Bungalow | 3 bedrooms | sleeps 6
Beach Haven is a spacious bungalow set in large private gardens with views of the surrounding hills. Owned by the same family for 40 years, it has all the home comforts and luxuries that you would expect from a family holiday home.
All rooms are comfortably and stylishly furnished. There is a double bedroom with a double bed, a twin bedroom containing 2 single beds and a third bedroom containing a bunk bed (with a trundle bed if preferred) which is for children's use only. The bathroom is generous and has toilet, wash basin, bath with power shower. The well equipped kitchen contains fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and plenty of cooking equipment. The lounge/ dining room has seating for 6 and the roomy hall has 2 armchairs from which you can sit and watch the sun set over the Downs. Outside there is a large terrace area furnished with sunloungers, patio chairs, table and BBQ, perfect for sunbathing and al fresco dining in the day and on warm summer evenings. The large secure gardens extending beyond are laid mainly to lawn. To the front of the property there is ample private parking.
Beach Haven is perfectly located for enjoying a traditional relaxing beach holiday or exploring all the varied attractions of the Isle of Wight. It is within an easy 10 minute stroll of the glorious award winning blue flag golden sandy beaches of Yaverland and Sandown Bay. Sandown Zoo as featured on TV's "Tiger Island" is also an easy walk.
Sandown town centre with its vast array of shops, restaurants, bars, clubs, promenades and pier is less than 2km away and is easily reached by car, bus, taxi or a pleasant walk along the beautiful sea front promenade extending all the way into town.
|Size||Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms|
|Nearest beach||Sandown 300 m|
|Will consider||Short breaks (1-4 days)|
|Access||Car not necessary|
|Nearest Amenities||1.4 km|
|Nearest travel links||Nearest airport: Sandown 2 km, Nearest railway: Sandown 1.6 km|
|Family friendly||Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility|
|Notes||No pets allowed, No smoking at this property|
Features and Facilities
|General||Central heating, TV, CD player|
|Standard||Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer|
|Utilities||Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine|
|Rooms||3 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms|
|Furniture||Single beds (4), Double beds (1), Cots (1), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6|
|Other||Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair|
|Outdoors||Balcony or terrace, Private garden, BBQ|
Rental periods and arrival day are flexible depending on time of year.
There are a couple of steps leading to the front and rear doors of Beach Haven, but otherwise it is level throughout.
Please note that Beach Haven can only sleep a maximum of 4 adults.
A cot is available for families with infants but bedding is not provided for this.
The Isle of Wight region
Situated off the South coast of England, with frequent and regular ferry crossings to the mainland, the Isle of Wight is a beautiful and diverse holiday destination for all ages. Having more hours of sunshine per year than any other resort in the UK, its mild climate makes it ideal for an amazing choice of outdoor as well as indoor leisure activities throughout the year. There are numerous carnivals, regattas and festivals taking place in most of the main resorts as well as the world reknown Cowes week in August for keen sailing enthusiasts and for spectators alike.
From the dramatic coastline of the Needles and Freshwater to the golden award winning blue flag beaches of Sandown and Shanklin, from the numerous pretty villages with thatched cottages to the grandeur of the historic Osbourne House and Carisbrooke Castle, there is so much to explore whatever the weather,
Sandown has something for everyone and appeals to all ages. Local activities include: Swimming, tennis, squash, walking, cycling, sailing, fishing, horse riding, golf, wind surfing, with ice skating, ten pin bowling, go-karting, cinema and many more being just a short drive away!
Relax on Sandown's golden award winning blue flag beaches and enjoy a traditional family holiday by the sea with promenades, piers, crazy golf and amusement arcades.
Alternatively visit the town's large choice of shops, family friendly pubs, restaurants and clubs. There is also a leisure complex with indoor pool, fitness gym and beauty room for excellent holiday pampering.
Sandown beach is only 350m walk from Beach Haven, as is the yacht club.
Sandown airport is a short drive, from here you can catch the plane to London! From Sandown station you can catch the train to Ryde, Brading or Shanklin.
Sandown Zoo, as featured on TV's "Tiger Island", is within 15 minutes walk of the bungalow and boasts a variety of species for you to meet on an interesting day out.
Beach Haven is also perfectly situated to explore the wide range of attractions further afield. These include the beautiful, tranquil Ventnor Botanic Gardens (free admission!) with a stunning range of exotic and unusal species, Robin Hill Country Park, Haven Street Steam Railway, Blackgang Chine theme park and many others, all within just a short drive or bus journey.
Availability Your dates are available
Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor
Guest reviews no reviews
Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor
- 5 star
- 4 star
- 3 star
- 2 star
- 1 star
Help other travellers decide where to stay
Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.Write a review
19 Sep 2014
"Good location, adequate but dated property with room for much improvement."
The written reviews at the property appear to have been ignored and unusually Trip Advisor did not perform its normal follow-up questionnaire to me.For a £567 September booking my wife and I wou… More
Thank you very much for your feedback, we do appreciate our guests contacting us with both positive and any negative comments about their holiday experience. As regards your comment that we do not follow up on previous comments we would like to reassure you that this is not the case. We are also somewhat disappointed that you did not bring any of the matters to our attention during the course of your stay and we would have been in a position to rectify issues were we aware of them. I am sure that you will note that previous guests have commented on how quickly we have responded to any problems.
With regards to some of the specific issues you raise we would like to make the following comments:
a) Location - the location is clearly stated on the website and the distance is accurate. Other guests have noted that the beach is 5 mins walk away along a quiet road and others have commented that it is well located for the beach. Obviously how long it will take depends on how fast an individual walks and if it took you 15 mins to do the same walk as others took 5 mins we cannot alter the position.
b) Hairdryer. We were unaware that one of the hairdryers was missing and can only assume that it was taken during the course of this season. However, presumably you found the other one ok? Both bedrooms have hairdryers provided.
c) The mattresses are not 30 years' old but 4 years' old. They meet all fire safety standards.
d) You are correct that one window in the lounge does not open fully and thank you for drawing to our attention the need for a warning notice. However, the lounge is dual aspect and there are several other opening windows available providing for ventilation when required such that there is no need to open the window referred to.
e) We were unaware that a drawer handle was missing and will arrange for it to be replaced - thank you for letting us know.
f) Thank you for the comment regarding door mats and front and back door. We will arrange for door mats to be provided.
g)Nobody has mentioned any problem with the plastic smell from the kettle before now and we had not noticed it either when visiting before the start of the summer. We will investigate it.
h)No bread bin - we have never found need to use one at home. Nobody has mentioned the requirement before and many guests comment on how well Beach Haven is equipped.
I) No waste paper bins. We believe there should be waste bins provided in both the kitchen and the bathroom unless these have gone missing. We will look into providing one in the lounge.
j)Cracked pane in the bathroom window. Thank you for notifying us of this we shall investigate further although as the glass is double glazed we assume that the crack is in only either the outer or inner pane?
k)No internet access. The property is not advertised as having internet access.
j) No boiler instructions. Thank you for drawing this to our attention. The instruction manual should have been available as the boiler is less than a year old, we will ensure that instructions are provided. However, the system is very simple and straightforward and we could have given you details over the phone. We are pleased to note though that you found the accommodation warm.
k)We are sorry that the bathroom wall was soiled adjacent to w/c. We should investigate the issue with the cleaners and ensure that any problem is rectified.
l) Loose hand basin. Thank you for notifying us of this and we will investigate further.
m)Lounge furniture. Pictures of the furniture are provided on the internet and comfort is a subjective matter. We have had no previous complaints in the last 6 years as to the comfort of the lounge furniture.
n)We are sorry that the waste bins had not been emptied on your arrival at Beach Haven. The Island Council has a fortnightly waste collection alternating between general waste and recycling. It may be the case that the bin requiring emptying fell on the next week of the cycle. However problems can also arise if guests place the incorrect waste in the bins (eg put recyclables in the general waste or vice versa) or place the wrong type of waste out for collection on that week. In either case the Council will not collect the rubbish and this is beyond our control.
We hope our answers herein has at least reassured you that we do take on board all of our feedback seriously. Where it is negative we try to resolve the issues, where positive we try to ensure that we do more of the same. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the bungalow warm and secure, we just wished that you had let us know about the matters raised during the course of your stay and we are sure that many of them could have been resolved rather than leaving you to dwell upon them.
5 Jul 2014
"Good location, large family friendly garden, internal decor needs a revamp."
Handy location for the beach. Good sized, secure garden for the kids. Owners responsive to feedback about maintenance issues. Decor a little tired, old kitchen.… More
25 Aug 2013
"Wonderful holiday house, very conveniently located"
I was very impressed with the size and facilities at this property, especially the extensive garden. It was very conveniently located within walking distance of the beach and several local attractions… More
25 Aug 2012
"Well placed, well equipped - just what we wanted."
The bungalow is easy to find, and has ample parking for two cars if necessary. The garden is spacious and mostly grassed (although our daughter did manage to find a tree to fall out of!) There is a patio area with a large table and chairs, but we didn't find a parasol anywhere so we mainly used it for late evening drinks rather than meals. There is a rotary washing line in a good sunny position.
The kitchen is very well equipped indeed and the bedrooms are small but comfortable (although our large teenagers did moan about the twin beds being too springy). There is a good sized bathroom with a useful power shower.
The sandy beach is a 5-minute walk away down the hill, and the roads are quiet. The beach has a small cafe, toilets and an outdoor shower area - good for rinsing small children off before walking back. Also in easy walking distance are a great park with a large kids' play area, the Zoo, a crazy golf course and the Dinosaur Isle attraction. If you don't mind a slightly longer walk (about 20 mins), you can get to the centre of Sandown with shops and the pier etc., and in the other direction, some good countryside, and the village of Brading. We didn't use the car for the whole week we were there.
We had a technical problem on arrival that was sorted out very quickly by Mr Ward. The information was accurate and the booking process was easy.
You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more
You're booking with
- 2 Years listed
100% Response rate
Calendar last updated:02 Sep 2014
Based in United Kingdom
- 145 properties
- 144 properties
- 100 properties
- 88 properties
- 79 properties
- 77 properties
- 76 properties
- Newport, Isle of Wight
- 30 properties
- Seaview Village
- 25 properties
- 17 properties
- 17 properties
- St Helens, Isle of Wight
- 13 properties
- Whitwell, Isle of Wight
- 10 properties
- 9 properties
- 9 properties
- Gurnard, Isle of Wight
- 9 properties
- Thorness Bay
- 7 properties
- 7 properties
- 6 properties
- 6 properties