List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Very Good 4/5 Score from 8 reviews

The Barn

from £36 /night help

Very Good 4/5 Score from 8 reviews

The Annexe

Bungalow | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

The property is ideal for week long retreats, or for easy access to local towns & countryside. Set in the grounds of Great Comp Gardens there are 8 acres for you to explore, it is a real delight for cyclists & ramblers, or those just looking for a well deserved rest!

This self-contained annexe is set in the beautiful grounds of Great comp Gardens. It Sleeps 4 and is double-glazed. Cost of Electricity is included in the rental rate, and bedding and towels are provided. Easy Private off road Parking.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 1 bedrooms
Access Car advised
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Gatwick 37.6 km, Nearest railway: Borough Green 2.4 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General TV, Satellite TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Cooker, Microwave, Fridge
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Shower rooms
Furniture 1 Sofa beds, Double beds (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Access Parking
Further details indoors

The bedroom has a double bed with duvet and 4 pillows, and there are bedside tables with reading lamps and a radio/alarm Clock, as well as a full length mirror and large fitted wardrobes.

The lounge has a sofa bed, for which bedding & linen are provided, and there is a dining table with four chairs and a comfortable armchair.


Further extras include a welcome pack and fresh bread on your arrival day.

Further details outdoors

The gardens are open from April till October and any occupants during these months will have the opportunity to access the gardens for the time of their stay with a Complimentary pass that is available for their use. There is a Tearoom within the gardens that serves a selection of lovely lunches and home made cakes. Dyson's Nursery is also located in the Gardens with a large selection of plants available for you to buy. There are several local country pubs within walking distance. There are nearby woods and country walks for you to enjoy.

The location is ideal for exploring many local historic houses, gardens and places of interest including Leeds Castle, Ightham Mote, Whitbread Hop Farm, Knole Park, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Sevenoaks & Maidstone amongst others.

The Property is 10 minutes from the M20/M26 motorway and road connections via the M25 are excellent.

There is a Supermarket & a selection of other shops within 10 minutes drive.

Further details


THIS PROPERTY DOES NOT HAVE IT'S OWN GARDEN but it does have seating outside the front door.




Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause


About this location

The Sevenoaks District

The 'Garden of England', Kent is a county combining both lovely countryside and gardens with a scenic coastline. Made up of both large towns and smaller historic villages its location in the vicinity of London makes it a varied holiday destination, with lots to choose from - from coastal towns to historic castles and Cathedrals. Orchards, hop gardens, country pubs and local produce abound, creating the spectacle of blossom in the spring and fruit later on.


There is a local country pubs within walking distance. There are nearby woods and country walks for you to enjoy. It is an ideal location for exploring many local historic houses, gardens and places of interest including Leeds Castle, Ightham Mote, Whitbread Hop Farm, Knole Park, Royal Tunbridge Wells, Sevenoaks & Maidstone amongst others.We are also a short distance from Brands Hatch.

The Property is 10 minutes from the M20/M26 motorway and road connections via the M25 are excellent.


There is a Supermarket & a selection of other shops within 10 minutes drive.

About the owner

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Very Good 4/5

8 reviews Very Good 4/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-8 of 8

22 Sep 2014


"Ideal location to tour Kent"

The Barn is in a beautiful setting. We had everything we needed upon arrival including fresh bread and milk which we thought was very thoughtful. There were maps and leaflets which were really helpfu… More

15 Sep 2012


"Perfect Kentish Experience"

Having lived in Canada for many years our vacation accommodation is usually motel or hotel, but having seen the rates in the UK for similar establishments we decided to look for B&B or self catering.W… More

12 Sep 2012


"It is like coming home!"

I recommended this cottage already to many friends in the Netherlands.It is only one hour drive from Dover and the surroundings are beautiful.The couple who take care of the cottage are very friendly … More

5 Sep 2012


"Comfortable, relaxing and excellent value for money"

This was my fourth visit to the Barn and I have no hesitation in coming back whenever I am down in Kent because it is such a lovely place to stay and the cottage offers all you might want or need for a really good break or holiday. Your stay gets off to a good start with a complimentary basket of food items and biscuits! The cottage is always clean and comfortable and is well equipped. Kitchen has all the utensils you need and there is a washing machine should you need it. The television offers a range of channels, there is a good selection of DVD's and games and there is free WI FI. On this most recent visit I found that the addition of a new shower cubicle in the bathroom was a big bonus. The cottage is all on one floor and you can park right outside the front door and so it is an excellent place to stay for visitors such as me who are disabled.
The cottage is in a lovely setting and the owners, who live next door, are so helpful and easy to get on with. I have stayed in a variety of holiday lets and I would like to recommend this one. It may not provide top of the range fixtures and fittings or extreme luxury but it provides excellent value for money and a comfortable, relaxing and friendly environment for a good holiday.

4 Sep 2012


"Are you sure this is the same place"

Having read the previous review I can't believe that we're talking about the same place.Until recently we've been resident in France, and as our family lives in Kent, for the last four … More

4 Sep 2012



we stayed at th barn for the third time in july (from France). During two weeks this year. Everything was OK for us. We have found everything we attended to, in the kitchen or in the bedroom. But even… More

22 Aug 2012



We decided to once again stay at this wonderful apartment, we have stayed on numerous occasions, and always found the owners Jane and Paul, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, We arrived to a lovely Welcome pack, and everything was clean, and tidy, The accommodation was perfect for us, with peaceful surroundings. I would recommend this apartment to anyone, who wants peace and quiet, but also to know that the owners are on hand to help you in anyway they can to ensure that you have a wonderful and memorable holiday.
Well done Jane and Paul, look forward to seeing you again in November.

20 Jul 2012


"Dont Even Think About It"

Having booked this property months in advance after seeing it on We travelled for 9 hrs to get there, upon arrival what we found was a very unclean property, which when we approached the owner he told us that it had been cleaned to his standards!!! All homes have apparently got cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, and nobody lifts a toilet seat to see a digusting mess underneath, food and stains all over the kitchen floor, filthy kitchen cupboards, food under the dining table, dirty stains on the seating, unclean cooker, not to mention the stains, mildew and cobwebs in the wardrobes where we were expected to hang our clothes for a week!!

Aparently we were being picky, after paying an extra £50 as a deposit to ensure that the property had been left in a clean and tidy condition as it was when we arrived, I dont think we were picky.

This is not a 5 star property and we never expected luxury, but we did expect a level of cleanliness which this fell way below.

This property should not be on the market as a holiday let, and Holiday Lettings are no help when it comes to complaints, we had travelled from Scotland and were left on a Saturday afternoon with no where to stay, and no way of contacting Holiday Lettings as they do not have any telephone numbers on their website. We did find help from 2 lovely ladies in a local estate agents who managed to get us another property in the area. This was an extra cost which we had not budgeted for.

When we did manage to get a reply from Holiday Lettings by email they told us that we had to contact the owner, having done this the owner told us that they could not give us our money back as they were loosing out on a weeks rental, even although it was no fault of our own.

Speaking to the owner we asked for the key to show them the items we had issues with, the reply we got was that they '' did not want to embarras us or them by going back into the property'' I can assure you there would have only been one person embarrassed and it would not have been me!!

Eventually we did get part of our money returned to us, however we feel that due to the state of this property we should have got all of it returned, as we are still £130 out of pocket.

If you have thought about booking this property I suggest you dont and you look for another property as this is not fit for purpose. And if this is the standard of properties that Holiday Lettings have on their books I will not be using them again.

Please see attached a small selection of the pictures that we took as evidence

Firstly I would like to say how hurt I was with the comment that has been left by this very unkind person. I have been letting the property for the past five years and this is the first bad comment we have had. We have numerous guests that return every year and sometimes twice a year.
I would like to address the comments that have been made Firstly the person arrived and without speaking to us about any concerns, left for a few hours and returned asking for their money back. Yes there was A cobweb in the bedroom that was missed, but there was no mess under the toilet seat, no food or stains in the kitchen or dirt on the floor. There was however stains on the upholstery of the dining chairs which could only be removed by reupholstering them (which we have now done). There was a SMALL stain on the back wall of the wardrobe which has now been treated.
I do agree with them that this is not a five star property, but it was never marketed as one. It is one of the lower priced properties on Holiday Lettings and is CLEAN, TIDY and COMFORTABLE, set in a rural position, with easy access to lots of wonderful tourist attractions. I can suggest as I did to this person, that if you are looking for luxury, then it may be worth choosing one of the higher priced properties on Holiday Lettings.
There is no reason this property should not be let as a holiday let. I have a guest book FULL of lovely comments from happy guests who have enjoyed their stay so much that they felt the need to write comments in the book.
These people actually had the key and it was them that did not want to return into the property to show us what was wrong with it (obviously because there was nothing to show us, and they had already booked another property).
I gained legal advice, and was told NOT to refund any money to these people. HOWEVER as a gesture of good will, I refunded half of their holiday cost, as I was upset that they were not happy with the accommodation.

Review 1-8 of 8

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.


Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices


7 Nights min stay


Sleeps 4

    from £36 /night help

    Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.


    Enter dates to see your price

    Owner fees cover things like cleaning. Click Book now to review a full breakdown of the cost before making your payment.

    This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

    Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

    Contact the owner

    Need more information first?


    Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

    This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

    Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

    You're booking with

    J K.

    • 7 Years listed

    90% Response rate

    Calendar last updated:11 Jan 2015

    Based in United Kingdom

    Languages spoken
    • English

    Also consider

    London 7942 properties
    Central London/Zone 1 2443 properties
    East Sussex 1405 properties
    Central London/Zone 2 1210 properties
    Kent 1171 properties
    West Sussex 655 properties
    Essex 260 properties
    East London, England 166 properties
    Surrey 139 properties
    South West London 123 properties
    West London 117 properties
    South East London 106 properties
    North West London 87 properties
    North London 79 properties
    Hertfordshire 65 properties
    Middlesex 36 properties
    Abbey Wood 16 properties
    St Johns 15 properties
    Lambeth 6 properties

    Start a new search

    Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

    Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

    Just click on the icons to get to the download page