confirm they are non slip tiles Thanks again Tim-and Marie
- How do I find more info about the property?
You can get in touch with Tim (the owner) through the contact form on this page.
- What if I have questions before I book?
Send Tim (the owner) an email through the contact form on this page. Alternatively, if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I contact Tim (the owner)?
Send an email through the contact form on this page. Or if there’s a phone number on this page, you can call them.
- How do I know my booking is safe?
You'll need to send Tim (the owner) an enquiry to book - the owner will let you know how to pay. If they accept online booking they'll send you a quote and info on how to pay. If you pay through our website you’ll be covered by Payment Protection.
If they don’t accept online booking they'll still be able to offer a secure form of payment. Read our top tips on booking safely.
- How do I know what it will cost for my stay?
Select the Prices tab for an overview of this property's prices.
Or you can send Tim (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form to request a quote. Tim (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.
- How do I pay for my holiday?
Send Tim (the owner) an enquiry through the contact form requesting a quote for your holiday dates. Tim (the owner) will email you the total cost for your dates and how to pay.
- How do damage deposits work?
Tim (the owner) of this property is responsible for taking and refunding your damage deposit. The damage deposit terms should be agreed before booking and outlined in the booking contract, if Tim (the owner) supplies one. Please refer to these details or contact Tim (the owner) directly if you have any questions.
- How do I cancel my booking?
You'll need to contact Tim (the owner) to cancel. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.
- How do I edit my booking?
You'll need to contact Tim (the owner) to edit your booking. They should have provided their contact details when you made your booking - otherwise, email them through the contact form.
Build your perfect trip, with Holiday Lettings & TripAdvisor
Real opinions, real reviews
Genuine guest feedback from 100,000+ reviews
Quick response times
Know where you're staying within 24 hours