List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Excellent 5/5 Score from 11 reviews

Burnside Cottage

from £68 /night help Price for guests, Nights

Excellent 5/5 Score from 11 reviews

Excellent 5/5 

from £68 /night help Price for guests, Nights

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

Burnside cottage - summer 2013

Cottage / 3 bedrooms / sleeps 6

Need more information about booking Home 249656 ?

Cottage / 3 bedrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 3 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car advised
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

The cottage, orginally built in the 1880s, has recently been restored and has a contemporary feel. It has a large fully equipped kitchen/dining room which leads into the cosy sitting rooom with leather sofas and a wood burning stove - ideal to while a way cold Scottish evenings. A large picture window gives views out towards the Loch. There is WI-FI, satellite TV and a Hi-fi system with docking for an iPod.

The holiday cottage has three bedrooms and sleeps up to six people. The Master, has a large king-size double bed and ensuite bathroom, the other double has twin or a double bed and the third room has bunk beds. All the rooms have stunning views towards Loch Bay.

The whole house is double glazed and centrally heated. The cottage is also equipped with a washing machine and tumble drier.

A small garden with a patio is an great spot to sit and enjoy the fantastic scenery.

Please note: The cottage is almost divided into 2 sides with the en-suite double bedroom being separated from the rest of the house by the kitchen and sitting room and out of earshot of the rest of the house. For families with very small children it would be best to sleep in the twin bedroom which is adjacent to the children´s room.

Size Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms
Nearest beach Trumpan 2.6 km
Access Car advised
Nearest Amenities 15.3 km
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Inverness 219 km, Nearest railway: Kyle of Lochalsh 92.8 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Log fire, Internet access, DVD player, Sea view
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 En suites
Furniture Double beds (1), Single beds (2), Bunk Beds (1), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Private garden
Access Parking
Further details outdoors

Outside there is a small garden facing the loch with a picnic table/bench where you can sit and enjoy the views. To oneside there is a small burn which gives the cottage it's name.

Please note: The cottage is almost divided into 2 sides with the en-suite double bedroom being separated from the rest of the house by the kitchen and sitting room and out of earshot of the rest of the house. For families with very small children it would be best to sleep in the twin bedroom so you can (which can be converted into a double) this is just adjacent to the children´s room.

About this location

The Hebrides region

Skye is a great place to get a true taste of the Scottish highlands. There are some fantastic walks in and around Waternish or for serious walkers and climbers the Cuillin mountains provide some of the most challenging walking in the UK.

Burnside cottage is the perfect base - whether you want to sit and watch the dolphins off Waternish Point, explore the many artist studios in the area or simply enjoy the spectacular sunsets over the Loch.

Waternish

Peacefully situated Burnside Cottage is about 2 miles from the picturesque fishing village of Stein which boasts the oldest inn on Skye The Stein Inn and The Loch Bay Seafood Restaurant and further afield in Colbost, if you fancy a gastronomic treat, there is the Three Chimneys restaurant.

The village of Dunvegan is about a 15 minute car journey away, here you will find a great bakery, organic greengrocers, post-office and petrol station. It also has the popular Old School House Restaurant and Dunvegan Castle, home of the Clan Macleod.

About the owner

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5


11 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 11

22 Mar 2015

5/5

"Wonderful cottage in great location."

We have just spent a great week at Burnside Cottage. The house is lovely, so cosy and very comfortable. The location is fabulous and even although the weather was not kind to us every day, the changin… More

18 Oct 2014

5/5

"Great cottage - everything we needed and more."

Burnside cottage is an excellent, well equipped cottage that offers good value for money. Sara was accommodating to our requests regarding date changes. Generally very helpful, with lots of good infor… More

13 Oct 2014

5/5

"Absolutely fantastic!"

Burnside cottage is a is fully equiped, very comfortable, extremely clean, great garden and sitting area, great views. There's an east wing and west wing with seperate bathrooms/bedrooms (one en… More

4 Jul 2014

3/5

"Cosy cottage in a great location"

We were looking forward to our first visit to Skye and weren't disappointed. The booking was painless and done online earlier in the year through Holiday Lettings. The owner (Sara) lives abroad b… More

Thank you for your review. I was horrified that you had to sleep in the porch the first night. Unfortunately I was away for the night and only received your message the following morning, as soon as I heard I tried to contact you and the caretakers to make sure you could get in, luckily by that time you had managed to get inside. It is strange that you didn't receive all the arrival information I sent via Holiday Lettings I can see that it was sent on my message thread. I now make sure that I send all the information twice once via Holiday Lettings and again through my personal email to try and make sure nobody else has the same experience as you. As a good will gesture we reimbursed you for the first night.
I am sorry that the hob ignitor started to click due to the remote location of the cottage it is difficult to get problems repaired straight away but you will be pleased to know that the hob has now been changed. We have also found a new gardener to help keep the garden under control - everything grows so fast in the spring and summer on Skye.
Please accept my apologies for the mix up and hope it has not put you off visiting this beautiful part of the world.

3 Jul 2014

5/5

"A nice and confortable house in a wonderfull place"

My only regret was about shortness of our holiday time.The house is confortable and very cosy. We used very often the kitchen and it was ok!… More

27 Apr 2014

5/5

"Even better than we expected"

The cottage is in a lovely position in a quiet remote spot - fantastic if you want to get away from it all which we did. Lovely walks directly from the property and lots to see and do nearby but even … More

2 Apr 2014

5/5

"Every Creature Comfort in a Splendid Setting"

This was my seventh trip to the Isle of Skye and my wife's third. So you can imagine we are both very much fans of this beautiful place.We booked Burnside Cottage direct with the owner. She was e… More

24 Aug 2013

5/5

"Beautiful place to stay."

We stayed here for 4 days for our honeymoon and loved it. It is clean, well equipped, beautifully laid out and it's in a stunning location. Great walks and wildlife spotting around. The host was very friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make it enjoyable for us. Definitely recommend!

19 Jun 2013

5/5

"La maison de l'île de Skye"

magnifique ancienne maison de campagne rénovée avec charme. grand confort, beaucoup d'espace, de lumière, et...vue sur les falaises et l'océan à couper le souffle ! équipement de la ma… More

21 May 2013

5/5

"Extremely well equipped and comfortable self catering cottage"

Waternish on Skye is beautiful with tremendous views. Burnside Cottage makes the most of these and is a really nice, spacious and tastefully modernised traditional house with garden, plenty of parking, WiFi, Sky and more importantly excellent kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier, nice furniture, good beds, quality linen - and very clean!

The owner was friendly and helpful before our arrival - couldn't have asked for a better cottage.

Review 1-10 of 11

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Check price and book
Your dates are available
Close

Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices

*
*

Sleeps 6

    from £68 /night help

    Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

    Rental cost
    Owner fee
    Subtotal

    Subtotal

    Enter dates to see your price

    Owner fees cover things like cleaning. Click Book now to review a full breakdown of the cost before making your payment.

    This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

    Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

    Contact the owner

    Need more information first?

    Close
    Email the owner
    *
    help

    Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

      This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

      Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

      You're booking with

      Sara M.

      • 2 Years listed

      95% Response rate

      Calendar last updated:18 Apr 2015

      Based in Spain

      Languages spoken
      • English
      • Spanish

      Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

      Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

      Just click on the icons to get to the download page