List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Fishermen's cabin (Rorbu)

from £79 /night help Price for guests, Nights

Excellent 5/5

7 reviews

from £79 /night help Price for guests, Nights

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

Tind harbour with the cabin in the background

Log cabin / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 5

Need more information about booking Home 216970 ?

Log cabin / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 5

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Suitable for children over 5
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

Our rorbu is built around 1890, but later refurbished. The old charm is still here, as well as the tiny beds under the ceiling where the fishermen slept. The refurbished bedrooms however, have new comfortable double beds and the bathroom is adapted to modern day standards.

In order to keep the original feel of the rorbu, the cabin does not have a lot of extra amenities as you might excpect in modern homes. However, the cabin has cooking facilities for 6 people, and has a fridge with a small freezer as well as two electrical burners. The beds are brand new and with comfortable mattresses. The bathroom has a shower and a water closet and was refurbished around 1990.

Size Sleeps up to 5, 2 bedrooms
Access Car advised
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Bodø ( or Leknes (www.wideroe 60 km, Nearest railway: Bodø ( 100 km
Family friendly Suitable for children over 5
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Sea view
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Double beds (2), Single beds (2), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 5
Outdoors Balcony or terrace
Access Parking, Not suitable for wheelchair users

The Nordland region

Lofoten is located between the 68th and 69th parallels placing it just north of the Arctic Circle in North Norway. It is well known in Norway and abroad for its natural beauty. The principal islands, running from north to south, are the southern tip of Hinnøya, southern 60 % (approx.) of Austvågøy, then Gimsøy, Vestvågøy, Flakstadøya, and Moskenesøya, which is the island that our cabin is located on. Further to the south are the small and isolated islands of Værøy and Røst. The total land in the Lofoten islands area amounts to 1,227 km².


The cabin is located in the small fishing village of Tind, and you can still today see the fishing boats docking in the harbour in front of the rorbu. Here are some suggestions to what you can do while you are visiting Tind.

- Walk 15 minutes to Å and join an organized fishing trip to add fresh fish to your dinner menu.

- Take a moderate hike up to a nearby peak, where the view of Lofoten is spectacular.

- If you are more adventurous, there are many peaks in the area you can explore, with various difficulty levels; however you should only attempt this if you are experienced in winter conditions and avalanche training. Speak to locals before setting out, and be cautious.

- You can also enquire with the local adventure companies, that offer diving tours, sea rafting tours, climbing, kayaking, hiking and biking tours to name some.

In sum, Tind and Lofoten is the ideal place for visitors looking for adventure or cultural heritage and relaxing experience alike.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Excellent 5/5

7 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-7 of 7

17 Jul 2013


"A Wonderful Place to Stay in a Surreal Landscape"

The whole experience was great. The folks who own the place, Gunnar and Mona, are wonderful - they promptly responded to all of our inquiries about the property, the booking and payment process, and provided some good tips on the surrounding area. They accommodated our needs very well. We arrived very very late at night but it was not a problem. They property was much much bigger than it looked in the pictures. we were only two people but could have easily had four or six. the walk to Å is short - maybe 8 minutes. the walk to Sørvågen is short too - maybe 12 minutes. we spent the whole time without a car. the ferry from bødo to moskenes is super close - 45 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride. the bus stop is literally a minute's walk from the place. the bus runs quite infrequent though and the printed bus schedule is like egyptian hieroglyphics. you don't notice the cars when you're in the cottage - we did notice the cars when walking on the road but most drivers are courteous and cautious to pedestrians. we noticed them because the road is narrow. the immediate landscape has the classic fish racks along the sea shore. they owners recently renovate the space and continue to improve the space. screens on the windows would be a nice addition. i had a few mosquito bites in the night but nothing too bad. you will NOT get a direct view of the water from the rorbu 4 - where we stayed. honestly though, you don't really need one. you see water all day. and then go to bed with the curtains down for the light nights. the linens were less than ideal - no fitted sheet for the double sized bed. we had two super hot thick single sized quilts for the bed. we would have preferred a thinner larger double sized quilt but that is not how they roll in scandinavian countries - maybe its a Lutheran thing. Probably the biggest disappointment was the evening shadow that was created by the steep mountain immediately up hill from the cabin. the evening sun was not visible after 6 pm. of course there was ambient light and we could walk ten minutes to soak it up somewhere else but we weren't able to have the sun right there. we did have sun in the morning though. I did a day hike up to Munkebu summit. great hike. the grocery stores in the area are totally adequate. and the Maren Ana restaurant in Sørvågen is great - open late and everything! The entire experience was wonderful - memories for a lifetime.

Dear Guests. Thank you for your review, and thank you for coming to visit our place in Lofoten. We are very pleased that you had such a memorable experience, and hope one day you will return to Tind. I will try to answer some of your points where we can improve here. Window screens and mosquitoes: The time you visited was in the period when the weather was exceptionally hot. According to the local newspapers, it was the best spring and beginning of summer in 30 years. We have not received any previous concerns with mosquitoes or bed linen being too hot, but we agree that when it was hot like that, the quilts are too warm. We will see if we can arrange a sheet that fits the double bed, and that is a little less warm, but unfortunately, it is rather the exception that our guest has any problems sleeping given the heat. I would say that mosquitoes are not generally a big concern in our area given the location far into the sea. The sun: We agree 100% that we also would have liked an evening direct sun. In june and july, the property has potential sun from around 0330 hrs until 1800 hrs. As you mentioned, you can see the reflection of the sun further out into the sea, and also you can walk about 10 minutes to sit directly in the evening sun. Unfortunately, there is no direct viewing of the midnight sun from most places in Moskenes, unless you go to Bunesstranda or one of the peaks around. However, for those that want to come visit in November or February, we can offer a spectacular view of the sun in front of the rorbu around 0900-1000 hrs in the morning, where you have sort of a reversed midnight sun effect when the sun just barely rises above the sea just in front of you, before it sets in the sea again. Quite a spectacular sight, with great light, and snow-capped mountains behind. Thank you again for coming, and for taking the time to give us feedback.

20 Apr 2012


"Experience authentic Norway in a charming rorbu"

I ventured to Lofoten last year with a couple of friends on a guys trip. We found this rorbu in Tind and didn't want to leave. It's located in a quiet and very scenic bay that takes you back in time to the way life once was in Norway. The cabin is very comfortable and decorated with local artifacts from the fishing village. I was pleased to see the beds & linens were new and very comfortable. We found the picnic bench outside to be the perfect place for breakfast or afternoon beers. A swim can also be done from the dock, for those who need a good chill. We liked having parking next to the cabin but didn't really move the car once we got to the cabin. There are great mountain treks, a small grocery story and a restaurant with very tasty seafood within short to medium walking distances. Since the weather changes so quickly, it's reassuring to know you have a comfortable cabin with all the amenities should you want to stay inside for a while. I will be back!

19 Apr 2012


"The true Lofoten experience"

This is the best of Lofoten if you are looking for a place that is genuine, relaxed and picturesque. The cabins are old and traditional, but modern inside, built on a pier directly on the sea. You can sit in front of the entrance and enjoy your morning coffee, afternoon tea or evening wine while you are fishing cod or crabs for dinner! The cabins are placed in a tiny bay, with the view to the open sea, small fishing boats going in and out (and you might get a fish or two from them, if you are out of fishing luck) and racks of dry cod (funny smell.. and lots of seagulls that adds to the charm!). Just behind the cabins you have the tall Lofoten mountains with lots of opportunities for great trekking. And a short car/bike and then boat ride away you get to some of the most spectacular beaches in the north. The village of Tind is very small and charming. An evening stroll away you can visit the local restaurant/bar/hang-out Maren Anna, where you can have a Lofoten coffee (with lots of booze..) with the locals. And eat local delicacies. You are also in walking distance to the more busy and touristy village of Å, which has a wonderful bakery amongst other offers. I have been to Tind three times already with partner and friends, and I will definitely come back to this amazing place ;o) Marianne

Review 1-7 of 7

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Check price and book
Your dates are available

Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices


3 Nights min stay

Sleeps 5

    from £79 /night help

    Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.



    Enter dates to see your price

    Owner fees cover things like cleaning. Click Book now to review a full breakdown of the cost before making your payment.

    Payment Protection This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

    Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

    Contact the owner

    Email the owner

      This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

      Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

      You're booking with

      Gunnar H.

      • 2 Years listed

      100% Response rate

      Calendar last updated:11 Aug 2015

      Based in Norway

      Languages spoken
      • English
      • Norwegian

      Payment accepted

      Credit cards accepted

      Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

      Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

      Just click on the icons to get to the download page