The Wee Haven
from £45 / night help
Availability Your dates are available
Apartment / 1 bedrooms / sleeps 3
With a beautiful sea view, The Wee Haven Edinburgh provides stylish self-contained accommodation on the Scottish coast. Around 3 miles from the city center, this apartment in a converted shop offers free parking and free Wi-Fi.
The Wee Haven includes 1 bedroom with double bed, and 1 single fold-down bed. A cot can also be supplied on request. There is a bathroom with bath and shower.
A fitted kitchen includes an oven, microwave, fridge and kettle, washing machine and on arrival you will find a welcome pack including tea, coffee and cereal. A Continental breakfast can also be provided. The living room has comfortable sofas and a flat-screen TV with DVD player.
The Royal Botanic Gardens are just a 7-minute drive away, as are the docks at Leith. There are numerous golf courses around the region, many within 10-20 minutes' drive. Beautiful restaurants and bars surround the area. There are also many exciting activities such as sea safari trips, Alien Rock climbing to name but a few. Upon booing you will receive a welcome pack from us via email.
There is swift access to the city By-pass which in turn gives connections to the A1, the motorway network (M8,M9 and M90) Edinburgh international airport and the Forth Road Bridge.
|Size||Sleeps up to 3, 1 bedrooms|
|Will consider||Corporate bookings, Long term lets (over 1 month)|
|Access||Car not necessary|
|Nearest travel links||Nearest airport: http://www.edinburghairport.com/landing/car-parkin, Nearest railway: http://www.networkrail.co.uk/edinburgh-waverley-st|
|Family friendly||Great for children of all ages|
|Notes||Pets welcome, No smoking at this property|
Features and Facilities
|Luxuries||Internet access, DVD player, Sea view|
|General||Central heating, TV, CD player, Wi-Fi available|
|Standard||Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer|
|Utilities||Clothes dryer, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine|
|Rooms||1 bedroom, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 Shower rooms|
|Furniture||Double beds (1), Single beds (1), Cots (1), Lounge seats for 2|
|Other||Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair|
About this location
The Edinburgh region
Your holiday let is located in the Newhaven area of Edinburgh, Scotland. Across the road is the river fourth.
The area has many lovely walks, pubs, gastro pubs, restaurants. It's a short walk/bus journey away from the centre of town or the Leith area. The botanical gardens are also only a short journey away.
About the owner
Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor
Guest reviews no reviews
Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor
- 5 star
- 4 star
- 3 star
- 2 star
- 1 star
Very Good 4/5
Help other travellers decide where to stay
Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.Write a review
26 Jan 2015
"Perfect for the price!"
My partner and I stayed at the wee haven for one night back in June and it met our requirements perfectly. It was very reasonably priced and although small and basic, we found it had everything we nee… More
30 Jul 2014
"Stravagante e rilassante"
La nostra prima tappa in Scozia. L'appartamento non è grande ma decisamente originale nell'arredamento, ma l'idea è quella di essere in un luogo confortevole e amichevole. I difetti s… More
15 Feb 2014
The apartment was easy to find, and in a nice location overlooking the sea. Sadly the condition of the apartment was poor, there was a plastic curtain on the livingroom window because the real curtain… More
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Wee Haven. We are sorry you found some issue with certain areas of the apartment and would like to take a moment to respond to these, to perhaps alleviate some of your disappointment, and to reassure others who may consider them definitive of a stay at The Wee Haven. We certainly would not consider them such and would like to point out how apposite to other reviews given here they seem. We of course still take them very seriously and again thank you for the feedback.
The few issues you raise with regard to areas dealt with by our cleaners (food left in a cupboard, hair on a bed etc} are of most concern to us, given that a temporary cleaner had been used on this occasion whilst our regular member of staff was in hospital. We had hoped to use this cleaner again if such circumstances arose but now will certainly not be doing so. Given that we supply the laundry I can assure you the bed linen was clean and fresh, the hair having probably fallen from the cleaner. We are sorry for this and assure we have never had a report of anything similar before. Likewise a fresh oven glove was supplied with the laundry and should have replaced the dirty one you found. In the six months we have been running The Wee Haven we have never received a complaint about laundry, in fact having been asked on numerous occasions which detergent we use because everything smelled so fresh.
Some of the other issues you raise are perhaps of a more subjective nature with regard to what might be considered home comforts. The apartment has a westerly aspect and we have tried to make it bright and airy even when there is no direct sunlight and for this reason have used light, fresh looking curtains and blinds. Just this evening, having seen your review whilst at the apartment and of course being curious, I tried to peer through the window with both blinds and curtain fully drawn and could not see any of the interior of the apartment at all. Could it simply be that the blinds were not fully closed on the occasion of your observations?
The apartment is D listed, having been a former shop servicing the historic Newhaven Harbour area, which also accounts for much of the quirkiness of its layout etc, thus the windows are of an old sash style design which, although we think they look great and wholly in keeping with the building, they do tend towards building up condensation on the inside. It is for this reason there is a waterproof membrane curtain, not to be confused with a shower curtain, inside the other curtain in the lounge area. This helps stop the condensation becoming damp in the building and is a fairly common solution to a common problem in old or listed buildings.
We have had to change the mattress in the main bedroom once already in the six months we have been running The Wee Haven, thus meaning the mattress you slept on, within the same fortnight as one of our other reviewers here, is less than three months old and is, to our minds and that of said reviewer, very comfortably sprung. We have never had a complaint of this nature before and in fact pride ourselves on the type of comfort we offer at The Wee Haven. We do however realise this may again be a very subjective area and are sincerely sorry we did not meet your requirements in it.
We would also like to assure any other readers here that a cosy, efficient heater is installed in each of our rooms. There has perhaps been some confusion with there still being a defunct, attached heater in the bedroom, which is intended for removal when we install a new system in two months time. Another, fully functioning heater is supplied for the bedroom, which heats it up after just a few minutes. We are sorry you did n't find this heater since it is usually stored in a fully visible position in the room and are equally sorry this marred your visit.
We hope we have addressed some of this reviews concerns and assure any future guests none of the issues raised are likely to be encountered by them at all, despite there having been this one occasion where they were. As such, we would urge you to read our other reviews.
13 Feb 2014
"small but has everything you need"
nice place to stay, has everything that you need, the only thing wrong bad smell from extractor fan in kitchen needs replaced
Thank you very much for your feedback. We were not aware of a smell coming from the fan, which we can only assume is from ongoing wear and tear, and will address this immediately. If you are likely to be staying with us again we are happy to offer you a 20% discount on your stay, just email us!:)
6 Feb 2014
"Comfiest bed - cutest bath!"
Back to the everyday grind after a relaxing weekend at The Wee Haven. Comfiest bed I've ever slept in! The word I'd use to describe the flat is "quirky". Very inventive use of the space to create the bathroom and I loved the cavelike feeling of the bath, candles and a glass of wine were the order of the day. Cosy to sit in the evenings. Fully equpped kitchen but loads of places nearby to eat out. Bus service into the centre of town is regular and cheap, even on a Sunday!
Thank you very much for your kind review, remember our loyalty card deal, two stays and 20% off when booking your third, just email us for full details!:)
You're booking with
100% Response rate
Calendar last updated:16 Mar 2015
Based in United Kingdom