List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Burnside cottage - summer 2013

Cottage | 3 bedrooms | sleeps 6

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 3 km
  • Great for children of all ages 5
  • Car advised
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

The cottage, orginally built in the 1880s, has recently been restored and has a contemporary feel. It has a large fully equipped kitchen/dining room which leads into the cosy sitting rooom with leather sofas and a wood burning stove - ideal to while a way cold Scottish evenings. A large picture window gives views out towards the Loch. There is WI-FI, satellite TV and a Hi-fi system with docking for an iPod.

The holiday cottage has three bedrooms and sleeps up to six people. The Master, has a large king-size double bed and ensuite bathroom, the other double has twin or a double bed and the third room has bunk beds. All the rooms have stunning views towards Loch Bay.

The whole house is double glazed and centrally heated. The cottage is also equipped with a washing machine and tumble drier.

A small garden with a patio is an great spot to sit and enjoy the fantastic scenery.

Size Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms
Nearest beach Trumpan 2.6 km
Will consider Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car advised
Nearest Amenities 15.3 km
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Inverness 219 km, Nearest railway: Kyle of Lochalsh 92.8 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Log fire, Internet access, DVD player, Sea view
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 En suites
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (2), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Private garden
Access Parking
Further details outdoors

Outside there is a small garden facing the loch with a picnic table/bench where you can sit and enjoy the views. To oneside there is a small burn which gives the cottage it's name.

The Hebrides/Skye region

Skye is a great place to get a true taste of the Scottish highlands. There are some fantastic walks in and around Waternish or for serious walkers and climbers the Cuillin mountains provide some of the most challenging walking in the UK.

Burnside cottage is the perfect base - whether you want to sit and watch the dolphins off Waternish Point, explore the many artist studios in the area or simply enjoy the spectacular sunsets over the Loch.


Peacefully situated Burnside Cottage is about 2 miles from the picturesque fishing village of Stein which boasts the oldest inn on Skye The Stein Inn and The Loch Bay Seafood Restaurant and further afield in Colbost, if you fancy a gastronomic treat, there is the Three Chimneys restaurant.

The village of Dunvegan is about a 15 minute car journey away, here you will find a great bakery, organic greengrocers, post-office and petrol station. It also has the popular Old School House Restaurant and Dunvegan Castle, home of the Clan Macleod.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Excellent 5/5

8 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-8 of 8

4 Jul 2014


"Cosy cottage in a great location"

We were looking forward to our first visit to Skye and weren't disappointed. The booking was painless and done online earlier in the year through Holiday Lettings. The owner (Sara) lives abroad b… More

Thank you for your review. I was horrified that you had to sleep in the porch the first night. Unfortunately I was away for the night and only received your message the following morning, as soon as I heard I tried to contact you and the caretakers to make sure you could get in, luckily by that time you had managed to get inside. It is strange that you didn't receive all the arrival information I sent via Holiday Lettings I can see that it was sent on my message thread. I now make sure that I send all the information twice once via Holiday Lettings and again through my personal email to try and make sure nobody else has the same experience as you. As a good will gesture we reimbursed you for the first night.
I am sorry that the hob ignitor started to click due to the remote location of the cottage it is difficult to get problems repaired straight away but you will be pleased to know that the hob has now been changed. We have also found a new gardener to help keep the garden under control - everything grows so fast in the spring and summer on Skye.
Please accept my apologies for the mix up and hope it has not put you off visiting this beautiful part of the world.

3 Jul 2014


"A nice and confortable house in a wonderfull place"

My only regret was about shortness of our holiday time.The house is confortable and very cosy. We used very often the kitchen and it was ok!… More

27 Apr 2014


"Even better than we expected"

The cottage is in a lovely position in a quiet remote spot - fantastic if you want to get away from it all which we did. Lovely walks directly from the property and lots to see and do nearby but even … More

2 Apr 2014


"Every Creature Comfort in a Splendid Setting"

This was my seventh trip to the Isle of Skye and my wife's third. So you can imagine we are both very much fans of this beautiful place.We booked Burnside Cottage direct with the owner. She was e… More

24 Aug 2013


"Beautiful place to stay."

We stayed here for 4 days for our honeymoon and loved it. It is clean, well equipped, beautifully laid out and it's in a stunning location. Great walks and wildlife spotting around. The host was very friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make it enjoyable for us. Definitely recommend!

19 Jun 2013


"La maison de l'île de Skye"

magnifique ancienne maison de campagne rénovée avec charme. grand confort, beaucoup d'espace, de lumière, et...vue sur les falaises et l'océan à couper le souffle ! équipement de la ma… More

21 May 2013


"Extremely well equipped and comfortable self catering cottage"

Waternish on Skye is beautiful with tremendous views. Burnside Cottage makes the most of these and is a really nice, spacious and tastefully modernised traditional house with garden, plenty of parking, WiFi, Sky and more importantly excellent kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier, nice furniture, good beds, quality linen - and very clean!

The owner was friendly and helpful before our arrival - couldn't have asked for a better cottage.

9 May 2013


"Fantastic cottage in a great location"

This is a lovely cottage in a wonderful location on the Waternish peninsular on Skye, looking out over Loch Bay. The cottage is warm, very well appointed and furnished to a high standard with 3 good sized bedrooms, the master having an en-suite with shower, a well equipped kitchen and a comfortable sitting room. All the heating, lighting etc is included in the price and satellite TV, wifi and an ipod dock are also included. Bedding and towels are also provided.

The location is great for touring Skye, especially the quieter, more northern parts and there is a wealth of wildlife on the doorstep, together with tourist attractions such as Skyeskyns, the Brae Fasach Gallery, Shilasdair wool and plenty of superb seafood restaurants close by in Stein. Dunvegan is only 20 mins drive away and has a well stocked shop and off licence.

Communication with the owner was quick and easy during the booking process and Kim and Stephen who look after the cottage during the season are easily contacted if needed and very friendly (they're also very knowledgeable about the local area and can supply free range eggs!).

I had such a good time that I've already booked a return visit in September!

Review 1-8 of 8

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.


Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible


This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay



 Your dates are available

Contact the owner


Payment options

You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more

You're booking with

Sara M.

  • 2 Years listed

80% Response rate

Calendar last updated:10 Sep 2014

Based in Spain

Languages spoken
  • English
  • Spanish