List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Cottage | 6 bedrooms | sleeps 12

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car advised
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

½ mile from the centre of St Mawes, near beaches and Sailing Club Quay (moorings) and about 10 minutes' walk from the village centre, is High Meadows, a spacious, large and detached family house in well-established gardens with sub-tropical plants. The garden is lawned (mowed weekly) with decking and seating for 10.

The house is spacious and 'upside down' for lovely views over the Percuil River, with some antique furniture. Upstairs, comfortable living room (TV/Sky/DVD) with large balcony overlooking the garden; dining room with double aspect, river views one side and another balcony; big kitchen/sitting room (two ovens, dishwasher, fridge-freezer, microwave, TV) with central island and river views (great kitchen sink views); loo.

Downstairs, entrance hall with flagstone floor and double doors to garden, and six bedrooms:

- master double (6' bed) with en suite bathroom (suite plus bath-shower), armchairs and glazed doors to paved terrace,

- double (5' bed) with en suite shower-room (suite with shower seat) and sliding doors to garden,

- double (5' bed) with en suite bathroom (suite),

- twin with en suite shower-room,

- twin, sharing a shower-room (suite) with a single with additional pull-out truckle bed.

Big utility room (dishwasher, washing machine, washer-drier, fridge-freezer, microwave, drying rack); boot room (drinks fridge, loo) for walking gear, wetsuits, dog basket etc; double shower/wet-room inside back door for sandy bodies. PC provided. Pets not permitted on lawn. Damages Deposit £150. A comfortable, thoughtfully equipped house, especially suitable for a family or people seeking private space.

Size Sleeps up to 12, 6 bedrooms
Access Car advised
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access, DVD player, Sea view
General Central heating, TV, Telephone, Satellite TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 6 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms of which 6 Family bathrooms
Furniture Single beds (5), Double beds (3)
Other High chair
Outdoors Private garden
Access Secure parking
Further details indoors

Please bring your own beach towels.

The agent has its own star rating system to quantify interior quality, comfort and ambience. This property has been rated 4 star.

The West Country region

Cornwall's 'Med': here is Cornwall at its warmest, most sheltered; of creeks and tidal waters penetrating deep inland, deep in woods, silent except for birdsong; of wonderful gardens growing things that live nowhere else outdoors in England (marvellous in rhododendron, camellia, magnolia time, from March to end of May especially); of sailing boats everywhere decorating the sea; of harbour villages where the light is Mediterranean - dazzling in the sunshine. And really very little that is ugly has been allowed to be built.

Here is Truro, Cornwall's (small) capital, with its 20th century cathedral; Falmouth, resort town and cargo/cruise ship/yacht port, superbly sited; and the glorious Helford River. Trewithen, Trelissick, Glendurgan, Trebah, Heligan (Lost Gardens of) and Caerhays are among the finest gardens. In the very middle of Cornwall, Lanhydrock house is very special, so is its garden. Not the greatest area for beaches, but good sandy ones near Veryan and Portscatho, in St Mawes, and around Falmouth and the Helford River's mouth. Not to be missed is St Just-in-Roseland's churchyard; nor - within easy reach - is The Eden Project (see South Cornwall).

St Mawes

St Mawes: beautiful village (shops, pubs, restaurants, galleries) with harbour, two beaches and Henry VIII castle, at the end of the lovely Roseland Peninsula, looking across to St Anthony Head (summer pedestrian ferry), and to Falmouth and the Helford River. Pedestrian ferry to Falmouth and cruises on Carrick Roads. Sailing school; canoeing; fishing trips; regattas. St Just in Roseland, 2 miles.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0

2 reviews

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-2 of 2

21 Jul 2014

2/5

"Could be a great house in a fabulous location, but hugely let down by the poor maintenance and cleanliness"

Outside back lights not working (clearly haven't worked for a long time!). Garden pitch dark in the evening, hazard particularly for elderly guests and young children, both of which we had in ou… More

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not find High Meadows at it's best on this occasion.

We've spoken to the owners about your feedback and they are very sorry to hear about the problems you had. They are trying to have the outside light repaired, but it seems that there is a problem with the electrical supply and the whole unit needs to be replaced. I suspect this is why you did not receive a visit from the electrician, but I'm sorry to hear that you were not informed of this.

The owner is very sorry for the ants; the house had been vacant the week prior to your stay, and these were only discovered during the changeover of the property. On discovery the team did all they could to get rid of the ants, but it would seem they were not gone in time for your arrival. Thank you for allowing the team to come in and apply treatment during your stay.

In respect of the mattress in the master bedroom Mrs Prince says this was replaced in November of last year, but they will take all of your feedback on board for the future.

We hope very much that you had a good holiday despite the problems you experienced.

30 Oct 2012

2/5

"nice house, brill views, dreadful cleanliness!"

The catalogue of disaster started as we arrived, we tried to contact the caretaker, the landline number was unobtainable, and he didn't answer his mobile. We left messages and he didn't get … More

Review 1-2 of 2

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

7 Nights min stay

Changeover day Fri

from £186 /night help

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Contact the manager

Close

You're booking with

Bookings Team at Helpful Holidays (Property Manager Helpful Holidays)

  • 3 Years listed

100% Response rate

Calendar last updated:20 Oct 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Credit cards accepted

Landline
08431040730

Also consider

Falmouth
370 properties
Perranporth
233 properties
Mevagissey
204 properties
Helston
133 properties
Truro
106 properties
Portreath
100 properties
Redruth
85 properties
St Agnes
85 properties
Camborne
54 properties
Porthtowan
52 properties
Coverack
32 properties
Gorran Haven
31 properties
St Mawes
28 properties
Mullion Cove
27 properties
Portscatho
26 properties
Veryan
14 properties
Cadgwith
13 properties
Tregony
12 properties
Twelveheads
10 properties
Roseland Peninsula
6 properties

Start a new search