14 Sep 2013
I think they are billed as luxury apartments. I guess we all have our own definition of luxury. Well located. Spacious rooms. Nice staff. TV. Aircon. Cheapish. But the flats lack a lot of basics:
- no kettle, bottle opener, washing up liquid,
- a mixture of battered pans and odd bits of cutlery, all sort of sticky and wrong.
- bathroom tiling broken and dirty
For an extra 500 shillings I'd recommend Rick's Seaview Villas nearby, they have a pool and all the facilities are modern and clean.
Thank you for your feedback and we are would like to extend our appreciation for some of the positive comments. We would like to apologise for any disappointment that you may have experienced due to some minor inconveniences, but would like to clarify a few misconceptions in your review. We believe that we offer very competitively priced accommodation for the location, size of apartment and facilities offered and generally cater to the more price conscious traveller. The apartments are tastefully furnished with regular re-furnishings to maintain a good standard. As you point out, we are "cheapish", but we would go further to state that we offer very good value for money for what is offered. There are, of course, more luxurious accommodations available in Mombasa, but at a substantial premium to the price we offer our services at and not the budget rates we charged you. We also offer swimming pool services at an adjacent site across the road (we do not have a pool on the premises) and you were welcome to use this facility at no extra charge but seem to have opted not to use this facility.
With regards to the lack of basics, unfortunately, you stayed with us during the busy period when we were fully booked and the apartment you occupied is normally reserved for long term tenants and was due for renovations immediately after you left, and we did provide you with a reduced rental rate due to this. We have since re-tiled and improved the kitchen units in all the apartments as well as the crockery and cutlery. As this particular apartment is normally occupied by our long term tenants, they tend to use their own utensils and crockery and we have remedied the situation accordingly. We do normally provide a kettle, toaster and iron for our guests and as you seem not to have received these, we would like to apologise for this oversight and have re-instructed the staff to ensure these are always provided in future.
We provide self-catered apartments, and therefore did not tend to provide basic shopping amenities like washing up liquid. We have, however, taken your comments on board and have started to provide washing up liquid and sponge for the convenience of our guests and are always happy to provide other services on request for the benefit of our clients. We also offer shopping delivery services at a nominal charge.
With regards to the bathroom tiling, there are 2 small cracked tiles in this apartment bathroom and we would have to re-tile the entire bathroom to correct this, which is due in our next round of renovations. We assure you the bathrooms are very clean and regularly sanitised with bleach. Unfortunately, due to lack of fresh water in Mombasa and the quality of water (from the borehole) available in the area, the mineral content of the water may leave faint mineral stains on the tiling and fixtures which are difficult to remove without powerful chemicals which we try and avoid using due to the detrimental environmental effects, but we regularly charge any old fixtures to ensure good hygiene.
It also seems odd to us that you actually extended your stay with us for a further 2 nights if you were so unhappy with the service offered and did not mention any of the discomforts at the time. We always try and engage our guests while they are staying with us to try and provide the best service possible, but as you seemed to be away from the apartment most of the time, we were unable to receive your feedback at the time and take any corrective measures to ensure a more comfortable stay. We are confident that you will have a much more pleasurable experience should you wish to stay with us again in the future.
14 Feb 2013
This was a very spacious apartment which could have been a great stay, but it was dirty. Not kind of dirty, but miserably dirty. From the sheets to the couches, to the kitchen, dirty. Sticky, grimy,… More
Thank you for your review, and please let us take this opportunity to apologise for any discomfort you experienced while staying at The Planet Apartments. We are keen to take remedial action to rectify the situation so that our future clients have a better experience while staying with us.
We would like to clarify the situation as it seems the main complaint you had was about the cleanliness of the apartment, but your comments are not entirely accurate and seem to contradict many other reviews we have received. When you arrived on Christmas Day, the property owner had inspected the apartment and had personally checked you in and shown you the apartment and had advised that we would offer to clean the apartment every 2-3 days. We wonder why at check in, if as per your claims, the apartment was "miserably dirty", you did not comment or advise management? Our cleaning records show that the apartment was cleaned on 24th December, the day before you checked in, then again on 27th Dec and 29th December and the bed linen and towels would have been replaced with freshly laundered ones. You will also recall that you were away from the apartment, staying in Diani, and had also lost your apartment key. You had asked that the cleaning staff not to access your apartment for cleaning while you were not present, so the apartment may well not have been cleaned after 29th Dec until you left, but this was because you were away in Diani and on safari over those days.
With regards to the "stained mattresses" and "couches covered in filth", please note that you stayed during our busiest time of the year and we had tried to accomodate your family with extra beds and mattresses. The mattresses used were the last and oldest in stock and due to unprecedented demand we were forced to use these, but they would have been cleaned and dried in the sun beforehand and covered with freshly laundered sheets. We have begun to replace all old mattresses in 2013. Due to the high turnover, the couches may not have been cleaned immediately prior to your stay as the apartment was occupied continuously in December, but they are most definitely not "covered in filth" and are regularly cleaned and re-upholstered.
We had tried to engage you whenever possible to get feedback on your stay and had you brought the cleanliness issue to our attention, we would have ensured a better service to keep you happy. We are disappointed that you did not provide us this feedback while you were here and have instead chosen to post a damaging review on Trip Advisor. Furthermore, we had regularly spoken to your friends with whom you had booked together and were occpying an adjacent apartment and they seemed to be very happy with the service and even advised that they would not hesitate to recommend us to their friends, so we feel that perhaps your review was quite harsh and unfair.
In light of the fact that you stayed during our busiest season at very special rates that we offered you, and we had tried to help make your visit to Kenya as enjoyable as possible at as cheap a budget as possible, we hope you will retract or amend your comments on Trip Advisor as we believe this will negatively impact our business, and we in turn will endeavour to provide a better service and cleaner apartments in the future.
Once again, we apologise for the discomfort and we will take remedial action by further training our staff to ensure that this does not occur again.
11 Feb 2013
Fantastic location in Nyali for supermarket, restaurants, shops, Haller Park and Wild Water. Kitchen has minimal appliances, however host very helpful in sourcing specific things. Bed comfortable. … More
Thank you for your review and appreciative comments.
With regards to the kitchen appliances, we normally provide an electric kettle, toaster, sandwich maker and iron as well as the gas cooker and fridge / freezer. We always try and cater to special requests within our capabilities. We apologise that you may not have received your kitchen appliances on the first night of your stay as it was a Sunday and the stores were locked as I was away for the weekend and we were not expecting you, as you will recall.
Yes, traffic in Mombasa can get hectic during peak times and only seems to get worse unfortunately...we trust there will be adequate investment in infrastructure in the near future to keep Mombasa happy!
We enjoyed having your family stay with us and look forward to hosting you in the future.
7 Feb 2013
I mean you get what you pay for. There was nothing excellent about the place. Everything was average which is ok considering it was the cheapest (KES 45000 per night for a 1BR) reasonable place we cou… More
Thank you for your forthright views on our property during your stay in December. We are always keen to listen to our clients and strive to improve. However, there are some inaccuracies in your review which we would like to clarify.
The price you paid was KSH 4,500 (not 45,000) per night for 4 people occupying the apartment with extra beds, which was very cheap for the busy season and we are glad that you appreciated the great deal we offered you.
Our cleaning records show that your apartment was cleaned twice during your stay with us, on the 15th and 17th of December, and the bed linen and towels were changed. We normally offer a full apartment clean and bed linen and towel change every 2-3 days, but are happy to do this more often if the clients request this.
We are concerned about your unaccounted for eggs - we can assure you that our cleaning staff would not tamper with your personal belongings and we have never had any issues with loss of items from the apartments due to theft by our staff. We also did not receive any complaints from you at the time as we would have looked into the matter immediately, so we are genuinely puzzled about the mysterious disappearance of your eggs.
With regards to the water, we currently use borehole water due to water scarcity in Mombasa, and this is the most common source of water on the Coast. Due to our proximity to the ocean, the water is a little salty and not fit for drinking or cooking, but it is suitable for showering. There are drinking water suppliers within the apartment building and we are also happy to provide fresh water should our clients request this.
We are located within a shopping mall complex, and our convenient location in a busy area does mean that we cannot offer the seclusion of other establishments in Mombasa, but our clients do appreciate the many amenities within safe walking distance. The apartments are fully self-contained, so do offer privacy within.
We have taken your comments on board and always look to rectify any genuine concerns within our capabilities.
3 Jan 2013
"comfortable and convenient!"
1. ensure apartment well cleaned and in good time.
2. ensure gas reserve is readily available if and when it runs out ie keep in storage for use anytime.
3. liked the location of the apartment and the fact that all the necessary social amenities were nearby.
4. liked that i could plan my meals and the timings ie the freedom and the flexibility as opposed to a hotel set-up which is more rigid.
5. liked the general ambiance of the area.
20 Dec 2012
We stayed here for a month while working on a project and in many ways, it was great. But for four weeks it's hard to ignore the "not so little things": 1) Electricity/ AC--was both unreliable and extremely expensive; 2) AC barely cools the apartment; 3) The apartment looks out onto a grocery store with a very loud generator--nothing scenic or relaxing about this; 4) Kitchen is poorly equipped; 5) Internet is not so reliable; 6) It's in the middle of an ever-expanding shopping mall complex--with clubs, bars, cafes, coffee shops, and a range of shady things in between. If you want to feel like you're somewhere between Las Vegas, Miami Beach, and Rome--this might be just the place for you. If you're looking for somewhere a little more, well, reminiscent of the rest of the Coast or the rest of Kenya, this is hardly a representative sample.
Perks: Very nice loft layout--rare for Kenya. Staff/ management are very friendly. Convenient for groceries, etc.
In sum: if you're looking for a beach vacation--why would you stay in a parking lot? If you're in Mombasa on work or long-term and can't afford the beach-front, this is a nice option.
Thank you for your candid review - we are always keen to listen to our guests and endeavour to provide the best service we can to ensure a comfortable and trouble-free stay. We enjoyed hosting you and would have appreciated feedback while you were staying with us as we would have taken steps to try and make your stay more pleasant. Allow us to respond to the "not so little things" that appear to have irked you:
1) Electricity: as you were staying with us for a month, we provided you with a special rate with a heavy discount off our advertised rates with electricity charged separately. The total amount you paid including electricity was still very much cheaper than what we would have normally charged and we don't normally charge for electricity separately in our advertised rates. Electricity is a very expensive commodity in Kenya and we charged you average rates that we pay to the power company. Unfortunately it is also unreliable in Kenya, although the power cuts seemed to have peaked during the month of your stay with us and indeed we have not had any power cuts since December 2012. We have taken further steps to address this issue with plans for installation of a back up power generator in the early part of 2013.
2) You visited us during one of the hottest months of the year, and Mombasa can get unbearably hot for the unacclimatised. The apartment is very large and spacious, so the A/C may take a little while to cool the apartment, but we also have ceiling fans installed both upstairs and downstairs and are happy to provide extra pedestal fans on request. Also, leaving the balcony sliding doors and windows open while the A/C is on will have an adverse effect on cooling the apartment. The A/Cs were changed in 2012 and are regularly serviced.
3) Due to the power cuts, that seemed to have peaked during your stay with us, our neighbours used their back-up generators which can be quite noisy. We will install our own generator as well as the neighbouring noisy generator in a sound-proofed room that will dampen the noise emitted for the comfort of our guests. As for the "grocery store" (actually the largest mall on the Kenyan Coast), most of our guests find the fact that it is next door very convenient. We don't advertise "scenic views" as a feature of our establishment, yet we are minutes from the beach and also overlook Haller Park Nature Trail which does actually provide scenic forest views.
4) The kitchens are equipped with a fridge-freezer, gas cooker, kettle, toaster, iron, pots and pans, crockery, utensils and cutlery. We are happy to provide extra items on request, but we did not receive any requests from you during your stay with us. We regularly update and change the kitchen equipment.
5) Internet: we offer free wireless connectivity to all our guests in their apartments. Unfortunately, there were nation-wide problems with connectivity during the month of your stay with us and indeed internet services in the whole of Mombasa were affected for a few days due to the severing of undersea cables that provide internet to Kenya.
6) Our building was the first in our area, almost twenty years ago. The pace of development in Mombasa is indeed frantic, and there are many new developments in the area. Although many yearn for the good old days with less development, traffic and infrastucture, we feel that most of the new developments are welcome. As for the "shady things in between", in a developing country like Kenya, there are always a range of services provided to suit many tastes and pockets and the authorities are active in stamping out any undesirable activity. We ensure that our guests are secure in our apartment building and we assure you there are no "shady things" going on within our premises. As for describing our environs as a cross between Las Vegas, Miami and Rome, we are sure that although these places have their own charms and fallacies, Mombasa is a very welcoming, clean, green, beautiful and most importantly unique location, so it would be unfair to categorize us within such a narrow definition.
We are not a beach front location, and this is reflected in our rates. Beach front holidays in Mombasa cost substantially more than we charge and indeed, why would you want to stay in an apartment building not on the beach if you can afford to stay in a beach front location? We do think it is unfair to describe our establishment as a "parking lot" and we surely offer much more than just free parking...
We have taken your comments on board and will strive to improve wherever possible, and we are sure to offer you a more pleasant experience should you wish to stay with us in the future.
6 Nov 2012
"Exceeded my expectation"
Planet is a clean, spacious and well kept establishment. It is also very near the main shopping malls at nyali. The proprietor Mr Gupta always goes out of his way to ensure that guests are comfortable… More
2 Oct 2012
"Nice, clean apartment"
Travelled with family and friends. Nice, comfortable and reasonably priced apartments. Mr Kunj was very helpful he also arranged for us to swim at a nearby lodge. Need to increase or change the A/C as… More
6 Jul 2012
"Great place, nice friendly staff and excellent location."
I stayed for 4 nights with my family and we all had a great time. The apartment is clean, nicely furnished and the setting is great for family. Mr. Gupta was extremely helpful and friendly. The locati… More
26 Jun 2012
"Home away from home"
Had a lovely stay for two weeks. Mr. Kunj made my stay very confortable and was very helpful to me. he went out of way to ensure that all was well. The location is perfect and its next to the main road and nakumatt nyali. Will definately stay there again and the price is pocket friendly.