List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Blacksmiths Cottage

Cottage | 3 bedrooms | sleeps 6

Key Info
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • Car advised
  • Nearest beach 0km

Our comfortable cosy Cotswold cottage on the ground floor has a fitted kitchen which includes a dishwasher, cooker, hob, microwave and fridge

.A Washer dryer is situated in the under stairs cupboard.

The kitchen leads to a dining room with a large pine table and six comfortable upholstered chairs.Beyond the dining room is a cosy lounge for relaxing. A TV/DVD player is provided along with many books of interest. There is also a comprehensive guide to local facilities and tourist attractions in the area.

On the first floor are a twin-bedded room, a double-bedded room and a bathroom. The bathroom has a hand basin, toilet and bath with shower over.

On the top floor is a spacious double bedroom with outstanding views overlooking the valley. There is an en-suite shower room .This Cotswold cottage is arranged over three floors and is well equipped for a pleasurable stay.

Bed linen is provided.

Bedrooms have wardrobes or hanging space and chest of drawers and all have radiators.

A travel cot can be used in the top floor bedroom. A hair dryer, iron and ironing board are available.

To the rear of the cottage is a car parking space and a small patio area with table and chairs..

Size Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms
Will consider Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car advised
Nearest Amenities 100 m
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Birmingham 75 km, Nearest railway: Cheltenham 15 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General Central heating, TV, CD player
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Washing machine
Rooms 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 En suites
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (2), Cots (1), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6
Other Linen provided, High chair
Outdoors Balcony or terrace
Access Parking

The Central England/Cotswolds region

The Cotswolds has a uniqueness about it like no other. You can drive through beautiful rolling countryside and chocolate box villages in a blink. It is very accessible from the major motorways and airports. With many visitors returning year after Year.

Winchcombe

Blacksmiths Cottage is situated in the heart of Winchcombe within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and pubs.

Historic Winchcombe is an ideal location from which to explore the Cotswolds and the Spa Town of Cheltenham.

Sudeley Castle Winchcombe a fine historic house with beautiful gardens is a worthwhile visit. The castle’s most famous resident was Katherine Parr, Henry VIII’s sixth wife, who is buried at the chapel.

Winchcombe Welcomes Walkers. Winchcombe is ideally located for walking the Cotswold Way. Routes vary from undulating track to quiet out-of-town circular routes. Winchcombe has its own walking festival every year and is gathering momentum for this years big event.

Cotswold Farm Park is approx a 15 min drive from Winchcombe. It is run by BBC country file presenter Adam Henson. This is a wonderful day out for adults and children with over 50 flocks and herds of rare breed farm animals.

Winchcombe Pottery all of the pottery is available from the factory shop

Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway have a station at Winchcombe. The steam trains run to Cheltenham racecourse and Toddington. Thomas the Tank engine has been known to visit.A great day out for all the family.

Cycling is also a popular activity to pass through the unspoilt scenery in this area of outstanding beauty. Cleeve Common is an area of outstanding beauty perfect for off road cycling

Snows Hill Lavender This is the third generation farming this beautiful plant for a wide range of scents, In full bloom it is a photograph waiting to be taken.

Prescott Hill Climb is a 10 minute drive from Winchcombe and is the home of The Bugatti Owners Club and one of the worlds most prestigious racing venues.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

Review 1-5 of 5

15 Feb 2014

5/5

"Lovely cosy cottage close to town"

This is a Great central location The cottage is very clean and well equipped with lots of cooking utensils . There is a cupboard with plenty of books and games for rainy days. The wners was very helpf… More

Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased you loved The White Lion. We love it too.

5 Feb 2014

3/5

"Pretty little cottage great location but overpriced"

This is a very attractive looking cottage situated close to the centre of Winchcombe so it was great for us to be able to walk to the pubs. We found the cottage to be very clean and generally well equipped. The living area is quite small and while OK for four people we thought it would be a bit cramped for six. Our walking boots and soggy macs and walking trousers posed a bit of a problem as there wasn't really anywhere to put them and no hooks to hang anything up. We had a few other niggles - nothing very serious, such as the remote control and a lamp not working, no slip mat in the shower, and no towels provided (although that is made clear to guests in advance). Our expectations were driven by what we considered (as seasoned cottage renters) to be a high price for a stay at the end of January. We expected luxury and space but didn't feel this was delivered.

Thank you for your comments.

I don't believe we have mislead anybody regarding the size of our 'Cosy Cottage' .The photographs are representative of its size and authorised by the tourist board suitable for 6 people.

There are coat hooks in the under stairs cupboard and a tumble dryer within the washing machine for your usage.

We are sorry that the batteries had not been replaced in the remote and the lamp not working.
Perhaps in future as seasoned cottage renters it may be an idea to raise these issues as soon as you are aware. We are more than happy to change batteries and bulbs.

We can't do any thing if we don't know!!!!

We don't provide a non slip bath mat as we feel they are unhygienic.
We do not have a winter and summer price list as this is an all year round holiday destination.

Thank you for your comments

15 Jan 2014

2/5

"Disappointing"

Although the location was good the cottage itself was not. Broken dishwasher, broken cabinet, broken cd player, not enough kitchen utensils or cooking equipment….Also be advised that check in time w… More

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for comments.
I must state that all you negative comments about this property were ONLY mentioned AFTER departure. ( Which was 3 hours late) You could have called us at any time if you had a problem. My home number and mobile number is on every piece of literature in the property.

I have enclosed a copy of the email thread you received regarding the above property.
You knew to depart at 10 am and also that a late departure fee would be charged.

The dishwasher door had slipped from its position but you were still able to use it. Our cleaner assures us she had not left it like that before your arrival.

The stereo does work and I have a video clip if you would like to view it in operation. You hadn't put the plug in . There are three plugs hence the extension lead.

The cabinet door: Its an antique and although old and rickety in character of the building again not broken.

The kitchen utensils. There are plenty of kitchen utensils and equipment. We abide by the list recommended by The Tourist Board if you would like a list I can provide this.

From: Sarah Halewood >
Date: 2 January 2014 19:00:08 GMT
To: REVIEWER
Subject: Re: Cottage rental

Dear REVIEWER
Cleaning is allocated to the cleaning company on the DATE A BOOKING IS TAKEN this ensures we are booked in to their diary.
Many bookings are taken last minute.
This system ensures the property is always available.
We are not their only client they have others in the area.
The cleaning company also has a responsibility to ensure the property is left safe and secure.
Regards
Sarah

From:REVIEWER
Date: 2 January 2014 12:13:30 GMT
To:
Subject: RE: Cottage rental

Why does your cleaning company need to clean at 10:00 on a bank holiday when there is no other booking that day or the next few days.

Subject: Re: Cottage rental

Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 20:41:32 +0000
To: xxxxxxxx

Dear xxxxxxx
Our cleaning company charge us a late departure fee.
If you scroll down we advise that late departure will be £75.
I shall re credit your account for £25.
Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 1 Jan 2014, at 20:20, REVIEWER> wrote:

Hi

Yes, we did not leave at 10:00, we left at 13:00 having agreed it with a lady who came by at 10:00 to check. I understand that you did not have any other booking for today and so no inconvenience was caused by this

regards

Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From: xxxxxxxx
Date: Wed, 1 Jan 2014 19:11:22 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Dear REVIEWER
I believe from our cleaner that you didn't leave at 10 am as requested.
Can you confirm this please.
Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 1 Jan 2014, at 18:32, REVIEWER> wrote:

Hello, I hope you found everything in order at the cottage. We washed up before our departure & put the bins out as requested. Please note the cabinet door to the dishwasher was already broken (off its hinges/fixtures) when we arrived. The door to the cabinet in the lounge area was also dislodged from its hinges and the stereo did not work. Let me know what the process is for the return of the deposit.

Many thanks

Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From:
Date: Sun, 22 Dec 2013 08:59:15 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Hi REVIEWER
We do provide towels but unfortunately check in time is 4pm as we wouldn't have time to clean it between visits. If you've a moment please let me know where you saw this so I can change it. We've had the property 10 years and have always had the same policy.
The property is easy to find on Back Lane it's the end nearest North street.

Regards
Sarah

Sent from my iPhone

On 21 Dec 2013, at 21:31, REVIEWER> wrote:

Thank you for your email. I had read that towels were provided and that check in & check out was 12:00. Please confirm. Also, are there any specific directions to the cottage or is it fairly easy to find

Kind regards



Subject: Re: Cottage rental
From:
Date: Sat, 21 Dec 2013 18:16:23 +0000
To: REVIEWER

Please can you confirm you have received this email.
Check in after 4pm depart before 10am


The full address is
Blacksmiths Cottage
xxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxx

When you arrive as you look at the front door there xxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxis a key safe. The number is xxxxxx

On departure please could you check

All windows and doors are closed and locked.
The heating is turned off and all bins have been emptied in to the wheely
bins outside.

Please note all breakages must be paid for. Late departure is charged at £75.
The key is returned to the key safe.


Thank you again for your booking if you have any problems give me a call
07850 21 31 21.

4 Dec 2013

5/5

"Clean and cosy"

The photos of this cottage do not do it justice. It was immaculate and very welcoming with small touches to make our stay all the more comfortable. The cottage is within walking distance to the villag… More

12 Aug 2013

5/5

"Perfect holiday cottage, centrally located"

Lovely cottage, close to centre of winchcombe, and shops, nice walks nearby. Very clean and Spacious rooms. Central for visiting Cotswold attractions.

Review 1-5 of 5

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from£99/nighthelp

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay

*
*
*

Subtotal

 Your dates are available

Contact the owner

Close

Payment options

Pay online via the Holiday Lettings payment platform with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection. Learn more

You're booking with

Sarah H.

100% Response rate

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
  • French

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Landline
+44(0)1242245236
Mobile
+44(0)7850213121
Website
Visit site

Also consider

Cirencester
185 properties
Cheltenham
106 properties
Chipping Campden
69 properties
Stroud
57 properties
Stow on the Wold
56 properties
Malvern
47 properties
Chipping Norton
36 properties
Burford
34 properties
Broadway
31 properties
Bourton on the Water
30 properties
Gloucester
24 properties
Worcester
22 properties
Moreton-in-Marsh
22 properties
Evesham
18 properties
Tewkesbury
17 properties
Blockley
15 properties
Winchcombe
11 properties
Ledbury
9 properties
Pershore
8 properties
Oddington
7 properties

Start a new search