List your home
Apply filters
£ to

1 The Boathouse Rye

Certificate of Excellence 2014

from £48 /night help

Very Good 4.5/5 Score from 38 reviews

Apartment | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 2

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 2 km
  • Not suitable for children
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed


These quality one bedroom split-level  apartments have their own access and entrance via mahogany decked steps and sun balcony.

The purpose built apartments, built on the riverbank, provide superb views of passing yachts and the marsh beyond.

The secluded location and the almost hypnotic effect of the tidal river as it ebbs and flows will swiftly put you into a relaxed frame of mind.

Adjacent short term moorings can be organised (subject to availability).

Parking is available at the rear.

The pleasures of Rye's cobbled streets are barely 5 minutes walk. Further afield you are within easy reach of Winchelsea, Battle, Bodiam, Canterbury, the Channel Tunnel and the Kent countryside.

The 'invitation only' golf links at nearby Camber are well known and the adjacent Sands are glorious at any time of the year. Golf courses can also be found at nearby St Leonard's and Seddlescombe. Other activities include sailing, windsurfing, fishing and an abundance of walks. The nature reserve at Rye Harbour boasts several hides.

Cycling is an excellent way of exploring Romney Marsh using the tangle of narrow lanes, where you can discover Norman churches and 15th Century smugglers pubs.

Key features

• Riverside apartment on private quayside (very private and quiet)

• Elevated mahogany decked balcony (south facing) to sit and relax (watch the passing boats and birdlife)

• 5 minutes walk to centre of Rye

• One bedroom with choice of double or twin beds

• Fully fitted and well-equipped kitchen

• Linen, heating & lighting are all inclusive (towels extra)

• Free Wifi

• iPod docking facility

• Non-smoking apartments

• Laundry facilities

• Allocated parking for one car

• Gas-fired central heating (well insulated warm apartments)

• No other self-catering establishment in Rye offers you all this

• Over 250 different guests have made repeat bookings, of which 63 have been 4 or more times , in total 828 repeat bookings!!! If you're the sort of person who hates returning to the same holiday location dare you risk that first visit ?

Size Sleeps up to 2, 1 bedrooms
Nearest beach Camber 2 km
Will consider Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Lydd 15 km, Nearest railway: Rye
Family friendly Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Clothes dryer, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 3
Other Linen provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, BBQ
Access Parking
Further details indoors

Each apartment (5 available) has gas-fired central heating. All heating and lighting costs are included in the price.

The living room has comfortable seating, dining facilities and a compact fitted kitchen. A colour television is provided. The large picture windows look directly onto the river and marsh beyond to Rye harbour.

Comprehensive tourist information is maintained and a large scale map of the area is mounted on one wall to help you plan your expeditions.

The bedroom and bathroom are reached by descending 5 steps.

The bathroom includes a bath with shower attachment, washbasin, mirror with shaver point, W.C. and radiator.

The bedroom has either a King size double bed or twin 3 foot wide single beds, chest of drawers and wardrobe.

A cupboard houses the central heating boiler with shelves for towels and linen.

A double duvet is provided. Linen is included in the price.

    Double bedded room

    Twin bedded room

Towels are not included, but may be rented at a further £2.50/person/week.

Shared washing machine (between my 5 holiday apartments) and drying facilities are available in a separate utility room.

A garden table and chairs are provided.

The apartment is available for adults only. The proximity of the river makes it unsuitable for small children.

Further details outdoors

Mahogany decked sun balcony looking on to river.

Outside seating/dining for 2.

The East Sussex region

Further afield you are within easy reach of Winchelsea, Battle, Bodiam, Canterbury, the Channel Tunnel and the Kent countryside.

The 'invitation only' golf links at nearby Camber are well known and the adjacent Sands are glorious at any time of the year. Golf courses can also be found at nearby St Leonard's and Seddlescombe. Other activities include sailing, windsurfing, fishing and an abundance of walks. The nature reserve at Rye Harbour boasts several hides.

Cycling is an excellent way of exploring Romney Marsh using the tangle of narrow lanes, where you can discover Norman churches and 15th Century smugglers pubs.

Rye Centre

Travelling westward across Romney Marsh, the distinctive outline of Rye can be seen in the distance. It rises above the level green pastures, stretching from the sea to the far hills which formed the shoreline before the marsh was drained.

Once surrounded by sea, this fortified hilltop town played an important role in the defence of the south coast of England. These days, the river no longer harbours warships and is home to the local fishing fleet.

Meandering for over one and a half miles from Rye to the coast, the river forms part of the picturesque scenery visible from several vantage points in and around the citadel of Rye.

St Mary's church tower (usually open to the public) offers the best viewpoint to show the terracotta roofs of the many timbered houses. These ancient buildings, cobbled streets and secret passages, once the haunt of smugglers and highwaymen, regularly attract film crews in search of historical settings for period productions.

Many authors, musicians, artists and celebrities have made Rye their home, a medieval haven periodically visited by Royalty. In 1573 the title "Rye Royale" was bestowed upon the town by Queen Elizabeth I after a three day stay.

The sheer concentration of living history packed into this vibrant market town makes it the ideal base for a holiday of discovery, or a relaxing short break. There are many comfortable, welcoming hotels and guest houses and plenty of charming inns and restaurants.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Excellent 5/5

38 reviews Very Good 4.5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 38

3 Jan 2015


"Great place to see Rye and surrounds"

Lovely apartment superbly situated by the river Brede which flows into the Rother. Quiet and relaxing. Host responded efficiently to sudden water leak in apartment and moved us instantly. Some mainten… More

14 Nov 2014


"Fab Place to stay"

Well after searching the Web for a place to stay In Rye we stumbled upon the Boathouse
This looks nice we thought and emailed the owner .We booked for Nov 2014.We got there from Germany in the afternoon worn out from our journey .But we were pleasantly met with a nice clean and tidy apartment and a bottle of Bubbly in the fridge
Lets not forget this is November but the next morning we had tea and coffee on the veranda which faces the sun nearly all day ! The river outside is fun to watch its there and then its gone and when it goes the Birds come and scour the banks for food .We saw a Heron every morning and across the fields is a field full of Ostriches and somewhere is also a Donkey who has the occasional Bray .
The Apartment has everything you need a fully equipped Kitchen with a Gas Oven Grill at the top and Oven Below and four cooking rings .It has Hot water ALL day and the Shower is very powerful The Fridge has a freezing compartment and the fridge itself is very deep and holds lots of food and drink
The Beds are also just the Job I suffer from a bad back but these beds seem to be made for this and I slept very well each night .
The living room has a Radio and a Big Flat screened TV which worked perfect throughout our 10 days .also there is a information box on the wall full of ideas of places to go and a massive MAP on the wall .The WIFI is also very good and powerful it is set up to switch off every so often which is really no problem as we are not using the internet to download or anything just emails and stuff .The car park is a big plus (where do you get a car park behind the house these days ? ) .............................So would I go back to the Boathouse ?
Thanks Chris for having us

10 Nov 2014


"Excellent location and well equipped apartment"

Apartment 3 has dedicated parking and is ideally situated within 5 minutes walking distance of the picturesque town of Rye. It is also a convenient base for exploring the surrounding area. The prope… More

5 Nov 2014


"Good time at Boathouse 28th October"

My husband and myself had a very good stay at the Boathouse well equipped clean and really well situated to get into Rye with its very good restaurants and historic pubs.
The bed is great my husband is 6 foot 6 and he had plenty of room parking at the back in easy reach and Rye only 7 minutes walk away.
All round very relaxing week would definitely go back.

19 Sep 2014


"Splendid time at The Boathouse"

We found the apartment to be clean, tidy and very well-equipped. The shower was powerful, there was abundant hot water, the wifi was trouble-free, the mobile phone signal was strong, the bed was comfortable and we lacked for nothing. Parking immediately adjacent to the apartment was a major benefit. Whilst the outlook from the apartment cannot be described as picturesque, the view over the river and the marsh is fascinating in an eery sort of way and offered lots of interest from passing yachts to a Border Force patrol and a ferocious battle between a cormorant and a quite sizeable eel (the cormorant eventually won!) The location of the apartment was not only peaceful and tranquil but also gave easy access to the town centre which is a delightful place to spend time simply wandering around and admiring the many historic buildings. Within easy reach of Rye, there are many interesting and fascinating National Trust properties to visit including Sissinghurst Gardens, Bateman's (Rudyard Kipling's home), Monk's House (Virginia Woolf), Bodiam Castle, Scotney Castle, Smallhythe (Ellen Terry's house) and Lamb House (Henry James). We also found Tenterden and Lewes to be worth a look, although Hastings was a little disappointing. Our two walks along the marshes from Rye Harbour and along the coast from Beachy Head to The Seven Sisters were thoroughly enjoyable (particularly the latter), helped of course by the lovely weather we had during our stay. We didn't eat out often but can strongly recommend The Ambrette where the three-course lunch was delicious and very good value (especially for the over-60's who pay only £10.95 instead of the usual £19.95)! Although we didn't have the pleasure of meeting Chris, we were very impressed by his organisational efficiency, the accuracy of the website description of the property and the detailed information emailed to us in good time before our arrival. We would certainly not hesitate to return to The Boathouse. There is nothing we can think of in the way of improvements to be made because it ticked all the boxes for us.

12 Sep 2014


"A great place to stay"

The Boathouse is a lovely apartment ideal for relaxing holidays. It is sited on the banks of the river Rotherham with only a gravel path between you and the river. The apartment is fully equipped with… More

11 Sep 2014



Had a most enjoyable stay at The Boathouse. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. It was well stocked and contained all that was needed for a relaxing break. It is in an excellent position within a short walk of Rye town with it's cobbled streets and numerous places to eat and drink.

6 Sep 2014


"A Most Relaxing Stay"

The Boathouse apartments are in an ideal location, with views overlooking the tidal inlet to Rye Harbour and a 3 – 5 minute walk into Rye town centre.

Having extremely busy and bustling lives we crave peace and quiet and based in this apartment we were truly in heaven. The apartment was extremely clean and tidy and very well equipped.

Upon our arrival we were most surprised to find that the owner had left enough provisions, such as tea, sugar and milk, for us to be able to relax a little before we had to head out into the town to find other provisions, there was even a bottle of Champagne waiting for us in the fridge (top marks).

As we were relaxing on the veranda with a cup of tea the owner dropped by and introduced himself, he was kind enough to recommend several eateries, some superb walks and sights (he was spot on too!).

Rye itself is a pretty town with many interesting places to see and a great base from which to explore the south east. We would especially recommend a visit to Dover Castle, we spent a day there and had a great time.

All in all a thoroughly great week in and around Rye. Highly recommended

26 Aug 2014


"Lovely spot in Rye"

Perfect spot for a break from city life and five minutes from the bustle of Rye plus the on site parking is a bonus. Rye is full of hidden treasures through the winding lanes. Try the cycle path to Camder and lunch at the the bistro at the Galliant. Dinner at the George is a must and booking is advisable.

19 Aug 2014


"Lovely Location but in need of some TLC"

Just loved the location but a couple of disappointments with the property. Firstly, the Internet was switched off at intervals which is annoying if you need to work. Secondly, the wardrobes smelled … More

Oh dear, I'm very sorry that this customer wasn't fully satisfied with some of the facilities.

In the Welcome Letter I send out it says “If you have any problems, please do not hesitate to contact me”. The guest, regrettably did not contact me, with the result that I didn't have the opportunity to resolve any of the issues mentioned. Nor did they respond to my standard feedback request sent out after they left - so my first inkling of this problem is this TripAdvisor post.

To address their points:
Intermittent internet – the router does occasionally lose contact with the telephone exchange (I believe it to be a problem with the distance from the exchange). I've changed the router several times and recently changed the Service Provider and have installed their new router but it still occurs occasionally. I've set up the router so that it resets regularly to re-acquire the service and warn my guests that I can't guarantee this free service as being free from disruption.

Pillows – I ensure all pillows are renewed every 2-3 years or sooner if I receive negative feedback. I've now replaced them again and would have done so immediately if I'd been informed.

Wardrobes smelling of damp – The apartment is modern and has no damp, and the wardrobes are the modern built-in type. Since I started holiday letting this specific apartment in late 2007 I've had well over 300 bookings and this is the first guest to complain of the wardrobes. However, I've made sure that they've been given a very thorough clean inside and out.

Uncomfortable settees – again this is the first guest to complain, out of over 300 predecessors – a number of whom have rebooked the apartment several times over.

Nevertheless, I really regret that the customer was not fully satisfied.
My key objective is for my guests to have a brilliant time and to return again. Huge numbers do!

To illustrate this point the guests who had the apartment immediately before left this comment in the Visitor Book :
“Thank you Chris for another lovely week in your apartment. Hope to be back again soon!”,
Whilst the guest who came in directly after left this comment:
“This was our first visit here at the Boathouse, and it will not be the last. We had a great relaxing time and the apartment was just the place to explore Rye. See you next year Chris.”

Review 1-10 of 38

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Contact the owner


Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the total cost.


You're booking with

Chris M.

  • 1 Years listed

100% Response rate

Calendar last updated:19 Jan 2015

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
Visit site

Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page